PetSafe Yard Max PIG00-11115 Review

Pros

  • Run through protection
  • Maximizes dog's yard space
  • Light and small collar

Cons

  • 10 acre capacity

Rating

Retail Price

359.95

Our Price

259.95

Availability: In Stock

Orders before 1pm ship same day

More Product Images

Enlarge Video Review

PetSafe YardMax Overview

Summary: Best Overall Dog Fence

The PetSafe YardMax PIG00-11115 is our new top choice in-ground dog fencing. Launched in September 2013, this is the first fence to earn our 5-star rating. It does all the fundamentals well, and adds a few unique features such as run-through prevention and YardMax.

Excellent Fundamentals

The YardMax is the first fence that has all the essential features we like to see. The fence has a small rechargeable collar, collar fit testing, progressive correction, independent correction, lightning protection, and is compatible with indoor and outdoor zones.

Small Rechargeable Collar

The YardMax has one of the smallest and lightest collars on the market. Despite the small size it is rechargeable and also has one of the highest maximum correction levels.

Run-Through Prevention

The YardMax is the first DIY inground fence that has run-through prevention. The dog cannot run through the fence no matter how far they go.

Maximizes Yard Space

The YardMax is the only system that you to get full use of your yard. Most systems project a boundary on both sides of the wire, using up yard space. The YardMax allows you to have a boundary that only starts on the outside of the wire, meaning you don’t have to sacrifice yard space.

10 Acre Capacity

The YardMax can only handle a 10 acre yard. Larger areas will need to use a higher capacity system.

petsafe yardmax collar

Small Rechargeable Collar

The PetSafe YardMax brings an improved collar design. It is even smaller than the PetSafe Ultrasmart collar.

Sleek and Lightweight Collar

The YardMax has one of the smallest collars we have seen. The collar base weighs a dainty 1 ⅝ ounces. With the collar strap, the whole collar only weighs 3 ounces even. That’s is about as light as they come making it nearly as small as even the dedicated little dog systems.

We would be comfortable using this system on dogs as small as 10lbs. Under 10 lbs, the PetSafe Little Dog is more appropriate, not so much because the collar is smaller, but because it allows for lower correction levels more appropriate for smaller dogs.

Rechargeable Lithium Ion Battery

The YardMax collar is rechargeable. The collar recharges with a recharging cord which is included. You charge the collar by plugging in the charger to the charging port on the collar. A rubberized cover protects the charging port on the collar.

The collar uses the newer lithium ion batteries. A battery charge lasts around a month under typical conditions, and recharging the battery takes around 2 hours.

While the recharging cord on this system works well, we do prefer the docking station used on past PetSafe systems. The cord is a little messier to store than the docking station which can just be left plugged into a convenient outlet.

Long and Short Contact Points

The YardMax includes both short and long contact points. These are switched out using the contact point tool which is included. The long contact points are designed for dogs with thick or long fur.

Zones

The YardMax works with 3 different zones: the Paws Away Outdoor Rock, the PetSafe Indoor Zone, and the new Paws Away mini pet barrier. Zones create boundaries around items and places your dogs should not have access. These may be things like the trash, the babies nursery, the dining room or the outside in the garden.

Five Progressive Correction Levels

The correction levels are set on the collar. The collar has a tone only mode and 5 correction levels which you can cycle through. You set the correction level using the on/off button located between the contact points.

The correction levels range from medium to strong. In fact, the YardMax correction strength falls just below the PetSafe Stubborn fence.

Independent Correction

PetSafe has come to the rescue. The YardMax fence offers independent correction levels for each collar. In other words, you can set the correction levels separately for each collar to customize the experience for each of your dogs. This also means that folks will no longer have to mix and max collars across a variety of fences. Amen!

Collar Fit and Ready Test

The YardMax collars have the collar fit test. This is a good test for the novice dog fence owner to help them confirm that they are properly fitting the collar on their dog. It confirms that the collar contact points are making good connection with the dog’s skin, which is a must for proper operation. With a proper fit, your dog will not receive a correction.

The collar also has the ReadyTest feature. The ReadyTest feature is a series of beeps that the collar will perform when first removed from the charger to confirm it is ready for operation.

Collar Fit Test

The PetSafe YardMax collar helps you get the collar fitted properly. Improperly fitted collars are the second most common reason (after lack of training) an in-ground dog fence doesn’t get 100% containment. Improperly fitted means the probes do not make contact with the dog’s skin. When this happens the dog does not consistently get the correction and learns that the boundaries can be ignored. This issue is particularly relevant to long-hair dogs where fitting the collar can be tricky.

The YardMax has a ReadyTest mode where the collar makes a clicking sound when it is properly fitted. This eliminates guessing and lets you get a perfectly fitted collar every time.

Nylon Collar Straps

The collar comes with the versatile and reliable nylon cloth collar strap with quick release buckle. We prefer the cloth strap to the plastic or rubber collar straps on other systems because they grip better, are less likely to come undone, and are more comfortable on the dog. The YardMax collar strap is weaved around the outside of the collar and fits neck sizes 6” to 28” inches.

↑ Top

petsafe yardmax transmitter

Transmitter

The PetSafe YardMax wall transmitter makes two major advances. It is the first DIY dog fence with YardMax mode and run-thorugh prevention, both features that were previously only available on the $2,000+ Invisible Fence systems.

Run Through Protection

A weakness of wired dog fences is that the dog can run through the boundary and stops getting the correction if they go far enough past the wire. On the YardMax, the dog cannot run through the boundary. In YardMax mode, the correction starts when the dog goes past the boundary wire, then continues indefinitely. This makes it much more difficult for the dog to run through the fence.

The only limit on the correction is the safety timeout that kicks in after 15 seconds of continuous correction. This improvement is going to make training much easier because running through is no longer an issue that we need to protect against.

Includes Lighting Protection Module

The YardMax includes a lightning surge protector. This handheld device is simply a fuse-based electrical surge interrupter. A dog fence is vulnerable to two sources of electrical surges: 1) through the power outlet and 2) through lightning striking in proximity to the boundary wire. The lightning protector covers both and is a valuable addition in areas that have a lot of lightning activity.

10 Acre Capacity

The transmitter can only operate over 10 acres, a relatively small capacity for a dog fence. For larger yards, teh SportDog SDF-100A which has a 100 acre capacity is a better choice.

↑ Top

YardMax Mode

The transmitter can start the boundary at the boundary wire which means the collar begins to give the audible warning tone only after the collar has crossed the wire. This allows you to have more of your yard accessible than a standard dog fence.

The fence can also be operated in a traditional where it acts just like a regular dog fence. The collar activates at an adjustable distance away from the wire. The traditional mode is preferable for single sided layouts, using the double loop, and with yards with physical fencing. In traditional mode the maximum radius is 8-10 feet from the wire.

More Fussy Wiring

The YardMax has slightly more fussy wiring than standard wired systems. The left and right wire in most systems can be used interchangeably, but in the YardMax, because it has a one-way boundary you need to have the correct wire plugged into each terminal hole. If you get this wrong, the system doesn’t work properly and makes the interior of the yard the correction zone, and you need to switch the wires back to make it work correctly.

petsafe yardmax wire, splices, and flags
Dog Fence Wire Gauges
Petsafe Ultrasmart Tester Tool

Boundary Wire

20 Gauge Direct Burial Wire

Like all of PetSafe’s fences, the standard 500 feet of 20 gauge wire is included with your fence. It also includes 50 boundary flags to mark you boundary. This covers around 1/3rd of an acre. Additional boundary wire is available to cover up to 10 acres.

While the included 20 gauge wire works and is the most economical option, it is relatively weak. Where budget permits, we recommend upgrading the wire to 16 gauge to completely prevent wire breaks. Finding wire breaks is not fun!

Professional Gauge Wire Available

Roots, ice, and everyday wear can cause wire breaks. Wire breaks will shut your system down and create lots of work for you. We recommend upgrading wire to at least 16 gauge wire. The professional grade wire 16 gauge, and 14 gauge is built to withstand these break risks.

For small installations, using the thicker wire is a no-brainer. For a small cost, you massively reduce the chance of a wire break. For very large installations, the thicker wire is still useful, but the extra cost becomes significant.

Contact Point Wrench

The contact point wrench is a handy tool included that makes swapping out the short and long contact points simple.

Standard 500 Feet of 20 Gauge Wire

The YardMax basic kit includes 500 feet of standard 20 gauge wire, 2 wire splices, and 50 marking flags. This is sufficient to cover 1/3 of an acre. Extra wire, wire splices, and marking flags can be purchased in our store. The 20 gauge wire kits cost $30 and include an extra 500 feet of wire, 2 splices, and 50 marking flags.

Area (acres) Wire Required (feet)
1/3 500
1/2 1,000
1 1,000
2 1,500
3 2,000
4 2,000
5 2,000
10 3,000

Tester Tool

The system includes a test light tool. This handy tool is used when setting up and testing the boundary signal of your fence. When the test light is properly positioned over the contact points and the collar enters the boundary zone, the activating collar will cause the tiny bulb to flash.

