Innotek SD-2000 Basic Fence Review

Pros

  • Non-proprietary batteries
  • Cheapest reliable system

Cons

  • No adjustable correction levels
  • No low battery warning
  • Not rechargeable
  • No battery backup for the transmitter

Rating

Retail Price

$199.95

Our Price

$119.95

Availability: In Stock

Orders before 1pm ship same day

FREE SHIPPING

More Product Images

Enlarge Video Review

Innotek, the child company of Radio Fence which also makes the gear for Invisible Fence and PetSafe, has a bare bones offering called the SD-2000 (pictured right). The SD-2000 is the cheapest reliable system on the market, but cuts a few too many corners to be really useful. This is the system to get if you are on a very tight budget.

At just over $100, the SD-2000 is the cheapest system that we would suggest anyone should use with their dogs. In terms of features the Innotek SD-2000 is similar to the more expensive PetSafe PRF-3004W. But, unlike some of the other cheaper systems like the Humane Contain, this one works consistently and reliably.

The main drawback of the SD-2000 is that it only has a single correction level. The correction level is progressive, increasing in intensity the nearer the dog gets to the boundary wire. But, there is still only one starting point. This starting point is set for the “typical dog” but is too much for small dogs or compliant dogs, and insufficient for large dogs or stubborn dogs. You really want something that you can adjust after you see your dog’s reaction to the correction.

The other basic feature that is missing is a low battery warning light. There is no decent way to figure out if your battery is getting low, other than regularly testing it on the fence to see if it is beeping. Since nobody ever does this, the battery inevitably goes flat without anyone noticing, potentially leaving the dog’s unsecured. Fortunately, the risks are relatively low since once the dog is trained on the system they tend not to test boundaries. Still, this is a basic safety feature that really should be on all systems.

The Innotek SD-2000 Basic Dog In-Ground Fence uses a generic 3V battery that you can get in any supermarket or drug store. These batteries cost around $5 and last about two months so do start to erode a bit of the SD-2000’s savings. They are less expensive and much easier to find than the proprietary batteries used by some systems like the PetSafe Small Dog Fence, but not as good as the rechargeable batteries on systems like the Innotek 4100.

The collar band is decent. It is a black cloth band, but lacks the reflective strip of the SD-2100. As you would expect, the SD-2000 lacks many of the frills like the base station battery backup and cannot be used with the Innotek wireless indoor pods. To get compatibility with the indoor pods, you need to trade up to the Innotek IUC-4100 or the Innotek IUC-5100.

Innotek offers a lifetime warranty on all it’s products, but that is a little misleading. This really means that they will replace the unit for free in the first year and offer you a discounted repair in subsequent years. Note, that on a unit this cheap, it is a close call whether to take them up on the discounted repair or simply buy a new unit.

Summary: The SD-2000 is a decent option for those on a tight budget with a medium size dog. But the lack of adjustable correction levels and the absence of a low battery warning light kill the deal for us.

If you find this site useful, please consider purchasing your Innotek SD-2000 Basic In-Ground system through our online store.

SD-2000 Collar

Brick The SD-2000 has a old-school brick style collar. It is rumored that the designer of this collar did not go on to design the iphone, ipod or imac. Like most bricks, this collar works well and is robust. The collar is a little bigger than the PetSafe PRF-3004W which is the unit’s main competitor. While the PRF-3004W could comfortably fit a dog down at 10lbs (although the correction level would be all wrong); the SD-2000 would only be comfortable on a dog double that size.

Disposable Battery The collar is powered by a regular disposable 3V lithium battery (this type of battery is sometimes used in cameras). You get about 2-3 months of life from each battery and they are widely available. The batteries cost around $5, not as cheap as an AA battery but cheaper than most proprietary batteries on the market.

No Low Battery WarningGlaringly, the collar has no low battery warning. So you have to test the collar regularly to make sure it is still working. This is something every system really should have, realistically owners are going to be lazy and not test the collar regularly, and not knowing if your collar is working when you put it on your dog is a significant safety issue. The low warning light is also not exactly new or expensive technology and we don’t understand why something so basic is missing from this unit and the competing PetSafe PRF-3004W.

