PetSafe Yard Max PIG00-11115 Review

Pros

  • Run through protection
  • Maximizes dog's yard space
  • Light and small collar

Cons

  • 10 acre capacity

Rating

Retail Price

359.95

Our Price

259.95

Availability: In Stock

Orders before 1pm ship same day

More Product Images

Enlarge Video Review

PetSafe YardMax Overview

Summary: Best Overall Dog Fence

The PetSafe YardMax PIG00-11115 is our new top choice in-ground dog fencing. Launched in September 2013, this is the first fence to earn our 5-star rating. It does all the fundamentals well, and adds a few unique features such as run-through prevention and YardMax.

Excellent Fundamentals

The YardMax is the first fence that has all the essential features we like to see. The fence has a small rechargeable collar, collar fit testing, progressive correction, independent correction, lightning protection, and is compatible with indoor and outdoor zones.

Small Rechargeable Collar

The YardMax has one of the smallest and lightest collars on the market. Despite the small size it is rechargeable and also has one of the highest maximum correction levels.

Run-Through Prevention

The YardMax is the first DIY inground fence that has run-through prevention. The dog cannot run through the fence no matter how far they go.

Maximizes Yard Space

The YardMax is the only system that you to get full use of your yard. Most systems project a boundary on both sides of the wire, using up yard space. The YardMax allows you to have a boundary that only starts on the outside of the wire, meaning you don’t have to sacrifice yard space.

10 Acre Capacity

The YardMax can only handle a 10 acre yard. Larger areas will need to use a higher capacity system.

petsafe yardmax collar

Small Rechargeable Collar

The PetSafe YardMax brings an improved collar design. It is even smaller than the PetSafe Ultrasmart collar.

Sleek and Lightweight Collar

The YardMax has one of the smallest collars we have seen. The collar base weighs a dainty 1 ⅝ ounces. With the collar strap, the whole collar only weighs 3 ounces even. That’s is about as light as they come making it nearly as small as even the dedicated little dog systems.

We would be comfortable using this system on dogs as small as 10lbs. Under 10 lbs, the PetSafe Little Dog is more appropriate, not so much because the collar is smaller, but because it allows for lower correction levels more appropriate for smaller dogs.

Rechargeable Lithium Ion Battery

The YardMax collar is rechargeable. The collar recharges with a recharging cord which is included. You charge the collar by plugging in the charger to the charging port on the collar. A rubberized cover protects the charging port on the collar.

The collar uses the newer lithium ion batteries. A battery charge lasts around a month under typical conditions, and recharging the battery takes around 2 hours.

While the recharging cord on this system works well, we do prefer the docking station used on past PetSafe systems. The cord is a little messier to store than the docking station which can just be left plugged into a convenient outlet.

Long and Short Contact Points

The YardMax includes both short and long contact points. These are switched out using the contact point tool which is included. The long contact points are designed for dogs with thick or long fur.

Cross Compatibility and Zones

The YardMax collar is will work on the PetSafe Ultrasmart and Innotek IUC-5100 fence wall transmitters. The YardMax works with 3 different zones: the Paws Away Outdoor Rock, the PetSafe Indoor Zone, and the new Paws Away indoor mini pet barrier. Zones create boundaries around items and places your dogs should not have access. These may be things like the trash, the babies nursery, the dining room or the outside in the garden.

Five Progressive Correction Levels

The correction levels are set on the collar. The collar has a tone only mode and 5 correction levels which you can cycle through. You set the correction level using the on/off button located between the contact points.

The correction levels range from medium to strong. In fact, the YardMax correction strength falls just below the PetSafe Stubborn fence.

Independent Correction

PetSafe has come to the rescue. The YardMax fence offers independent correction levels for each collar. In other words, you can set the correction levels separately for each collar to customize the experience for each of your dogs. This also means that folks will no longer have to mix and max collars across a variety of fences. Amen!

Collar Fit and Ready Test

The YardMax collars have the collar fit test. This is a good test for the novice dog fence owner to help them confirm that they are properly fitting the collar on their dog. It confirms that the collar contact points are making good connection with the dog’s skin, which is a must for proper operation. With a proper fit, your dog will not receive a correction.

The collar also has the ReadyTest feature. The ReadyTest feature is a series of beeps that the collar will perform when first removed from the charger to confirm it is ready for operation.

