PetSafe Wireless Fence System PIF-300

Pros

  • Wireless - no wires to bury
  • Portable and easily relocated

Cons

  • Circular boundaries only
  • Covers only up to 0.5 acres
  • Disposable proprietary collar battery

Rating

Retail Price

$349.95

Our Price

$279.95

Availability: In Stock

Orders before 1pm ship same day

FREE SHIPPING

More Product Images

Enlarge Video Review

The Petsafe Wireless Fence (PIF-300) is one of only two systems that does not require you to bury a boundary wire. The system transmits a circular boundary wirelessly. You just plug it in, adjust it to the desired radius and you are ready to train your dog. The great thing about this system is that it is just so easy. Instead of spending the weekend burying boundary wire, you can have it installed in about five minutes. The lack of boundary wire also means there is no maintenance required as there is no boundary wire to break. Because of the quick set up many of our customers use this product for vacation homes or when they are taking their dog on camping trips.

After recovering your strength from that lengthy installation, you train your dog just as you normally would with a electronic dog fence.

The system needs to be sheltered, so you will need to find a spot in your house or shed that is near to the center of your property. It has no problems transmitting through walls.

The downside is the lack of flexibility. First you can only have a circular boundary, and the unit must be in the center of that circle. This makes it impractical for most urban dwellers who live on rectangular plots of land and want a rectangular boundary. It is really most useful when you live on a large plot of land.

This brings me to the second downside, the circular boundary radius can be adjusted to a maximum of 90 feet. That is a fairly decent radius, covering about half an acre. But many people that want a wireless system live on very large properties and would like something that would give their dog a larger space. We would really like a version of this that had a radius of 200 feet, covering say two acres.

Summary: If you can live with the significant limitations (circular field, maximum 90 foot radius, obstructions, vague boundaries), you can’t get an easier solution than this.

Lets be frank. Ask anyone involved with dog fences about wireless systems and they will give you a look of disgust and pity. You would get a similar look if you told them you were going to contain your dog by tying them to a stake with a roll of Charmin. Now part of that is probably us protecting our jobs. Installing $2,000+ in-ground systems is where we really make our money, so if everyone did wireless (or Do-It-Yourself Kits for that matter) we would all be out of jobs. But, the bigger part is that they just do not work nearly as well as in-ground wired systems. Here’s why:

  • Circular Boundaries- wireless units only let you have a circular boundary, with the control box in the centre of that boundary. You can overlap multiple control boxes with some systems, like the Petsafe Wireless PIF-300, but even then it is very hard to get good coverage of the average lot which is a long thin rectangle.
  • Interference & Obstructions- wireless units are temperamental, like a Jack Russell in a handbag. They will just not get on well with about 50% of homes, with little rhyme nor reason. Systems have trouble getting through walls, but can even have trouble where there is direct line of site through a window. They never do well where there is metal siding, a metal roof, trees, or where the land slopes down from the house.
  • Consistency- there is a lot of vagueness in wireless units. The boundary line will move from minute-to-minute, so you never get a nice crisp boundary line to train the dogs. The boundary line moving 3-5 feet minute-to-minute is typical. This makes it hard to train the dogs. And it also means you have to be very conservative with the boundaries and leave more safety space between say the road and the boundary.

Part of the problem is that wireless is often promoted as a one-touch solution, which is an attractive if not misleading pitch. Push a button and you never need to worry about the dog escaping issue. But, for most people wired is a much better solution. Wired means 1 day of work, but will work 99% of the time and get you a better result. Wireless is batting under 50% and is at best a compromise. Still the promise of the one-touch solutions is seductive.
Let me temper all that bleakness about wireless a bit. Wireless definitely has it’s place. There are two situations where wireless makes a lot of sense. First, being highly portable they work great to keep the dogs nearby at a camp site, RV, trailer or small cabin. With fewer and thinner walls it is easy for wireless systems to get through. Second, if you think you absolutely can’t do boundary wire then it is worth a try. If it doesn’t work, you can always swap it for a wired unit (we are pretty cool about returns).
Subject to all the above limitations, if you are going to go wireless, the Petsafe Wireless is the better choice. The PetSafe PIF-300 is a little better than it’s competitor the Wifi Fence. The PetSafe has a significantly smaller range, but build quality is much better and it is a little more tolerant of obstacles. The PetSafe is also about $100 cheaper.
Du Du Du Charmin!
Stewart C. Aldous

PetSafe Wireless Transmitter

petsafe wireless fence transmitterThe PetSafe Wireless Fence transmitter unit is large, a little bigger than a one-gallon paint can. The system can create any boundary shape you want as long as it is a circle. You can control the size of a circle, from anywhere from a few feet up to a maximum of 90 feet in radius (0.5 acres). Transmitter units can be overlapped to create a larger containment space. (something you cannot do on the Wifi Fence)
An advantage with wireless units is that the boundary correction extends out infinitely so the dog cannot run through the boundary line. However, the collar will timeout and stop correcting the dog after 30 seconds if the dog does not return to the safe area.
Setting up the PetSafe wireless is a snap. You just plug the unit into a wall outlet, put it on a table (or wall mount the unit) 2-4 feet above ground level. The unit has just three controls:

  • Boundary Switch Boosts the wireless signal. Set it to “low” for boundary circles under 45 feet radius, and set it to high for boundary circles over 90 feet radius.
  • Boundary Control Dial Use this dial to fine tune the size of the boundary circle.
  • On/Off Switch Enough said.

The system also has a basic power light to tell you when the system is plugged in and switched on.

PetSafe Wireless Collar

petsafe wireless fence collarThe Petsafe Wireless collar is a larger collar, around the size of two boxes of matches and is appropriate for dogs over about 15 lbs. The receiver sits on a good cloth band and fastens using a snap type buckle.
Correction Level Button The collar has five correction levels, plus a no-correction beep only level. The correction levels are toggles by removing a plastic cap on the collar and pressing the button underneath.
Indicator Light The light lets you know when the collar is working properly and when the collar battery needs to be changed. It also lets you know what correction level the collar has been set to.
Long/Short Probes The collar comes with long and short collar probes that you would use with long and short hair dogs respectively. The probes are simply screwed into place on the receiver.
Disposable Collar BatteryThe collar uses the disposable PetSafe RFA-67 collar battery. The batteries come in at around $5 each and last 2-3 months.

Flags

The PetSafe PIF-300 comes with 50 boundary flags for you to mark the boundary circle. The best way to locate the boundary line is to use the collar and take it toward the edge of the boundary circle. Where the collar starts beeping, you should plant the flags to mark the start of the boundary.

Instructional DVD and Manual

The PetSafe training videos and Manual can be located online at PetSafe.net.

Warranty

The Petsafe Wireless has a limited lifetime warranty – really a one year warranty. After the first year repairs are charged to you at a fixed rate depending on whether the collar or the transmitter broke. The units have been reliable and repairs have not been a major issue.

Model PetSafe Wireless Fence PIF-300
Type Wireless
Collar Battery Disposable – PetSafe RFA-67
Correction Levels 5 Levels
Beep Only Training Mode Yes
Collar Warning beep Yes
Collar Vibration No
Independent Correction Levels Yes
Collar Dimensions 2.3” (L) x 1” (W) x 1.5″ (D)
Collar Neck Size ?” – ??”
Collar Water Resistance Waterproof
Collar Fit Test No
Maximum Number of Dogs Unlimited
Minimum Dog Size 20 lbs
Minimum Age 6 months
Maximum Containment Area 0.5 acres (5,000 feet)
Boundary Width infinite (adjustable)
Control Box Dimensions 9” (L) x 9” (W) x 9“ (D)
Control Box Power Source Wall Outlet (110V)
Control Box Battery Backup No
Indoor Pod Compatibility No
Outdoor Pod Compatibility No
Included Boundary Wire n/a
Included Boundary Flags 50
Training Materials DVD + Manual
Other Boundary tester
Package Dimensions 11” (L) x 12” (W) x 9″ (D)
Package Weight 9 lbs
Warranty Limited Lifetime

For the PetSafe Wireless Fence Manual click here. (PDF)

{ 123 comments… read them below or add one }

LeAnn January 26, 2014 at 10:16 pm

Had the unit for about 6-7 months. Has worked great until recently. Put several new batteries in it (thinking it was a bad battery) and wouldn’t shock but would beep. We tried resyncing the collar and unit and now the collar doesn’t do anything! Any suggestions?

ADMIN – Hi LeAnn, this is certainly not normal operation. It appears the collar has become faulty. PetSafe processes their warranty replacements. This unit is under warranty.

Vickie January 21, 2014 at 9:32 am

We just added a metal roof to our house will this affect the wireless fence in any way?

ADMIN – Hi Vickie, it will affect the signal and prevent the fence from operating properly.

