PetSafe Deluxe Inground Fence PRF-304W

Pros

  • Works with other PetSafe collars
  • Solid mid-tier system

Cons

  • Proprietary disposable battery
  • Better systems in this price range

Rating

Retail Price

$299.95

Our Price

$249.95

Availability: In Stock

Orders before 1pm ship same day

More Product Images

Enlarge Video Review

The PetSafe Deluxe has been superseded by the PetSafe InGround Dog Fence. The InGround retains the PetSafe Deluxe Collar, but has a new transmitter with a lower 10 capacity. The system is a much better deal, price at just over $150, it is a $100 savings over the PetSafe Deluxe that it replaces.

The PetSafe Deluxe is the best general purpose system from PetSafe. It is a significant upgrade over the basic PetSafe Fence (PRF-3004W) with a vastly better collar and a slightly better control box.

The PetSafe Deluxe collar has four correction levels which lets you tailor the correction level to the dog, much better than the basic system which only has one correction level. The collar can also be used with any other PetSafe in-ground system.

The Deluxe is compatible with all the other PetSafe in-ground collars. So you can mix and match the collars so that each dog has the one right for them. The PetSafe Deluxe collar is the best general purpose collar. Other good choices are the PetSafe Little Dog Collar for dogs under 12 pounds. And the PetSafe Stubborn Collar is useful where there are very large dogs or dogs unresponsive to the regular correction levels.

This is a good all round system with good reliability and capacity for up to 25 acres. The only reason not to get this system is that there are better choices at this price point.

The Innotek IUC-4100 is slightly more expensive up-front, but is rechargeable so you don’t need to keep buying the disposable proprietary PetSafe battery used by the PetSafe Deluxe.

If you are going to use other types of PetSafe collars with your system it is almost always cheaper to get that system and buy an extra PetSafe Deluxe collar. In particular the PetSafe Stubborn system is a very good deal if you need a Stubborn dog collar. Although, the PetSafe Deluxe base station is slightly better and can power up to 25 acres unlike the PetSafe Stubborn which can only do 10 acres.

Summary: Good general purpose system, that can be used with the special purpose PetSafe Little Dog and Stubborn Dog collars.

If you found this website useful, please consider making your PetSafe Deluxe purchase using our online store.

Meat and Potatoes for the Mixed Pack

The PetSafe Deluxe is like the Meat and Potatoes of the dog fence world, not terribly exciting on it’s own, but a reliable standby that can easily be dressed with a little sauce and garnish to be something special.

The PetSafe Deluxe is the best general purpose PetSafe system. The PetSafe Deluxe (PRF-304W) is basically an upgraded version of the basic PetSafe In Ground Radio Fence PRF-3004W. The PetSafe Deluxe adds two very necessary features. First, the collar has four correction levels. That makes it much more versatile collar letting you find a correction level appropriate to your dog. Second, the PetSafe Deluxe Dog Fence adds a collar status light to let you know when the system battery is low and needs replacing. Very competent but nothing special on it’s own.

But, where it shines is when you have diverse family with pups of different sizes and temperaments. You can combine the Deluxe with the other PetSafe collars, in particular you will find it useful in combination with the PetSafe Stubborn and PetSafe Little Dog collars.

  • Use the PetSafe Little Dog collar with the dogs under 12 pounds
  • Use the Stubborn Dog collar with very large dogs or dogs that don’t feel the correction on a regular collar.
  • Use the PetSafe Deluxe for everyone else

So if you have a mixed pack, the combination of Deluxe, Little Dog, and Stubborn Dog collars is the way to go.

PS – if you need a stubborn dog collar and are doing less than 10 acres, buy the Stubborn Dog System, adding PetSafe Deluxe and PetSafe Little Dog collars. This is significantly cheaper than doing it the other way.

