Innotek Smart Dog Fence SD-2100

Pros

  • Rechargeable Collar
  • Premium Base Station

Cons

  • NiMH Battery
  • Hums when Recharging
  • No Indoor/Outdoor Zone Compatibility

Rating

Retail Price

$299.95

Our Price

$209.95

Availability: In Stock

Orders before 1pm ship same day

More Product Images

Enlarge Video Review

The SD-2100 PetSafe’s middle offering that came over to PetSafe’s line of products when the company Innotek was acquired by PetSafe several years ago. We used this system for our own customers until the Innotek IUC-5100 and PetSafe Ultrasmart PIG00-13619 became available. It is reliable, value for money and rechargeable.

The SD-2100 is the cheapest dog fence system available with a rechargeable battery. We think this is really a must have feature since it is much more economical, convenient and environmentally friendly than disposable batteries. The battery on this unit is an older NiMH (Nickel Metal Hydride), that takes about eight hours to recharge and requires charging about once a month. The collar is recharged by resting it on a cradle located on top of the receiver unit. We like that there is no separate recharger that can get lost. One annoyance is that during recharging the receiver makes a quiet humming noise like a florescent light with defective ballast. This should not be too big a deal if your receiver sits in your garage but could be annoying if located in a living area.

The collar band is decent. It is made of blue cloth. The band has a reflective strip for night time visibility, surprisingly useful if you have a dark dog or play outside at night.

The collar beeps softly when the dog nears the boundary zone. The manufacturer tells us that the beep is high pitched so that it is easier for the dog to hear, what we know is that it is definitely hard for us humans. The beep is audible to the dog, but can be hard for an owner to hear, especially when it is windy. A louder beep would helpful for owners during the training period.

Also feature on our wishlist but not present in the Innotek SD-2100 is compatibility with the Innotek wireless indoor pods. To get compatibility with the indoor pods, you need to trade up to the Innotek IUC-4100.

Innotek offers a lifetime warranty on all it’s products, but that is a little misleading. This really means that they will replace the unit for free in the first year and offer you a discounted repair in subsequent years. We have installed many of these systems and find them to be highly reliable.

Overall, the SD-2100 is a solid system representing great value for money. Rechargeable and reliable, it has nearly everything you want. The only things holding back the SD-2100 are the collar and the incompatibility with the indoor and outdoor pods.

If you find this site useful, please consider purchasing your system from our online store. You can shop confidently knowing that Dog Fence DIY offers the lowest prices authorized from the manufacturer. In addition, you receive free shipping and a copy of the Dog Fence Experts Guide to Installation and Training.

Collar

The collar on the SD-2100 is where the unit starts to show it’s age. The collar box is a clunky box style and is suitable for dogs over 15 pounds. The collar is rechargeable, but uses the older Nickel Metal Hydride (NiMH) battery. The charge lasts about a month between recharges and needs to recharge overnight. The instructions say to let it charge for 14 hours, our experience has been closer to eight hours.
To recharge the collar, you sit it in a cradle on top of the base station, there is no dedicated charger. This means you never lose the recharger and it is nice not having to have one extra wizzle-wazzle to keep track of in your house. But, you can only recharge one collar at a time. And the collar makes an annoying hum when recharging.

Long/Short/ Prongs The collar prongs screw onto the main unit holding the collar band in place. The system comes with both short prongs for the folliclly challenged and long length prongs for our more hirsute friends.

Collar Band The collar band is cloth and has a reflective stripe for night time visibility. The band closes with a snap type buckle that is easy to connect and disconnect.

Base Station

The base station on the SD-2100 is the same unit used on the newer top of the line Innotek Ultrasmart IUC-4100 and the IUC-5100. It is a great reliable unit, and it is for good reason that Innotek carried this base station over to their new units. iuc-4100-controller

  1. Correction Level – this switch allows you to select between the three correction levels. In addition the correction is progressive so it increases in strength the nearer the dog gets to the boundary line. Like all the Innotek systems, the correction level will be the same for all collars on the system. So this is not a good choice where you have dogs that have very different correction needs.
  2. Field Size – this switch adjusts the signal strength for large and small yards. Where you are using less that 1,000 feet of boundary wire you will adjust it to small (SM), for more than 1,000 feet adjust it to large (LG). The system can do up 25 acres (5,000 feet of boundary wire).
  3. Field Width – this dial lets you adjust the distance how wide you boundary is going to be. Using the dial, you can make the boundary start anywhere from a couple of inches from the boundary wire up to over 10 feet. Most people are going to set the field width between three and five feet to give you a boundary wide enough to avoid the dogs running through, but without taking away too much of your yard.
  4. Collar Recharge Reminder – the base station reminds you to recharge the system once a month. Once you get the recharge reminder, you can place the collar in the recharge cradle in order to reset the reminder. We would suggest you switch the feature off to avoid getting the reminder beeping in the middle of the night. The collar has a much more accurate reminder light right on it.
  5. Alarm Volume – this dial adjusts the loudness of the alarm that sounds when you get a wire break volume. You will want to set this as the maximum, it is not that loud anyway.
  6. Power – do you really want our help here?
  7. Battery Backup – this switch enables and disables the battery backup. Using eight AA batteries (not included) that go in the rear of the control box, the base station can keep running when you have a power failure. You get a little over two days of battery life, so if you get a power outage longer than a day, you are going to want to switch out the batteries for a fresh set.
  8. Power Adapter Plug – this is where you hook up the included AC adaptor. The other end of the adaptor goes into a wall socket.
  9. Boundary Wire Terminal – the two boundary wires hooks up into this terminal block. The wire should form a loop starting and ending at the base station. Latches on the terminal block secure the wire in place.
  10. Status Light – green tells you that everything is working, flashing red tells you that there is a break in the boundary wire.
    On top of the base station is a cradle (11), where you sit the collar to let it recharge. The collar will only recharge when there is a complete boundary loop in place, so the first time you use the collar, you should put in a dummy loop to let the collar charge while you are installing the real boundary wire loop.

The base station can be wall mounted, by bolting the removable back panel into the wall. The rest of the unit then just slides over the panel to be held in place. The base station should be kept sheltered and preferably above freezing for best results.

Boundary Wire, Flags and Splices

The Innotek SD-2100 comes bundled with:

  • 500 feet of 20 gauge boundary wire
  • 50 boundary flags
  • 2 waterproof splice (for joining pieces of wire)

Extra boundary wire, flags and splices are available for yards that are larger. Each extra boundary kit (including 500 feet of wire, 2 splices, and 50 flags) costs $29.95. You can also upgrade the wire ot 18 gauge, although we are not convinced that this is very useful for most installations.

Training DVD and Instruction Manual

Innotek includes a decent training DVD and a skimpy instruction manual with the system.

Indoor and Outdoor Zones

Unlike the IUC-4100 and IUC-5100, the SD-2100 cannot be used with the indoor and outdoor zone pods.

Warranty

Innotek’s standard limited lifetime warranty comes with the system. This is a one year full warranty, then a fixed charge repair in subsequent years.