Jade December 7, 2013 at 12:06 pm

I purchased the Petsafe Wireless containment system about 4 years ago for my female Labrador. It worked exceptionally for her boundary training to where as, she no longer needs to wear the receiver collar. However, we added a male Lab to our family 8 months ago, and boundary training for him isn’t going so well. The collar has been gradually set to the maximum static correction, and even on 6, it doesn’t seem to affect him. Now the collar is completely dead (battery replaced & checked with light tool @ boundaries). The collar is fitted taunt around his neck with the prongs properly in place. Before I replace the collar, do you recommend a different system? He’s definately at a higher tolerance level.

Tim November 5, 2013 at 8:45 pm

I purchased a pif 100 wireless fence with the if200 collar. My German shepherd is very smart that she learned if she runs across the barrier line that she does not get shocked. What would you recommend?

ADMIN – Hi Tim, I would recommend switching to a wired fence solution. The PetSafe YardMax has a true run through prevention and is better suited for a German Shepherd. The YardMax will correct them no matter how far past the wire they run, up to 15 seconds. The collar has a range of medium to medium strong.

Charlene November 4, 2013 at 6:49 pm

Hi – I have a G400-332A PetSafe Wireless Pet Containment System. The collar is RSC-PIF 275. It has always worked great, but just recently the when the warning noise starts it also shocks at the same time and does not stop for at least 10 seconds. I have stopped using the collar completely. Can you tell me if it is a problem with the Unit itself or just the collar device? Batteries are new.
Thank you.

Allen October 16, 2013 at 2:41 pm

We’re thinking of buying a wireless system. We have a 2 acre lot and a very small dog, about 5-1/2 pounds (half-yorkie, half-poodle). What system do you suggest? Seems like we will need multiple base stations to accomodate at least a significant portion of the 2 acre lot. Allen

ADMIN – Hi Allen, unfortunately there is not a wireless fence system that will work for dogs under 12 lbs. The collars are too large. The only dog fence available for a 5.5 lb yorkie mix will be the PetSafe Little Dog fence.

Skylar August 20, 2013 at 7:52 pm

My dad recently let me have his petsafe wireless fence that he used on a Labrador Retriever and a German Shorthair. I have a Cocker spaniel and the shock is way to high on him. It scared the heck out of him and he was yelping like crazy, is there any way i could somehow lower the shock? I cant spend the money to get a new one.

ADMIN – Hi Skylar, I would recommend covering the probes with masking tape and continue with training when your Lab is relaxed. Yelping, jumping and such is completely expected. The collar has multiple correction settings. The PetSafe Wireless is an average collar. So level 1 should be quite mild. You could also pick up some resisters from Radio Shack and attach them to the contact points. This will diminish the correction strength.

Tiff August 12, 2013 at 10:34 pm

I have purchased a PIF-275 collar will it work with a PIF-300 fence?

ADMIN – Hi Tiff, No it is not, but there is a rechargeable Stubborn collar that is designed to work with the PIF-300. You can locate it by going to PetSafe Collars in the online store. It is the Wireless Stubborn Collar PIF00-13672.

Krista July 11, 2013 at 10:32 am

We just purchased the PetSafe Stubborn Dog fence, we have not attempted to install yet. We planned on putting the transmitter in our aluminum garage. Will this cause an issue? Even if we were to put the transmitter in our house, the wire would have to run by the garage, as it sits approximately 2 feet inside our property line. What are your suggestions?

ADMIN – Hi Krista,

Setting up the transmitter in a metal sheet metal garage can ocassionally cause problems with the metal causing an attenuation of the signal. This is least likely to happen when the transmitter is directly mounted on the metal. I would lay out the system in the garage and see if it works well before doing the permanent installation.

Running the wire by the metal siding house is not a big deal – but you can get the boundary width being magnified locally in that area.

carlos June 23, 2013 at 3:42 pm

I am getting an American Staff that weighs about 60-75 lbs. Would the PIF 300 work best or what should I use. I live on mainly flat ground with a good line of sight all the way around.

ADMIN – Hi Carlos,

If you are going to use a wireless system with an American Staffordshire Terrier, I would instead use the Havahart Radial. It sets a more consistent and dependable boundary that the PetSafe Wireless and also has a stronger correction (which can be useful with the AmStaff breed).

Marc Niemeyer June 12, 2013 at 11:59 pm

We have the IF-100 transmitter and just purchased a new wireless PIF-275-19 collar for it. For some reason we cannot get the collar to react to the system even after following the suggested guide to resetting the system. Thank you!

ADMIN – Hi Marc,

Does the transmitter work with your old collar? My guess would be that either the transmitter or the new collar is defective. Since the collar is new, my money would be on there being an issue with the transmitter.

Lynne June 1, 2013 at 4:28 pm

I am looking at purchasing a wireless fence for a boxer/german shepherd mix puppy. I have been reading alot of reviews on the PetSafe PIF-300. It seems that so many have commented about the dog getting shocked when the power goes off. We live in a rural area with alot of short power interruptions. I just can’t bare the thought of being gone for even a few hours thinking that my baby might be home getting shocked and no one there to help her. Has this problem been resolved….alot of the reviews I was reading were from a few years back?

ADMIN – Hi Lynne,

We still get the occasional anecdotal report of this happening (by design it should never happen). Not, that it make it much better, but all the systems have a safety timeout, so the dog will never get shocked for more than 30 seconds, so there will not be a situation where they get shocked for hours.

We hear this to some extent about all the wireless systems, that there are unintentional corrections that happen when the signal gets lost through one form or another.

Rachel May 25, 2013 at 1:29 pm

I have a Pitbull/Rottweiler and an American Bulldog,,both over 50lbs. They like to play rough and chew each others collars (grab collars) . Our yard where I want to use a PIF-300 is flat mostly. But part by the house (going to front yard )goes down a hill. Should it still work ok? Is there certain things I could do so the dogs won’t chew each others collars?

ADMIN – Hi Rachel,

To break them of the habit of chewing on each other’s collars, I would spray the collars with bitter apple spray for a couple of weeks. That should make it unpleasant enough that it makes that game no longer fun.

A good rule of thumb, is whether you could get a line of sight (imagining the house was made of glass) from the transmitter to all around the yard.

Dana April 6, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Our house is already at least 2 foot off the ground, will it be ok to put transmitter on floor?

ADMIN – Hi Dana,

A two feet elevation is not going to be quite enough. I would mount the transmitter around 3 feet off the floor, around counter height.

Carla December 28, 2012 at 3:00 pm

I have the Petsafe wireless system. It used to work really well, has it set on 8 and it covered the exact area I needed. Now if I try to set it any higher than 6 3/4 it will not work at all. It’s in the same place, nothing has changed – I have done everything in the instructions recommended, aired the base and receiver etc. it is set on high, the 6 3/4 setting gives me a radius of about 50feet which is not large enough. Any ideas what the problem can be? I have moved the base set to multiple different places in the house/garage – same thing, as I turn it up to 7 it stops communicating.

ADMIN – Hi Carla, your unit sounds defective. The best path to take is contact PetSafe and see about getting a replacement due to signal loss.

Jane November 12, 2012 at 4:28 pm

We just got an 8 week old mini Aussie who weighs 6 pound. She should not weigh more than 20-30 pounds once fully grown. Which fence would you recommend? When should we start using it? We live in a development where the lots are around 1/3 acre and rectangular. We used an in ground fence for our previous dog and had problems with the wire breaking; however, I am afraid after reading the reviews that a wireless fence might shock her incorrectly.

Admin- Hi Jane,

1) A great dog fence system for your mini Aussie will be the DogTek Ef-6000. The system offers a nice slim rechargeable collar that will fit her neck nicely. This dog fence system comes with 500 feet of boundary wire that will come 1/3 acre.
2) We recommend waiting until at least 6-months old; however, when a dog can understand basic commands (come,sit,stay) than they will be ok to start the training.

Wendy July 15, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Can you tell me how well the wireless systems do in the winter weather (i.e. when it’s snowing, storming)?

Admin- Hi Wendy,

Stormy weather can reduce the signal strength of a wireless system. The amount of reduction we see varies between storms and each of our customers overall setup. However, you should expect some reduction with a heavy storm.

Kelby June 23, 2012 at 4:43 pm

My fiance and I recently got my parents petsafe wireless system and are now using it. The system is around 7yrs old. When I take the dogs for a car ride or to the dog park I had always turn the receiver off without any problems and drove them to the park. A few weeks ago we were approx 9 miles away from our receiver in the car one of our dogs collars began to beep and shock our german shepherd. As you can imagine the dog was freaking out and we were frantic to get the collar off of her almost wrecking in the process. Once we got the collar off it continued to beep and shock for 10 MINUTES until we finally got the batteries out. We contacted petsafe and were shipped a newer collar and were charged $60 for it which I don’t understand. So far we have not had any problems with the new collar but the other dogs collar (the other old collar) will randomly make one beeping sound every once in awhile (in the boundary) that terrifies our dog but does not shock her.

Jenn May 21, 2012 at 2:13 pm

We are thinking about purchasing the wireless fence for our two goldens. We have an up sloped yard. Will the system work in our yard?