Collar

petsafe deluxe collarThe strong point of the PetSafe Deluxe Dog Fence (PRF-304w) is the collar. It is an upgraded version of the collar on the PRF-3004w.
Four Correction Levels The PetSafe Deluxe collar has four progressive correction levels. The correction level is adjusted on each collar individually by unscrewing a cover and pressing a button on the collar. The collar can also be set to a no-correction mode using this button.
Battery Warning Lamp The PRF-304W adds a status light, letting you know when the collar is working fine and when it needs a new battery. This is a significant improvement over the basic PetSafe model that has no warning light and leaves you in the dark (sorry), about whether the collar is working.
petsafe prf-304w collar and battteryDisposable Proprietary Battery The PRF-304W Deluxe uses the proprietary PetSafe RFA-67 disposable battery. Expect to get 3-4 months from the battery, and pay about $4 pet battery. Not as good as a rechargeable battery, but not going to cause a life of poverty.
Intercompatibility The Deluxe collar can be used in conjunction with any other current PetSafe indoor system.
Prongs The PetSafe Deluxe comes with standard length prongs. Long prongs for long-hair dogs are available separately. (Long probes were included up to November 2009, inexplicably they are no longer included as standard)
Indoor Pod CompatibilityYou can use the included collar (PetSafe PUL-275) with the PetSafe Indoor Pod.

Base Station

petsafe deluxe control boxThe base station on the PetSafe PRF-304W is an upgraded version of the PRF-3004w and is shared with the PetSafe Little Dog. The upgrades are relatively minor and add extra range and a grounding wire. The base station cover opens up like a clamshell style cellphone to reveal the main controls:
Boundary Width Control Dial – controls how close the dog can get the boundary wire without getting the warning and correction. The first 20% of the boundary width is the warning zone and the next 80% is the correction zone.
Power Light – advanced circuitry tells you when the unit is switched on!
Loop Light – the light is steady when everything is working fine, a blinking light and an alarm let you know when the system is off.
Boundary Wire Terminals – here is where you plug in the start and end of your boundary wire loop.
Ground Wire Terminal – there is the option to directly ground the system to protect it from lightning strikes. To use it you need to wire the dog fence directly to a nearby grounding rod, which most people simply don’t have. Most people who need lightning protection use the plug in lightning protection instead.
Boundary Size Switch – this switch on the side of the system adjusts the signal strength for large and small boundary loops. The system can handle up to 25 acres, 15 acres more than the basic system.

The base station plugs into a regular power outlet using 110V AC power via the included power adapter.

Boundary Wire, Flags and Splices

The PetSafe Deluxe Fence includes enough wire for about one-third of an acre. The basic kit includes:

  • 500 feet of boundary wire (20 gauge)
  • 50 boundary flags
  • 2 waterproof splice

Extra boundary kits that contain wire, flags and splices are available. Each extra boundary kit (including 500 feet of wire, 2 splices, and 50 flags) costs $29.95. You can also upgrade the wire to 18 gauge, not recommended for most people, but the option is there if you want it.

Training DVD and Instruction Manual

The system comes with an instruction manual. In the past, these systems included a training DVD, but for reasons unknown PetSafe stopped providing the DVD in November of 2009.

Warranty

PetSafe’s limited lifetime warranty applies to the PetSafe Deluxe. There is a one year full warranty, then a fixed charge repair in subsequent years.

Model PetSafe Deluxe In Ground Radio Fence PRF-304W
Type In Ground
Collar Battery Disposable – proprietary
Correction Levels 4 Levels
Beep Only Training Mode Yes
Collar Warning Beep Yes
Collar Vibration No
Independent Correction Levels Yes
Collar Dimensions 1.25” (L) x 2.25” (W) x 1.25″ (D)
Collar Neck Size 2″ – 23″
Collar Water Resistance Waterproof
Collar Fit Test No
Maximum Number of Dogs Unlimited
Minimum Dog Size 12 lbs
Minimum Age 6 months
Maximum Containment Area 25 acres (5,000 feet)
Boundary Width 0-10 feet (adjustable)
Control Box Dimensions 4.75” (L) x 4.25” (W) x 2” (D)
Control Box Power Source Wall Outlet (110V)
Control Box Battery Backup No
Indoor Pod Compatibility Yes – Petsafe
Outdoor Pod Compatibility No
Included Boundary Wire 500 feet + 2 wire Splices
Included Boundary Flags 50
Training Materials Manual + DVD
Other Boundary tester
Package Dimensions 12” (L) x 6” (W) x 6″ (D)
Package Weight 11 lbs
Warranty Limited Lifetime

For the Petsafe Deluxe PRF-304W Manual click here. (PDF)

{ 33 comments… read them below or add one }

Jack September 25, 2012 at 5:42 pm

I am moving into a new house this week and have already purchased a petsafe deluxe system. They only issue that I am concerned about is that the entry to the back yard is on the side and from the fence to the stairs there is only a couple of feet or so. will measure when I move in but not sure how to install wire without shocking my dog once she firsts walk out or should she be fine. What are my options?