Collar Fit Test

The PetSafe YardMax collar helps you get the collar fitted properly. Improperly fitted collars are the second most common reason (after lack of training) an in-ground dog fence doesn’t get 100% containment. Improperly fitted means the probes do not make contact with the dog’s skin. When this happens the dog does not consistently get the correction and learns that the boundaries can be ignored. This issue is particularly relevant to long-hair dogs where fitting the collar can be tricky.

The YardMax has a ReadyTest mode where the collar makes a clicking sound when it is properly fitted. This eliminates guessing and lets you get a perfectly fitted collar every time.

Nylon Collar Straps

The collar comes with the versatile and reliable nylon cloth collar strap with quick release buckle. We prefer the cloth strap to the plastic or rubber collar straps on other systems because they grip better, are less likely to come undone, and are more comfortable on the dog. The YardMax collar strap is weaved around the outside of the collar and fits neck sizes 6” to 28” inches.

↑ Top

petsafe yardmax transmitter

Transmitter

The PetSafe YardMax wall transmitter makes two major advances. It is the first DIY dog fence with YardMax mode and run-thorugh prevention, both features that were previously only available on the $2,000+ Invisible Fence systems.

Run Through Protection

A weakness of wired dog fences is that the dog can run through the boundary and stops getting the correction if they go far enough past the wire. On the YardMax, the dog cannot run through the boundary. In YardMax mode, the correction starts when the dog goes past the boundary wire, then continues indefinitely. This makes it much more difficult for the dog to run through the fence.

The only limit on the correction is the safety timeout that kicks in after 15 seconds of continuous correction. This improvement is going to make training much easier because running through is no longer an issue that we need to protect against.

Includes Lighting Protection Module

The YardMax includes a lightning surge protector. This handheld device is simply a fuse-based electrical surge interrupter. A dog fence is vulnerable to two sources of electrical surges: 1) through the power outlet and 2) through lightning striking in proximity to the boundary wire. The lightning protector covers both and is a valuable addition in areas that have a lot of lightning activity.

10 Acre Capacity

The transmitter can only operate over 10 acres, a relatively small capacity for a dog fence. For larger yards, teh SportDog SDF-100A which has a 100 acre capacity is a better choice.

↑ Top

YardMax Mode

The transmitter can start the boundary at the boundary wire which means the collar begins to give the audible warning tone only after the collar has crossed the wire. This allows you to have more of your yard accessible than a standard dog fence.

The fence can also be operated in a traditional where it acts just like a regular dog fence. The collar activates at an adjustable distance away from the wire. The traditional mode is preferable for single sided layouts, using the double loop, and with yards with physical fencing. In traditional mode the maximum radius is 8-10 feet from the wire.

More Fussy Wiring

The YardMax has slightly more fussy wiring than standard wired systems. The left and right wire in most systems can be used interchangeably, but in the YardMax, because it has a one-way boundary you need to have the correct wire plugged into each terminal hole. If you get this wrong, the system doesn’t work properly and makes the interior of the yard the correction zone, and you need to switch the wires back to make it work correctly.

petsafe yardmax wire, splices, and flags
Dog Fence Wire Gauges
Petsafe Ultrasmart Tester Tool

Boundary Wire

20 Gauge Direct Burial Wire

Like all of PetSafe’s fences, the standard 500 feet of 20 gauge wire is included with your fence. It also includes 50 boundary flags to mark you boundary. This covers around 1/3rd of an acre. Additional boundary wire is available to cover up to 10 acres.

While the included 20 gauge wire works and is the most economical option, it is relatively weak. Where budget permits, we recommend upgrading the wire to 16 gauge to completely prevent wire breaks. Finding wire breaks is not fun!

Professional Gauge Wire Available

Roots, ice, and everyday wear can cause wire breaks. Wire breaks will shut your system down and create lots of work for you. We recommend upgrading wire to at least 16 gauge wire. The professional grade wire 16 gauge, and 14 gauge is built to withstand these break risks.

For small installations, using the thicker wire is a no-brainer. For a small cost, you massively reduce the chance of a wire break. For very large installations, the thicker wire is still useful, but the extra cost becomes significant.

Contact Point Wrench

The contact point wrench is a handy tool included that makes swapping out the short and long contact points simple.

Standard 500 Feet of 20 Gauge Wire

The YardMax basic kit includes 500 feet of standard 20 gauge wire, 2 wire splices, and 50 marking flags. This is sufficient to cover 1/3 of an acre. Extra wire, wire splices, and marking flags can be purchased in our store. The 20 gauge wire kits cost $30 and include an extra 500 feet of wire, 2 splices, and 50 marking flags.