Model Innotek SD-2100
Type In Ground
Collar Battery Rechargeable – Nickel Metal Hydride
Correction Levels 3 Levels + Progressive Correction
Beep Only Training Mode No
Collar Warning beep Yes
Collar Vibration No
Independent Correction Levels No – all collars have same correction level (Independent correction level workaround)
Collar Dimensions 1.25” (L) x 2” (W) x 1.25” (D)
Collar Neck Size 2″ – 21″
Collar Water Resistance Water resistant
Collar Fit Test No
Maximum Number of Dogs Unlimited
Minimum Dog Size 15 lbs
Minimum Age 6 months
Maximum Containment Area 25 acres (5,000 feet)
Boundary Width 0-10 feet (adjustable)
Control Box Dimensions 6” (L) x 5.5” (W) x 2.25” (D)
Control Box Power Source Wall Outlet (110V)
Control Box Battery Backup Yes – 8 AA batteries
Indoor Pod Compatibility No
Outdoor Pod Compatibility No
Included Boundary Wire 500 feet + 2 wire Splices
Included Boundary Flags 50
Training Materials DVD + Manual
Other Boundary tester
Package Dimensions 12” (L) x 8” (W) x 6″ (D)
Package Weight 11 lbs
Warranty Limited Lifetime

For the Innotek SD 2100 Manual click here. (PDF)

Innotek SmartDog

Get the Expert’s Guide FREE when you purchase the Innotek SD-2100 from DogFenceDIY.

Once you purchase your dog fence system, where do you turn for installation and training expertise?  Get this expertise FREE with the Dog Fence Experts Installation and Training Guide.  This guide offers all the tips you’ll need when installing your system and training your pet.  For example, learn how to properly maneuver obstacles such as driveways and footpaths when installing your in-ground fence.  You will also learn how to properly plan your fence layout to maximize the containment area.  

In addition, use this free guide to help with training once installation is complete.

Now that you have your fence system installed, do you know the most effective way to train your dog?  The Dog Fence Experts Guide walks you through the same training techniques used by professionals.  Ask any professional and they will tell that training is just as important as finding the right system.

What you get

  1. Ten Chapters with over 60 easy to follow pictures and diagrams
  2. Detailed planning and installation instructions that ensure your system is effective.  The guides contains numerous tips and tricks such as how to manage obstacles and avoid signal interference
  3. The fully illustrated training guide explains the best techniques to teach your dog the boundary rules safely and effectively

Innotek SmartDog

Our Most Popular Pages

underground electric dog fences ~ dog fence trencher ~ perimeter wifi fence ~ innotek sd 2000 reviews ~ petsafe pig00 10777 ~ smart dog ht-023 ~ electronic pet containment ~ innotek sd 2100 ~ outside dog fence ~ best electric dog fence ~ petsafe containment system ~ sd 3000 ~ dog fence review ~ wireless dog fence reviews ~ electric dog fence installation ~ humane contain hc 8000 ~ dog fence jumping ~ petsafe pig00 10773 ~ iuc 5100 2 ~ dog fence training diy ~ driveways and pathways ~ perimeter dog fence ~ petsafe wireless ~ twisted wire ~ above ground dog fence ~ iuc 4100 ~ petsafe underground fence ~ dogtra ef 3000 review ~ sdf 100

{ 58 comments… read them below or add one }

Lonn December 6, 2014 at 11:45 am

I have 2100 rechargeable collar I would like to know if I can buy rechargeable battery for that or do I need to buy a whole new collar

ADMIN – Hi Lonn. No. Unfortunately the Nickel Metal Hydride battery is sealed inside of the Innotek Smart Dog Fence SD-2100 dog collar and is not replaceable. You will need to purchase an additional collar.

Jo April 22, 2014 at 8:09 am

Hi, we have an SD2100 in ground system covering approximately 5 acres of house paddock. the wire is attached to the existing 5 strand wire fence (not dug underground) and additionally we have an electric stock fence running above it to keep the horses off the fences. I hope that this makes sense? Anyway, we cant get the thing to work. The unit has a continuous green light – indicating the fence is loop is complete (I believe). the collar things have a green blinking light, but I can’t hear any sounds and even when I put the collar against my leg and walk up to the fence nothing happens. Help !!!!! I have a manic Kelpie intent on trying to herd all my horses. Thanks Jo

ADMIN – Hi Jo, first run a 15 foot test loop on the transmitter. If the collar responds on the test loop, then you have an issue with the wire somewhere. If you have a wire issue, you can divide the loop with extra wire locate the general location of the break.

Rachel February 1, 2014 at 2:15 pm

My collar is beeping, but it is not shocking my dog?? We just purchased a new collar 3 days ago and have the same problem already. My husband and I have even crossed/walked over the boundary touching the collar ourself and we did not get shocked. It beeps when you get w/ in about 2-3 feet of the boundary line, but it does not shock you or my dog? Suggestions?? The electronic box is lit up and appears to be working and when we take the collar off and walk it up to the boundary line it lights up to show that it shoudl be working.. but again, it is not shocking my dog.

ADMIN – Hi Rachel, it appears the collar needs to be replaced. You may be able to replace it at a discount through the manufacture.

brian December 3, 2013 at 8:17 pm

My SD-2000 system only works when I hold the collar within 3″ of the wire. The collar is new! Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Brian, with extra wire cut a 15 foot section and create a small loop for testing. This will give you a controlled environment. If you receive proper activation on the small loop test, then you have a bad section of loop wire and needs to be located and replaced.

Phyllis October 30, 2013 at 11:20 pm

We installed a PIG00-13610 Ultrasmart about 8 months ago and we can not get the receiver recharge alert (red & green flashing light with alarm) to quit for any extended period of time. If I charge the collar and then unplug the transmitter for 30 sec or so then plug it back in it will stop for maybe 30 min but will soon resume again. Suggestions?

Christy October 5, 2013 at 9:33 pm

We recently bought a house that has wires to an underground pet fence system, but no transmitter or collars were left behind. The wire says ‘invisible barrier 14 guage’ on it. I’ve had good luck in the past with the Innoteck SD 1200. Will I be able to hook it up to the wires that were already there?

Susan August 20, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Wish I had found you when I was installing my 5100C over 25 acres 3 yrs ago. I had to figure it out by myself! Especially the hose thru the creek. I am having 2 problems now. This morning the transmitter was beeping and flashing red. I do have a surge protector on it. I jiggled wires and it was still beeping. We had pushed brush the evening before so I thought we had cut the wire. This evening I checked the suspicious area and the line was secure, underground and intact. Went back to the transmitter and the light was green! I wasn’t crazy, my son had heard it too. So I checked the collars with the gadget and they do not detect the fence. They blink green while I am standing right over top. (3 collars- 3 labs) What is going on? 2. the youngest labs pulled the collars off and sometimes chews them up or even better, we can’t find them til we cut the grass. In a previous post you recommend the sport dog collar. Is it waterproof (we have a pond within the 25 acres). Does it really stand up to the rough housing of young labs?