ADMIN – Hi Jack, that could be a deal breaker for sure. The minimum signal width we recommend is 3 feet off the wire. That may completely cover the door. You may have to devise a way to suspend the wire high past the door.

Joe September 13, 2012 at 3:46 pm

Hello, I have a york and a old English sheep dog. I want to fence in 1 1/2 acres. What system will work best for me? I’m thinking on the PestSafe Deluxe.

ADMIN – Hi Joe, the PetSafe Deluxe fence would contain your Sheep dog well. The PetSafe Deluxe is similar to the PetSafe Ultrasmart PIG00-13619. Both are for average temperament dogs 12 lbs and up. The main difference between the two is that the Deluxe is compatible with different collars while the Ultrasmart is rechargeable. Both will contain your sheep dog, but I would really read over the Ultrasmart fence to make sure you’ll be happy with the Deluxe. For both fences, you’ll need to bundle in an additional 1,000 feet of wire to cover your property.

Jeff Bowman July 8, 2012 at 9:29 am

I installed a petsafe in-ground system a few years ago. It seems to work great. One issue I have is that there are a couple small areas inside the containment area that I would like to be off limits(flower beds and such). Is there anything like the indoor pods that can be used outdoors(battery powered) to deter my dog from those areas? One other thing that I was wondering about is the collar. Everybody keeps mentioning the petsafe collars using a proprietary battery, but the one that I have uses a standard 9V battery. Do they no longer make these collars? Thanks, Jeff

ADMIN – Hi Jeff, The PetSafe Stubborn dog fence collar, part number PRF-275-19, utilizes a 9v battery. Check to see if this is the collar you own. Zones wise, there is not a compatible outdoor zone that you can use with that collar and the PetSafe Ultrasmart collar is not compatible with the PetSafe transmitter for your fence. If the space is available you can splice twisted wire into the main loop and run it to the areas you want to section off and create secondary loops around let’s say the flower beds and such.

JOHN April 17, 2012 at 7:59 pm

I have a golden retriever and a jack Russel, what is going to be the best fence for me?

Admin- Hi John,

My recommendation will be to get the PetSafe Stubborn system. For the Golden, use the included PetSafe Stubborn collar for him. Keep the collar on the low correction settings; most Golden Retrievers do not need a high level and add in an extra PetSafe Deluxe collar for the Jack Russell. The system comes with 500 feet of wire that can cover 1/3 acres.

Joe April 16, 2012 at 4:10 pm

Hello. I believe I have a break in my petsafe deluxe system wire. The alarm is constantly sounding and the loop light is not on. Does the RF-Choke/AM Radio method work with petsafe systems to identify the location of the break. If not, why? I really don’t want to spend the money on the proprietary Petsafe wire break locator if I don’t have to.

Admin- Hi Joe,

Unfortunately the R/F choke will not work with a PetSafe Deluxe system. The R/F choke typically only works with Innotek models and the PetSafe/Sportdog transmitters are not able to send the RF signal through the wire like the Innotek transmitter. You will need a PetSafe wire break locator to find your break in the line.

Lorrie March 19, 2012 at 2:53 pm

I have a 2 year old lab dog and a six month old Boston Terrier and i would like to put up a underground fence but I don’t want to have the same level of punishment for each one i like to have each dog at its own setting what is the best system to get in this situation.

ADMIN – Hi Lorrie,

The PetSafe systems are good where you have different sized dogs and want independent correction levels. I would use a PetSafe Stubborn system, and use the included collar with the labrador – the collar on that system is stronger than you need, but the system is good value for money and if you keep the collar on the lower levels it will work well. The Boston Terrier, would use a PetSafe Deluxe collar (if they are over 12 pounds), or a PetSafe Little Dog collar (if they are under 12 pounds).

helen ball February 8, 2012 at 8:04 pm

i have a 5 lb dog is there a collar for her?

ADMIN – Hi Helen,

Your best bet is the PetSafe Little Dog Containment system. The collar is the smallest, and has a proportionately lower correction. The collar weights under 2 ounces, but still 5 pounds on the lower limit of dogs that would be comfortable with the collar. Before starting to use it, we would put the collar on the dog (switched off) and let them run around for a couple of days to see if the dog is comfortable.