Area (acres) Wire Required (feet)
1/3 500
1/2 1,000
1 1,000
2 1,500
3 2,000
4 2,000
5 2,000
10 3,000

Tester Tool

The system includes a test light tool. This handy tool is used when setting up and testing the boundary signal of your fence. When the test light is properly positioned over the contact points and the collar enters the boundary zone, the activating collar will cause the tiny bulb to flash.

↑ Top

petsafe yardmax wireless zones

Indoor / Outdoor Zones

The PetSafe YardMax is the first collar compatible with 3 different types of zones. These battery powered zones are designed to exclude your dog from specified locations inside and outside of your home. Being that they are small and inconspicuous, you can set them under a couch, at the base of the stairs or behind the trash can.

The YardMax is the only collar compatible with the new Pawz Away Mini Pet Barrier PWF00-14040. This new zone smaller than the ZND-1000 zone and therefore can be placed in smaller places. The mini pet barrier is also waterproof so it can also be utilized outdoors too.

↑ Top

PetSafe YardMax One Year Warranty

Warranty

The fence is covered under PetSafe’s limited lifetime warranty. During the first year, all equipment is covered 100%. After the first year, equipment can be replaced at a steep discount.

We also provide a 30 day return policy on all our systems. You can return the system for any reason, for a full refund.

↑ Top

Conclusion

The PetSafe YardMax is the new leader on the block. There are three great innovations this fence has that really sets it apart from the competition. First, the new YardMax mode is does not devour any yard space and creates an infinite boundary zone beyond the wire, so there are no more run through risks. Second, the system does not all the dog to run through the boundary line – continuing to correct the dog no matter how far they go. And third, PetSafe finally gives us smaller rechargeable collars that allow for separate correction levels per collar. This feature allows all dog owners with dogs 10 lbs and up with a mix of sizes and temperaments to match the YardMax to their group of dogs.

The PetSafe YardMax is the dog fence system of choice./p>

↑ Top

PetSafe YardMax Video Review

Video: PetSafe YardMax PIG00-11115

↑ Top

PetSafe YardMax Manual

PetSafe YardMax Manual

Download the PetSafe YardMax PIG00-11115 Manual (PDF).

↑ Top

Specifications

Model Petsafe YardMax
PIG00-13619
Type In Ground
Collar Battery Rechargeable – Lithium Ion
Correction Levels 5 Levels + Progressive Correction
Beep Only Training Mode Yes
Collar Warning beep Yes
Collar Vibration No
Independent Correction Levels Yes
Collar Dimensions 3” (L) x 1.2” (W) x 1.2″ (D)
Collar Weight (with band) 3 ounces
Collar Weight (without band) 1.5 ounces
Collar Neck Size 6″ – 28″
Collar Water Resistance Waterproof
Collar Fit Test Yes
Maximum Number of Dogs Unlimited
Minimum Dog Size 10 lbs
Minimum Age 6 months
Maximum Containment Area 10 acres (3,000 feet)
Boundary Width 0-12 feet (adjustable)
Control Box Dimensions 4.75” (L) x 4.75” (W) x 5.75“ (D)
Control Box Power Source Wall Outlet (110V)
Indoor Pod Compatibility Yes – ZND-1000, PWF00-14040
Outdoor Pod Compatibility Yes RFA378 Rock
Included Boundary Wire 500 feet + 2 wire Splices
Included Boundary Flags 50
Training Materials Manual
Other Collar Charger, Collar Point Wrench
Package Dimensions 12” (L) x 8” (W) x 6″ (D)
Package Weight 7 lbs
Warranty Limited Lifetime

FREE Expert Advice

When you call us, you will talk to an experienced expert.

Containment Guarantee

Your dog will be completely contained to your satisfaction within 30 days, or we will give you a full refund. That is a better deal than you would get from a $2,000 invisible fence. You have nothing to lose.

FREE Dog Fence Guide

experts guide

The PetSafe YardMax come with a FREE copy of our Dog Fence Experts Book on installing a dog fence and training your dog (instantly downloadable in PDF form). The book has 90 pages of great information and tons of illustrations to make installation easy, and training effective. It will save you hours and get you complete containment faster.

You get the book immediately with your purchase. Your order confirmation email will include an instantly downloadable copy of our book. Value $24.95.

30 Day Easy Refunds

easy returns

If you are unhappy with your purchase for any reason you can return your system within 30 days for a full refund of your purchase price. Getting a refund is easy, just email us at returns@dogfencediy.com or call on (888) 936 – 4349.