ADMIN – Hi Susan, without further troubleshooting, it is difficult to pinpoint the issue your fence was having. It could be a splice that needs to be checked, it could be some exposed copper that when wet can cause the a partial break. However, the collars not responding may be directly related. The transmitter may have taken a power surge. Funky symptoms happen when a transmitter has been hit but not completely destroyed. The fact that 3 collars are not responding leads me to believe it is a bad wall transmitter. As for the Sportdog, it is our toughest collar. It will not stand up to hours of chewing, but it is well built. I would call the manufacture first and solve the fence issue before considering a change of systems.

Elizabeth July 21, 2013 at 10:15 pm

I am thinking of buying the Innotek 2100 because I like the idea of a rechargeable battery. But is the battery a normal NiMh battery, and user-replaceable, when it eventually wears out/won’t take a charge?

I have also been looking at the Petsafe Stubborn Dog…it sounds like a good system. However, I don’t think my dog will be a “stubborn” dog. She’s a fairly submissive, even timid black lab/Australian shepherd mix, about 40lbs. Is there a danger of the stubborn dog system being too strong for her, even on a low setting? Are ALL the correction settings stronger, or are the mild settings just as mild as any other system?

ADMIN – Hi Elizabeth,

The SD-2100 battery is not user replaceable – you need to send it back to the factory to get a new battery. The battery on this system is a little suspect.

The PetSafe Stubborn is a good system. The correction settings on the system are around 50% higher than a regular system. The lowest setting might be a good fit with your dog from what you have described.

Tracy June 2, 2013 at 1:14 pm

We have a innotek SD-2100 system with 2 collars. The transmitter seems to be working fine (green light) but neither collar will recharge. When they are placed on transmitter it flashes green and beeps like it is charging but collars have no LED blinking after 14 hrs on charger. Is it a transmitter problem or a collar problem?

ADMIN – Hi Tracy,

Those collars on the SD-2100 are prone to battery failure, so that would usually be the prime suspect. But, that both the collars stopped working at the same time makes me think the problem is more likely to be in the transmitter’s built in recharger.

Kara May 19, 2013 at 7:44 am

Hi, I bought the Innotek sd2100 with 2 collars. I have a 15lb Shitzhu Maltese and a Border Collie/Aussie puppy. Anticipating her growth we put in the fence. The collars are a bit big for them now, are there alternative collars that we can use? Can we use PetSafe collars with this system? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Kara,

The PetSafe Ultrasmart collars are compatible with the SD-2100. But, these are similar in size to the SD-2100 collars.

The only significantly smaller collars are the PetSafe Little Dog, which is not compatible.

buddy March 28, 2013 at 1:28 pm

SD2100 unit it seems the collar works ans sometimes it don’t, when using the collar tester near the boundary, sometimes it will beep and other times it won’t beep , do you think it could be time for a new collar, its going on 5 years old?

ADMIN – Hi Buddy,

The collar is the week point on that system, but the transmitter is excellent (it is also used on the topline, PetSafe Ultrasmart). If you were going to replace the collar, replace it with the PetSafe Ultrasmart collar and you will get much better performance. (The two collars are the same price, but you will need to get a new $25 charger to use with the Ultrasmart collar, because the 2100 recharger is not compatible)

Lauren March 12, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Hi, I have 3 dogs; 2 dachshunds and 1 beagle coonhound mix. My beagle/coon. Is an escape artist he’s gotten out of all his cages and seems to be able to get in or out of anything! Would this still work for all 3 of them? And if so is installation easy to do? Or should I hire someone to install it? Thanks in advance for your help!

ADMIN – Hi Lauren,

The Innotek SD-2100 wouldn’t be my top choice for your situation. The beagle / coonhound is likely to require a much stronger correction than the dachshunds, and a limitation of the SD-2100 is that it sets all the collars to the same correction level (i.e. you cannot have each dog on a different correction level).

Two good alternatives, that are small enough for the dachshunds, but also strong enough for the coonhound mix, and that will let you set independent correction levels are the Dogtek EF-6000 and the PetSafe InGround. The Dogtek is rechargeable, has some more advanced features like adjustable correction boundaries. For all three dogs, the Dogtek will work out to be around $50 than the Innotek SD-2100, and is rechargeable, Dogtek which is about $50 more. The PetSafe uses a disposable battery, but for the three dogs will work out to be around $100 less than the Innotek.

Installation is not hard, but it can be time consuming (most of the day for a typical suburban lot), so hiring someone is a good idea if time is a premium. If you have a large yard, then renting a trencher is a big time-saver as this will cut the slot and bury the wire in a single pass.

Nancy February 17, 2013 at 6:52 pm

We have 2 Westies (6 year old and 1 year) on 1/4 acre. Is this fence a good choice? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Nancy,

The Innotek SD-2100 would work well with a West Highland Terrier. For a smaller dog like a Westie, you want a collar that is on the smaller and lighter side like the SD-2100. There are however better choices at a similar price, the Innotek SD-2100 battery is not the best. The new PetSafe Inground is better and cheaper although it does not have the rechargeable battery.

Ed December 30, 2012 at 8:52 am

We have the innotek system with the cloth type collar. Can we replace just the cloth collar or do we need to purchase complete. Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Ed, you can replace just the collar strap through PetSafe.

TL October 1, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Hi. We have a 90 pound Doberman. He listens fairly well, but likes to run in the neighbors’ yards. We are looking at getting an in ground fence. We have a one acre lot, but only want to give him access to about 3/4 of an acre. We also live in the snow belt in Canada getting a lot of snow. Could you give two recommendations one on the lower price range and the other on the higher price limit? I was looking at the Inotek sd 2100 or the sport dog. What do you suggest? Thanks

ADMIN – Hi TL, those two great options from both ends. The 2100 can be a little glitchy. I would put my money into the SportDog.

Tamara June 11, 2012 at 6:44 am

Hi we are looking at purchasing a unit but are not sure which one is best we have 3 dogs.
Ranging from all sizes 95lb Shepard-mastiff mix, 25lb Shepard mix, and a 12lb miniature dachshund. I want to know what unit will work best for them, the yard is less than a 1/2acre.

Admin- Hi Tamera,

You will want a system that offers independent correction levels. The PetSafe Little dog or Stubborn Dog systems will be a good option. The smaller Little dog collar will work great for the Mini dachshund. The PetSafe deluxe collar will be best for the Shepard mix and the PetSafe Stubborn collar for the Shepard-Mastiff. Both systems offer independent correction levels. You will be able to set the level of correction for each dog on the collar itself. I recommend the PetSafe Stubborn system and bundling in the additional collars. Both system come with 500 feet of wire, that will cover 1/3 acre, you will need to bundle in an additional 500 feet of wire to cover 1/2 acres.

Ci9ndy Snead May 29, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Can I buy twisted wire for the SD2100 and if so what gauge?

ADMIN – Hi Cindy, Yes, you can purchase twisted wire for the 2100. The fence comes with 20 gauge, but if you are using another gauge, we recommend matching it. We sell twisted wire in 20, 18, 16, and 14 gauge.

tyler May 8, 2012 at 11:49 am

Is there a way to have an extra battery so my dog can still be outside while one battery is charging? If so, how much does it cost? Also I would have to cross a driveway in my yard, any ideas?
Is this system strong enough to hold back a full grown 120 lb German Shepard?