CindyA January 10, 2012 at 10:02 pm

I had a Petsafe system installed in 2005 (RF-1010 is the transmitter?) and at the time 1 neighbor had another brand system, which the installer knew about but apparently didn’t accommodate for (I would NEVER recommend this person!). We did train our dog well enough that although the backside of our fence was intermittant she didn’t challenge it.
7 years later we now have a new puppy and 2 more neighbors with inground fencing (not Petsafe). Needless to say our fence only works in a 20′ section in front of the house. I will never be able to keep my beagle mix in the yard if a bunny runs thru.
I would like to know if there is anything I can do short of reinstalling the entire wire, such as getting stronger transmitter?

ADMIN – Hi Cindy,

You can quickly confirm it is indeed interference causing the problems by getting you neighbors to switch off their fences for a few minutes and testing the boundaries start working properly again.

If you have interference with neighboring dog fences, we have three options:

1. You or you neighbor need to switch to a dual frequency fence that can be adjusted to avoid interference. The Perimeter Ultra is a good DIY option (http://www.dogfencediy.com/reviews/perimeter-technologies/). Also some invisible fence systems are dual frequency built in as standard (but, you also need to switch out the collars).

2. You or your neighbors need to move the wire so that the sections that are interfering are at least 12 feet apart.

3. Sneak out in the dead of night, and cut your neighbor’s wire.

Option 3 is the most fun, option 1 is the easiest, option 2 is the cheapest.

Jenny December 28, 2011 at 6:48 pm

We have a 30 lb beagle with a high pain tolerance who will run through barb wire to get to a rabbit. He currently goes over, under and through our wood plank with woven wire fence. He is a big hunter and seems oblivious when on the hunt. We also have a 40 lb Plott Hound who likes to hunt but doesn’t have the insane drive of the beagle. I’m not sure which system and which collars to buy. We live on a farm and plan to relocate to a new home on the same farm in the next five years. I am leaning toward the stubborn system and collar for the beagle with a deluxe collar for the Plott hound. Would the stubborn be too strong for his size despite his aggressive hunting nature?

ADMIN – Hi Jenny,

I think the Stubborn collar is going to be too strong and too big for the beagle. I would put them both on Deluxe collars, the higher levels on that system should be sufficient for even the highest prey drive Beagle.

Terry November 19, 2011 at 1:20 am

What is the battery life on the petsafe deluxe? I’m currently comparing the various products, petsafe deluxe, innotek IUC-4100 and the sport dog in ground fence. I like the levels on the deluxe and the fact that it increases the intensity if the dog comes running at the fence, which mine will probably do since he is border collie mix and likes to chase squirrels, rabbits etc. but I like the rechargeable feature of the innotek.

ADMIN – Hi Terry,
The RFA-67 battery for the Deluxe collar last about 3 months. All three of the fences you mentioned contain progressive correction and a run through prevention mode.

Liz September 10, 2011 at 11:14 pm

We installed the pet safe deluxe in-ground system with a heavier gauge copper wire 2 years ago. It’s worked fantastically, though we’ve always had to keep the boundary width to around 5, (our dog is quite tall, and if we decrease it, the collar held at waist height doesn’t pick up). Recently, the transmitter has started alarming intermittently (every day to every other day maybe). If I raise the boundary width, the alarm stops. I can usually drop it back down to close to 5 as soon as the alarm stops. I have tried raising the boundary altogether, but it didn’t keep it from repeating the alarm. We haven’t tried the short loop test, but can’t see how it would tell us anything since the transmitter seems to work 95% of the time. Any ideas?

ADMIN – Hi Liz,

Do the short loop test, where you connect a small section of good wire to the transmitter. If you still get the intermittent alarm, that will tell us if the issue is the transmitter. If the intermittent alarm stops, it will tell us three is an actual break in the wire.

If it is a break in the wire, the intermittent symptoms sound like either a nick in the wire, or a bad splice. These small break can keep ‘breaking’ and ‘heal’ depending on temperature and soil moisture. They are unfortunately very hard to find. Your best bet is using the PetSafe Wire Break Locator and listening out for places where the sound dies off a little.

Angie Alexander September 9, 2011 at 11:19 pm

We have an underground fence that has worked great for 3 years…however, over the last month or so both of our dogs’ collars keep beeping/shocking in the house and out back of our house when the dogs are nowhere near the fence. Could both of our collars be bad or do you think it could be something else.