Our returns are easy and hassle free:

  • It is no problem if you used the system, that was the point! We will still take it back even if there is some wear-and-tear
  • Did you bury the wire? No problem, we will still take it back. (If you can’t or don’t want to dig the wire back up, we will just charge you the regular price for the wire you kept)
  • The 30 day period starts from the time you receive the package so you have plenty of time to do the installation and training. If you need a little extra time, let us know.
  • The only time we don’t take returns is if it is well after the 30 days, or the unit is seriously damaged.

FREE Wire Break Kit

wire break kit

The wire break kit helps you repair any breaks in the dog fence boundary wire. The kit includes extra wire, two wire nuts, and two waterproof capsules to keep your splice watertight.

Value $14.95.

Free Fast Shipping

fast shipping

Shipping within the continental US is free.

Orders placed before 1pm EST ship out the same day. We have warehouses spread across the country so you get your package in 2-3 business days.

50,000 Happy Customers

We had more than 10,000 happy customers last year, and are hoping to have even more in 2013. We understand how important it is to keep your dog safely contained, and understand the trust you place in us when you make an order. We want to make containment as easy as possible. We value your business, and we want you to refer your friends.

Low Price Guarantee

low price guarantee

We strive to have the lowest prices of any PetSafe authorized retailer. If you find any of our products at a lower price from an authorized retailer, please let us know and we will be happy to match the price. For a price match, call us on (888) 936 – 4349 or email pricematch@dogfencediy.com.

PetSafe Authorized

PetSafe Authorized

We are a PetSafe authorized retailer. This means you are guaranteed the full manufacturer’s warranty, and a brand new system. Beware of unauthorized retailers that sell grey-market systems. Systems coming from unauthorized retailers do not receive a warranty.

Family Owned

Family Owned

We are family owned and operated. We know the only way a small business like ours can prosper is by providing exceptional service at an exceptional price.

We know you can give your business to Wal-mart, Amazon, or anyone on the internet. So we will work harder to get your business. And we work harder after the sale to make sure you have a great experience and tell your friends.

Confused? Have Questions?

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns don’t hesitate to call or email us.

We will treat you like our neighbor. No sales pitch. No spam. No obligation. Just honest to goodness advice from the experts.

Our Most Popular Pages

best dog fence ~ electronic dog fence reviews ~ petsafe deluxe ~ bury dog fence wire ~ dog training fence ~ ef 3000 gold ~ innotek sd ~ sport dog sdf 100 ~ dog fence twisted wire ~ dog fence trencher ~ wireless fence review ~ smart dog ht-023 ~ above ground dog fence ~ innotek sd 3000 ~ petsafe wireless containment ~ petsafe prf 3004w ~ innotek pet fence ~ ef 4000 ~ petsafe stubborn dog fence ~ perimeter technologies dog fence ~ innotek wireless fence

{ 50 comments… read them below or add one }

Peter March 10, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Hi there is this collar water proof and dust proof
Thanks

John March 9, 2014 at 6:06 pm

I have a Petsafe Deluxe system installed from my previous miniature schnauzer. The collar clasp broke and I need a new collar for our new mini schnauzer (17 lbs). Can I use the Yardmax collar? I like the size and rechargability.

David Huunter March 9, 2014 at 11:14 am

we have 2 brittneys 9 month old , looking at fencing in 4 acres. we live on a farm so we do have outbuildings and rolling ground so we ruled out wireless systems, I,am looking at the pet safe yard max ,around the house ( approx. 1 acre ) I plan on burying the wire , the other 3 acres is a fenced in pasture that has wood posts , my question is can I attach the wire on the wood posts above ground on the 3 acres , there are also some metal posts , if we can run wire above ground should we use insulators on the metal and wood posts ? thx Dave

Nate March 3, 2014 at 3:47 pm

I am considering buying an invisible fencing unit but I’m undecided on which product would best suit my needs. I have two dogs one is a 9lb. Yorkie and the other is a 15lb Shitzu Bichon. I live on a city lot which I share because I own have on a twin home. How much cable would I also need? Thank you for your time

Nancy February 26, 2014 at 2:16 pm

We have a 65-lb basset hound and a 5-lb Yorkie, and a small 1/3 acre lot. Which system would you recommend ? How much would it cost for the extra collar for one of the dogs? Thanks!

Issa February 24, 2014 at 7:09 pm

I understand the correction starts outside the fence, where does the warning alarm starts at? My Siberian Husky breaks the wooden fence I have. I plan to bury PetSafe Yard Max cable right by the wooden fence (on the inside), will the warning alarm sound as he approaches the fence from the inside?