Admin-Hi Jenn,

In our experience, all the wireless systems on the market will have issues with the loping terrain.

Since you have a sloping terrain, a wired in ground system will be your best option. A great system for your Goldens will be PetSafe IUC4100. Plus, the wired in-ground system is much more durable and reliable.

Clare April 30, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Hi
I have four Great Danes. The wireless petsafe system has been working great for about 4 years now.
However they do wear these collars 24/7. They are very worn and chipped in places and work on and off. I just ordered 4 new ones as I think 4 years is maybe the limit for the collars.
Do you think the new ones will be fine..

Admin- Hi Clare,

The new PetSafe collars will be fine for several years to come. Plus if you purchase the collar from an authorized retailer, the collar will be covered under a limited lifetime warranty. If the collars chip and ware out, you will only have to pay a small portion but will get a new collar from PetSafe.

Donna April 9, 2012 at 10:56 am

We have an odd problem – we live on a farm with a house next door that shares our lane – their house is right in the middle of our farm. We have 2 large labs we love to get into the neighbor’s garden and flowers. I would like a system that the neighbors can install to keep our dogs out – I do not want to limit their running around the farm and a wired system is out of the budget. Can a wireless system, if the neighbors installed the unit in their house and we set the perimeter to cover their yard only- keep my dogs out?

ADMIN – Hi Donna,

Afraid the Wireless system can only be used to enclose the dogs inside a circular area, they cannot be used to exclude the dog from an area. Wired systems would be your only option in this situation. (Note, wired systems are similarly priced to wireless)

If you are only trying to keep the dogs out of a few small garden beds, these wireless pods might do the trick without the need for a full blow dog fence system.

Manuela April 6, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Im thinking about getting the PetSafe wireless system for my 10 month Argentinian Mastiff. I live on a busy street and have a small yard that is partially fenced in. I heard that a wireless fence will not work for this breed since they have high pain tolerance. Do you think that is true and what do you recommend? Thanks.

ADMIN – Hi Manuela,

The correction level is generally less of a concern on wireless systems, because the dog can’t run through the fence boundary, and so can get corrected for a longer time, so the PetSafe system should be fine in terms of correction strength. If it does turn out to be too weak, you can also add a second collar.

Note, however, that small yards aren’t usually well suited to wireless systems. Wireless systems like the PetSafe have a circular boundary, so cut off part of the yard. They also have a less precise boundary lines, meaning that you need to have more buffer between the boundary line and the road. Since your yard is partially fence, you may want to consider using a wired fence, and attaching the wire to the fence instead of burying.

Brittney March 31, 2012 at 6:54 pm

I have used a wireless pet safe system for three years now and never had a problem. Until the old dog died and we got another one. Now the new dog eats the other dogs collar off of her neck. We have tried everything new collars, sprays, and training but every time we leave them alone for more then ten minutes the collar is destroyed. Are their any collars that are more durable? The one dog only needs a beep to remind her, we tried turning the shock off and attaching the box to a choke but then the box was eaten off.

ADMIN – Hi Brittney,

Afraid the PIF-300 collar and the newer Stay&Play collar are the only ones that will work with that system, and neither are going to stand up to serious biting (nor is any other collar).

We usually have good luck with bitter apple spray on the collars, but you mentioned that is not working. Perhaps training the new dog with a remote training collar will work, you would teach her to associate biting the collar with something unpleasant (like getting a shock).

Jen March 27, 2012 at 4:50 pm

We are thinking about getting the PIF-300. I can’t seem to find anything about how much electricity it will take to run it. Any idea? Thank you

ADMIN – Hi Jen,

The PetSafe Wireless uses 32 watts of electricity. That is around $30 per year, using the US average of 12 cents per kilowatt/hour.

Doug March 25, 2012 at 10:34 pm

My neighbors have an in-ground wired fence for their two dogs (I’m not certain what brand). Will the PIF-300 interfere with their system or vice-versa?

ADMIN – Hi Doug,

The PetSafe wireless system will not interfere with a in-ground wired system. The two systems work independently with different signals.

jaci March 20, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Hi, I’m thinking of purchasing this for my 2 dogs. My husband is trying to train our chocolate lab for bird hunting with a shock collar. Will the wireless fence confuse him while training for hunting?

ADMIN – Hi Jaci,

If you are going to use both remote training and containment training, I would just separate the start of training by about a month. When you start the training for both at the same time, it can indeed confuse the dog. We want to avoid introducing too many new things at one time. But, if you separate one, then give the dog at least a month to get the hang of it before starting the training on the second you will be in good shape. Dogs that have remote training experience tend to pick up the dog fence training a little faster because they already understand the basics.

Kaycie February 29, 2012 at 4:27 pm

I live in a trailer with aluminum siding. My dog has also never been trained on a wireless fence, and she’s very hard headed when it comes to training. There are also two trees in the middle of our yard. I ordered the Petsafe Stubborn Dog system, then changed over to this wireless system when I saw how easy the installation was. But reading the review now I’m worried that it wont work. I could put the unit outside, but cold weather can range from -10 to 30 this time of the year. Should I cancel my order and change back to the wired system?

ADMIN – Hi Kaycie,

There is no harm in trying the wireless, but with the aluminum siding it is unlikely to work. Even putting it outside, your home is likely to block the signal (unless you put it outside on top of the trailer). A wired system would be the better choice for your situation.

The temperature won’t be an issue, you just need to keep it protected from the rain and snow.

Debbie February 24, 2012 at 10:47 pm

We have had the PetSafe Wireless fence system for almost 2 years. This system has worked wonderfully, but recently it has started to beep and even after replacing the battery several times. It will be sitting on the table and start beeping which scares the ___ out of
our dog even out of a sound sleep. Do these collars have a time frame that they are
only good for? Don’t know what else to try except replacing the battery or buying a new collar? Wanted to check before making another purchase, Thanks

Admin- Hi Debbie,

The collar will sometime require a reset. To reset your collar please follow these instructions below:
1)Take battery out for several minutes.
2)Lift tab on the collar where the battery sits. Hold the buttom down that is used to change the correction levels. This will reset the collar.
3)Replace the tab and then reinstall the battery. Recheck the collar.

If the problem persist, you should contact the manufacture about the error. If you purchased the system from an authorized retailer, you will still be covered under a limited life time warranty for the collar.

charisse pferschy January 25, 2012 at 7:58 pm

we have a 4lb yorkie that likes to chase squirrels into the woods. Will this system work for such a small dog? Thank you

ADMIN – Hi Charisse,

For a 4lb dog, your best bet would be the PetSafe Little Dog system. The PetSafe Little Dog is by far the smallest collar, anything else is going to drag him down like the proverbial albatross around his neck.

rebecca maddix January 12, 2012 at 10:51 pm

My older model for wireless pet safe is IF-101. Can I use a replacement collar for specified for petsafe underground fence UL 250 or a collar IF-100? I guess I would like to know what collars are compatible for the IF 101 system? Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Rebecca,

You can use the PetSafe wireless collars. But, you cannot use the underground (wired) dog fence collars.

christy January 11, 2012 at 10:30 pm

We have a mastiff rottie mix and for 2 yrs we have used petsafe unit.Last month we recieved smart meter from electric company.I noticed the dog not going out and using the floor as bathroom ,His collar kept beeping everywhere he went.I bought new batteries and still have same problem.Are these smartmeters interfering w/ dogs collar? I want to be sure that he feels safe and can walk around.

ADMIN – Hi Christy,

It is unlikely that a smart meter is causing the problem. The definitive way to test the issue would be to take the transmitter to a neighbors house that does not have a smart meter, or to operate the transmitter at your house using an alternate power source and see if the problem persists.

It is more likely that the transmitter unit boundary dial got accidently changed so that it has changed the boundary area. If readjusting the unit does not fix the problem, then the unit is likely defective and needs replacing.

Millie December 31, 2011 at 7:29 pm

I have two dogs, both mixed breeds but of different sizes. I have a little 10 pound dog and a 50 pound one. I went to take my 50 pound dog to the vent and when I unplugged the system to put him into the car, both of them were continually shocked and cried horribly. I ran to take the collars off while someone else went to plug the system back in. Is this supposed to happen?

ADMIN – Hi Millie,

In the event of a power failure, the system should power down without triggering the collars. The one exception to this is if the collars are near the boundary at the time of the power failure. To avoid this problem with wireless systems you can use it with an uninterrupted power supply.

Seth December 11, 2011 at 9:54 pm

I have been using this collar with my boxer for about 2 weeks. I’m a little worried about the safety of this item, there are burn marks where the prongs come into contact with the dogs skin. I have taken it off since I notice the marks…obviously, but I wanted to know if this is a common occurrence.

Admin- Hi Seth,

Burn marks on a dogs neck is not a common issue – it should never happen. You were right to stop using the collar. I would get the collar checked out to make sure it is not malfunctioning.