Admin- Hi Tyler,
1)Unfortunately the PetSafe UltraSmart, Innotek SD2100, and Innotek 5100 collars have a built in battery that cannot be removed to charge.
2)The easiest method to cross a concrete driveway will be to install the wire inside an expansion joint.If you asphalt, you can cut across the drive with a circular saw, place the wire in the cut, and then backfill with an asphalt crack sealing compound. Please take a look at our driveway/pathways page under install tab.
3)For a large German Shepard, we recommend the PetSafe UltraSmart system. The collar is more reliable than the SD-2100 collar. Plus, the UltraSmart collar recharges in about 2-hours compared to a 24-hours recharge time of the SD-2100 collar.

Philip May 2, 2012 at 11:48 am

We have had this system for eight months, and the battery is still working strong! We have not had to recharge it yet. I test it every now and then just to make sure.

Megan Ryan April 20, 2012 at 6:34 pm

I live on .68 aches and have a 6 year old lab of 85 lbs and a 1 year old lab of 75 lbs. Would this product be sufficient for what I have? Also, I live in a area that gets snow, will this system still work? Final question, how long does self installation take approx? Thank you for your time.

Megan

Admin- Hi Megan,

A great system for your 2 dogs will be the SportDog SDF100a system. The SportDog system is designed for larger sportier dogs like you have. The SportDog collar is a durable collar that will hold up to “ruff housing” much better than any other collar that we have. Plus, the system offers independent correction levels. You will be able to set the correction amount for each dog on the collar itself. Snow will not be an issue. If you do have a lot of snow cover, we recommend simply turning the boundary field width to a higher level so that the signal can project through the snow.

The Sportdog System comes with 1000 feet of wire which will be enough wire for .68 acres. Expect installation to take anywhere for 4-8 hours.

Avery March 21, 2012 at 10:56 am

I was reading your comments above about establishing a “safe gate” and I don’t know if that would work for us….we have 15 acres of woods and trails with our house in the middle. What we would like to do is establish about 1 acre area around our house to be secured with electric fence to contain dog when we are not with him so he will not wander off. However, we often walk around the whole 15 acres from our yard, at different access points or trail-heads. We can’t drive dog over these, and there are so many. Is there any way to train dog to respect the boundaries while alone but not have him be scared to go along with us when we are taking a walk on the whole 15 acres and outside of the electric fence boundaries? Or will he just naturally start differentiating between trying to cross boundaries when alone and being allowed to boundaries as long as he is with his owners? Hope this makes sense. Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Avery,

It is ideal to have just a couple of exit point, because it will help the dog learn the exception faster. If that is not possible, just come up with some other routine for allowing him to cross. For example, removing the collar, putting him on a leash, and saying “OK”. It will take a little longer, but the dog should not have any trouble figuring it out.

Note, you will still want to drive or carry the dog over the boundary for the first month of training. I know it is a pain, but if you start introducing the “safe gate” too early, the dog will get confused and won’t learn the containment rules properly.

sherry February 20, 2012 at 11:13 pm

Can you use through a creek that that floods from time to time? If so could you tell me how this is done. It is shallow until it floods.It is in a fairly wooded area.This site is so informitive.Still trying to decide on the sd2100 fence or stubborn dog one.Alot of fishing, people,dogs,camping next store in summer months.My dog sees people or movement & she’s off to the neighbors,She’s mix shep/Lab/chow & who knows what,7 months ,smart.She does come with hersh voice,when greeting my neighbors.I’m torn between the two fences.Can you help ! thanks.

ADMIN – Hi Sherry,

You can indeed run the wire through a stream or a creek. If possible, put the wire in a protective sheath, like an old hose pipe, to protect it from debris. Then just run the wire across the creek floor and weight it down, or staple it down in a few places so the wire is held tight to the stream floor.

The PetSafe Stubborn is much better than the Innotek SD-2100. It has a better more reliable collar. We find the rechargeable battery on the SD-2100 is prone to failing. The PetSafe Stubborn collar is much more durable. As an added bonus, the PetSafe is a little cheaper.

Nic February 20, 2012 at 8:22 pm

We live on a long, narrow, city lot (40′ wide, 138′ front to back). The house is smack in the middle of the lot, and leaves only about 30″ margin (yes, thirty inches) on one side, and about 4′ on the other side, where a long pathway connects the front yard with the back patio. We want to keep our dog off the front lawn and also completely out of the very narrow “side yard”. Would it be okay to run the loop around the front lawn and then all the way down the narrow side yard? Or can we run two small loops on a single transmitter box (one of them a 36″-diameter circle where the side yard begins at the back patio, and another 33’x20′ rectangle for the front lawn)?

I’m concerned that running the antenna wire just 2 feet apart will mess up the signal for the whole loop… how about sheathing one or both of the wires in metal conduit while the pair of wires are on their way to the back patio? Would plain 1″ EMT do the trick, or is there a better insulating conduit I ought to use?

Finally, a possible deal-breaker: our entire property is fenced with 1.5″ square steel-bar fencing. Will that cancel out any possible electric invisible dog fence? (the fencing is well-grounded, FWIW) The front-lawn loop can be kept 36″ from the fence, but not the rest of it. (…Clarification: 1.5″ square-tube steel fencing, commercial-grade enamel paint– not powder-coated… do the details of the steel fence matter?)

Sorry my question is so complex!

ADMIN – Hi Nic,

If I am right in understanding, you are using the dog fence to exclude the dog from the front yard, and the narrow side yard – but aren’t using the fence for containment in the back yard.

The first layout you describe with a loop covering the front lawn and the narrow side yard would work, as long as we can keep the wires on the opposite sides of the side-yard at least 6 feet apart. With such a narrow yard, that can be tricky. One way to get it done would be to run one side of the wire up high along the roof line (in the gutter), so the vertical height gives us the separation we need.

The second layout with two loops, one big loop to block the front yard and another smaller loop to block the entrance to the side yard, would work fine for blocking the front yard. But the small loop wouldn’t have the necessary separation between opposite sides of the wire and would end up canceling itself out (i.e. the smallest circle you could have without cancellation is 6 feet). You can either make that small circle bigger, or use one of the outdoor wireless pods to block that area (like the Pawz-Away pods that work with the Innotek Ultrasmart IUC-4100 systems)

Steel bar fencing will not interfere with the electric dog fence. FYI – since you already have a fence in place, you can simply use flex ties to attach the dog fence wire to the fence instead of burying it.

Judy January 11, 2012 at 7:12 am

I am waiting for a replacement wall unit for my SD2100 as they sent me the wrong one and now I can’t recharge my dog collar, until the new unit arrives is there anyway I can recharge the dog collar. They sent me a 4100 I think?

ADMIN – Hi Judy,

The only way to recharge the SD-2100 is unfortunately to use the charging dock on top of the SD-2100 transmitter wall unit. As you found out, the transmitter from the IUC-4100 while similar in appearance will not recharge the SD-2100 collar.