Kim February 24, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Can you tell me more about how to use a resistor to reduce the strength of the correction level? Is this information found in the instructions? Can I get the resistor anywhere, or do I have to buy something special from PetSafe?

I have a 4.5 lb Yorkie, so I want to make sure this won’t be too harsh for him. Thanks!

Marty February 18, 2014 at 11:59 pm

I am planning to purchase a Cane Corso Italian Mastiff which will likely grow to 110 lbs. These are large intelligent dogs. Will this contain them? I do have an older petsafe deluxe unit that works great with my pug. If the Yard Max will work with the Cane Corso am I able to use the existing in ground wire and just update the base station and collars? Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Marty, if you already have the Deluxe, I would recommend buying the PetSafe Stubborn collar for the Mastiff.

April M January 31, 2014 at 11:31 am

We currently have a 4′ metal fence that our 7 month old female husky has learned to climb. Fortunately for us, she never goes more than 1 house down in the neighborhood. Would this fence system work well for her as she has much longer and thicker hair than many huskies do. I read on one of your reviews that you recommended something for dogs with longer fur? Also, does the wire have to be buried or could we attach it to our existing metal fence, either along the bottom or along the top?

ADMIN – Hi April, you will want to shave the fur around the collar and used the long contact points that are included with the fence. Also, you can attach the wire to either the top or bottom of the fence.

Amanda Fondren January 27, 2014 at 7:17 pm

I have used the pet smart wireless system with our two 4 lb yorkies, as they are roamers and think they are big dogs. I am wanting to install an underground fence, as we now live on 53 acres and have a great pyranees mix and a golden retriever. Which system would be the best for about 10 acres? Will the Yard max be enough control for the golden retriever?

ADMIN – Hi Amanda, for 10 acres, I would recommend going with SportDog SDF100A for that size of property with larger dogs.

Tom Wilson January 24, 2014 at 5:28 pm

I have a small 5lb. Dog that is very stubborn and just takes off. I like the run through protection. However, I am concerned about collar. Will your small collar be all right? I don’t think your stubborn fence is what I need. Please help me. Tom Wilson

ADMIN – Hi Tom, the YardMax is for dogs 10 lbs and up. The PetSafe Little Dog is the only collar that is an appropriate size to fit a 5 lb dog. It should have plenty of correction to contain your little dog.

Steve January 23, 2014 at 12:02 am

I currently have an Invisible Fence Brand system with a 4yr. Golden Retriever and a 2 yr. German Shepherd. The system has worked fine until a couple months ago when a herd of deer moved into the neighborhood. Now I can’t keep the Shepherd home; he runs through the wire to chase the deer. The system is working perfectly, however when he returns he walks right back through the wire as if it has no effect. Will the Yardmax keep our Max (the shepherd’s name) in the yard? If so, can I convert the IF underground wiring to work with the Yardmax? I and Max thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Steve, the problem sounds like a collar fit issue. If your dogs were receiving the correction properly, they would react physically. A) Readjust the collar to make a snug fit and maybe trim the fur with scissors and B) You may want to contact your IF installer to check what level of correction the collars are set on and how wide the boundary zone is. One or both may need adjustment. To answer the last question, yes, you can use any brand fence with your installed wire.

Patrick January 19, 2014 at 10:56 am

Hello, Can you change the battery in the collar? Even though it’s rechargeable, these batteries eventually fail over time and require replacing. Can this be done or do I have to purchase another collar? Thank you for any info.

ADMIN – Hi Patrick, the batteries cannot be removed. You can have the collar replaced with the PetSafe warranty. The collar usually last around 5 years.

Michelle January 16, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Is the wire for the Petsafe Yardmax just regular electrical wire (and I understand the different guqges) or is it a special wire specific to this product?

ADMIN – Hi Michelle, it is wire manufactured to be placed in the ground directly. We recommend the higher gauges with thick insulation for durable installations.

terry January 13, 2014 at 7:59 pm

I have a 110 pound German Shepherd with an 1/2 acre would the pig00-11115 work efficiently?

ADMIN – Hi Terry,

Yes, the YardMax correction range is medium to medium strong. It should have plenty of strength for containing your Shepherd.