Antonio December 8, 2011 at 10:53 pm

I have 2 labs in my yard. I am currently using a Dogtek inground fence around my yard fence, but still, everytime a fence door opens, both dogs would sprint through the door. They get shocked, but once they passed the inground fence to the other side, they would continue running away. And since the shock only works when the dog is on top of the wire, once they are out, it stops shocking them. Both collars are at the maximum level, but they don’t care, they tolerate the zapping since they know that once they cross it, they’re free to run outside.

My yard is around 100 feet, and I was thinking of the Petsafe Wireless system since its a “containment area”, my question is, if the dog leaves the boundary zone, will the collar continue zapping the dog until it comes back to the safe area? Or it doesn’t work that way?

What do you recommend?

Thanks !

Admin- Hi Antonio,

The PetSafe Wireless will stop sending the correction to the dogs once they are clear of the boundary. Plus, we find the wired in-ground fence to be much more effective and reliable. I would recommend setting up the training flags and continuing to train the two labs with boundaries.

Erin December 5, 2011 at 1:25 pm

We just started using the wireless system and it seems to be going well so far. Our dog has a metal clasp/closure on her collar and her ID tag is also metal. Will these interfere with the signal and cause it to shock her when she has both collars on?

ADMIN – Hi Erin,

the small amount of metal in the collar will not interrupt the signal. But, you do want to make sure the tag on the collar is not near the correction collar prongs. If the metal ID tag touches the prongs it can stop the correction being felt by the dogs.

Joe December 5, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Can anyone tell me the difference between a if-100 transmitter and the if-300?

ADMIN – Hi Joe,

The two PetSafe Wireless transmitters (IF-100 and IF-300) are identical.

Jenson Williams December 3, 2011 at 8:35 pm

I have a unit IF-101 are there any collars that i can get to be compatible with it?? Please help.

ADMIN – Hi Jenson,

You can use the standard PetSafe IF-300 wireless collars with your PetSafe IF-101.

Darin November 26, 2011 at 9:35 pm

My apologies if you already answered this question as I have not had the time to read all of the Q & A. Somewhere I saw that you mentioned something about it being above freezing. We live in northern IN where it is generally 15-35 degrees F during the winter. Occasionally we’ll see sub zero temps but this is not common. Will these temps be a problem with this unit? Also, will the unit function properly if it is inside an unheated garage? Meaning will it go thru 2×4 uninsulated walls?

ADMIN – Hi Darin,
The transmitter is not affected by temperature. The digital transmitters are affected, but the PetSafe Wireless shouldn’t have a problem. However, the transmitter isn’t waterproof so it will need to be installed somewhere safe from wind and rain. You’re garage would be an okay location.

Matt Current November 25, 2011 at 9:46 am

We purchased the Pet Safe Instant Fence IF-100 MFG. DATE 03/03S REV-7 several years ago and were very pleased with it. However, the collar wore out eventually and one of the prongs came off. The Base Station still works, I believe, but I would need another collar/battery and boundary flags. Have there been any changes that would prevent me from just purchasing the collar and flags you show available here on your website? Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Matt,

You can use the PetSafe IF-100 and the current IF-300 collar interchangeably (they are essentially the same system).

Kim Baker November 18, 2011 at 11:32 am

My two labs got the collars completely wet in a pond and now there are no blinking lights, beeps, etc. We followed all of the resets and new batteries to no avail. Is there some other way we can tell if they are working or are we forced to buy new collars. The system has been wonderful for us and the dogs and we have to have it in order to keep them.

ADMIN – Hi Kim,
The other alternative is to walk them up to the boundary and see how they respond. Do you still have the included butterfly tester?

kimberly November 8, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Will a wired fence work in a cold climate like Canada? Just wondering if the batteries would freeze and cause the collar to stop working. Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Kimberly,

The wired (and wireless) fences work fine in cold climates. We have lots of Canadian dog fence owners who’ve had great success.

Robert Windt November 8, 2011 at 10:25 am

I have two dogs that are about 3 months old. They are a mix between a cur and an austrailan shepherd. I do not have an exact weight, but I am guessing between 10 and 15 lbs. Can I use this collar on them? Will it hurt them?

ADMIN – Hi Robert,

No, the collar will not hurt them. However, the collar may be a bit bulky on the 10 lb dog. As they grow, this will not be an issue.

Chris October 27, 2011 at 1:47 am

I have a small Pomeranian who is able to sneak underneath our rolling driveway gate into the street where neighbors make periodic rescues from a busy road. Our barricading does not work. Is there a system that can protect just the area in front of and to the side of this gate?

ADMIN – Hi Chris,

Yes, we have something called the Outdoor Rock that can transmit a wireless signal in a circle. You could place one Rock on either side of the driveway.

Wes October 25, 2011 at 11:43 am

Hello, We have the wireless system. WE LOVE IT!! best money we ever spent. Is there any add ons for this system that will work with the same collars for specifice areas such as flower beds? I saw a system online that seemed close to this one, that could be used for specific areas.

Thanks for your information and a great system.

Wes

ADMIN – Hi Wes,

Thanks for the great feedback! As for add-ons, the PetSafe Wireless does not currently have any outdoor zone compatibility. Alternatively, you could set up the flags around the flower bed and train your dog as if it’s part of the boundary. You may find that your dog will respect the flower beds like the boundary line.

karolyn October 20, 2011 at 3:37 pm

I have a petsafe 105 d, underground wire, system. system was working fine then suddenly collar continuously beeps and vibrates. nothing has changed, no new electrical devices add in house, I call tech support they cant help! Would an antenna on roof or a cable line (dog run) close to collar affect this? this is frustrating, I had another brand system same thing happened.

ADMIN – Hi Karolyn,

To diagnose the problem, I would start by turning off the transmitter and seeing if you get the same symptoms. If the collar is still triggering there is either a problem with collar or we have some other electronic device triggering the collar.

If the collar is not triggering with the transmitter unplugged, the transmitter is broadcasting too strong a signal. The most likely problem is that the boundary width is set up too wide, but it is also possible that the transmitter is broken.

From your description that this has happened before, it seems likely that this problem is being caused by some electronic device. The most likely culprit is a neighbor’s fence.

Basia October 18, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Hello, my PIF 300 unit works fine, however the red power light is never on.. how can I fix it? that is if it can be fixed..? Thank you for your help, regards – BB

ADMIN – Hi Basia,

I’m not sure it can. The people who can answer this correctly would be at PetSafe. I’d recommend giving them a call at: 1-800-732-2677. They are very knowledgeable and offer great service.

steve October 7, 2011 at 1:53 pm

Can a wired dog training system be mounted above ground? If so, how high?

ADMIN – Hi Steve,

Yes. The maximum distance of height depends on how wide your boundary signal is transmitting. With a typical setup, you can set it to at least 10 feet wide, which means you can suspend it 7-8 feet into the air and still have coverage at ground level.

Marcy October 3, 2011 at 7:40 pm

We have a 7 month old wheaten terrier and have been working with her over the past month on a leash with the flags and collar. Now we have tried letting her off the leash and she is breaking through the boundary with no sign of remorse or an interest in coming back. The collar is set at 3. She has a lot of fur but we are using the longer prongs. At this point, we are very discouraged with our $300 purchase. Any thoughts? Thanks.

ADMIN – Hi Marcy,

What kind of system did you get? The most likely explanation if she has no reaction to leaving is that she is not getting the correction at all. The prongs must actually touch skin. You may need to trim the fur to make this happen.

It is also worth checking that the collar is in fact triggering and that it is producing a shock. To test this take the collar out with the supplied test tool and take it beyond the boundary (or find a sucker).

sylvia October 3, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Can I combine a Petsafe Wireless Dog Fence Model IF-100 and a model PIF-300 for a larger confinement area? Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Sylvia,

Yes. You can use the PetSafe IF-100 and IF-300 transmitters together, overlapping their circular containment areas to create a bigger boundary area.

Pat September 29, 2011 at 1:04 pm

I just spoke to a Customer Care tech at PetSafe. I was told that the unit “only” shocks the dogs for 15 seconds when the power goes out, and that this is a fact of the wireless device’s design. Can’t be worked around unless you have another source of power (battery backup, generator) that runs the wireless seamlessly when the power goes down. Just finished comforting my Bichon Frise who got shocked when our electricity went down this morning during a lightning storm. IMHO this is a defect of the PETSAFE wireless system that needs to be addressed pronto, with some kind of outreach to current users for a retrofit battery backup (9 volt or larger.)

Bea September 22, 2011 at 7:55 pm

Can the base be mounted in the attic? We have a 3 story house.

ADMIN – Hi Bea,

The attic of a three story house is probably going to be too high for the system to get a good signal down at ground level.

Karen Smylie September 9, 2011 at 6:44 pm

Hi there

Just to clarify, if we want to expand the area – we need to buy two complete packages, or just an extra base unit? Will you ship to New Zealand?

Thanks!