Danny December 25, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Have the Innotek 2100 system . All of a sudden the box will not charge collars but works fine as a fence. Have another spare box that I was not using until the other one would charge the collars so started using spare for about a year now. The spare box is now doing the same thing? Have 3 collars and neither box will charge the collars, but a buddies box will charge all 3. I noticed that the green light does not flash to show it is charging the collars. Is there a fix without having to buy new box? TKS.

ADMIN – Hi Danny,

Sounds like the transmitter boxes are defective. Afraid we don’t know of any fix, other than to send it back to the manufacturer and have them repair it. (If it happens within a year you are covered by warranty, after that they will repair it for around $40)

nick craigie December 19, 2011 at 6:07 am

hey i just bought the SD 2100 system and i read somewhere you weren’t allowed to leave the collar on your dog for longer then 12 hours straight is this true? coz i have a property and was planning on leaving it on constantly.

ADMIN – Hi Nick,

The manufacturers all warn against leaving the collar on the dog for more than 12 hours a day. In practice, many people do leave the collar on all the time. If you are going to do that, it is important to inspect the dog’s neck every day for the first two weeks, then weekly. Occasionally the dog will develop a sore around the neck – if this happens you want to catch it early.

Katie Eubank November 19, 2011 at 12:02 pm

I have two golden retrievers, one adult and an 16 week puppy. We desperately need to get an invisible fence. I really like the idea of the rechargeable collars but have read review where people with long haired dogs have had problems even with the larger prongs. I am looking to put a loop around 3 to 5 acres (haven’t decided exactly how much of the property they should be able to access). I guess I am looking for advise about which system would be best for the amount of property we have and for our long coated dogs (I am not willing to trim their coats). Also is there a particular wire that works better for the amount of distance we are going to cover?

ADMIN – Hi Katie,
With Golden Retrievers, you shouldn’t experience problems with the collar probes. However, the manufacture does have other thick fur probes that work better for dogs with heavy undercoats like Husky’s. For your Golden’s the SD 2100 would work well. The Innotek IUC 4100 is great rechargeable option too. There is not a specific wire that will work better. We offer wire gauges ranging from 20 down to 14 gauge. The larger the wire, the less risk for breaks. 14 gauge rarely gets breaks. For 3 to 5 acres, you’ll need 2,000 total feet of wire. (500 feet automatically come with your fence).

Philip November 15, 2011 at 9:03 pm

I am echoing what Dennis said below. I started using the SD2100 at least three months ago, and so far the collar battery is still running strong and has not needed to be recharged. It has been set off many times while I was training and when I test the boundary every now and then, but has not needed to be recharged after three months. Maybe you should retest the unit and update your information.

William Mears November 13, 2011 at 8:11 pm

I need a fence that will run on 220v 50 hz. Which systems will work for me

ADMIN – Hi William,

All systems we have run on 110 power. You may need to contact the manufacture PetSafe at: 1-800-732-2677.

Brandy October 18, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Thanks for all the great tips on your website!
I’m interested in purchasing a wireless system for a new dog we are planning on adopting soon. She is a 3-year old Border Collie with lots of energy.
We live on 8.5 acres that are heavily wooded, and we have a steep slope on one side of our home. I had originally considered the Petsafe Wireless Transmitter, because the dog is currently trained to that system. After reading your comments, I’m wondering if this system might be a better option?
Also I’m concerned about damaging the roots to the trees around my property if we do decide to bury the wires. Has this ever been an issue?
Thanks for your help!!

ADMIN – Hi Brandy,

That’s a great question. I guess it depends on the type of tree and how sensitive it would be if the roots are cut. We recommend burying the wire no deeper than 3 to 4 inches. However, if you want to be on the safe side, you can run along the surface of the ground and secure it tightly with lawn staples. The grass will grow over the wire in time. We also recommend raking ground cover over the wire if you do plan to lay it on the top of the ground.

Lori October 2, 2011 at 9:26 am

We want to purchase a diy dog fence. We have a black mouth coon and he goes nuts when neighbors walk by with their dogs and he just started recently running out of the yard. We are on 2 acres and want the best system for him.

Admin – Hi Lori,

For a coon hound on 2 acres, my first choice would be an Innotek IUC-4100. It is a good reliable system with a rechargeable battery and a small collar. The correction is also progressive which helps with training.

Since the neighbors walking by seems to be a big trigger, be sure to get the neighbors to walk by when you are doing the third stage of the training (testing compliance). We want to teach him specifically that he cannot cross when they walk by.

Beth September 14, 2011 at 1:16 am

I have a golden retriever that likes to swim. I want to train her to stay out of the pool area. If she breaks through the electric fence and gets into the pool, is the collar waterproof? Is there a particular one that you would recommend for this case? thanks.

ADMIN -H i Beth,

Most of the collar are waterproof, but not all. Some good collars for a golden retriever that is going to do some swimming are the Innotek IUC-4100, the SportDog SDF-100A, and the
PetSafe Stubborn.

Michael August 22, 2011 at 10:53 am

I was wondering if the Innotek SD 2100 would be good for my 2yr old SUPER HYPER Boxer. She is above average on listening to me and my kids but at time there is other dogs around and she can’t be controlled. I would also like to add I live on a hill and my back yard is nothing but a hill and front is a small hill. I am on a tight budget too. Thanks for your help.

ADMIN – Hi Michael,

The SD-2100 would work well on a Boxer. I would also look at the PetSafe Stubborn, it is a little cheaper and is a better system. The SD-2100 is good, but I find the battery on the system to be unreliable.

Teresa August 15, 2011 at 2:43 pm

I have the Innotek SD2100. My greater swiss mountain dog is fully trained with the system and he only received 1-2 corrections when first trained. We’ve have this unit installed for about 5 yrs now and have started to run into some problems. We had a wire brake which could never be found so I had to replace all 600′ and then everything went back to normal. Then 1 day while running up the stairs my dog’s collar just fell apart. The alarm had gone off a couple of days earlier – I’m assuming the prong/s were coming loose causing the alarm to sound off. Luckily my dog will not test the fence – he knows where he can go and it takes him days to a week to discover the alarm is not working. Once I reassembled the collar and turned the unit back on, all was working again. Now just two days ago the alarm went off again. I checked the collar – it’s all tight and intact. I have walked the line and can not find any disturbance on the ground over the wire. Could it be that the collar has reached it’s life span? It is 5 yrs old.

My second question is that the IUC4100 unit looks the same as my SD2100. I know there’s a difference in the collar, but is there any other differences?

I need to make a decision on what to do to mend this fence. Do I just need a new collar and the SD2100 is good to go for another 5 yrs or do I really need to replace wire again or is the whole unit at the end of it’s life?

Your quick response would be so greatly appreciated since we have a 120 lb dog that like to be outside and now we have to watch his every move while the fence is down.

ADMIN – Hi Teresa,

When you say the alarm is going off, I presume you are referring to the wire break alarm. (On your model, an alarm sound and a flashing red light – not red & green)

The collar being broken will never affect the wire break alarm. If the wire break alarm goes off, it means that either there is a wire break or the transmitter is defective. To diagnose the unit, connect a small test loop to the transmitter and see what happens. If alarm stops, it means that you had a wire break and need to find the break. If the alarm does not stop, then the transmitter is defective and needs replacement.