↑ Top

petsafe yardmax wireless zones

Indoor / Outdoor Zones

The PetSafe YardMax is the first collar compatible with 3 different types of zones. These battery powered zones are designed to exclude your dog from specified locations inside and outside of your home. Being that they are small and inconspicuous, you can set them under a couch, at the base of the stairs or behind the trash can.

The YardMax is the only collar compatible with the new Pawz Away Mini Pet Barrier PWF00-14040. This new zone smaller than the ZND-1000 zone and therefore can be placed in smaller places. The mini pet barrier is also waterproof so it can also be utilized outdoors too.

↑ Top

PetSafe YardMax One Year Warranty

Warranty

The fence is covered under PetSafe’s limited lifetime warranty. During the first year, all equipment is covered 100%. After the first year, equipment can be replaced at a steep discount.

We also provide a 30 day return policy on all our systems. You can return the system for any reason, for a full refund.

↑ Top

Conclusion

The PetSafe YardMax is the new leader on the block. There are three great innovations this fence has that really sets it apart from the competition. First, the new YardMax mode is does not devour any yard space and creates an infinite boundary zone beyond the wire, so there are no more run through risks. Second, the system does not all the dog to run through the boundary line – continuing to correct the dog no matter how far they go. And third, PetSafe finally gives us smaller rechargeable collars that allow for separate correction levels per collar. This feature allows all dog owners with dogs 10 lbs and up with a mix of sizes and temperaments to match the YardMax to their group of dogs.

The PetSafe YardMax is the dog fence system of choice./p>

↑ Top

PetSafe YardMax Video Review

Video: PetSafe YardMax PIG00-11115

↑ Top

PetSafe YardMax Manual

PetSafe YardMax Manual

Download the PetSafe YardMax PIG00-11115 Manual (PDF).

↑ Top

Specifications

Model Petsafe YardMax
PIG00-13619
Type In Ground
Collar Battery Rechargeable – Lithium Ion
Correction Levels 5 Levels + Progressive Correction
Beep Only Training Mode Yes
Collar Warning beep Yes
Collar Vibration No
Independent Correction Levels Yes
Collar Dimensions 3” (L) x 1.2” (W) x 1.2″ (D)
Collar Weight (with band) 3 ounces
Collar Weight (without band) 1.5 ounces
Collar Neck Size 6″ – 28″
Collar Water Resistance Waterproof
Collar Fit Test Yes
Maximum Number of Dogs Unlimited
Minimum Dog Size 10 lbs
Minimum Age 6 months
Maximum Containment Area 10 acres (3,000 feet)
Boundary Width 0-12 feet (adjustable)
Control Box Dimensions 4.75” (L) x 4.75” (W) x 5.75“ (D)
Control Box Power Source Wall Outlet (110V)
Indoor Pod Compatibility Yes – ZND-1000, PWF00-14040
Outdoor Pod Compatibility Yes RFA378 Rock
Included Boundary Wire 500 feet + 2 wire Splices
Included Boundary Flags 50
Training Materials Manual
Other Collar Charger, Collar Point Wrench
Package Dimensions 12” (L) x 8” (W) x 6″ (D)
Package Weight 7 lbs
Warranty Limited Lifetime

FREE Expert Advice

When you call us, you will talk to an experienced expert.

Containment Guarantee

Your dog will be completely contained to your satisfaction within 30 days, or we will give you a full refund. That is a better deal than you would get from a $2,000 invisible fence. You have nothing to lose.

FREE Dog Fence Guide

experts guide

The PetSafe YardMax come with a FREE copy of our Dog Fence Experts Book on installing a dog fence and training your dog (instantly downloadable in PDF form). The book has 90 pages of great information and tons of illustrations to make installation easy, and training effective. It will save you hours and get you complete containment faster.

You get the book immediately with your purchase. Your order confirmation email will include an instantly downloadable copy of our book. Value $24.95.

30 Day Easy Refunds

easy returns

If you are unhappy with your purchase for any reason you can return your system within 30 days for a full refund of your purchase price. Getting a refund is easy, just email us at returns@dogfencediy.com or call on (888) 936 – 4349.

Our returns are easy and hassle free:

  • It is no problem if you used the system, that was the point! We will still take it back even if there is some wear-and-tear
  • Did you bury the wire? No problem, we will still take it back. (If you can’t or don’t want to dig the wire back up, we will just charge you the regular price for the wire you kept)
  • The 30 day period starts from the time you receive the package so you have plenty of time to do the installation and training. If you need a little extra time, let us know.
  • The only time we don’t take returns is if it is well after the 30 days, or the unit is seriously damaged.

FREE Wire Break Kit

wire break kit

The wire break kit helps you repair any breaks in the dog fence boundary wire. The kit includes extra wire, two wire nuts, and two waterproof capsules to keep your splice watertight.

Value $14.95.

Free Fast Shipping

fast shipping

Shipping within the continental US is free.

Orders placed before 1pm EST ship out the same day. We have warehouses spread across the country so you get your package in 2-3 business days.

50,000 Happy Customers

We had more than 10,000 happy customers last year, and are hoping to have even more in 2013. We understand how important it is to keep your dog safely contained, and understand the trust you place in us when you make an order. We want to make containment as easy as possible. We value your business, and we want you to refer your friends.

Low Price Guarantee

low price guarantee

We strive to have the lowest prices of any PetSafe authorized retailer. If you find any of our products at a lower price from an authorized retailer, please let us know and we will be happy to match the price. For a price match, call us on (888) 936 – 4349 or email pricematch@dogfencediy.com.

PetSafe Authorized

PetSafe Authorized

We are a PetSafe authorized retailer. This means you are guaranteed the full manufacturer’s warranty, and a brand new system. Beware of unauthorized retailers that sell grey-market systems. Systems coming from unauthorized retailers do not receive a warranty.

Family Owned

Family Owned

We are family owned and operated. We know the only way a small business like ours can prosper is by providing exceptional service at an exceptional price.

We know you can give your business to Wal-mart, Amazon, or anyone on the internet. So we will work harder to get your business. And we work harder after the sale to make sure you have a great experience and tell your friends.

Confused? Have Questions?

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns don’t hesitate to call or email us.

We will treat you like our neighbor. No sales pitch. No spam. No obligation. Just honest to goodness advice from the experts.

Our Most Popular Pages

best dog fence ~ electronic dog fence reviews ~ petsafe deluxe ~ bury dog fence wire ~ dog training fence ~ ef 3000 gold ~ innotek sd ~ sport dog sdf 100 ~ dog fence twisted wire ~ dog fence trencher ~ wireless fence review ~ smart dog ht-023 ~ above ground dog fence ~ innotek sd 3000 ~ petsafe wireless containment ~ petsafe prf 3004w ~ innotek pet fence ~ ef 4000 ~ petsafe stubborn dog fence ~ perimeter technologies dog fence ~ innotek wireless fence

{ 132 comments… read them below or add one }

Dustan D December 20, 2014 at 1:53 am

if I laid the wire in a loop and went under my deck which is 12 feet high could the dog go into the house via the deck without getting corrected?

ADMIN – Hi Dustan. Do you have a doorway entrance to your house under the deck? If so, the 12 feet distance from the bottom of the deck to the ground would allow your dog to safely enter a doorway into your house (under your deck). The vertical height over the ground gives your dog enough space to get in and out of the back door without triggering the correction. As always, you want to test with the dog collar at the back door to make sure there is no signal accidentally reaching down where the dog will walk. Also test rooms near the Boundary Wire line to make sure there is no signal spilling into those rooms. If there is unwanted spill, turn down the boundary width setting on the control box until you are getting no spill.

Lance December 18, 2014 at 12:08 pm

I have a four barbed wire fence around 90 percent of my property. Could I just bury the wire in the in the other 10 percent, and follow the lowest barbed wire the rest of the way ?

ADMIN – Hi Lance. We do not recommend attaching Boundary Wire to non-galvanized metal (e.g., chain link fences, barbed wire). The radio signal could be amplified or deadened by the metal. We recommend burying the Boundary Wire 1-3 inches in the ground and 10 feet in front or 10 feet behind the barbed wire areas.

Terry Smartt December 17, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Would like to purchase the pet safe yard max PIG00-11115 but would like to change the wire gauge to 16 gauge. Is this a problem. And also am I to understand this will not mess with transmitters or recievers and all still warantty covered.

ADMIN – Hi Terry. The PetSafe YardMax PIG00-11115 is our new top choice in-ground dog fencing. Yes, you can upgrade the Boundary Wire to 16 gauge Boundary Wire. The standard 20 gauge Boundary Wire will be removed from the bundled dog fence package. The upgraded Boundary Wire will not interfere with the Transmitter or Receiver Dog Collar. Upgrading the Boundary Wire in a dog fence system will not affect the One Year Non-Transferable Limited Warranty. What is the age, weight, breed, and temperament of your dog(s)? What is the size of your pet containment area?

Terry Smartt December 15, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Can I replace the 20 gauge wire with 14 gauge from your company?