Admin- Hi Karen,

For the PetSafe wireless you will only need to add an extra base box. With the extra control box, you can overlap the multiple boundaries to create a larger containment area. We can ship to New Zealand. Please email (Stu@dogdencediy.com) us your shipping address and we will be happy to provided you with a shipping quote.

Patty August 28, 2011 at 10:55 am

I have been using the petsafe for almost a year. Overall it has worked great and has kept the dogs at home. But the other day I came home in a lightning storm. Max ran through his boundary to get to me and continued getting electric shock!!! He was screaming like a little kid and running in circles and our other dog (his best buddy) attacked him and started biting him cause he knew he was in pain. If I hadn’t been home I’m afraid this could have killed the dog. Why does this happen in electrical storms??

Admin- Hi Patty,

An electrical storm will not effect the collar. It sounds like Max received the corrections because he ran through the boundary. The collars we offer all have a 15 second shut-off. The collar should have stopped sending the correction after 15 seconds. If the collar did not shut-off I would recommend removing the collar from Max and testing it with your fence. If the collar is still malfunctioning you will need to call the manufacturer.

PetSafe- 800.732-2677

Mike August 25, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Seems like others have the same issue…however recently when we have power outages the collars start shocking both of our dogs. We were home the first time it happened and not home the second time…came home to our little beagle just being repeatedly shocked. The power had been out for about a half hour :( Sometimes it’s just one collar and sometimes it is both. This just recently started happening with our last two power outages. I tested it by unplugging the base unit and sure enough the collars started shocking (I had taken them off the dogs for this test). The system is only a year and a half old. I intend to check in with PetSafe about this because the system is advertised (and previously had) to detect power outages and keep the dogs safe. Our only other option is to buy a battery backup. With well over 500 dollars invested in this system I really wish it would work as advertised.

kathleen August 18, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Hello we have recently replaced our inground fence with the wireless. The in-ground fence transmitter would continuously beep while slowly turning the dial. Never did figure that one out. Our wireless has varying zones around the yard and not at all in some spots. Also we have a two story home. My dog has been shocked while upstairs on my bed while he was sleeping and also shocked when under the computer desk downstairs. Ive noticed the collar static beeping randomly in different locations even just outside the back door within ten feet of the transmitter. We moved the transmitter but same problems. Do you know what might be interfering. Also my dog is now attached to my hip if I put the collar on him. Please help.

ADMIN – Hi Kathleen,

Large metal objects tend to be the main causes of distortions in the wireless field. So keep the transmitter away from washers, dryers, fridges, water heaters, etc. But, even without any of those things, you can still get random events like you describe. You best course of action would be to switch back to a more reliable inground fence. If you want to keep trying wireless, the Havahart radial is by far the best of the lot … but still not as good as an inground wired fence.

jerry August 6, 2011 at 2:47 pm

we have had the petsafe wireless for about a month and a half. We have a metal roof on our house and have to set the transmitter on the porch (out of the weather). Our neighbor has a petsafe too so we do not have the perimeter set to overlap. Problem–Whenit is foggy or rainy my system seems to affect his dog in his house 150-200 foot from my system. Does high humidity affect these systems or is something wrong with my transmitter?

Admin- Hi Jerry,

No the humidity will not cause any issues with the signal. If your transmitter is 150-200 feet away from your neighbor’s house, I would recommend that your neighbor check his system. I really doubt that your transmitter is causing the issues, but you could confirm this by turning off your system and seeing if the issue persists at you neighbor’s house.

Logan August 6, 2011 at 10:02 am

We have had our system for 4 years. We use it for 2 Shi Tzus and a Chocolate Lab. Lately it has been beeping when the dogs are in the house and not near the boundary. What happens if the battery completely dies? Can the dogs be shocked?

Admin- Hi Logan,

If the batteries completely die, your dogs will not receive any warnings or corrections.

Donna July 5, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Hi, My name is Donna. I live in Canada, Pei. I have a big yard..and a very active shih-poo. I recently purchased a wireless dog fence for him. It is working well in all perimeters except my driveway. I thought that this would shock him if he is outside any of the perimeter. However he doesn’t seem to get shocked or is not minding the shock through the driveway. I am so scared he is going to get ran over. He is a year old and 17 lbs. He is the new love of my life. My kids have recently moved out to university and I would be heart broken if anything happened to my Percy (dog) . Any help you can give me would be much appreciated.
Thanks , Donna

ADMIN – Hi Donna,

Take the collar out through the driveway and see if the collar is triggering. (The light on the collar should come on and you should hear it beep). If the collar is not triggering, then the problem is that the wireless signals are not getting out to the driveway – most likely because they are being blocked by something. (Either very thick walls or something metal)

Try moving the transmitter to another place in your house or try different elevations to see if you can get a better signal. That failing, the best option would be to switch to a wired system where you will not encounter those issues.

Donald L Miller June 25, 2011 at 9:41 am

I have had PF 300 system for years and it worked flawlessly with 2 dogs and 2 collars. About 5 or 6 months ago, I started to have problems with inappropriate ringing and corrections. After replacing both collars and eventually the sending unit. The problem still existed. After shutting off all transmitting devices in the home, the problem still existed. The problem was finally traced to the new smart meter that our power co. had replaced our regular power meter with. The meter was in constant communication with the power co. and the broadcast frequency was very close to that of the Radio Fence. If you have a smart meter, you may have a problem. I contacted the power co. and they admitted that this was a known problem and the meter was the cause. They will change us to a different style of meter that should solve the problem.

ADMIN – Hi Donald,

Thank you Donald for sharing this very important info!

David May 31, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Thought I would throw in my 2 cents on your review. We have a PIF-300 system with three dogs, and are very happy with it. We live out of town, so we’re not restricted to a rectangular lot. For us, the 200-foot radius fits our “main” yard almost perfectly.

Before we got the PIF-300, we had an in-ground wired system installed. It took one of our dogs exactly 30 seconds to figure out that if he ran, he could cross the wire boundary without getting any correction! It took the other two dogs about five minutes each to follow his example.

The ADVANTAGE of the the PIF-300 wireless is that when the dog leaves the area, it gets 30 seconds of continuous correction, making it impossible to run out of the boundaries without correction. As a result, all our dogs stay in the yard.

Not saying at all that an in-ground wired system is bad. But a smart dog just might beat it. Can’t happen with the wireless. Advantage 2 is easy expansion. Just add a second transmitter near the first unit’s boundary and you can effectively double the area.

ADMIN – Hi David,

Thanks for the review! I presume the 200 foot radius is a typo (perhaps you meant the diameter). The maximum radius of the unit is 90 feet.

Rick Romero May 30, 2011 at 8:38 pm

I have been using the wireless system now for months and love it. We already have a 2 yr old german shepard wearing a PIF -275 collar, so when we got a new addition to our pack… we purchased an additional collar. The new collar however is a IF-275 and seems to not have the same range setup as the PIF collar. Is there a difference between the two?

ADMIN – Hi Rick,

There is no difference between the two collars. My best guess is that the difference is due to either chance or a random difference in the manufacturing batch.

Dan May 21, 2011 at 8:40 pm

Have had PIF-100 transmitter x 10 years. Now it has stopped working. Had just gotten new RSC PIF-275 collar to use with it. Will an accessory PIF-100 Transmitter work with this collar like the old one? Is the PIF-300 better than the -100?

ADMIN – Hi Dan,

The PIF-300 and PIF-100 are near identical. The new PIF-275 collars will work with either transmitter. There is no reason to pick one over the other.

Jan May 16, 2011 at 2:27 pm

I have 5 dogs. Our newest cocker is bigger and can jump the 5 foot fence when he gets a running start. I have a fence butted up to the house.. out about 15 feet……..goes across about 25 feet……..then back to butt up against the house. I only want it for the one dog. I plan on running it on the fence……being that this is circular……will this affect when he comes in the doggy door on the wall inside our fence. It has sliding glass doors out the the back where fence is. Will this wireless be good for that? We also take them on trips,camping etc. with us.

ADMIN – Hi Jan,

I am not sure I fully understand your layout, perhaps you can email a diagram? Generally, the wireless fences are not going to be good for establishing a precise boundary along the fence, because you can only get a circle. The boundary is also imprecise and wobbles several feet from moment to moment, so with the fence running right up against the house in some places it will be very difficult to get a good boundary line with a wireless fence.

If you already have a fence in place, consider using a wired fence and running the wire along the fence instead of burying it. A wired fence will give you a more precise boundary line and will allow you to custom fit the shape to your yard.

Dennis May 16, 2011 at 10:26 am

I have the perfect back yard for this wireless system with a basement window a foot off the ground to place the unit in as I only want to confine the dogs to my back yard. Is a foot off the ground high enough for this unit to work properly? Also, will it be okay that my dogs leave and enter the house from my main floor which is about 6-8 feet above the unit?

ADMIN – Hi Dennis,

The wireless systems send out a signal like a dome.around the base station. You need the a bit of elevation to get good coverage. Usually if you put the transmitter in the basement, even if it is slightly above ground, you don’t get much of a signal in the yard. You can certainly experiment with positioning in the basement, but usually you need to put it on the first or second floor.