Bruce January 7, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Thinking about purchasing the pet safe yard max. I have an existing fence but my dog is digging under and escaping.
The design I would like to use is to follow the fence and then circle back and follow it back. I do understand this design requires I keep the wire 6 feet upon the return from the first laid wire path. My question – can the pet safe yard max model be used with this wire layout ? Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Bruce, you can use this layout on the YardMax, but you will have to switch it to traditional mode to run it. YardMax mode operates only with a perimeter loop layout.

tracy December 24, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Two questions: 1-I have a 90 lb bloodhound. Will the collar work on her loose skin? 2-Can the wire be run over underground electricity?

ADMIN – Hi Tracy, No, you will need the SportDog fence for a bloodhound. You will want to keep a distance of 6 to 10 feet away from underground electricity.

Brian December 8, 2013 at 10:53 am

Hi, would this system work with any of the electronic doggy doors? I want to buy this system, but my wife is insistent on that feature. Thanks!

David W December 7, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Please advise. In reference to the Max Yard Mode. Where the signal projects from the outer half of the wire. How does the signal know which side of the wire is the outer half. Its the same wire that in one mode has a radius type transmission and the B mode is from the outer half or as you stated a Vertical transmission and a outward transmission? Please explain how does the signal distingish what is up, down, inside or outside.

Michelle December 7, 2013 at 2:12 pm

I would like to use the YardMax mode for a new house, but keep my dogs contained to the backyard or the front yard. The side yard is pretty small so I was thinking I could do the entire perimeter (as required) but use the outdoor zone to cut access to the side yard. How far do the outdoor zones reach and do they interfere with wired fence?

kate bussell December 5, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Hi! I have a 100 lb bulldog and a 55 lb Weimereiner mix. Will the collar work for the size of my dogs? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Kate, yes the correction range on the YardMax is medium to medium strong. It should have plenty of correction to contain both your bulldog and Weimereiner.

Angela Camacho November 26, 2013 at 12:28 am

I have a blue healer that’s about 55 lbs and a dachshund that’s 8 lbs will the petsafe little dog collar still work with this system? And if so what is the cost for that collar?

ADMIN – Hi Angela, unfortunately the Little Dog collar is not compatible with the YardMax. With your mix, I would recommend the Stubborn fence with the Little Dog collar.

Don Keister November 24, 2013 at 5:28 pm

I received the Yardmax from Dogfencedyi.com on Friday 11/15 and installed it with 1000′ of wire on Saturday 11/16. Today is 11/24 and our 60# 10 month old boxer has not left the yard yet. I wish I had ordered this sooner. Thanks Stu for a great website.

Bob Purcell November 24, 2013 at 9:01 am

I have to install part of the boundary line into the lake bed in the rear of our property. Can I use 4″ metal garden staples to hold the line in place or will it cause interference in the system?

Bob Purcell November 23, 2013 at 5:36 pm

I’ve noticed in examples of wiring the zones for dog fences that you can run a wire up and over an entrance that you want to not shock a dog in a single wire system, such as entering a back door with a back yard system only.
Does this wiring technique apply also to the Yardmax system?

Dave November 23, 2013 at 3:55 pm

I have a two acre area and the front third is fenced with and has an electric gate to allow access to the property. The roadway through the gate is asphalt paved and I don’t want to damage the paving. The total two acres is rectangle in shape. How would I fence this? I want it to end at both ends of the existing fence?
Thanks,
Dave

Cindy L. November 20, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Good afternoon…I have 4 dogs, of which one is a 9 month old lab-pit mix. I have 1.4 acres with a wood fence surrounding the property. The previous owner had horses and made the wood fence electrified to keep them in. The puppy loves to get in the pool. Are the collars water proof? If not, do you have an alternative? I have a screened in lanai that has a doggy door that leads to a small fenced in area. The puppy has chewed a through the screen on the other side of the lanai and jumps out so he can roam free. Can this system be set up to have 3 separate areas 1.to keep him away from the lanai screen, but still be able to go out the doggy door. 2. can it be wired so he won’t dig around the dog run, as well as, 3. fence the entire 1.4 acres for all the dogs to run free.

Steve November 20, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Hello, I have a pond that runs accross my yard. I would like for my dog to still be able to access the pond. 1. Can I run the wire through the pond without interrupting the signal for the remainder of the yard? 2. Will the collar still work if layed at the bottom of the pond. 3. Any installation recommendations?