One Progressive Correction Level The other disappointing omission from this unit is that there is only one correction level. This makes the unit a bit of a crapshoot. The correction strength may be right for your dog, but if it isn’t you can’t adjust it. The correction is progressive so will increase as the dog gets closer which gives it a bigger upward range than the PRF-3004W. The sweet spot of the unit is about 30-40lbs, but again this will vary a bit from dog to dog, so a better choice would be a unit with one correction level.

The collar is water resistant. It comes with a black cloth band and a snap-type closure making it easy to get on and off.

Control Box

The Innotek SD-2000 is one of the smallest units with just one basic functions, the Field Width Adjustment Knob. This lets you set how far on either side of the boundary wire the correction will apply.

You can wall mount the unit simply by putting one screw in each of the two “wings” that just out form the side of the system.

Boundary Wire Kit

The basic SD-2000 includes the following items standard:

  • 500 ft boundary wire (20 gauge) – enough for about 1/3 of an acre
  • 50 boundary flags – create a visual marker for the boundary
  • 2 Waterproof wire splice – used to join sections of the boundary wire

Extra boundary kits to create a larger boundary can be ordered in our online store ($30 per 500 feet). You can also upgrade to the slightly thicker 18 gauge boundary wire (not necessary for most people)

Training DVD and Instruction Manual

The SD-2000 system comes with a decent training DVD from Innotek. Our approach to training is a little different, waiting till later to introduce the correction, but either way will hold you in good stead.

Model Innotek Basic In Ground Fence SD-2000
Type In Ground
Collar Battery Disposable – generic (3 volts)
Correction Levels 1 Level (progressive)
Beep Only Training Mode No
Collar Warning Beep Yes
Collar Vibration No
Independent Correction Levels n/a – only one correction level
Collar Dimensions 1.5” (L) x 2” (W) x 1.25″ (D)
Collar Neck Size 2″ – 21″
Collar Water Resistance Waterproof
Collar Fit Test Yes
Maximum Number of Dogs Unlimited
Minimum Dog Size 20 lbs
Minimum Age 6 months
Maximum Containment Area 5 acres (3,000 feet)
Boundary Width 0-10 feet (adjustable)
Control Box Dimensions 3” (L) x 4.25” (W) x 1.25” (D)
Control Box Power Source Wall Outlet (110V)
Control Box Battery Backup No
Indoor Pod Compatibility No
Outdoor Pod Compatibility No
Included Boundary Wire 500 feet + 2 wire Splices
Included Boundary Flags 50
Training Materials Manual and DVD
Other Boundary tester
Package Dimensions 12” (L) x 8” (W) x 6″ (D)
Package Weight 6 lbs
Warranty Limited Lifetime

{ 23 comments… read them below or add one }

Katie April 25, 2014 at 11:17 am

I have a 60lb pit bull that has been on the SD-2000 system for almost a year. He is very compliant and wont test the boundaries as long as hes wearing his collar. The problem is the collar wont stay on or stops working. Between the contacts falling off every few months and having to find the box in the yard, to the battery dying or the collar failing completely and needing replacement its become a hassle. Are there any other collars that are compatible with this fence? Eventually we would like to put in a new system (one with better wire and a controllable shock since the correction from this system seems a bit much) but money is a little tight for that right now and the collar just died AGAIN. so before we purchase another collar that’s only going to last a few months, I wanted to check to see if there were any other options. Thank you!

ADMIN – Hi Katie, unfortunately there no other compatible collars. If you are looking to replace the system, I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax. It will work with the current dog fence wire you have installed. The YardMax collar is small and lightweight at only 3 oz. The collar is fully waterproof as well.