Usually there is no problem with a dog getting the correction in the house when you position a transmitter in the basement, because the signal because the signal still has a path with only a few obstacles.

Danielle May 7, 2011 at 11:50 am

I have a 50 lb 3 yr olds coon hound and in order to take her to my internship for the next 2 years I have to guarantee she won’t chase the wildlife (mostly deer and rabbits). But lets face it shes a hound that’s what shes wired for… She listens good if someone is around but if she its alone she likes to explore.
Would this fence work for her? How easy would it be for her to just run through it and be gone? Also you made alot of comments about freezing temps, does that affect the collar also?

ADMIN – Hi Danielle,

Sounds like a cool internship! Training a dog with a strong prey drive like a coon hound to resist critters is not a big deal. But, you will want to spend a little time with them on step three of the training, when we work with the dog with their specific triggers. http://www.dogfencediy.com/training/step_three/

The wireless systems are a little less reliable than the wired systems and are sensitive to the obstructions around them (like walls and trees). Whether you can use one of these wireless systems depends on whether they “like” the property where you install them. Generally the more obstructions the lower your chances, but they can be a little random as well. If you can, get the Havahart Radial instead, it is significantly better.

Wendy April 28, 2011 at 3:17 pm

I have a bull mastiff. I was thinking about leaving the unit inside my back door. But my house has a metal roof. Will it block the signal?

ADMIN – Hi Wendy,

Yes, the signal is being sent out in the shape of a sphere, which means it will travel upwards and receive interference from your roof.

Cláudio April 23, 2011 at 10:40 am

Hi, sorry but i still don’t understand how the collar knows the difference between a lost of signal by distance and a power failure? Thanks.

ADMIN – Hi Claudio,

Pure magic. Actually, we’re not exactly sure as well, but if you have a power failure, the collar will not correct your dog.

Elizabeth April 5, 2011 at 11:56 am

I use the PIF-275 collar on my 5 & 1/2 pound dog. The package said 8lbs. & up, but my Chihuahua & I have no problem with the bulk of the collar. She doesn’t wear it all of the time & it keeps her safe. I guess it would be a personal preference, but I have no issues with it.

Admin-Hi Elizabeth,

Thanks for the comment. We are happy to hear that the PetSafe Wireless Collar is working for your Chihuahua!

Michelle April 2, 2011 at 10:19 am

I am also interested in knowing more about the Petsafe Stay+Play Wireless Fence Model No. PIF00-12917 mentioned above by Ashley. I just talked to your customer service and they mentioned it and said it is a new system coming out in the next month or two. We are desperate for a fencing solution for our small Yorkie Poo that weighs less than 5 lbs. If that is not an option, what do you recommend for a wired system for her?

ADMIN – Hi Michelle,

The collar on that PetSafe Wireless system is going to be too big for your dog, they are big collars and are uncomfortable on dogs under 20lbs. Also, the correction level is set too high for a Yorkiepoo. The best system for a 5lb dog would be the PetSafe Little Dog, which is a wired system. It is the only collar which fits nicely on smaller dogs and has appropriately scaled down correction levels.

Heather April 1, 2011 at 1:47 pm

We also bought the PIF00-12917 Stay + Play model. We purchased at PetSmart last weekend. Love the concept! Here’s hoping it works. We camp in the summer, so this seemed like a great option….

Lynn March 31, 2011 at 10:24 am

I am redoing my backyard and need to limit our german shepherd from doing his business in back yard. I am wanting to get wireless or ground wire fence. I want to block off a rectangle portion close to the house so she can go and I can remove what she does after she goes. So I want to have a straight line from one side of the yard to the other to be sure she does not ruin back yard straight across. Should I purchase wireless or wired??

Admin-Hi Lynn,

I would recommend the Innotek IUC-4100. This IUC-4100 will work well for your German Shepherd.

It would be hard to rely on a wireless fence to contain your German Shepherd. We rarely recommend the wireless fence because it has a fluctuating boundary and slow collar response time.

I would recommend the Single-Sided boundary for your layout. Please view our planning page for the layout details:
(http://www.dogfencediy.com/installation/plan/#singleside)

Ashley March 23, 2011 at 10:58 pm

Do you have any information on the Petsafe Stay+Play Wireless Fence? Model No. PIF00-12917. We purchased it tonight and can’t find it online. Not on petsafe.net or anything. Would love to get some reviews on it to see if it was worth the extra $$. It says it goes up to 3/4 acre.

ADMIN – Hi Ashley,

Can you send us a picture and let us know where you bought it? We haven’t heard of it either, but my initial guess is that it is a rebadged PetSafe PIF-300 Wireless system that PetSafe makes specifically for one retailer.

Debbie March 20, 2011 at 5:54 pm

We live on a large rectangular-shaped rural plot. We were thinking about purchasing the SportDog-SDF-100A, but when my husband realized he could possibly have similar coverage without laying wire, he was leaning towards this product (PIF-300). Sorry if this has already been answered, but outside the radial limits, is there any other downsides to going wireless vs. the SportDog one? Thanks.

ADMIN – Hi Debbie,

Yes, the collar is slower to respond to the transmitter. This means that with the PetSafe wireless, you’re dog will need to retreat 15 feet into the yard before the collar stops correcting him. Also, the radial boundary fluctuates one minute to the next. It will fluctuate in and out 3 to 5 feet. Both issues makes training extra difficult. If you’re looking to go with a wireless fence, I recommend looking at the Havahart. It diminishes the above issues tremendously. Here’s a review page of our test results to help: http://www.dogfencediy.com/wireless-dog-fence/

Bev Robbins February 24, 2011 at 9:02 pm

I am running into the same problem I see others have asked about regarding small/toy breeds. I really have a preference for a wireless fence and evidently there is not one that has been made for the small breeds (5-9 lbs.). I read that PetSafe receiver collars will work with any other PetSafe system. I know it would be an expensive way to go. . but could I buy the extra collars for the little dog system (PIG00-10778) at about a hundred dollars each and use them with the PetSafe Wireless System PIF-300? Would they be compatible? That would give my two small dogs the comfortable/better fitting collars, and give me the convenience and portability of the wireless system. Thank you for addressing the small dog problem once again! Why don’t the manufacturer’s catch on to our dilema??

ADMIN – Hi Bev,

The PetSafe wired collars (PetSafe Deluxe, PetSafe Little Dog, and PetSafe Stubborn) all work with each other. Unfortunately, the wired collars do not work with the wireless systems, so you could not use a PetSafe Little Dog Collar with the PetSafe Wireless System.

I think the reason there are no small-dog wireless units is that the electronics required for the wireless collars are too big and heavy to work in the small wireless collars (for now).

Maggie February 22, 2011 at 10:33 am

We recently purchased a wireless PetSafe system because one of our neighbors has one and it works great with his dog (smaller than our dog but aggressive). Our problem is we have set the collar on 1 then 2 and it does not seem to stop him from crossing the lines (training). You can tell it is shocking him but he charges on. When he hears the kids next door off he goes. How high should the collar be set without causing him any damage? We think he is a chow (black tongue) and lab mix. Also, I didn’t realize when buying this unit that once they break through it stops shocking them. We don’t have a problem with the circular area just wondering if there is something better or something we need to do differently.

ADMIN – Hi Maggie,

Chows can be more pain tolerant and often need a higher correction. So you can turn it up higher until you get a stronger reaction from the dog. Even at the highest level it is not going to cause him any harm. If you are getting no reaction at all, you also want to check that the collar prongs are actually contacting the dog’s skin.

The wireless systems will all keep correcting the dog beyond the circular boundary – but they do eventually timeout as a safety measure if the dog does not return within a few seconds..

Jean February 20, 2011 at 6:57 pm

We recently purchased and began installing the pet safe wireless system. It covers our front yard perfectly. Our backyard is fenced in so we really just want to cover the front. Is there anyway to block the signal for the backyard? With it covering the front yard perfectly, it barely gives our dog any room in the backyard and as mentioned, it is already fenced in. Any suggestions would be great!! Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Jean,

Unfortunately, the best recommendation we can give is to remove the collar from your dog when you allow them into the back yard. There isn’t any other way to block or exclude the signal into the backyard.

Brian Cook January 21, 2011 at 9:02 pm

We have been going back and forth with the wireless system and the underground wire system. We have a lake house, a couple of rentals, and a home. We currently use an electric fence at the home and that works well, but we are wanting one that is mobile so we can take it where we are going to be for the day or weekend. The problem we are having is at the lake house. It’s a mobile home on about 1.5 acres on the water with 2 metal barns at the back of the property. The dogs like to get into the water but not too far in the water. We would like them to run around while we are inside or out on the boat instead of locking them indoors. They wouldn’t need to get too far behind the house but we would like for them to get in the water without fear of getting a correction. The land has a slight slant but we can see all the way to the water. We have a covered patio that we can put the transmitter on to keep it out of the water. We were told that the underground wire has to start and stop from the transmitter so we wouldn’t be able to bury it in the water. With all of that said, would you suggest the wireless or the underground? And would you suggest the Havahart or Petsafe?