ADMIN – Hi Terry. Have your received your shipment? If so, what is your order number? Is the 20 gauge Boundary Wire in the original packaging? How many 20 gauge Boundary Wire (500 feet spools) do you have? If the spool or spools are in the original packaging, untampered, and resellable we can accept a return of the unused Boundary Wire.

Sarah December 15, 2014 at 12:15 pm

We are fencing in about 6 acres and initially will only put the pet fence in to prevent the dogs from going through the gate if it is open and to keep them from around the pool. We are thinking that a rock on either side of the gate area (it is 16 feet wide) will protect the gate, and we wanted to ask your advice about the pool. As for the rest of the property, we are putting in 5 feet of no-climb fence, but if this won’t stop our livestock guardian dogs (as they chase off coyotes and bobcats that they perceive to be a threat to our poultry and goats), we may want to wire the whole area. If we do so, is it necessary to bury the wire, or can we just string it along the bottom of the existing fence posts?

ADMIN – Hi Sarah. The Pawz Away Rock Outdoor Zone (RFA-378) would work great. It would allow you to create a small zone that prevents your dog from getting too close to the pool. The unit takes four D batteries and can work in both wireless or wired mode. The Pawz Away Pods are compatible with the PetSafe YardMax. In wireless mode, the outdoor zone creates an adjustable circular exclusion zone up to 12 feet in diameter. If the dog enters the exclusion zone, it is first warned with a beep, then given a correction. In wired mode, you can connect up to 150 feet of Boundary Wire to create a wired boundary loop to stop the dog from entering the protected area. Note: the unit cannot work in both wireless and wired modes simultaneous, you have to chose one or the other. Does the 5 foot “no climb” fence contain any metal? If so, it could amplify the radio signal in the Boundary Wire. Do the existing fence posts contain metal? I would recommend burying your Boundary Wire 1-3 inches in the ground to avoid amplifying the radio signal in the Boundary Wire.

Tamara Graham December 14, 2014 at 10:39 am

We have installed the YardMax system in our 1 acre yard. Our 1 yr old English Setter is a runner so we really need this to work! The boundaries in the yard seem to be working well and he is avoiding the flags after just a few days but the area where the wire crosses the concrete driveway seems to give inconsistent correction. I have tested the collar along the driveway and sometimes it warns/corrects and sometimes not. Any suggestions?

ADMIN – Hi Tamara. I’m sorry to hear about your YardMax dog collar. Are there any metal objects near or buried under the driveway? Metal objects can amplify the radio signal in the Boundary Wire. Where does the Boundary Wire cross the driveway? I would also verify the rechargeable collar is fully charged. What is the setting on your Boundary Width Dial on the Transmitter? You may need to adjust the setting up or down by 1 level. Then, test the Receiver Dog Collar with the Test Light Tool to confirm the Dog Collar is giving a Beep and Correction at the correct Boundary Wire locations on your property.

cam December 10, 2014 at 9:36 am

Hello,
Is there any reason why it says not to put it in places where it falls below 0 degrees C? I was going to put it in my barn but it would be protected from rain and water just not the cold.
Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Cam. Does your barn have metal siding or a metal roof? We recommend to place the PetSafe YardMax PIG00-11115 transmitter in an area at least 10 feet away from metal objects. We also recommend placing the transmitter in a dry location where temperatures do not fall below freezing 32 degrees Fahrenheit (e.g., garage, basement, shed, closet). Some people drill holes through the crawl space to run the Twisted Wire through the house.

Corbin December 1, 2014 at 2:09 pm

I have a one acre space that I would like the dog to be able to roam freely. I live in NE Ohio where the temperatures are below freezing daily in the winter. Will this affect the functionality of the in-ground fence or would a wireless system be a better fit? It seems to me that a wireless system would be the most convenient and far less work. What are the major features/advantages/benefits of the two in comparison?

ADMIN – Hi Corbin. Place the YardMax Fence Transmitter in an area where temperatures do not fall below freezing 32 degrees Fahrenheit (e.g., garage, basement, shed, closet). Some people drill holes through the crawl space to run the wire through the house. Wireless dog fences do not work as well as wired dog fences. The reason is because wireless dog fences receive radio interference from metal, trees, hills, and buildings. Also, the radio coverage is circular, which does not align with most landscape layouts. Wired dog fence systems carry a more consistent signal from the transmitter, to the Boundary Wire and Receiver Collar.

Meredith November 25, 2014 at 8:45 am

Our dogs are very sweet and loving, but we currently don’t have a fence and one of our neighbors has come to us, because he believes one of them has killed about 20 of his chickens. We live out in the country on a one acre lot. Would this be the best fence to purchase?

ADMIN – Hi Meredith. The PetSafe YardMax Dog Fence (PIG00-11115) might not have a high enough level of correction to capture your dog’s attention. Therefore, I would recommend the PetSafe Stubborn Dog Fence (PIG00-10777). This dog fence is for dogs that require a particularly strong correction. The system is designed for low pain sensitivity dogs, and very large dogs that require a stronger correction than can be provided by a standard collar. Also, this collar is cross-compatible and can be used with dogs of very different sizes or disposition (or intend to get such dogs). Instead of having to use a single type of collar that is a compromise between each dog’s needs, you can provide each dog with a collar that suits them. For smaller dogs under 12 lbs, the PetSafe Little Dog collar can be used, for medium sized dogs or dogs that do not require a strong correction the PetSafe Deluxe collar can be used.

Andrew Vranich November 23, 2014 at 5:46 pm

1. What device do you recommend for 25 acres?
2. How much wire is required for 25 acres?
3. How deep do you recommend burying the wire.
4. Can the transmitter be hooked up to a battery, rather than a wall plug.

Thanks,

A Vranich
530-680-7707

ADMIN – Hi Andrew. Here are the answers to your questions.

1.) The SportDog SDF-100A is a dog fence system intended for very large installations up to 100 acres. The SDF-100A is a perennial favorite, with a sturdy well-built collar that comes with a vibration warning and is waterproof.
2.) We recommend 5,000 feet of wire for 25 acres. Does your property have trees? Tree roots and seasonal weather temperatures contribute to wire breaks. Therefore, you may want to consider upgrading your Boundary Wire to 16 gauge. The strongest wire that we sell is 14 gauge Boundary Wire.
3.) We recommend using a garden edger or wire laying trencher to bury the Boundary Wire 1-3 inches down in the ground.
4.) We do not recommend connecting the transmitter to a generator backup battery because of electrical drops in voltage. Are you going to use a generator to provide the main source of power to the transmitter? The transmitter requires a standard 110 volt wall outlet that provides a consistent flow of electricity. This is very important because power failures will leave your dog “uncontained” in your yard.

Jennifer Ross November 18, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Does this system have a battery back-up in the box for when the power goes out?

Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Jennifer. No. The PetSafe YardMax Dog Fence (PIG00-11115) does not have a battery backup feature on the fence transmitter box. However, the transmitter does have status lights that verify power is on.

Les Frickert November 18, 2014 at 8:24 am

Can the fence kit be returned if it doesn’t contain my dog?

ADMIN – Hi Les. Yes. We provide a 30 day return policy on all our systems. You can return the dog fence system for any reason, for a full refund.

Steve Byers November 13, 2014 at 10:29 pm

I just received my order from UPS, Shipment # 100024894 for Order # 100026477. I wanted to upgrade my wire to 2000′ 18 gauge wire, will I still be able to get it for the $129.85 upgrade price?

Thanks,

Steve

ADMIN – Hi Steve. The cost for four 500 spools of 18 gauge Boundary Wire is $127.80. The sales tax is $12.46. The cost of shipping is $40.80 for UPS Ground. The cost for 3 Day Select is $110.45. The cost for 2nd Day Air is $162.52. The cost for Next Day Air is $230.19. When do you need the wire? Please let me know if you need help placing an order.

Mary November 9, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Is the collar waterproof (enough to swim)?

ADMIN – Hi Mary. Yes the PetSafe Yard Max PIG00-11116 collar is waterproof. We have had dogs swim with the collar and it still functioned correctly.

Sabrina November 8, 2014 at 12:27 pm

I would not be able to install can you recommend someone?

ADMIN – Hi Sabrina. Where do you live? You could hire a local handyman to help you install the PetSafe Yard Max PIG00-11115. Or, you could contact your local veterinarian and ask if they know of any professional dog fence installers in the area you live.

Lou Martin November 6, 2014 at 9:44 pm

i’m interested in purchasing a reliable electronic fence, hopefully under $250, that will contain a 95lb Lab within an RV campground site. I’ve never owned one of these fences before and don’t know one from another. Wired or wireless? Any suggestions?

ADMIN – Hi Lou. The PetSafe Yard Max PIG00-11115 works for dogs over 10 lbs. How big is the RV campground site? This system can handle a 10 acre yard. I would recommend a wired system to avoid possible signal interference from nearby RVs. Please let me know if you have further questions, or need help placing an order.