ADMIN – Hi Angie,

It would be odd that both collars started malfunctioning at the same time. My first hypothesis would be that there is something triggering the collars in what were previously safe zones. What kind of fence do you have?

First, I would stop using the collars on the dogs till we get the problem sorted out. We definitely do not want the dogs getting random corrections in the home – that very quickly leads to fearful behavior.

The first thing I would test would be to switch off the transmitter and see if you still get the collars triggering inside the safe zone. That would tell us if the problem is coming from your transmitter or from interference from a neighbor’s fence or some other electrical device.

Barbara Crane July 12, 2011 at 10:29 am

I recently installed the petsafe system to contain my three large dogs. IT has worked great for several months until this week. My son, an electrical engineer, connected the wire with connectors from a big box store. He “waterproofed ” them with duct tape. In the heat and humidity of summer the fence has stopped working most of the time, although both lights are on. The short loop test indicates the transmitter is working, as are the collars. Could dampness in the connectors be causing this problem in the above ground 18 gauge wire even with both lights on in the transmitter ?? The fence is about 1200 feet. Thanks.

ADMIN – Hi Barbara,

Doesn’t sound like a problem with the splices – if it was, you would get the boundary break warning.

Start by checking the warning indicators are working. Disconnect one of the wires and see if you still get no alarm.

If the alarm is working fine, then we either have a (1) short in the loop or (2) a boundary width problem.

(1) Short in the Loop – check the twisted wire section (if any) and see if maybe there is a short in that section. (a good test is to disconnect the twisted wire from the loop and see if you still get no warning break) When you get a short the signal can go up one twisted wire and right back the other without having to go through the whole loop.

(2) Boundary Width Problem – check the width dial is set correctly, try increasing and decreasing the boundary width and see if it increases and decreases the distance from the wire the collar triggers. Do this test on both the dummy loop and you real loop.

Michael Starnes July 11, 2011 at 10:39 am

I was having problems with wire breaks with my petsafe inground system so I reran the wire in conduit with a heavier gauge wire. The system worked fine for a couple months but is now hit or miss. I can reset the transmitter and it will work briefly. My question would be is the conduit effecting the signal or is my transmitter not working properly? Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Michael,

The conduit is unlikely to cause those kinds of symptoms. My first hypothesis would be there is something going on with the transmitter or collars. A quick way to test would be to run a small dummy loop from the transmitter and set if that works consistently. If it doesn’t work – that would confirm that the problem is in the transmitter or the collars.

Gwendolyn July 9, 2011 at 11:41 am

I have to say that your site is quite unique and refreshing. You offer such a wealth of information and customer support – it is very refreshing to see your commitment to service!!

I currently own a PetSafe Yard and Park Trainer. I would like to install an invisible fence system. Are there any invisible fence transmitters that will operate the training collar from the Yard and Park Trainer? If so, is there a way to purchase the system without a collar – as I only need the one. Thank you, Gwendolyn

ADMIN – Hi Gwendolyn,

Unfortunately, the PetSafe Yard and Park Trainer Collar are not compatible with any of the dog fence collars. You need to use one of the dog fence collars with the transmitter. We appreciate the compliment.

Barbara July 8, 2011 at 11:31 am

I have been trying to decide on a containment system. I have a little over 12 acres and will have to cross a small brook in a couple of areas. There are also other wet areas. I currently have a 10 year old Rotti who stays in the yard on her own and a 7 month old rescue Pom that does not have a good recall yet and slips through the fence into the neighbors yard when their dog is out. I could reduce the total area by excluding the pond and pasture. There may be other dogs in my future. Including my daughters 2 year old Great Dane as well as other rescue/fosters. Although I would prefer the rechargeable, with the reviews and suggestions that I’ve read it seems like the Petsafe Deluxe or the stubborn dog is the way to go, with a little dog collar for the Pom. What do I have to buy in addition to what comes with the package? I can’t see what gauge wire it comes with. Should I buy a heavier gauge? What about lightning? Any other things to consider? Thanks, Barbara

ADMIN – Hi Barbara,

With that much difference in size, I would get the PetSafe Deluxe system (because it can handle larger acreage) and use the included collar with the Pomeranian. With the Rottweiler, I would add a PetSafe Stubborn collar.