ADMIN – Hi Brian,

You will nearly always be better off with a wired system. If you are going to use it in two locations, you can just lay the wire in both locations and take the fence transmitter with you when you travel.

To do the wiring for a lakefront property, there are a few options. You can either run the wire a few feet out into the water. Or you can do a U-shaped loop that covers the three non-lakefront sides and doubles back on itself to complete the loop. We have more Lakefront options in our Dog Fence Wiring Section.

Is the mobile home made out of metal? If so a wireless system will not work at all. Also note that the metal barns will completely block a wireless fence signal in their vicinity. Between the three wireless systems, the Havahart is much better than the PetSafe and the Perimeter Technologies systems.

Renea January 12, 2011 at 3:46 pm

My parents are looking to buy either a wireless or in-ground system for their dog, a very large 5 year old Great Pyrenees they have recently rescued. They live on 35 acres with most of the land being behind their house (pretty flat, lots of trees). The front of the house has about 1/2 acre with their driveway sloping toward the highway. They would like to let him run, but fear he will get hit, thus the fencing system seems to be the best idea. Wireless or in-ground? After reading the reviews, it seems both have pros and cons. My biggest concerns would be 1) his size and thickness of his coat preventing him from feeling shock 2) the disproportionate acreage from front of house to back 3) slope of driveway

What do you think? Can you see one system being more effective than the other? They want to go with the one that provides the best chance of success to keep him from running away and/or running down to the highway. Yor expertise would be greatly appreciated.

ADMIN – Hi Renea,

With a lot of trees, wireless is probably not going to produce good results. Also the wireless base station needs to be in the center of the property so, would not work well with their house being so near the front of the property. And generally, we recommend whenever possible do a wired dog fence – they are a lot more consistent and accurate. So I would nudge them toward a wired fence.

With all long hair dogs like the Pyrenees, collar fit as you point out is really important. The collar probes need to touch the skin or the dog does not get the correction. Most of the better systems come with long hair probes that help, you may also need to thin out the hair in that area with some scissors. The Innotek IUC-4100/5100 are particularly good with long hair because they have a collar-check mode that lets you know when the collar is on correctly.

I find the easiest way to get the collar on right is to part the hair as best you can with your fingers then put the collar on and use your fingers to move any remaining hair out of the way until you can actually see the collar probes contacting the skin. Then fasten the collar straps tight enough so that you can put two fingers under the collar strap but no more. (mark that collar hole setting because you will want to keep using it)

For a Pyrenees, the Innoteks mentioned above would be good up to about 15 acres. If you want to do the whole 35 acres, the SportDog SDF-100A is a good choice too.

Finally, training is even more important than system. If they commit to the two weeks of training, I don’t think they will have any problems training her.

Sharon January 11, 2011 at 6:48 pm

2 year old bulldog/hound mix collar beeps when we test it, but dog disregards it when he wears it….(we replaced the battery in the last week and pushed the reset button) any ideas? broken collar? We have a petsafe wireless system.

ADMIN – Hi Sharon,

The most likely explanation is that the collar is not on quite right so that the dog is not getting the correction. You need actual contact between skin and probes for the collar to work. Hair is probably not an issue with a bulldog/hound – but the collar does need to be tight enough. You want it tight enough so that you can slip two fingers under the collar band but not more.

Colleen January 4, 2011 at 11:26 am

Hi – We have a petsafe wireless system for our puggle. Last night while the dog was in the house, only 6 feet away from the receiver, it started beeping and shocking him. My husband unplugged the receiver as I worked on getting the collar off him. Even with the receiver uplugged the shocking continued. It doesn’t seem like that should even be possible. We didn’t notice any kind of power outage but maybe there was a power surge of some sort because the outlet that the receiver was plugged into had to be reset. Will putting batteries in the receiver alleviate this problem? If not, how do I know if the problem is with the receiver or the collar?

ADMIN – Hi Colleen,

That sounds like an awful experience all round. That should not happen – it sounds more like a problem with the collar, but I would return both the receiver and transmitter to PetSafe to get them both checked out. Putting batteries in the receiver helps keep the fence running if there is a power failure – but the PetSafe wireless should not correct the dog in any case in the event of a power failure or a power surge. I would not expect that would fix the problem.

Steve Holloway January 3, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Hello, I am at the end of my rope on what system to buy and the brand.

I live on the top of a steep hill side. I need by two part lab dogs to stay on about 1 1/2 acres (of by 5 acres) around my house. About 1/4 of a an acre where the top level of the house sits, has a small slope but the lower level of the house sits in the ground with one end ground level with the hill side.. Lots of trees and rocks in the ground, (like a gravel pit)

A lawn mower doesn’t last very long because of the rocks that come up to the surface. I am worred about putting in an in ground system because of rocks breaking the wire and how in the world would you find the break? I have had water leaks in the water line because of rocks cutting into the pipe.
Steve Holloway

ADMIN – Hi Steve,

With those conditions, the hilly terrain and the trees, I would avoid a wireless dog fence. I don’t think they are going to perform in those circumstances.

I would use a wired dog fence. The wire is surprisingly resilient, but if you have doubts run the wire through some sprinkler tubing. It is cheap and easy to work with and does a good job of protecting the wire in tough conditions.

The best way to find a break when the location is not discernible from a visual inspection, is to use either an RF-choke (only on certain systems) or a dog fence wire break locator (around $50) that makes the wire make a noise that you can hear on an AM radio. You walk round with the radio until you get to the section of the fence where the noise drops off, marking the location of the break.

STEVE – Thanks for the answer. What is the best system for the money for an inground system and would using 18 ga. wire be better? Or use the 20 ga with the tubing? I have two labs…..

ADMIN – For two lab mixes, I would get either an Innotek IUC-4100 (rechargeable and smaller collar) or a SportDog SDF-100A (cheaper & extra 500ft of wire included, but larger collar disposable 9V battery) – both are excellent systems.

I would rather you use 20 gauge wire and the tubing than the 18 gauge and no tubing. The 18 gauge is not much tougher than the 20 gauge – pretty much anything that will cut the 20 gauge will cut 18 just as easily.

Kevin December 26, 2010 at 9:17 pm

i have a 9 month old lab. i just got the wireless fence and she responded well to not going near the boundary areas. but today i noticed about ten feet on both sides of my drive way she could run straight out into my neighbors yard without being shocked and in an area she ha five minutes before been shocked in. im not sure whats going on but when i walked around the other areas worked cause i heard the beep. it has snowed alot here in sc and could that have affected anything?

ADMIN – Hi Kevin,

The wireless system can just develop mystery dead zones in some areas. They are usually caused by some obstacle like a wall, or tree. It is unlikely to be the snow unless there is a large snow obstacle (like a hill or snowman) between the dog and the base station.

You can try moving the base station, or try a wireless system that deals with obstacles better like Havahart Wireless. If that does not work, you will need to switch to a wired system.

Paul December 12, 2010 at 12:48 am

I’m considering adopting a Siberian Husky 4yrs old to replace one that recently died; and am thinking about an electronic fence to train her where to stay. I live in country on 4 acres with a barn, garage, & house, some woods, surrounded by ag land wheat, beans, & corn mostly. I’ve taken in a number of Huskys in past fully aware they are notorious runners. Looking at wireless systems for ease of set up and optimistic I’ll only need a fence for short time to show a new dog the boundaries. Looks like the choices are Petsafe, Havahart, or Wifi. More I’m reading evaluations of these systems, obstructions and claims made by the manufactures of these systems may not be so reliable. Should I be thinking more about laying some wire and just stay away from a wireless system? Are the in-ground system tendencies more reliable and going to be worth the extra effort? (winter in MN might put the project off till spring)

ADMIN – Hi Paul,

We always prefer our customers to go with a wired system, they are just a lot more precise and consistent in terms of when the correction starts and stops. This makes training the dogs a lot easier. They also don’t have any of the obstruction problems that you get with a wireless system.

All that said, if you want to try a wireless system – the new Havahart wireless radial dog fence is a lot better than any other wired system we have seen before, provided you keep the boundary down below a 200 feet radius. It is certainly a lot more convenient than putting up a wire fence and is worth a try, particularly in the Minnesota winter!

(I am presuming that the barn, garage, and house are not sheet metal – the wireless systems get blocked totally by sheet metal structures.)

David Beecher November 26, 2010 at 11:49 am

These cover a 90 foot radius. Which is basically a 180 foot diameter. Which…is a pretty good area. My old home has one square acre and the dogs had access to most of it…except the corners Now I live on 15 acres in the country, and wouldn’t even use it, except one dog is a wanderer and a hunter. All I need is a neighbor coming over with dead chickens and lambs for me to reimburse. Still, I plan on getting another transmitter or two to give them more range around the barns and stuff.

harley November 25, 2010 at 5:38 pm

I built my boxer an insulated metal dog house and come to find out his collar does not receive the signal inside. Is there any way to pick up the signal inside the dog house, or do I need to sell this one and purchase a cheap dog house that will not keep my dog warm in the winter? And if so what will the signal transmit through?