Josh Oakes January 8, 2014 at 11:36 pm

I’ve been using the sd-2000 system for about 8 years now with 2 different labs. My current lab was just fine with the system for over a year. Recently, he has decided that freedom is worth the shock. I’ve watched him from inside the house when he doesn’t know I’m watching. He will pace back and forth inching his way closer to the boundary. Then he lowers his head and takes off as fast as he can through the boundary. He yelps as he does. It’s the strangest thing. He is very smart high dollar hunting dog. I honestly think he’s just figured it out. He knows the shock only lasts a few seconds, then he’s home free. He knows it’s wrong. He will stay gone for hours, but always comes home. He gets shocked on the way back inside the containment area too. Haha. I have the flags out and have done all the training multiple times. He knows the rules, he just ignores them. I’m thinking of changing systems to the “stubborn” dog system that uses a 9v battery rather than the 3v battery of the sd-2000. Is this what you would recommend? Thanks for any advice!

ADMIN – Hi Josh, that is something else. I can’t believe he even braves re-entering on his own. I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax fence if your layout is the perimeter loop. Reason is, the YardMax broadcasts the signal differently than all other dog fences. Basically, inside the loop is safe zone. Everything outside the loop is correction zone that lasts up to 15 seconds. The collar activates when it breaks the wire plane. So, except for timing out, there is no longer a run through option. Plus the YardMax has a stronger correction than the SD2000.

kathy haberli February 12, 2013 at 10:45 pm

I have the Innotek 2000 has been great until the snow came I hear the beep but have not felt the shock. Does anyone else have a problem when the snow comes I even replaced the battery in the collar?

ADMIN – Hi Kathy,

When the snow accumulates, it partially blocks the dog fence signal. The symptoms you are describing make me think that with the snow, the collar is not able to get enough signal to trigger the correction. To fix this problem, when the snow starts to accumulate, you need to turn up the boundary width dial on the transmitter which will send a stronger signal out through the boundary wire and help the signal get through the snow.

When the snow melts, you will of course need to turn that dial back down to the original setting.

Kristi January 10, 2013 at 12:13 am

I will be putting in a SD-100A system this spring and have an opportunity to purchase 2 extra Innotek SD-2000 collars now. Will these collars work with the larger Sport dog system?

ADMIN – Hi Kristi, Unfortunately the SD-2000 collars will not work with this fence. The PetSafe Deluxe, Stubborn, and Little Dog collars are the only collars that are compatible.

Jona January 4, 2013 at 1:06 am

Hello, I have a miniature Australian Shepherd. She weights around 30 lbs. We keep her outdoor in our back yard but she always tries to find ways to get into the house. At one point, she even shattered our dual layer slider glass door. I want to get a fence system and run it along the back of the house as well as coverage for the back yard. Will SD 2000 work or would you recommend SD 2100? Are there other system that I should consider? I read Stubborn is for dogs 40 lbs or larger. Is that correct? Thanks for your help.

ADMIN – Hi Jona, for your mini Aussie Shepherd, I recommend the PetSafe Ultrasmart PIG00-13619. It has a very slimline collar that is rechargeable. I recommend this because the Ultrasmart is much more reliable than the SD2100. And yes, you can create the boundary as you say in order to keep her in the backyard and off the back of the house.

Angela October 10, 2012 at 2:55 pm

I am looking for a low cost system like this to keep my dogs out of my flower beds. I don’t think it will take much to train them, but read somewhere about not using this system within 10 ft of electricity or cable. Obviously, flower beds are going to be close to both of these things coming into the house. Is this a good system for this purpose?

ADMIN – Hi Angela, I would rather you look at the outdoor Rock as a better solution to protecting your flower beds. You can use the PetSafe Ultrasmart collar with the rock. Make sure to bundle in the charger as well.

Mike April 6, 2012 at 6:52 pm

What gauge of wire comes with the innotek sd 2000 basic kit? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Mike,

The Innotek Basic SD-2000 comes with 20 gauge wire standard. If you want the thicker wire, the wire in the kit can be upgraded to 18, 16, or 14 gauge for an additional charge.