Thanks,
Steve

Steve Carroll November 13, 2013 at 10:55 pm

I have decided to purchase the PIG00-11115. I would however like an explanation of depth to bury wire and how deep is too deep? Most of my area is wooded with 4 or 5″ mulch and decayed leaves. I need to place the wire below the mulch and in the ground to keep deer and other animals from breaking it. I also have a paved drive with conduit and electric supply currently crossing under the drive at about 12″ deep. Will the current depth of the conduit and already having a 110 service in it work if I run 14 ga. dog fence wire there as well or will I have to cut a groove in the drive and install the new wire at say 4″deep?
Thank You

Lydia November 13, 2013 at 10:07 am

Hello, I was wondering if someone could use this fence would work to contain a dog and a cat at the same time? I saw there was a petsafe collar for cats but I wasn’t sure if this wire/transmitter would work on for both. Thanks! -Lydia

ADMIN – Hi Lydia, this fence is not designed to fit cats. The PetSafe Cat Containment fence is what we would recommend. That particular fence is located under our PetSafe fences on our store. You can bundle in an additional dog fence collar for your dog as well.

Cindy November 11, 2013 at 9:34 am

Is there a remote trainer available that works with this system?

ADMIN – Hi Cindy, no there is not. The 5100 is your best option for a dog fence/remote trainer combo.

Skip G November 5, 2013 at 9:50 am

How does the YardMax work with a couple feet of snow on top? And with below 0 temps? (Montana)

ADMIN – Hi Skip, should hold up nicely. We recommend switching to the traditional mode during mounting snow. This allows you to turn up the signal to compensate for the snow. When it melts you can turn it back to YardMax mode.

silvia November 4, 2013 at 4:08 pm

I have 12 acres, but not necessary for my four dogs to need to go to the fence line of the acreage. 10 acres is plenty of room. I got horse hot wire on the sides and working so far. My big problem is when the gate opens for cars, they speed out. I want to put this system there until they learn to stop runnnig out the gate when UPS truck comes in. Then, take advantage of the 10 acre containment ability of the PetSafe Yard Max PIG00-11115. Can I do that with this system first? Just loop it near the front gate to prevent the dogs from running out?

Fábio November 4, 2013 at 3:40 pm

We have 2 dogs (rottweiler) still puppies. Our doubt is, as they joke between themselves, if the receiver could be bitten or destroyed. I wonder to know if you can suggest something. Also, I wonder to know if you ship in Brazil.

Brittany Loeser November 3, 2013 at 8:34 pm

Hi, do you work will any installers near zip code 78233?

Tony Amoroso October 30, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Hello

I was considering the PIG00-11115 and wanted to know if you could tell me what exactly I would need and how much exactly it would cost? I have a 55 lb. lab mix and a 10 lb. havanese and 2.75 acres that I would want to fence in. I understand I would need extra wire to encompass such a large area, and I would like to upgrade it to the extra gauge as well.

Thank you for any information.

Tony

Brad October 27, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Hi, I have a question. We were doing really well with training. Today, our lab crossed the line, started to get statically corrected and then as she crossed back over to our yard, she continued to get statically corrected like she was still outside the boundary. I had to rip the collar off her to keep her from continually getting corrected. We have the signal dial number at 5, since her head is about 3 feet off the ground give or take depending on what position she is in. The wires are put in correctly and we’ve tested all sections of the fence to make sure the correction zone is outside the yard. How come our dog was continually corrected when she came back into the yard? The fence is in Yard Max mode (Setting A).

ADMIN – Hi Brad, during training, did you happen to make any adjustments, even minor to the settings? Any changes like switching between Mode A and B can sometimes create an issue to solve. Walk the collar around in hand outside and in your home. Check to see if you are receiving any other random activations. Try walking and recreating the issue. See if it happens on other areas of the boundary.

Micah October 26, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Do you know if this system is compatible with the petsafe stubborn dog collar? If not, do you think the run-through protection compensates for the weaker correction levels of the collar?

ADMIN – Hi Micah, no, this fence is not compatible with the Stubborn collar. However, the collar for the YardMax is medium to medium strong. It be able to handle most large breed dogs. And yes, I do believe the true run through prevention of this fence balances out the need for a stubborn collar.

Cindy October 25, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Hi, I live in Canada, do you ship free to Canada and are import charges included in the total price. What shipping options do you use to ship to Canada. Also is the 16 gauge wire solid core. Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Cindy, we do not ship free to Canada. We only ship USPS Priority International. You should expect normal duty and customs to be added. Our 16 gauge wire is solid core.

l October 24, 2013 at 8:26 am

Hi, If there is no backup battery, how do you know when the battery is getting low do you recharge it? If the battery dies while the dog is outside, I am guessing the fence will not be functioning at that time? Until it is recharged? Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Lauren, the backup battery is a function of the wall transmitter not the collar. The wall transmitter is powered with a power cord plugged into a wall outlet. If your house power goes out, then the fence power goes out. On the rechargeable collar, there is a battery indicator light which blinks red when it is time to charge the collar.