ADMIN – Hi Harley,

The wireless fences have a lot of trouble going through any kind of signal. There is no way that we know of to get the signal to transmit into a metal structure, except by putting a second base station inside that metal structure. The signal can transmit through most other things (providing they are not too thick – for example wood or metal)

Terra November 22, 2010 at 9:06 pm

Hello, We purchased my parents home and property out in the country and we have 4 Goldens of our own but also with the house my parents left their 14 year old mix breed. We have some ground fenced in for our horse up by the barn but behind the house is a pretty steep hill to the creek at the bottom and then 15 acres of woods. Also in front of the house in between the house and barn is the pond. So what is the best containment for us? I would like to be able to have them get to the barn and all around the house and into some woods. But with 4 dogs and having the pond (which they love water) didn’t know which would be our best bet. Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Terra,

With a large area like 15 acres, a SportDog SDF-100 containment fence would be a good choice. They have a 100 acre capacity which means you would have plenty of capacity in reserve, and have great water proofing so goldens can keep on swimming.

jessejames184769 November 20, 2010 at 3:01 pm

I have the pet safe wireless system, I use it for my 1 year old 170lb English Mastiff. The system works very well most of the time however if he decides he really wants to go out of his allowed area for some reason then he just charges forward and the shock doesn’t seem to bother him .. He does typically stay in the yard . the little box on the collar beeps when it gets close to the allowed range mark. he will usually turn back when he hears the beeping. The beeper has quit working for some reason and he now will just march on across the line. however I thought it had quit working so I placed it around my arm and walked past the marker.. it is definately still working I got zapped. so over all I would say the pet safe is a good system.

Brit November 10, 2010 at 7:27 pm

I have a 100 pd. Siberian Husky 1 year old dog. He is stubburn and nothing seems to phase him and I was interested in the wireless fence option because he is constantly digging under fences. Would you recommend the wireless fence for him? if so which one is my best option?

ADMIN – Hi Brit,

Huskies are funny, in my experience they are stubborn but big babies and tend to be very sensitive to the dog fence correction. A wireless fence would work fine for him as long as you are ok with a circular boundary. The best choice by far is the new Havahart Wireless, it has much less wobble and is much faster than the other two wireless fences.

George Benton October 26, 2010 at 3:19 pm

I love this system..I bought 2 Boxer pups and trained both of them in less than 2 weeks. I recommend this product to everyone, easy install and a true working product.

Sheila October 24, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Last night, my terrier was laying on my lap while my husband and I were watching TV. The power goes off and the terrier’s collar started beeping and shocked him before I got it off. Thank goodness we were home, but now I wonder how many times this may have happened. He’s outside most of the day, but we bring him in every evening. We looked at the literature and it’s not supposed to do this. Is it time for repair? I am assuming that the problem is the base unit.

ADMIN – Hi Sheila,

The system should absolutely not correct the dog when power goes out. I would definitely get it checked out by PetSafe before putting the collar back on the dog.

You may also be able to fix the problem by putting some batteries in the back of the transmitter so that the battery backup kicks in when you have a power outage.

katie October 23, 2010 at 7:51 pm

we have a 7yr old lab that jumps the fence and runs the fence line with the dogs next door . we have to tie him up when we leave. we have 2.5 ac. so we would need 3 transmitters is there anything that would give us a bigger area at a lower price with out having to run wire? thank you, katie

Hi Katie,

Consider the new Havahart Wireless, it can tackle that larger area with only a single transmitter.

Krissy October 15, 2010 at 11:24 pm

Can we use the collar that comes with our underground fence with a wireless system, or do we need to change collars when we’re using the wireless system?

ADMIN – Hi Kristen,

You will need to change collars when going between a wireless and wired dog fence system. Unfortunately, they use different technologies and are not yet inter-compatible.

Betsey Bunner October 4, 2010 at 4:20 pm

My Pet safe wireless has worked greta for several years however recently we started using wireless internet and have discovered that the router is interfering with the box. We have had to move the box to the shed but the dogs cannot come any where in the area that the router covers or the collars do not work. Our dogs are now not able to come into the house or any where near the house. We had to turn down the coverage area so that it doesnt hit the same as the router . They must be on the same frequency. Any ideas?

ADMIN – Hi Betsey,

I haven’t heard about wireless internet interfering with any of the wireless systems and am unable to reproduce the error. Lets confirm that it is actually the router. I would switch off the router and test the PetSafe to see if it starts working again.

If it is indeed the router, our only options would be to switch to another wireless system like the Havahart. If it is not the router, it could be that your PetSafe Wireless has for some reason stopped working, or that the settings got changed. Either way let us know, I would love to know if indeed it is the WiFi causing interference.

cody September 6, 2010 at 10:19 pm

I have the wireless petsafe collars for my dogs, but during the winter the don’t always work. Why is that?

ADMIN – Hi Cody,

The Wireless system works best when obstacles are at a minimum. Snow may be creating interference that you don’t get during the summer months. I wish there was a way around it, but there’s not really anything you can do to adjust the system to avoid this problem.

Linh August 18, 2010 at 7:50 pm

Can I buy this wireless system and then 2 collars from the PetSafe Small Dog line? I want a wireless system, but have two 3 pound chihuahuas. The collar that comes with this system is useless to us, but we wanted to take advantage of a wireless system. Thanks for any advice.

ADMIN – Hi Linh,

Unfortunately, the Wireless system only works with the collar that comes with the wireless unit.

Gina August 17, 2010 at 8:48 am

Hi, I need to replace my wireless collar. I have the old unit IF-101. Will the new collars work with this older system?

ADMIN – Hi Gina,

We do not carry the collars for the PetSafe IF-101. I’d recommend first contacting PetSafe directly at: 1-800-732-2677. I talked with a rep there and they said it may or may not be the collar. They’d troubleshoot it with you and let you know what’s available. They may have replacement items for you that can save you time and money.

Gary July 25, 2010 at 6:01 pm

Hello,
I travel to three different locations, and I want a containment system that will work at each location. What are the wireless brands? Is there a brand that will also work as a training tool?

ADMIN – Hi Gary,

The three wireless choices are the PetSafe Wireless, the Perimeter Technologies Wifi, and the Havahart Wireless. Neither of them can be used with wireless training. Of the three, the older PetSafe Wireless does the best – but it is still not very good. Wired systems perform far better. Some people with different locations will lay wiring in all three locations, and take their base station with them when they travel.

Debi July 15, 2010 at 11:05 pm

Hi! I have a PIF 300 unit and just purchased a IF-275 collar by mistake. Will this work with my system? (I also have an older IF-101 system).

ADMIN – Hi Debi, the PIF-275 (aka PetSafe IF-275) collar works just fine with the PetSafe PIF-300 wireless fence system. (known in previous generations as the IF-100 or IF-101)

Debi July 11, 2010 at 7:23 pm

We purchased a wired dog fence for our boxer. It works great but the problem is that it got hit by lightening. We purchased another one and made sure we had it plugged in to a surge protector. Lightening hit the second one we purchased. The wire in the ground is getting hit and we can’t protect that. Would a wireless dog fence have a less chance to get hit by lightening? Also, the wired didn’t seem to use up batteries very much. I’ve read that batteries have to be replaced often with the wireless. Is that true? Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Debi,

Unfortunately a surge protector won’t do the trick, it kicks in too lates, only after the lightning has fried the control box. Instead try a dedicated lightning protection module designed specifically for dog fences.

The boundary wire goes out and comes back to the lightning protection module. Then it plugs into the wall transmitter. Thus, when the boundary wire receives a surge, it will terminate at the lightning protection module and not the wall transmitter.

As for the battery life comparison between the wired and wireless systems, I’m not sure. In our experience, both seem to possess a 3 month battery life.

Cindy July 6, 2010 at 11:39 am

I have a four year old beagle that we just rescued from a shelter about a month ago. He breaks out of the fences despite everything we have tried. He knows his name and responds to verbal commands when he wants to, but tends to like to do his own thing. He will not stay in our yard when he sees a neighbor dog walking by on the street and the neighbors are getting very mad at me. I am curious if this system would work for a dog like him.

ADMIN – Hi Cindy,

If possible, go with a wired system rather than this wireless system. They work much better and are much easier to train the dogs. The problem with these wired systems are that they are very hit and miss, they will work in some people’s home and not in others. They are also slow to respond to the moving dog and consequently the dogs have more trouble learning.

If you do the training regularly for the first 2-3 weeks and I think you will be pleasantly surprised by how quickly dogs learn the rules. If you are particularly concerned about certain temptations like a neighbor walking a dog, then we can incorporate that into the last stage of training to make certain it will work before we take the dogs off leash. Beagles don’t tend to present any difficulties.

Leave a Comment