Aron Richardson November 5, 2014 at 2:28 am

G’day. Is there a model that plugs into Australian sockets?
Aron

ADMIN – Hi Aron. PetSafe products are manufactured in the United States and require a 110 volt outlet. Australian outlets require a 240 volt outlet. Therefore, you would need to research and find a compatible power converter (purchased separately) at a local hardware store.

Vance Walser November 4, 2014 at 7:28 pm

I have a wooden decorative fence that varies for 42 48 inches high. Has served us well for years with previous dogs. However, our new Golden doodle can and will jump fence. I wandered if I a wired top of fence and set distance low would that work when he decides to jump. My area is maybe 100 ft long but the width varies from 15 to 20 some odd ft. I would like for him to get near fence just not over it. Please advise me my options if any. Thanks in advance. Vance

ADMIN – Hi Vance. Which dog fence system are you using? Most systems allow you to run wire across the top of the fence and keep five feet of distance when making a u-turn and coming back down the bottom of the fence. This helps to avoid wire signal interference. Also, you will need to adjust the setting on the Boundary Width Dial located on the Transmitter Box. Then, perform a system test while holding the dog collar and walking toward the boundary wire to confirm the collar is beeping at your new boundary location.

Ann Winfrey November 4, 2014 at 4:43 pm

I have been confused about how to get the wire from the house to the perimeter – but if I am reading correctly, I should twist the wire between the house and the perimeter to make an area where the dog is not corrected – when I twist like this the rest of the buried wire will still work correctly with the collar – Am I correct?

another question – we4 have a very large mastiff and I am not sure that 28 inches will do for his collar – it appears, looking at the picture that we can easily slip a new larger nylon collar in the receiver? – Am I correct here?

last question – can I use any 14 gauge wire or is there some specific about the wire that comes with the system

Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Ann. Which dog fence system do you have? Twisted wire is used to join the house transmitter box to the boundary wire. This enables the dog to safely walk over the twisted wire path. The wire should be buried between 1-3 inches deep in order for the system to work correctly with the collar. What is your Mastiff’s neck size? The PetSafe Yard Max PIG00-11115 has an adjustable collar between 6″ – 28″. You can also slip a second non-metallic collar above the receiver. You can use solid or stranded copper wire. The wire must be insulated. We recommend using polyethylene coated wire for maximum durability. We recommend using 45 mil thick insulation or heavier for durability. Most home improvement stores will not carry this. It is a good idea to contact a local electrical supply house to verify the wire can be used with a dog fence. All our fences will work with 14 and 16 gauge wire. Our fences will NOT work with wire bigger than that; meaning 12 gauge and greater. 16 gauge wire fits the best into the unit. 14 gauge wire is a tight fit and sometimes the terminals on the transmitter struggle to hold 14 gauge securely.

jolene October 31, 2014 at 6:22 pm

i noticed pdf said not to leave collar on longer than 12 hours??? due to pressure ulcer issues. Is this really an issue? I can’t see taking them off my bloodhounds every 12 hours and then putting them back on???

ADMIN – Hi Jolene. How many Bloodhounds do you have? Can anyone else in your family help perform daily checks around the stainless steel contacts on the PetSafe Yard Max PIG00-11116 Receiver Collar? This is a precautionary step that will help keep your pet safe and comfortable. You may find after some time that your pet is very tolerant of the receiver collar. If so, you may relax some of these precautions.

CIannucci October 25, 2014 at 6:20 pm

I have four dogs. Will this fence work with four collars?

ADMIN – Hi Clannucci, yes you can use an unlimited amount of Yard Max Collars with the PetSafe Yard Max Dog Fence. One collar comes with the fence and you can add in 3 additional Yard Max Collars with your order.

Kristie Harrison October 24, 2014 at 10:24 pm

Hello,

I have a lab that is about 20 lbs. I am trying to decide if I want to buy the Havart wireless dog fence or the Havart wired fence. Can you help me with the following questions?

– How cold can each product to expected to work? We live in Alaska, it is not uncommon for the temp to drop to -50.
-Can either collect by worn while the dog is in water?

thank you,
Kristie Harrison

ADMIN – Hi Kristie. The Havahart In-Ground Dog Fence system comes with a collar that is not waterproof. On the other hand, the Havahart Wireless Dog Fence system does come with a waterproof collar, but can only withstand freezing temperatures up to -22 degrees below zero. Also, the receiver collar will not work with snow drifts and heavy snow fall. The transmitter will not be able to communicate with the receiver collar in these unique situations. Therefore, I would not recommend using this product in Alaska.

Bill Erwin October 19, 2014 at 3:07 pm

How wide of a path is the invisable line? My back yard is only a 12 foot wide area to get to the bigger part of the “did yard”

ADMIN – Hi Bill. The Boundary Width Dial on the Transmitter controls the distance from the wire that the radio signal is emitted to define boundaries. You can adjust this setting between 1 – 10 feet. The Yard Max mode is ideal for small yards as it allows your dog to use up to 30% more of the pet area.

Donald Liles October 19, 2014 at 6:12 am

Hello,
I’ve got two male Samoyeds in a relatively small, residential yard (approx. 1/4 acre). I already have a small 1m high fence but one of the lads is going over the fence and escaping. Need to stop this.
Do you recommend the yard max for this type of setup? I use a bark collar occasionally and they respond extremely well with this type of correction. How do you train not going past the fence if there is no correction prior?
Also, I am US military living in Germany with a PO Box for shipping. We can only receive USPS mail, not UPS. Is this an option for shipping?
Any military discounts?
Thank you…Don

ADMIN – Hi Donald. Yes. The PetSafe YardMax Dog Fence (PIG00-11115) would give you 30% more room for your dogs to play. When using YardMax mode on the transmitter, simply install the boundary wire 10 feet from the fence. Then adjust the Boundary Width Dial on the transmitter to define boundaries. Unfortunately, we do not offer military discounts. However, I have requested that to be reviewed. In addition, PetSafe products can not be shipped outside of North America.

Ray October 6, 2014 at 7:12 pm

1) We live in the North east, will the Yard Max work through several feet of snow? 2) Is the wire 1 or 2 conductors? 3) Can I get larger spools of 14 gauge wire?

ADMIN – Hi Ray, the Yard Max will work good through snow. The system has the ability to expand the signal through the snow. The 14 and 16 gauge dog fence wire we have in stock is solid copper. We have spools of 1,000 feet and 500 feet.

Julie Koch September 29, 2014 at 2:45 pm

I recently purchased YardMax from you. Can I install YardMax and use it in YardMax mode if I don’t go all the way around my house? My house is set way to one side of the 1/3 acre lot so we intended to install it on one side only. However, when reading the manual, it looks to me like I can only use a double loop layout because I won’t have a Boundary Zone on all sides of my property. And when a double loop is used, you cannot use YardMax, is that correct? Any clarification would be helpful as we plan the layout. Thanks, Julie Koch

ADMIN – Hi Julie, you can run the PetSafe YardMax Dog Fence (PIG00-11115) wire in your gutters to suspend the wire along the side of your house high enough up so that you can use Yard Max mode. This will allow your dog to go underneath out of range of the signal in order to be able to walk into the yard. You will not need to run a double loop.

Robert Beadrd September 28, 2014 at 9:10 pm

We will be doing excavation on our property next spring and are concerned the line may get buried too deep. How deep is it OK to go with the line?

ADMIN – Hi Robert, the deepest you want to bury the line is 8 inches in the ground.

Denny Hellbusch September 24, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Should a dog be of a certain age before you use a wired fence? My dog is just three months old. I am looking at your Pet Safe Yard Max that does 10 acres because of the number of settings on the collar. I am assuming I can use it on one acre and just use less wire?

ADMIN – Hi Denny, the best age at when to begin dog fence training is when your dog has already been successfully taught to sit, stay, and come. This is usually around the age of 6 months. However, I have seen some dogs learn these basic commands as early as 4 months old. Also, yes you install any size of loop up to 10 acres.

denise September 24, 2014 at 10:47 am

At what age do you recommend to start training your dog with the fence ? We have two puppies ages 11 weeks and 16 weeks.

ADMIN – Hi Denise, we recommending dog fence training for dogs at least 6 months of age. At this point dogs are usually able to learn basic commands like sit, stay, and come. When they are able to learn these commands, they are ready.

Brian J Noah September 17, 2014 at 12:19 pm

We are interested in your product. We are picking up 2 Blue Heeler puppies (10wks old) next week.
Please price the following: 2 collars, 3000 feet of 14 gauge wire. How old do the dogs need to be before we can use this? I don’t understand the “Run through prevention” Please explain how it works. If they run through the fence, do they continually get shocked? Thank you, Brian Noah

ADMIN – Hi Brian, the Yard Max fence, one extra collar, 3,000 feet of 14 gauge is $887.65. The best time to begin training is once your heelers learn sit, stay, and come. This is roughly around 6 months old. The Yard Max correction is a timed event. This means that if your dogs leave the boundary, the collar will begin to deliver a correction for up to 15 seconds. With traditional dog fences, the correction is delivered only if the collar remains around the immediate vicinity of the boundary wire and does not venture too far past the wire.