With 12 acres, you would need additional boundary kits. You would need a total of around 4,000 feet of wire – the system comes with 500 feet so you would need an additional 3,500 feet (7 boundary kits).

The system comes with 20 gauge wire standard, but you can upgrade to 18, 16, or 14. The thicker wire does not help with the system’s actual working – but it is more resilient and is worth looking at if you are not burying the wire and are just laying it above ground.

With 12 acres you will be running about 4,000 feet of wire, so lightning strikes become more likely. It would be worth getting the optional lightning protection module to protect the system in case this happens.

Bonnie June 20, 2011 at 12:51 am

Hi! I have a question about installation. I have about 1/2 an acre backyard that has an existing picket fence that is not suitable for containing my boxer and schnauzer (esp the boxer). Would I still bury the line along the fence or could I staple it to the bottom of the fence line? I was thinking about getting a system with wires and getting a lower gauge outdoor wire if it was not going to be buried. I would appreciate any help you could offer! Bonnie

ADMIN – Hi Bonnie,

You can indeed staple the dog fence wire to an existing fence. It is definitely an easier way to go. There are some special wire staples you can get at Home Depot and Lowe’s that have a notch in them so they don’t press on the wire. Or you can use regular staples, just being careful not to hammer them in so tight that they cut through the insulation around the wire.

Particularly if the wire is attached to the fence a few inches off the ground so it is protected from someone using a weed eater, it tends to be protected from harm. You can certainly use one of the thicker gauges, but you should also be fine with the standard 20 gauge.

Kathy May 24, 2011 at 5:49 pm

I purchased the PetSafe Deluxe for my Whippets but am having a problem keeping a snug fit with the collar. The problem is when they lower their heads to pick up a ball or eat grass, the collar slides up because their necks narrow. Any suggestions? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Kathy,

Getting a good fit can be difficult with dogs with a long neck like a Whippet. We try and sit the collar up closer to the top of the neck. You will still get some sliding. With short hair dogs, the collar sliding around a little is fine, as long as the dog is still getting the correction.

brian jones May 10, 2011 at 8:57 pm

What is the best for a Siberian husky pup six months old

ADMIN – Hi Brian,

For Siberians the trickiest part is getting the collar fitted correctly. With the thick undercoat on the Huskies it is hard to know when you have good contact between the collar probes and the skin. And without good contact the dogs don’t get the correction consistently which make for difficult training.

The Innotek IUC-4100 is a good reliable system. It includes an extra set of long prongs which will be useful with your dog. It also has a collar-fit mode where the collar beeps to let you know when the collar is sitting properly on the dogs neck.

How large is your yard? If it is over 20 acres my recommendation would be different.

Ronnie L. May 10, 2011 at 3:17 pm

Can the PetSafe Deluxe In-Ground Radio Fence handle a 14 gauge wire instead of the 20 that is supplied and how would that affect the boundary zone?

Also, I have to run the wire along the side of the driveway. I have electric lights wired along the side of the driveway. I plan on using a double loop setup and one of the loops will have to be run side by side with the electric wiring. How is that going to affect the inground fence?

ADMIN – Hi Ronnie,

You can use all thicker gauges with all fences. The thicker wires are easier to push signal through than the thinner wire (it is like wider lanes on a highway), to the PetSafe Deluxe and indeed all systems can use the wire without any problems.

Sometimes getting thick wire into the transmitter box terminals is a tight fit, but to fix that you just use a small section of thinner wire to bridge into the transmitter box.

The problem you sometimes get if running dog fence wiring parallel to electrical wiring is the dog fence signal gets induced in the electrical wiring. This can mean that you get dog fence signal wherever that electrical wiring lies. To check if this is going to be an issue, lay the dog fence wiring out on the ground and connect it to the control box and power on the system. Then use the dog fence collar to make sure you aren’t getting it triggered in unexpected places, particularly around power sockets in the house.

Suzi April 10, 2011 at 8:37 pm

We have a petsafe electric fence we put in 10 years ago.Last October I replaced the wire because of breakage just this week our new puppy dug up the wire that is by the house the neutural area. When we fixed it the neutural area does not work and the dogs are getting shocked, we checked to see if the wire is still wrapped around it self and it is. Is there any thing we can do?