The Innotek IUC-4100 transmitter is close to identical to your SD-2100 transmitter. There are some minor differences, like the SD-2100 has a recharger built into the top of the transmitter which the IUC-4100 does not. But, the main difference between the systems is the collar.

Meghan July 31, 2011 at 10:32 am

Hi, I love your site and have found it very helpful. I have been thinking about going with the SportDog-100A, but your review over the bulky collars made me change my mind. Now, I would still like to use this brand, but I’m not sure if I could use it on my little guy. I have a rat terrier(14lbs) and a shepherd mix pup that will probably be 45-50lbs once she’s full grown. We live on 8 acres and in the middle runs a small spring. We also have power outages averaging to about once a month. My questions are, can I lay wire underneath the stream(so small it sometimes drys up) and not have any trouble? And, which one would you recommend for my dogs? Thanks so much! Meghan

ADMIN – Hi Meghan,

The SportDog would be a good choice for the Shepherd mix. Then you could use either a PetSafe Little Dog or a PetSafe Deluxe collar for the Rat Terrier (the collars are compatible with the SportDog system)

I would avoid using the Innotek SD-2100 here. The collar on these systems does not let you have independent correction levels, so all dogs get the same correction level. That would be problematic with your dogs because they are so different in size.

You could lay the wire on the stream bed. We would put it in a sheath like old hose-pipe or irrigation pipe to give it an extra bit of protection from debris.

Power outages, don’t tend to be a big problem. Since the dog’s don’t know there is a power outage, a trained dog tends to stay inside the boundary out of habit unless the power outage goes on for a very long time. The Innotek IUC-4100, IUC-5100 or SD-2100 have battery backup, but are not the best choice with dogs of very different size. You could get an external plug-in battery backup, but if the outages are just once a month, I would not bother.

Thanks for the compliment. We have equal affection for our customers.

Kate June 20, 2011 at 2:58 pm

I am thinking of purchasing the SD-2100 for the 2 dogs. One is a goldendoodle and the other another smaller poodle mix. I had purchased and installed a system from Wallmart which seemed to not work properly after about 1 year. My goldendoodle would run through it. Do you think the SD2100 system will be good for my dogs. I was choosing this one over the 4100 because of the cost and that I will have to purchase another collar. Should I buy the better collar for my larger dog?
Also my neighbor has the invisible fence system. Will this interfere with the SD2100 system?
Thanks! Kate

ADMIN – Hi Kate,

The 4100 collars are far superior to these SD-2100 collars. We find the metal-hydride SD-2100 collar batteries tend to break down. I would either upgrade to the IUC-4100 system.

If you are looking for something cheaper, the PetSafe Stubborn will work well. The Petsafe Stubborn is a better collar than the SD-2100 and is a fair bit cheaper. The Stubborn is not rechargeable, but uses a regular 9V battery, so you can easily get a rechargeable battery 9V to fit the system at your local walmart.

If you have lines within 12 feet of your neighbor’s invisible fence lines, you are likely to get interference. If that is the case, you want to use one of the dual frequency systems like the Perimeter Ultra, that let you select a different frequency to avoid interference with a neighboring system. The Perimeter Ultra system is good, but uses a disposable proprietary battery.

Paula May 31, 2011 at 5:50 pm

I’m on day 2 of training, but I wouldn’t recommend going with the 2100, go up to the next expensive version. In the best of conditions (quiet suburban area with no traffic or other noises beyond birds), I cannot hear the beeping when the collar is on my dog which makes training more difficult in my opinion. I know the flags are key but the auditory is also and not hearing it makes me “guess” when to get my dog to move away. I can only hear it when it is in my hand and I’m testing to see if the flags are placed correctly.

ADMIN – Hi Paula,

They are all quiet, but the SD-2100 in particular is very quiet. In the first stage of training where there is no correction, I often turn the collar upside down, so the receiver box it sits on the top of the neck. That way you can see the flashing light to let you know when to pull the dog back. You can also watch for their ears pricking up when they hear the beep.

In the second stage of training where the dog gets the correction, it will be obvious from the dog’s reaction when the correction was applied.

jeff t April 30, 2011 at 9:41 pm

Hello from Louisville, ky. I have really enjoyed finding your site and plan to make a purchase with you guys once I get into the right setup. I’ve been looking at multiple EF systems for our 2 shih tzus (oldest is 5yrs @ 15-16lbs and youngest is 6 months @ ~6lbs but expect he will get the same size). My lot is only a 1/2 acre in size however having 2 rechargeable, AA, or AAA collar units are a MUST for me. Have some friends with the petsmart small dog unit and also read some reviews on it … in short, the collar and they use is perfect in size, but a deal breaker for me on the battery. Was looking at the 2100 unit as good alternative. Also I see the collars are interchangeable with other Innotek’s, so are there other collars I could get for smaller dogs that are rechargeable and fit their smaller necks? Thinking the NiMH collar could be used for the smaller dog and I could get a 4100 collar for the older dog. Have not seen these outside of online so no real clue how big they will be in comparison to the dog. Wanted to see your thoughts on this 2100 for my situation and what other options I should consider or get a better recommendation. Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Jeff,

I am not a huge fan of the SD-2100 collars. We used to use them a lot on our installations before the IUC-4100 came out. I found they worked well, but are not particularly reliable. The batteries on the collars were prone to failing. In terms of size they are thinner but taller than the Innotek IUC-4100 collars. I also think the collar is over priced, being nearly the same price as the top of the line collars.

Unfortunately there is no small dog collar option on the Innotek systems.

Your situation is a little tricky, because usually with a 6lb dog I would send you straight to the PetSafe Little Dog. But, given that she is going to grow to over 12lbs and you have two larger dogs that don’t need that small collar, I would rather see you get something rechargeable like the Innotek IUC-4100. I would use the IUC-4100 on the two adult dogs and perhaps wait until the smallest is a little older to start her training, keeping her inside until then. But, I am not sure if that would work with your living situation.

Jason March 31, 2011 at 2:59 pm

We have three siberian huskies and are moving to a new house. There will be a 6 ft privacy fence around the back yard where they will stay. We are debating between the Innotek 4100 and the petsafe stubborn dog. Many people say that the for huskies we will need the stronger stubborn dog collars. The main purpose of buying this fence is just to keep them from digging under the fence. Do you believe the weaker innotek would be strong enough to do this? We have had problems with one of our males wrestling with a female (littermates) and pulling on collars. The innotek collar 4100 appears to be a nicer collar and would hold up to the wear and tear better. Also if we got the innotek system and it was not strong enough would the stubborn dog collars work with this system to and give a stronger shock? Please let me know what you think. Thanks!

Admin-Hi Jason,

The Innotek 2100 is a good system and will work for your Huskies. All the collars we offer are durable enough to withstand the typically pulling and biting.