Bridget Ball Shaw September 14, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Hi – We are new dog owners (parents?) and think that we may need this product. A few questions. We live on a 1+ acre lot and we would like Partner to have full range, so we should plan on enough wire to cover the circumference of the lot? How do we bury the line under the driveway? Partner is 5 months old. At what age should we install the fence? Love that you are independent and family owned. I won’t drive into the parking lot of a WalMart! Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Bridget, thanks for your feedback and support. To cover your acre plus of property you will need around 1,500 feet of dog fence wire to cover the perimeter. With concrete driveways, customers usually do not cut or dig under the driveway. Most customers find a gap to tuck the wire down inside. If you an asphalt driveway, you can run the wire through a drainage pipe or find a natural break or gap to tuck the wire. Otherwise, you’ll need to cut a asphalt driveway. Partner is the perfect age to start dog fence training. We recommend starting around 6 months old.

mike becker September 14, 2014 at 11:17 am

We live on a lake with a long walkway to a large dock. The walk is 3 foot wide and 60 foot long. Centered in the middle of our yard. I wish our dog to have free access to the walkway and dock… But the dock is too large to practically enclose with wire.. And I assume that if wire run down the 3 foot walk on either side or walkway it would trigger the collar. How do I maintain continuity and still allow him access to the walkway and dock while still enclosing the rest of the yard? I could send diagram if required.

ADMIN – Hi Mike, we typically restrict dogs from leaving the yard unless they do so with their owner and on leash. By excluding the dock due to the installation difficulty, it will need to be excluded completely except for those times you allow your dog to walk onto the dock with you.

Greg Hauser September 13, 2014 at 8:42 pm

I need a thousand feet of wire for a one acre lot. Is there much difference between 16 & 14 gauge wire ? If I upgrade to 16 or 14 gauge does it come as a continuous 1000 ft roll or two 500 ft rolls?

ADMIN – Hi Greg, both 16 and 14 gauge wire are break proof. My personal preference is always run 14 gauge. Our rolls come in 1,000 foot spools.

michelle davies September 12, 2014 at 3:49 pm

We currently have the invisible fence brand dog fence which works well with our dogs. However, the interior shields are constantly failing. Three out of the five do not work. One of which I take responsibility for as the battery died and my dog took notice as well as revenge by peeing on it. For 190.00 a pop it was a hard lesson. I originally paid $250 for the first three. Every time a dog needs an adjustment to his collar I’m charged $125 for a service call. I’m OVER it. My question is…since the yard is already been played with the wire could we disconnect the invisible fence and replace it with yours and replace the dog collars with your receivers? We have a 60lb lab/hound mix, 40lb king Charles/Welsh spaniel mix and a 15lb mini pin. Do all your indoor shields require batteries or are there any rechargeable? Thank you

ADMIN – Hi Michelle, I agree. That is way too expensive for a dog fence and barriers. You can connect the PetSafe Yard Max to your existing dog fence wire layout for sure. The zones we sell are battery powered. The new mini pet barrier is waterproof so that may be an option for the pee avenger. :)

Faye Borcherding September 12, 2014 at 11:10 am

I have two 100 pound + Bouviers and they are runners. Their prey instinct is very high and will chase squirrel, cats, and deer. They need more yard space then traditional fencing. They are a thinking breed and I am concerned if one breaks through both will be gone. Will your fence keep them from running through? Thank you, Faye

ADMIN – Hi Faye, the PetSafe Yard Max is the best dog fence for preventing run through issues. The collar is set to a timed 15 seconds versus a zone of signal. So, the collar will continue to correct even if they venture far beyond the wire.

Jenise September 11, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Can the wire be put under a gravel area, or area with rock bedding (rocks about 2″ each)? The side of our yard is graveled with these bedding rocks.

ADMIN – Hi Jenise, yes you can bury the wire below gravel and it will still work. We recommend running the dog fence wire through a pvc pipe or garden hose though to prevent the wire from receiving damage from the gravel.

Mary Wilhelm September 10, 2014 at 8:40 am

Is the collar waterproof vs water resistant?

ADMIN – Hi Mary, the collar is fully waterproof.

Mike September 8, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Hello, We are purchasing a home that has chain link fence on three side and a creek as the remaining boundary. We would obviously like to protect against the dogs getting into the creek. Can we use electric fence in just one straight line? I’m not aware how this works. Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Mike, unfortunately you will not be able to create a straight line. Our work around is creating a long narrow loop along the opening that is connected to the wall transmitter with twisted wire.

Brian September 6, 2014 at 10:07 am

We are moving to a new property that is too large to build a traditional fence, which is what our dogs are used to. We have over 2 acres, but will likely only run the wire around the backyard. We have a 60lb Pit Bull Shepherd mix and a 15lb Min Pin Chihuahua mix, so they obviously require much different correction levels. Both are pretty stubborn, but will definitely roam the neighborhood if not contained. I have read the specs and the reviews and believe the Yard Max is the right product, but am also considering the Stubborn Dog system and adding a small dog collar. We would like the ability to add the indoor barriers to keep them from going upstairs as well. Am I on the right track with the Yard Max or should I stick with the older system?

ADMIN – Hi Brian, the Yard Max is the better option. The collar will fit both your Pit bull mix and your Min Pin mix. You can set each collar correction level separately which will prevent over-correcting one of the dogs. The Yard Max is also the only fence with the indoor zone options and the Yard Max mode offers a superior run through prevention compared to the PetSafe Stubborn.

Julie September 4, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Why does the dog need to be 6 months old.

ADMIN – Hi Julie, we wait until dogs are 6 months old because few dogs are mature enough to understand training under that age. Once they have learned how to sit, stay, and come, they are old enough for dog fence training.

Jim September 4, 2014 at 10:48 am

I am looking at the yardmax for a four year old beagle that is an escape artist. He digs under our wire fence. Is this the best system for her? We live in upstate NY. What compensations do we need to make for snow and below zero temperatures?

ADMIN – Hi Jim, the Yard Max would be an excellent fit for a Beagle. Combined with your physical fence, the Yard Max should create a impenetrable buffer that will immediately prevent your Beagle from being able to dig under your fence. When it snows, you can simply increase the signal radius to compensate and as long as you install the wall transmitter somewhere that is protected from wind and will stay dry, your fence will run great for many years. You do not need to install your transmitter in a temperature controlled room.

Lena August 24, 2014 at 9:50 am

We have a year old border collie, does it work on hilly properties? Are the collars waterproof our property has a creek she enjoys? We live in Michigan and wonder how does the unit fare in winter under lots of snow? Lastly some customers don’t bury the line, can it be ran along fence lines and buried in other areas? Thank you

ADMIN – Hi Lena, the YardMax does struggle on very steep hills around a grade of 35 degrees and greater. The collar is waterproof which allow your Collie to continue to enjoy the creek. In the event of heavy snow, you can turn up the boundary radius signal to compensate. You can run it along a fence line and bury in other areas. I recommend upgrading to at least 16 gauge to hold up against roots and adverse weather through the seasons.

Bob August 22, 2014 at 2:33 pm

My electric and telephone wires run underground. Will this interfere with using the YardMax? Also, I live in New England where we have long, cold winters. Should we take special precautions to protect our wires from the snow, cold, frost heaves, etc? Thank you! Bob

ADMIN – Hi Bob, as long as you cross the dog fence wire in a perpendicular angle that will prevent any interference. If you’re running parallel, make sure to keep a distance of at least 8 feet, maybe more to avoid issues. If you install 14 gauge wire, it will hold up to the New England winter. However, if you like, you can additionally run the wire through plastic conduit for protection.

Artie August 19, 2014 at 4:36 pm

We have a 60lb pitbull mix who manages to dig under our 6 ft vinyl fence. I would like to try to install this system to maximize our yard size and only prevent her from digging out (crossing the fence line) but I want her to be able to play fetch etc and return toys even if those items have rolled up against the inside of the fence. Will this work for us?

ADMIN – Hi Artie, Unfortunately, you will not be able to accomplish all those things. It is not recommended to use the YardMax fence in YardMax mode with a fenced yard. The problem is that in order to prevent your Pitbull from digging out, you will need to use a traditional dog fence mode where the fence creates an adjustable signal that keeps the collar back from the wire. If you use the YardMax mode and the collar can reach the fence, then the collar will not activate until the dogs digs out. If that happens, you’re dog will receive 15 seconds of correction and will not be able to return into the yard.

Mike August 17, 2014 at 10:37 pm

We have an Australian shepherd puppy. Will your system be good for this breed? I have heard many different opinions on them not staying in a hidden fence system. Some say they are to smart and figure it out and only hurts for a few seconds and some say they will stay in because they are smart enough to stay in their yard even without a fence. Would you recommend this for us?