ADMIN – Hi Suzi,

Sounds like your section of twisted wire is not working. I am not sure what your wiring looks like, but the “neutral section” should be where the two loop wires come together and are twisted together (at least one twiste per inch). Send us a diagram or a photo of the wiring and we can help diagnose the issue.

Jen April 7, 2011 at 12:16 pm

I am looking to get a fence for my 35lb 8 month old mix pup. She is extremely submissive and i don’t want to get something that will cause her to become scared or timid. I was thinking the PetSafe Deluxe system. Any other recomendations? Thank you!

ADMIN – Hi Jen,

The key with a timid dog to avoid fearfulness is the training. The more consistent you are with your training the easier it is for the dog. Our training method teaches the dog the boundary rules in the first week, without the correction. That way when the correction is applied in the second week, the dog knows exactly what to do to turn it off. This reduces stress on the dog, because they are never in a situation where they don’t know what they should be doing.

The PetSafe Deluxe would work well, also consider the Innotek IUC-4100.

Matt March 13, 2011 at 12:28 pm

We have a PetSafe Deluxe in ground system that worked great until a few days ago. There was a terrible thunder storm come through and the transmitter literaly exploded, fried the wire (like vaporized nothing left but char marks on the wall), and the electrical outlet had burn marks around the plug. I was wondering when I originaly bought the system I thought it had lightning protection? I can not find the book or the box and was wondering if theres a reduced price for lightning strike damage? All insight and information is very appreciated. Thanks, Matt

Admin- Hi Matt,
Did you buy your system from us?

Randy February 2, 2011 at 11:25 am

I want to start by thanking you for your awesome site! It’s packed with useful information and sadly the videos appeal to my humor! I have two questions for you.
1. Does the PetSafe little Dog and Deluxe systems come with the same transmitter? I know it says that they do but the pictures are different. I’m sure it’s just an outdated picture but I just wanted to make sure. From my calculations the Deluxe base with an added Little dog collar will be $10 cheaper so I want to be certain.
2. Is there any unofficial way that the collars could be modified to use a common store bought battery with slight modification? It almost looks like if it was popped out of it’s cap you could replace it with a small watch type battery. If you’ve never tried this I’ll see what I can do and let you know. I reverse engineer “proprietary” things for a living so a dog’s collar can’t be that difficult!
Thanks in advance for your response and for the great site!

Admin – Randy

Glad that you like our site.
Yes, the PetSafe transmitters are the same. The newer ones have a slightly different look to them but the electronics are the same.
Good question on the collar batteries, these are proprietary batteries and I don’t know that they can be done different. If you try this with success, by all means let me know. However keep in mind that any alterations could void the manufacturers warranty.
Hope this is of some help to you.

Janna January 18, 2011 at 4:12 pm

I have a PetSafe Deluxe In-Ground Radio Fence. The number on the back of the transmitter is RF125. The transmitter will be fine all day and then in the evening will begin to intermittently beep. I unplug it for the night since my dog is inside and re-plug it in the morning. And again it will be silent most of the day until evening again. What are some possible causes for this? We ran new wire a couple of months ago.
Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Janna,

How bizarre. My guess is that somewhere there is a loose connection, or a nicked wire. During the day when it is warmer the wire expands and you get a good connection. At night when the wire gets colder it contracts a little and you get the system registering a wire break. If my therory is right, the problem should be worse on colder nights, and get better on warmer nights.

If could also be a problem with the transmitter. Connect a short dummy loop to the transmitter and see if you get the same issue happening with the system registering a wire break at night. Also, if you could borrow someone else’s transmitter, then you could plug it in at night and see if you get the same probelm.

Tony November 28, 2010 at 6:07 pm

We have an older Petsafe in-ground, going on 5 years. Not sure what model, we tossed the box but it had a picture of a dalmatian on it. Unfortunately our dog’s receiver collar simply stopped working this summer and really it just looks worn out. But we don’t know what we can/should get as a replacement. I can’t seem to find the receiver anywhere online. Our dog will escape in less than 3 mins if unsupervised so requires constant supervision if outside. Also she tests the fence so wears out batteries in no time — the newer model with proprietary batteries will probably cost too much in the long run. We’re desperate – is there hope? We just want a replacement receiver.

ADMIN – Hi Tony,

If you send us a picture of the collar or a model number, we may be able to help – but I suspect it is no longer manufactured. One good resource is PetSafe. Even if the collar is really old, PetSafe can usually fix it for you (under their limited lifetime warranty), and it will only cost around $30.