We recommend attaching the wire to the stationary fence 12 to 18 inches off of the ground. This should stop the Huskies immediately from digging under.

The PetSafe Stubborn dog collars are not compatible with Innotek.

David Feldman March 25, 2011 at 1:04 pm

We have a 7 month old boxer, and live on about an acre of land. We are looking into getting an underground fence and are probably going to do it ourselves (after talking with a local installer who estimated the cost at $1100). In the conversation with him, he mentioned, if we do go about it ourselves, to make sure we don’t use the wire that comes with the system and to go with a heavier duty wire.

In reading through the comments on this site (which, by the way, fantastic work on getting this information out and all you do on this site), I haven’t ever seen it mentioned that a heavier duty wire is necessary. Is there any truth to what he is saying? Where would we find heavier wire if we did need it?

ADMIN – Hi David,

We don’t find much benefit from the thicker wire, our experience has been that most of the things that cut the thinner wire cut the thicker wire just as easily. It does transmit the wire slightly better, but that is only an issue if you are operating the system near the maximum capacity, which is a non-issue if you are doing under 10 acres.

The main reason installers started using the heavier gauge wire is that the industrial trenchers they use tend to snap the wire, then it seems to have morphed into an advertising arms race where everyone competes over who has the thickest wire.

All that said, the thicker wire is not terribly expensive – so if you feel better with thicker wire, go for it. We sell 18 gauge wire upgrades. And if you want something super thick like 16, 14, or 12 gague you can get it at most big-box hardware stores or electrical supply stores. When you go in, ask for an insulated wire, that is direct burial rated.

Laura March 20, 2011 at 3:26 pm

We will be picking up a German Shepherd (East German working lines) pup in a few weeks and are researching in-ground fence options. Our neighbors have an Invisible Fence to keep their two Newfoundlands and a Basset hound. One of the Newfies tends to charge the fence line but doesn’t go over. We’re not sure how our dog will react but want to make sure the fenceline is strong enough to keep her in our yard. Based on your reviews the PetSafe Stubborn Dog is the strongest fence but the Innotek SD-2100 has better features. We do want to stay around the $200 mark and will use roughly 500 feet of wire. Is the Innotek reasonably close to the PetSafe Stubborn Dog in correction strength?

Thanks for the help.

Admin- Hi Laura,

For the best recommendation you first want to figure out what type of containment fence your neighbors has. Most dog fences do not have the ability to change frequencies; therefore, if you and your neighbor have the same system within 15 feet of each other. There could be several dead spot in the boundary’s because the wires are canceling each other out.

The Key to your dog obeying the boundary limits is going to be in the training. With excellent training your dog will have no problem obey the boundaries.

Both the Innotek SD-2100 and the PetSafe Stubborn Dog are really good systems. The correction level on the stubborn dog is 3 times stronger than the high level on the Innotek 2100. To figure out what system is best for your setup, you first need to find out what kind of Dog Fence your neighbor has.

Wendy February 28, 2011 at 12:58 pm

We have a PetSafe Underground Fence with a Stubborn Dog Collar. Our lab will sit at the edge of the boundary and let it vibrate as if he enjoys it. He has recently suffered from seizures. The vet did not think the vibration had anything to do with it, but it would seem there would be a current going from the underground fence to the collar. Do you know of a stubborn dog collar that does not vibrate that would be compatible with PetSafe?

ADMIN – Hi Wendy,

There isn’t another stubborn collar that I can recommend, however, you could go with the PetSafe Deluxe collar. It is compatible with the system you already have, will offer many multiple correction options, and does not have a vibrate feature. If you need a stronger correction, you can use two of them.

Allison February 24, 2011 at 12:07 pm

My husband and I are actually interested in a fence system for cats. We are debating between a buried wire system and a wireless system for two animals. However, I’m a little concerned about even using a “small dog” system since one of the animals weighs in around 18 pounds (the other is under 12 pounds). The area that we would be using is relatively sloped but largely free of trees. Do you have any suggestions?

ADMIN – Hi Allison,

For cats, I would use the PetSafe Cat Fence. The specialist cat fences are more suitable than the dog fences because they reduce the correction – cats tend to be more sensitive to the correction than dogs.

The wireless fences would not be a great choice for cats since they tend to have large collars that would be too bulky and heavy for a cat.

Joe February 20, 2011 at 1:53 pm

We have a 9-month old spayed female coonhound/manchester terrier cross who has begun jumping over the 4′ chain link fence in our small back yard )totally fenced in). I would like to use the Innotek Smart Dog SD-2100, but if I do, where exactly should i bury the wire–how close to the fence and on which side (I read somewhere a recommendation to place it outside the chain link fence–that doesn’t seem like a good idea to me). My fear is that she will jump the fence and be out of the range of the correction BEFORE the correction even activates. I understand the need for training and will do that–just not sure if this will contain her? Any ideas? Thanks so much!

ADMIN – Hi Joe,

I’d recommend running the wire through the fence about 2 feet off the ground. This will prevent your coonhound mix from jumping over or digging under. This would work best. If you want to bury it, I’d recommend burying it at the base of the fence on the inside.

Amanda February 6, 2011 at 7:25 pm

We have the same problem that Megan above has. Our dog (lab/shepherd mix) get’s the shock, you can see her muscles jumping, but it seems not to bother her very much. We have the correction set to the highest level. I should mention that we have had this system for about a year with great success. This is only a recent development. Can you give a little more info about using 2 SD-2100 collars? Does it make the shock feel more intense, or does it actually amplify the shock somehow? How effective is this approach for people that try it? Also, how would we want to position the collars? (Receivers next to each other or one on each side of the neck?) Thank you in advance.

ADMIN – Hi Amanda,

Even though you can see the muscles jumping, the fact you say it doesn’t bother her tells me that she is not actually experiencing a full correction. In most cases, the collar is not fitted correctly or the collar is not working properly. The culprit usually is that the probes are not touching the dog’s skin. You may want to use the long prongs if you’re not already using them, and tighten the collar enough so that you can slip one finger under the collar band but no more.
You also want to check that the collar is working using the supplied tester.

If the dog is getting the correction and reacting, but going through anyway – increase the boundary width and turn up the correction level. Then go back and redo the second week of the training.

The strongest fence collar is the PetSafe Stubborn collar. It is compatible with other PetSafe inground systems. Try these steps first, most of the time a stronger collar is not needed.

As for your other question, we do not recommend using more than one collar.

Brendan February 1, 2011 at 1:07 am

How much wire do you need for 5 acres?
also if I have a friend in an electric company can he get me wire or is it special wire?
Thanks,
B

ADMIN – Hi Brendan,

You will need to have 2000 ft of wire to enclose 5 acres. The systems come with 500ft of wire with exception to the SportDog SDF 100A. It comes with 1000 ft of wire.

The wire is a solid 20 gauge, direct burial wire, rated at least 600v and made of a high density polyethylene jacket. Be sure to get wire confirming to these specs. The wire can be purchased elsewhere, we do however recommend sticking to the same wire gauge.

Some prefer to upgrade to 18 gauge wire, especially for a large area. Either will work fine.