ADMIN – Hi Mike, I am not sure if you will be able to train your dog to be self contained without a dog fence. It is possible. It is true that some dogs are persistent in trying to run through the traditional dog fences. However, a dog will not be able to run through the PetSafe YardMax because the static correction is not based on a “ring” of signal but instead is based on a 15 second timed correction. Basically, if the collar leaves the boundary, the collar will deliver a static correction for up to 15 seconds unless your dog returns into the yard. An Australian Shepherd can be 100% contained on the YardMax.

Christi August 17, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Hi, I have an almost 200 lb mastiff who likes to run the fence and scare neighbors, so I’m trying to find a way to keep him a few feet away from the fence. Do you think this collar be strong enough for him?? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Christi, the Yard Max is a good fence that may work, but I would recommend the PetSafe Stubborn fence for your application. The Stubborn dog fence is cheaper, but it has the collar correction strength you need to keep your large Mastiff a few feet off the fence.

Robert August 15, 2014 at 4:04 pm

We are looking to purchase a Rottweiler pup which will eventually grow up to be a pretty good size dog. Which fence would you suggest and at what size would you suggest training him?

ADMIN – Hi Robert, for any dog over 10 lbs that you plan to contain with a perimeter loop, I would recommend the PetSafe Yard Max. The boundary is not easy for dogs to figure out because the correction is a timed event instead of based on the radius of signal around the wire. We recommend training dogs on a dog fence starting at 6 months old.

Sal LaCause July 22, 2014 at 8:44 am

I have a 9 month old Great Dane. I am looking for an invisible fence that will stop him. He currently weighs 110lbs and we expect him to get up to at least 150lbs. What do you recommend?

ADMIN – Hi Sal, as long as the collar remains no higher than 4 feet maximum, the PetSafe YardMax is the fence you want to contain your Great Dane with. The sustained correction of YardMax mode is superior to the boundary zone style fences such as the PetSafe Stubborn and SportDog SDF100A.

Daniela July 21, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Hi There, I have a 9 month old female Akita, who loves chasing squirrels and cats. Will this fence be able to keep her with her boundaries even when she is chasing after a squirrel?

ADMIN – Hi Daniela, yes the PetSafe YardMax has a true run through prevention. The signal no longer simply a boundary zone, instead the collar will first sound a 3 second warning beep followed by 15 seconds of static correction if your dog exits the boundary loop. No matter how fast or far they try to run, your dog will be corrected to retreat and return inside the boundary loop.

chris July 17, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Are there any systems on the market that have at least a two+ ft beeping/warning zone? No one addresses the issue of where to place the flags. Are they placed in the spot when you first hear the warning beep or at the shock zone? We are having a difficult time hearing the beep and I would think you would want to make sure that the dog enters the warning/beeping zone before pulling them back, which is difficult to figure out when it bounces around so much.

ADMIN – Hi Chris, hearing the beep during the initial training step is not very important. The beep is purposely designed faint because loud beeping can really frighten dogs. In step one, the key is to introduce the dog to the flags. The flags are set at the point the collar will begin. However, in order to make training consistent for you and your dog, we recommend to train your dogs to the flags, NOT the warning beep. Assertively pull your dog back and give the verbal command each time your dog crosses the flags. Step one should only last a day or two. Your dog will learn that they are not to cross the flags. At at point, your dog is ready for the correction to be turned on. It is in step 2 and 3 that your dog will recognize that the beep is a warning before the static correction.

Dave July 16, 2014 at 11:10 am

I’ve been looking into getting a DIY fence for my backyard. I have an 85 pound pitbull. Have you experienced good results with larger breeds on your system? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Dave, absolutely yes. We have been recommending the PetSafe YardMax for larger breeds and stubborn breeds because its sustained static correction is a better solution for containment then simply a strong correction collar.

Federico July 14, 2014 at 1:36 pm

my petsafe ultrasmart got damaged by a surge due to a lightning. I would like to switch to a yardmax transmitter. Will I be able to use the ultrasmart collars on the new system or are they not compatible?

ADMIN – Hi Federico, no, the YardMax transmitter will not work on the Ultrasmart collars. You can get a 30% discount through PetSafe to switch from the Ultrasmart over to the YardMax.

Shannon July 14, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Hi, I just had Invisible Fence company over for an estimate to install the YardMax. They were very insistent that the YardMax would not contain my Bloodhound/Shepard Mix dog in our less than one acre yard with 14 gauge wire. They assured me it would fail and that if they installed it they would require we sign a release of responsibility for failure and/or injury if she should break through ( our dog barks but even when she has approached strangers, she usually just sniffs and occasionally a low growl. NEVER a bite! I know, never say never….) and they want no part of their signage placed (which I don’t want either!) I really believe they were trying to just force us to buy their product. Every review I have read about Yardmax has been pretty positive. Your thoughts? Also, they said we could not run it along the house because it would bring the signal inside…..in YardMax mode it wouldn’t go inside, correct? Or is it a problem interacting with inside wires? Thank you!

ADMIN – Hi Shannon, bloodhound’s are very stubborn but it’s possible to contain them. We recently put a bloodhound on the YardMax with good success. We also have a 30 day no hassle return policy. If you’re not happy we’ll provide you a 100% refund. If there is any fence that can contain a bloodhound, it is the YardMax with it’s true run through prevention. Yes, you CAN run the wire along the home and it will not broadcast into your home.

Brad July 12, 2014 at 8:30 am

Hello we have a 1 year old Samoyed that is 50 lbs. Based on your replies this collar will work on all dogs even with a coat of fur as thick as a Samoyed. Here is my question. We are on a corner lot roughly 1/3 of an acre and really don’t have a back yard so this seems like a good solution to maximize our lot. We do however like to take Jaxson for frequent walks so what do recommend we do to cross the barrier without getting in the car? Also I take Jaxson everyday to my Golf Course where he scares the geese for us. I was wondering if you have remote option compatible with the collar? as I am concerned about him diving to deep into wooded areas with Coyotes and need to give him a reminder to return. Thanks in advance for developing a great system. Brad

ADMIN – Hi Brad, we use a special training 6 weeks after the initial dog fence training for exiting and re-entering the dog fence. We call it Safe Gate training and it basically encompasses removing the collar and walking your dog over the boundary on leash. PetSafe discontinued the 5100 fence, the only fence with a remote training combo. Truth is that the remote trainer one the Innotek 5100 was very lacking as an add on feature. I would recommend budgeting for a separate remote trainer. You will get a much better experience and product that way. The Dogtra IQ Plus is a 1/4 mile range remote trainer that would be a great choice.

Ezio July 6, 2014 at 11:51 am

I have two dogs one over 10 pounds and other +/- 8 pounds, would be save to use YardMax for both of them? If not, could I have a YardMax system and only a extra Comfort-Fit Deluxe Little Dog collar? Thanks in advance for the advice!

ADMIN – Hi Ezio, the Little Dog collar is not compatible with YardMax. You can attach a resister to the collar to reduce the correction strength to prevent over-correcting the little guy.

Robby July 4, 2014 at 4:00 pm

I just bought the PetSafe Yard Max PIG00-11115. If I am going to attach part of the wire to our existing wood fence, should I still put training flags at the fence and train him that that part of the yard is a NO NO even though he would not be able to cross the boundary? Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Robby, I recommend using the traditional mode when attaching the wire to a physical fence. I would set the boundary signal to around 3 feet from the fence then set flags at the point where the collar begins to beep, which should be about 3 feet from the fence.

mac June 24, 2014 at 7:25 pm

We are moving into town and need your system but will it allow me to take the dog outside the fence for a walk in the woods on a leash?

ADMIN – Hi Mac, we train dogs to a specific routine in order to go outside of the dog fence on leash. During training, we recommend removing the collar and driving them over so they are not cognizant of leaving. After training, we introduce the leash routine we call “safe gate.”

Lacy June 20, 2014 at 8:30 am

Hi, I can’t seem to find anyone who can tell me about the energy/power requirements of the Petsafe Yardmax transmitter. I am aware that the transmitter requires 120V for the AC adapter, but, I can not find any one with information pertaining to the watts and or amps the transmitter needs. Can you provide me with any information. Thank you in advance.

ADMIN – Hi Lacy, here is what is printed on the power cord transformer. “PRI: 120V ~ 60Hz 0.15A.” And, “SEC: 24V ~ 400mA.” Hope this is helpful.

Dea June 15, 2014 at 11:42 am

I have 2 dogs that love to swim? Are the collars water proof?

ADMIN – Hi Dea, yes the YardMax collars are fully waterproof and can be submerged.

Steve June 13, 2014 at 6:09 pm

20 gauge or stronger wire – In one place (on the main page), you strongly recommend going with stronger, preferably 16-gauge wire; in another place (on the drop-down or pop-up for “Explain Extras”) you say that heavier-gauge wire doesn’t give much added benefit and is unnecessary. Which is it? Is your 18-gauge and 16-gauge wire stranded or solid core? I understand solid core is preferable because it corrodes far less readily. How weather-sensitive is the transmitter? I would like to mount it on the wall of my carport – the carport is open on the sides, but the transmitter would be under a roof and about 10 feet from each of the open sides. So it wouldn’t get rain or other precipitation, though of course it would be in unconditioned space so would get hot in the summer, cold in the winter, humidity etc.