Lydia Borowicz November 6, 2010 at 2:19 pm

I have the PetSafe Deluxe system, and am very happy with it. Our dogs are allowed indoors and outdoors while we are gone, and the in-ground fence keeps them contained well. However, they have started climbing on the couch and I’d like to keep them off it. Are there are any indoor transmitters that can be used with the PetSafe Deluxe collar to keep our dogs off our couch?

ADMIN – Hi Lydia,

You can use the PetSafe Deluxe with the PetSafe Indoor Pods to keep them off furniture. The Indoor Pods create a circle with a radius adjustable from 2-10 that stops the dogs from coming near. You can put one of the pods on your sofa and the dog’s couch surfing days are over.

Gina Angotti August 24, 2010 at 10:59 am

Hi, we have three dogs, one is a 8 pound Pomeranian, 60 pound Boxer, and a 80 pound Boxer. Which type of system would be recommended for our animals? We have an acre and 1/8 of property, and the 80 lb boxer is one year old and likes to jump open the screen door and run out and off through the neighborhood. We did not have him as a small puppy. Hope you can help!

Gina Angotti

ADMIN – Hi Gina,

With the size difference you’ll want to choose a PetSafe system. I’d recommend going with the PetSafe Deluxe and adding 1 Deluxe collar and 1 one Little Dog collar (for the Pomeranian).

Heidi July 20, 2010 at 5:44 pm

I bought a petsafe radio collar containment system for a previous dog and now I have a new puppy. How old does she need to be before I can use the system wither her. I am eager to be able to allow her to roam the yard with less supervision.

ADMIN – I like to start dogs at six months. You can do it a bit earlier if the dog can confidently perform a sit/stay/come on command.

Stacy July 9, 2010 at 10:04 pm

When purchasing a petsafe system can I buy the little dog collar and another kind of collar for a large dog and use them with a petsafe system. example petsafe deluxe.

Hi Stacy,

Yes. You can use the PetSafe Deluxe, Petsafe Little Dog, and PetSafe Stubborn Dog systems and collars interchangeably. One thing to note is that the collars have different sensitivities – so that boundary distance will be different for each collar. There is some logic to it – the PetSafe Little dog will have the smallest boundary wdith, and the Stubborn and Deluxe will have wider boundary areas.

Steve May 31, 2010 at 9:09 pm

I notice that PetSafe also has a Cat Fence product. You mention being able to use other collars with one model of transmitter. Would a collar specifically designed for a cat be compatible with the Dog Fence transmitter?

ADMIN – Hi Steve,

The PetSafe cat fence collar is indeed compatible with the PetSafe in ground dog fence systems.

Greg Tate March 17, 2010 at 9:38 pm

I did see a new Petsafe brand system that combines the in-ground fence and a remote that will allow you to do remote training within the yard. It is the Petsafe Radio Fence Plus Remote Trainer model number PRFRT-300W. I currently have an older Petsafe inground fence system and 2 collars (2 dogs too) and was trying to figure out if there was a remote that I could buy to work with my existing system. I don’t think that the remote for the PLUS system is compatible with older collars though.

ADMIN – Hi Greg

The PetSafe PRFRT-300W is an old model, that has not been made for a couple of years. We no longer carry them, but there is some dead stock floating around. The remote correction feature was not compatible with collars regular PetSafe systems, you needed to have the the acutal PLUS collars for it to work. Now the best bet for a dog fence that also has remote correction is the IUC-5100, made by PetSafe’s sister company Innotek.

brock February 15, 2010 at 9:52 pm

I purchased the petsafe deluxe for my boxer. I recently got a lab puppy, she is approx. 8 to 10 months, and im very interested in training her outside of the yard. Could i buy a petsafe brand shock collar with remote and the collar still work with the inground fence already in place for the boxer?
I havent seen any posts about this and was wondering if it were possible? I do not want to have to buy an extra collar for the fence as well as collar and remote for shock training if at all possible. Any ideas or suggestions??

ADMIN – Hi Brock,

Afraid the Petsafe systems don’t have any collars that can be dual used as both dog fences and training collars. The only systems that you can use like this are the Innotek IUC-5100 and the Innotek SD-3000 which are both training collars and containment collars combined.

Leave a Comment