Pat January 8, 2011 at 8:16 am

How long does the battery in the collar last before needing to be recharged?

ADMIN – Hi Pat,

The battery in the SD-2100 needs recharging about every 2 weeks, maybe a little longer depending on what stage of the training you are at.

Mark December 1, 2010 at 11:29 am

I have a small back yard area that we would like to restrict our golden retriever from entering (i.e., she can go around the perimeter but not inside – the outer area is fenced in). The rectangular area that we want to restrict her from entering is approximately 15′ wide x 35′ long. Along one side of the area there is a path that leads to our dog’s toilet area in back. How close to the path should we string the underground wire?

ADMIN – Hi Mark,

The smallest correction zone that we like to use is three feet on either side of the wire. Any smaller and training is difficult, especially for a big active dog like a Golden Retriever. You also want to add a safety buffer or an additional three feet, since the dogs will not want to get too close to the correction zone. So you should keep the boundary wire at least six feet away from each side of the path.

Dennis November 23, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Your information about the SD 2100 collars needing to be charged monthly is false. We have used this system as our mainstay for the past 7 years and currently have over 8000 of them in use. If you turn off the charge reminder and watch the indicator light on the collar unit you will need to charge you collar only once ever 4 to 6 months. I personally use this system and my collars are charged twice a year and they are still blinking green even then. If you charge every month you will wear out your collar much sooner. I have customers who have had this system for 7 years and their collars are still functioning. This system is by far the most dependable and trouble free of all the systems on the market today including the dealer only systems such as Invisible Fence and Petstop. You will never find a system more “waterproof” or “shockproof” than the SD-2100.

ADMIN – Hi Dennis,

Appreciate the perspective. We have not had that experience when we have installed these systems for customers, nor with our own internal testing. I would love to get some more perspectives on this battery issue.

sheila simpson November 8, 2010 at 5:21 pm

I just adopted a 3.5 month old Shar Pei lab mix. At what age can I start using the Innotek SD-2100?

ADMIN – Hi Sheila,

Pups do best when you start them at six months or older. Start the dogs too young and they haven’t developed the maturity to focus on the training and the process takes a long time and is difficult for both of you. The one exception to my six month advice, is that if a dog has already started training and can confidently do some of the basics like a stay, a sit-down, and a heel.

Jeff September 27, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Was looking into buying fence for yard and am curious. My neighbor has a invisible fence and always puts her dog in car to take him off property. Will I have to do this to go for a simple walk? What are the drawbacks if any of not putting him in car? Thanks for all your help.

ADMIN – Hi Jeff,

First off, if you plan to get a dog fence, you’ll need to purchase one that can change frequency with you’re neighbor’s fence. (e.g. Perimeter Ultra, or SportDog SDF-100A) That’s if you share a boundary. Otherwise, you’ll need to install your boundary line a minimum of 15 feet away from your neighbor’s fence in order to avoid interference.

As for crossing the boundary for walks, we teach customers to train their dogs on what we call a “safe gate.” During training, we recommend driving the dog over the boundary so as not to confuse them. Once your dog has been on the fence unsupervised for at least a month, you begin training for a safe gate. Basically, it’s a rigid routine where you exchange the fence collar for a walking collar and leash. You designate one spot on the boundary as your exit and re-entry point. When you re-enter the boundary, you exchange back to the fence collar. The first time or two you begin this, you’ll probably need to pull your dog across the boundary. Over time and repetition, your dog will understand the concept and know they can only cross the boundary for walks with you.

David Stokoe September 24, 2010 at 3:51 pm

I am thinking of buying an Innotek Smart Dog Fence SD-2100, I live in Syracuse NY with 120 inches of snow every winter. Will it function under about 3 feet of snow?

ADMIN – Hi David,

In winter with snow covering the ground you increase the boundary on the control box to make the signal penetrate the snow. So you want to make sure you have a system that is a lot more powerful than you need. If you wanted to get through 3 feet of snow, the SD-2100 would be good as long as your layout was about 3 acres or less. If you have need to cover more than 3 acres, consider instead getting a system that can cover larger distances such as the SportDog SDF-100 which could take you up to about 10 acres in heavy snow. Using a thicker wire also helps you get a stronger signal and penetrate the snow.

Elton Gentner September 7, 2010 at 2:13 pm

What size wire do you require for your system?

Hi Elton,

The systems can use a range of different wires – they make little difference to the system performance unless you have a very big installation. We like to use a 20 gauge wire that is rated for direct burial.

Bob Merrill August 4, 2010 at 3:56 pm

I need an inground fence for my front yard. There are fences on both sides, so I only need to cover probably 100 to 200 feet of a straight line – from the fence along the grass/sidewalk line continuing on the sidewalk/driveway to the fence on the other side.

I had previously owned an an Invisable Fence before and installed it on 3-acres in a completed loop. Would this be the case for the Innoteck SD-2100? I don’t want to be shocking my dog in the enclosed back yard. Thanks, Bob

ADMIN – Hi Bob,

You still need a complete loop. But, you could make a long skinny loop that goes along the front sidewalk. Just be sure to keep the opposite sides of the loop six feet apart.

Another option, would be to do a complete loop around the entire property. For the fences sections, run the wire high along the top of the fence – the vertical height will stop the signal reaching the dog at ground level so the fence will not be effective along the fence line.

megan May 13, 2010 at 10:55 pm

We have a 1yr and 1/2 old lab who did really well with this system. Now he has started running through the fence. It is like the correction is too low for him but it is set on the highest setting. The other day he was sitting in the field and he was getting a correction and not moving but you could see his muscles in his neck contracting. We have tried everything. We are purchasing a stubborn dog fence but everything I read says that labs should not need that high of a correction. Any suggestions, I am worried nothing will work!!

ADMIN – Hi Megan,

Sounds like the correction level just isn’t enough. Pretty rare for a lab, but can happen. I would either get a stubborn dog system, or add a second SD-2100 collar.

Greg Yanmis March 5, 2010 at 11:53 am

When my neighbor is dog sitting for us, will our dog’s Innotek SD-2100 collar work with our neighbor’s PetSafe fence?

ADMIN – Hi Greg,

The Innotek SD-2100 will not work with most PetSafe Fences. The SD-2100 will work with the PetSafe Ultrasmart and Innotek IUC-5100. A PetSafe wired fence will work with the current Petsafe fences, Little Dog, Deluxe, and Stubborn and the SportDog SDF-100A. One idea if you neighbor’s dogs are well trained and don’t challenge the boundary is to borrow one of their collars.

Joey Gafford January 26, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Will the PetSafe Ultrasmart Collar work with the SD-2100 system. I’m thinking about getting the less expensive system and buying a better collar IF I am not pleased with the battery life.

ADMIN – Hi Dr Joey,

The PetSafe Ultrasmart collar will work with the Innotek SD-2100 receiver and vice-versa.

kristen November 20, 2009 at 9:20 am

We have a one acre yeard. How much extra wire do we need to cover the whole yeard? Thx!

ADMIN – Hi Kristen,

You will need about 500 extra feet of wire (to bring your total to 1,000 feet)

Leave a Comment