ADMIN – Hi Steve, thank you for the letting us know. That is old info we are updating. Long ago, we only carried 20 and 18 gauge wire. There is not much different between those gauges. Now that we have professional grade wire, we highly recommend upgrading to at least 16 gauge for a break proof dog fence wire.

Michael May 30, 2014 at 1:16 pm

I am looking at using a single loop for my smaller backyard, but the only configuration that seems to work with my house and layout would have me doubling back a second time or twisting three single loop wires together to make an exclusion area for the perimeter of the back of my home and patio. Have you heard of anyone doing this and does this make sense?

ADMIN – Hi Michael, twisting three single dog fence wires together will not work. What happens is that when all are spliced together to the boundary wire, the three wires act as one wire and will transmit the signal. The double back layout is the only way to cancel the radio signal along the boundary.

Leslye May 28, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Are there any line of sight issues with the transmitter not transmitting to the collar? And can I thread the collar contact on a collar with a metal buckle? One of my dogs likes to eat the plastic clips on the collar of the other dog. Also, does the wire need to be in a complete loop or can it stop when it meets the house?

ADMIN – Hi Leslye, the underground dog fence, PetSafe YardMax, does not need line of sight with the collar. The collar responds to the signal broadcasting from the wire. The collar has no contact with the wall transmitter. Due to how the collar is built, you will not be able to install the collar base to a metal collar. To prevent chewing, we recommend spraying Sour Apple spray on the collars. The wire does need a complete loop to function properly.

Shirley Kuhn May 25, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Is there a way to get the wire underneath a concrete driveway? Will it work under there? Our Boston Terrier likes to run to the road so we to have the wire across the driveway too.

ADMIN – Hi Shirley, most of the time customers are locating a pre-paved groove in the concrete and laying the dog fence wire into the groove and caulking over it. There is a way to tunnel underneath but it is difficult to do.

Delos May 25, 2014 at 12:24 am

Can you please tell me the difference between the Pawz Away Mini Pet Barrier PWF00-14040 and the ZND-1000 zone. Or if not to much trouble, what is the difference between all 3 pods? Thanks.

ADMIN – Hi Delos, the ZND-1000 is a battery powered zone that creates an adjustable radius of 2 to 6 feet around itself and is the size of a smoke detector. The mini pet barrier is a battery powered zone that creates an adjustable radius of 1 to 4 feet around itself and is the size of a hockey puck. Also, the mini barrier is waterproof and programmable; meaning that you can program it to which collars you want it to activate. You would use this feature if wanting to keep dogs from eating out of each others food bowls. The Outdoor Rock is a waterproof, battery powered unit that creates an adjustable zone around itself of 2 to 6 feet in radius. Also, you can plug in a loop of wire into the Outdoor Rock for creating a boundary around irregular shaped objects or landscaping. The YardMax collar is the only underground dog fence collar that is compatible.

Colleen May 24, 2014 at 11:48 am

Hello, I have two cats (11 lbs) and just got a shepherd/husky cross puppy. Will your system work to contain all of my pets, do you have cat collars? Thanks, Colleen

ADMIN – Hi Colleen, there is only one type of collar for the YardMax underground dog fence. It will work on dogs 10 lbs and up. I would be confident in giving it a try on your cats since they are within the size range. You can set different correction levels for each dog fence collar on the YardMax to fit the correction needs for each pet.

Rosemary May 23, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Does the boundary wire have to be buried.

ADMIN – Hi Rosemary, the boundary wire does not have to be buried. You can also run it above ground. We recommend pinning it down with lawn staples.

Jody Wise May 22, 2014 at 2:37 pm

I have 2 small dogs around 5 lbs. Are they to small for this system? Also, would I have to purchase an additional collar. If so, what is the cost?

ADMIN – Hi Jody, the PetSafe Little Dog is the best fence for dogs that small. Each system comes with one collar, so you will need to add in a second collar. They cost $99.95.

Kristine May 15, 2014 at 7:25 pm

While the YardMax collar is compatible Pawz Away Mini Pet Barrier, can the Pawz Away collar be used with YardMax?

ADMIN – Hi Kristine, unfortunately no. The Pawz Away collar is only set to pick up the pet barrier.

Renee May 15, 2014 at 2:13 pm

We have two boxer puppies and are looking at fencing around 4 acres of land. Gravel road/driveway on the front of the house with partial fencing on one side and back and a hay field on the other side. We have already purchased the Yard Max but are unsure on which mode is best. We would like them to hear the correction and if they do not retreat they would receive a correction until they retreat to the pet area. Which mode should we use? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Renee, the collar operates the same in both modes, the difference is how you install the wire. The ideal mode is YardMax mode. When using YardMax mode you the collar begins to beep when the collar crosses the wire, so you want to take consideration where you install the wire. Essentially, install the wire at the point you want the dogs to receive the warning beep. In traditional mode, the collar begins to beep before your dogs reach the wire, so you want to install the wire at the edge of the property line and adjust the signal distance on the transmitter. We recommend a setting the distance no smaller 3 feet from the wire. But you can adjust as much as 9 feet from the wire.

Stephanie May 14, 2014 at 5:03 pm

We have a 60lb 2 year old Vizsla that we got last August. We live on roughly an acre of land and we are looking for a good invisible fence for him. It seems the YardMax would be a good fit. It looks like we will need extra wire as well. What you would recommend?

ADMIN – Hi Stephanie, with any underground dog fence you will want a strong boundary wire that can hold up against roots and weather. We therefore highly recommend installing 16 gauge wire. 14 gauge is stronger and adds greater protection.

Linda Troutman May 12, 2014 at 8:13 pm

Hello, I have a fence with a gate that my dog damaged in order to get out. The poles that secure the gate have been dislodged from the concrete that held them in. There is a path from my back door to the alley where we dump the garbage through this lose gate. How can I secure the wire in the gate area so that we don’t trip over the wire dumping the garbage or exiting to the alley and so the dog cannot slip through the lose part between the gate and the fence? Also, is any part of this system water proof?

ADMIN – Hi Linda, I would recommend running the wire on the ground and use lawn staples to prevent the wire from becoming a trip hazard. The PetSafe YardMax collar is fully waterproof, however, the wall transmitter is not. The Transmitter will need to be installed either in a garage, shed, or basement to protect it from the weather. It does not require a temperature controlled location.

Jeff May 10, 2014 at 2:59 pm

In the ‘Add Extras’ section, there is a drop down for ‘Twisted Wire’. Can you explain that option and what it consists of? Thanks. – Jeff

ADMIN – Hi Jeff, twisted wire is the braided boundary wire that connects the wall transmitter to the boundary loop wire located on your property line. It is needed when the wall transmitter is located 15 feet or more from the property line. Please check out our Twisted Wire page located under the Installation tab on the menu bar.

Alex May 9, 2014 at 10:43 am

Hi! I’m planning on buying the Yardmax system for my dog and I have two questions. 1) Is there something on the transmitter that let you know if there’s a break in the loop? 2) I will run the wire right against the front of my house to isolate the backyard only (and will make sure to remove her collar every time we go out the front door!). Is there any chance that if she’s in the house with the collar, it will correct her? Is there a distance that i need to keep? Thank you very much

ADMIN – Hi Alex, 1) Yes, with all underground dog fences including the YardMax and audible alarm will sound if the loop is broken. 2) If you make sure to use the fence in YardMax mode, your dog will not receive a correction inside the home.

hannah May 7, 2014 at 10:17 pm

Does the “tone” happen before the “correction”? OR is the “tone” a separate setting? I was hoping that my dog would hear a tone before the boundary, knowing that if he continues, he will then be corrected…is that how it works?

ADMIN – Hi Hannah, with all underground dog fences the warning tone happens first and 3 seconds later the correction will begin. With traditional fences, the collar will begin to give the audible tone as they approach the wire. If they do not retreat, the collar will begin to correct even if they do not advance. With the PetSafe YardMax, the same thing happens as with traditional underground dog fences but the difference is that it does not begin until the collar crosses the wire. Therefore, if you plan to use the YardMax mode, you may want to offset the wire. We usually offset the wire along a street for example.

Kathleen May 7, 2014 at 3:41 pm

I bought the yardmax rechargeable fence for my boxer. My husband was on his ride-on mower when he crossed the fence line. Immediately, our dog reacted with yelps even though he was inside the safe zone. I ran over and removed the collar, at which time I felt the strong shock myself. Any idea why this may have happened and what we might do to prevent it from happening again?

ADMIN – Hi Kathleen, we’ll need more information to understand what may have happened. How far away was your dog standing from the boundary wire? What is the setting set to on the wall transmitter dial?

Jason May 6, 2014 at 4:55 pm

My 5 acre property is already surrounded with an electric fence for my horses. I would like to install the PetSafe Yard Max. Will the dog boundary wire be affected if I hang it lower on the existing electric fence. Also, do you recommend a heavier gauge wire or is the 20 or 18 gauge sufficient for 5 acres? Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Jason, I would recommend keeping a distance of 4 foot minimum from the horse fence. If 90% of the underground dog fence wire is going to be installed off the ground, 18 gauge is perfect. However, if you end up running on or under the ground, I highly recommend upgrading to at least 16 gauge for a break proof wire.