Daryl October 21, 2013 at 10:44 pm

OK, we have 3 dogs that would need to be contained in this boundary. What are the cost of the extra collars? The dogs are a beagle pup +4 mos., mature beagle +9 years, and a Chocolate Lab +2 yrs. I know… diversity…but will this fence system work well given this scenario?

ADMIN – Hi Daryl, extra collars are $119.95 (Oct. 2013). A charger is included with the purchase of an extra collar. With your mix, the YardMax will work well. It has a true run through prevention system. The collar has a medium to medium strong correction strength and you can separately adjust the correction strength on each collar.

Shannon October 21, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Hi there! We are just beginning our research on these fences and wondered if snow depth affects the fences performance? We get up to 4 feet of snow. Thank you in advance!

ADMIN – Hi Shannon, yes snow can affect dog fences, but we simply increase the signal distance to accommodate the snow. In the spring you can decrease the signal when the snow melts.

Stan October 21, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Your video review stated in Yardmax mode that it produced RF signals vertically, and not a radius. I have an installation question regarding the wooden fence on one side of my backyard, as I am not worried about digging under the fence and would like them to access the fence line.
Would I install the wire near the top of the wooden fence (8 Ft) as I originally planned or bury the wire at the base of the fence?

ADMIN – Hi Stan, you can do either really cause the signal is broadcasting vertically downward as well.

Kathleen October 21, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Hello. Do you work with any local installers in the 02332 area code?

ADMIN – Hi Kathleen, unfortunately we do not.

Nathan Frisby October 18, 2013 at 2:27 pm

At what depth do you have to bury the wire? We have a blacktop drive way and I assume that I would need to somehow get the wire under it?
I have the need of a fence that I could once again have a dog but I can’t afford to put chain link all the way around my 2 acre and with the amount of deer, coons and such that comes into our yard, well you get the idea.

Telesha Hochstetler October 17, 2013 at 12:12 am

We are trying to decide between this fence or a Havahart Radial Wireless. This fence seems much more consistent. It does seem daunting to try and put the wire in ground where we want to go. It would be through the barnyard under the roads, etc. Can we put this above ground along the fence line, then dropping it underground to go under the roads and under pasture gates? Our concern with the Havahart Radial is the shop, which is between the house and the barn, has a metal roof. It says, as long as you have – a line of site (except normal walls). We have a daylight basement so there is a drop in the ground. If we mount the unit high does the line of sight angle downward from that point to the perimeter? Thank you for your suggestions.

ADMIN – Hi Telesha, Yes it is definitely more reliable and consistent. Yes, you can run it along the fence line above ground and drop it underground at the roads and gates. The barn will be problem for the Havahart for sure and raising the Havahart transmitter actually will diminish the signal further.

Walt Lafontaine October 16, 2013 at 9:19 am

Hello, If I ordered the Yard Max PIG00 11115 but wanted to upgrade to #16 wire, do you just sub the wire and re price, or does the kit come with the #20 and you buy the #16 on the side…seems like a waste. Anyway I would want the #16 wire so what would be the cost for 500ft? I assume and splices are still included. Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Walt, we actually sub the wire and discount the cost. This can be accomplished from the product page. The upgrade cost to the 16 gauge is $60. Yes, the wire splices and flags are included.

John October 15, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Is the wire you sell solid core or stranded? Also, which type do you recommend?

ADMIN – Hi John, we sell solid core copper insulated wire. We recommend upgrading to 14 gauge to avoid wire breaks.

David October 14, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Hello. Do you ship to Canada? We live in Ottawa Ontario. Thank you

ADMIN – Hi David, we do ship the YardMax to Canada.

Beckey October 6, 2013 at 12:50 pm

I am looking at installing the Yardmax system for our lab mix dog, but our neighbor uses the Petsafe inground fencing system for her dogs. My question is how far away from her buried wire does our wire need to be with this system to avoid interference? Thanks for the advice – very nice to have someone to turn to with questions!

ADMIN – HI Beckey,

The distance you need to be from your neighbor’s fence depends on how wide you set up your boundaries. ON a typical installation you need to be around 12 feet away. If that is not possible, use one of the dual frequency Perimeter Ultra systems that can change frequencies to avoid interference and does not need to be separated from the neighbor’s fence.

Leave a Comment