Marc May 5, 2014 at 11:58 pm

I have flower beds around three sides of my backyard. How would that work to keep our dog out of the beds?

ADMIN – Hi Marc, if the flower beds are along the property line then you can run the wire in front of the beds to exclude them from the dog’s safe area of the property.

Danny Green April 30, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Can the wire be attached to an existing fence above ground?

ADMIN – Hi Danny, Yes, that is a great way to install an underground dog fence wire. We like to secure it to fences using zip ties.

sean smothers April 28, 2014 at 2:53 pm

we are getting a wolf husky mix. will the pig00-11115 be a good option for us?

ADMIN – Hi Sean, as long as you thin the fur with scissors and use the long contact points, the PetSafe YardMax will be a great fit. The issue with Wolf Husky’s that the thick undercoat can block the fur and prevent the collar from delivering the correction.

steve durawa April 12, 2014 at 10:31 pm

hi. On the petsafe yardmax, how does the boundary wire know which way is the outside to maximize yard space. steve

ADMIN – Hi Steve, actually it’s a bit different than we first thought. The collar is the brains. It switches from no correction to correction when it passes completely through the correction zone. It requires crossing back through the zone the second time before the collar stops correcting.

Sarah April 12, 2014 at 2:11 pm

We have a beagle (she is small around 15 pounds). Everyone has told us an invisible or underground fence does not work with them. Do you agree? Or do you have any satisfied beagle owner customers?

ADMIN – Hi Sarah, we do not agree with that statement. The YardMax is a great fit because of the YardMax mode that prevents run throughs from occurring. However, this technology is still second to thorough training. So, for us the equation is Great Training + Great fence = 100% containment.

Tiffany April 1, 2014 at 3:47 pm

We are currently renting our home and have a 1 year old lab puppy that has started being an escape artist. I don’t really want to dig up our yard, due to it being a rental, what are my options? Thanks.

ADMIN – Hi Tiffany, you can lay the wire on the top of the ground and/or attach it to a physical fence with zip ties. This makes it easy to remove when you leave.

Peter March 10, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Hi there is this collar water proof and dust proof
Thanks

John March 9, 2014 at 6:06 pm

I have a Petsafe Deluxe system installed from my previous miniature schnauzer. The collar clasp broke and I need a new collar for our new mini schnauzer (17 lbs). Can I use the Yardmax collar? I like the size and rechargability.

David Huunter March 9, 2014 at 11:14 am

we have 2 brittneys 9 month old , looking at fencing in 4 acres. we live on a farm so we do have outbuildings and rolling ground so we ruled out wireless systems, I,am looking at the pet safe yard max ,around the house ( approx. 1 acre ) I plan on burying the wire , the other 3 acres is a fenced in pasture that has wood posts , my question is can I attach the wire on the wood posts above ground on the 3 acres , there are also some metal posts , if we can run wire above ground should we use insulators on the metal and wood posts ? thx Dave

Nate March 3, 2014 at 3:47 pm

I am considering buying an invisible fencing unit but I’m undecided on which product would best suit my needs. I have two dogs one is a 9lb. Yorkie and the other is a 15lb Shitzu Bichon. I live on a city lot which I share because I own have on a twin home. How much cable would I also need? Thank you for your time

Nancy February 26, 2014 at 2:16 pm

We have a 65-lb basset hound and a 5-lb Yorkie, and a small 1/3 acre lot. Which system would you recommend ? How much would it cost for the extra collar for one of the dogs? Thanks!

Issa February 24, 2014 at 7:09 pm

I understand the correction starts outside the fence, where does the warning alarm starts at? My Siberian Husky breaks the wooden fence I have. I plan to bury PetSafe Yard Max cable right by the wooden fence (on the inside), will the warning alarm sound as he approaches the fence from the inside?

Kim February 24, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Can you tell me more about how to use a resistor to reduce the strength of the correction level? Is this information found in the instructions? Can I get the resistor anywhere, or do I have to buy something special from PetSafe?

I have a 4.5 lb Yorkie, so I want to make sure this won’t be too harsh for him. Thanks!

Marty February 18, 2014 at 11:59 pm

I am planning to purchase a Cane Corso Italian Mastiff which will likely grow to 110 lbs. These are large intelligent dogs. Will this contain them? I do have an older petsafe deluxe unit that works great with my pug. If the Yard Max will work with the Cane Corso am I able to use the existing in ground wire and just update the base station and collars? Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Marty, if you already have the Deluxe, I would recommend buying the PetSafe Stubborn collar for the Mastiff.

April M January 31, 2014 at 11:31 am

We currently have a 4′ metal fence that our 7 month old female husky has learned to climb. Fortunately for us, she never goes more than 1 house down in the neighborhood. Would this fence system work well for her as she has much longer and thicker hair than many huskies do. I read on one of your reviews that you recommended something for dogs with longer fur? Also, does the wire have to be buried or could we attach it to our existing metal fence, either along the bottom or along the top?

ADMIN – Hi April, you will want to shave the fur around the collar and used the long contact points that are included with the fence. Also, you can attach the wire to either the top or bottom of the fence.

Amanda Fondren January 27, 2014 at 7:17 pm

I have used the pet smart wireless system with our two 4 lb yorkies, as they are roamers and think they are big dogs. I am wanting to install an underground fence, as we now live on 53 acres and have a great pyranees mix and a golden retriever. Which system would be the best for about 10 acres? Will the Yard max be enough control for the golden retriever?

ADMIN – Hi Amanda, for 10 acres, I would recommend going with SportDog SDF100A for that size of property with larger dogs.

Tom Wilson January 24, 2014 at 5:28 pm

I have a small 5lb. Dog that is very stubborn and just takes off. I like the run through protection. However, I am concerned about collar. Will your small collar be all right? I don’t think your stubborn fence is what I need. Please help me. Tom Wilson

ADMIN – Hi Tom, the YardMax is for dogs 10 lbs and up. The PetSafe Little Dog is the only collar that is an appropriate size to fit a 5 lb dog. It should have plenty of correction to contain your little dog.

Steve January 23, 2014 at 12:02 am

I currently have an Invisible Fence Brand system with a 4yr. Golden Retriever and a 2 yr. German Shepherd. The system has worked fine until a couple months ago when a herd of deer moved into the neighborhood. Now I can’t keep the Shepherd home; he runs through the wire to chase the deer. The system is working perfectly, however when he returns he walks right back through the wire as if it has no effect. Will the Yardmax keep our Max (the shepherd’s name) in the yard? If so, can I convert the IF underground wiring to work with the Yardmax? I and Max thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Steve, the problem sounds like a collar fit issue. If your dogs were receiving the correction properly, they would react physically. A) Readjust the collar to make a snug fit and maybe trim the fur with scissors and B) You may want to contact your IF installer to check what level of correction the collars are set on and how wide the boundary zone is. One or both may need adjustment. To answer the last question, yes, you can use any brand fence with your installed wire.

Patrick January 19, 2014 at 10:56 am

Hello, Can you change the battery in the collar? Even though it’s rechargeable, these batteries eventually fail over time and require replacing. Can this be done or do I have to purchase another collar? Thank you for any info.

ADMIN – Hi Patrick, the batteries cannot be removed. You can have the collar replaced with the PetSafe warranty. The collar usually last around 5 years.

Michelle January 16, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Is the wire for the Petsafe Yardmax just regular electrical wire (and I understand the different guqges) or is it a special wire specific to this product?

ADMIN – Hi Michelle, it is wire manufactured to be placed in the ground directly. We recommend the higher gauges with thick insulation for durable installations.

terry January 13, 2014 at 7:59 pm

I have a 110 pound German Shepherd with an 1/2 acre would the pig00-11115 work efficiently?

ADMIN – Hi Terry,

Yes, the YardMax correction range is medium to medium strong. It should have plenty of strength for containing your Shepherd.

Bruce January 7, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Thinking about purchasing the pet safe yard max. I have an existing fence but my dog is digging under and escaping.
The design I would like to use is to follow the fence and then circle back and follow it back. I do understand this design requires I keep the wire 6 feet upon the return from the first laid wire path. My question – can the pet safe yard max model be used with this wire layout ? Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Bruce, you can use this layout on the YardMax, but you will have to switch it to traditional mode to run it. YardMax mode operates only with a perimeter loop layout.

tracy December 24, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Two questions: 1-I have a 90 lb bloodhound. Will the collar work on her loose skin? 2-Can the wire be run over underground electricity?

ADMIN – Hi Tracy, No, you will need the SportDog fence for a bloodhound. You will want to keep a distance of 6 to 10 feet away from underground electricity.

Brian December 8, 2013 at 10:53 am

Hi, would this system work with any of the electronic doggy doors? I want to buy this system, but my wife is insistent on that feature. Thanks!

Leave a Comment