Tom March 23, 2012 at 11:30 pm

I have one of the original PetSafe kits. Can I use any other collar besides PetSafe for this system? I think that the Innotek sells a cheap collar.
Thanks,
Tom

Admin- Hi Tom,

Unfortunately the Innotek collars are not compatible with a PetSafe transmitters. You are limited to the PetSafe collars with a PetSafe transmitter.

Travis February 6, 2012 at 9:21 pm

I have the SD 2000 system and the battery in one of my collars is dead. What is the trick to getting the battery out? I have the metal cover off but can’t get the actual battery out of the unit.

ADMIN – Hi Travis,

It can be tricky, sometimes whacking the collar, or using a small flat screwdriver to pry out the battery will do the job.

chris November 25, 2011 at 7:55 pm

Hi, I have recently installed the SD2000 system for a mixed breed dog that looks like he is going to get larger than we expected. I believe that I need something with a greater correction factor, but adjustable. Am I able to upgrade to a different system with those features and still use the same buried wire? Also what would I upgrade to if I expect the dog to grow to 60lbs or so?

ADMIN – Hi Chris,

You can use the same wire with any another wired dog fence system. For a system with a stronger correction, something like the Petsafe Stubborn would be a good choice. The system has the most powerful correction, and also has five levels so you can start the correction low and work your way up as needed.

David Leach September 16, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Is there any way of increasing the volume on the SD2000 models? I think my dog can hear it occasionally but not all the time.

ADMIN – Hi David,

The volume on the collars is pre-set and cannot be adjusted. It should be fine for most dogs, but as you have noticed, it is too high pitched and soft for most human ears. You can tell if the dog can hear, because their ears prick up.

If you have a dog that is hard of hearing, try one of the collars that vibrtes like the Dogtra.

Coral September 11, 2011 at 10:08 pm

Hi, I have a 10 month old Jack Russell/Papillion Cross. She has a 9 inch neck and weighs 13lbs. Although we are on five acres she likes to go and visit her friends up the road to play. While the road we are on is not always busy, it can be and we don’t want her on the road, or wandering the neighbourhood.

I have tried to do my homework and have read and watched a number of reviews and like the rechargable collar, but of course price is also a consideration. Taking her neck and weight size into account, would you recommend the Innotek or Petsafe systems?

Thanks for this excellent site.

ADMIN – Hi Coral,

Sounds like you are on the borderline between the Innotek 4100 and the PetSafe Little Dog. I would start with the Innotek, put the collar on the dog (switched off) and let her run around for a day or two to see if she is comfortable. If she is comfortable stick with the rechargeable Innotek. If she is not, return it and swap it for the PetSafe.

Both systems are good and will do the job, but if you can avoid the proprietary batteries on the PetSafe Little Dog, that is a good thing.

Andy September 8, 2011 at 2:15 pm

I have a half acre backyard with rolling terrain a strong willed 2yo basset hound. What would be the best solution to keep him in my yard?

Admin- Hi Andy,

A great system for a basset hound will be the Innotek IUC-4100. The system offers a slim-fit rechargeable collar that will fit your bassets neck perfect. To cover ½ acres you will need to bundle in an additional 500’ boundary kit. For you install, I recommend using one of our backyard only layouts. Please see link below.

Backyard Only: http://www.dogfencediy.com/installation/plan/#backyard

Brittney Gruenberg August 22, 2011 at 11:20 am

I bought this system at a local store it was the only one they offered, after doing research I see it is a older product. I have a pit and he is only 20 weeks old and I have the system turned in the light green and it shocked him yesterday(first time we have put it on him, i was training him and he ran over the line as if he didn’t here the beep or wasn’t sure what it was) and he jumped high and cried..I’m thinking it might be to strong for him? What is the recommended weight for this system? I just don’t want him to get hurt.

ADMIN – Hi Brittney,

The SD-2000 does not let you change the correction strength. The system has no recommended weight – it is meant for all dog sizes, which in practical terms means that the correction is set to about medium – about what an average 30 – 50 lb dog would use. I would suggest you swap it for something with an adjustable correction.

Also, try the training regime we have on our website, it is much easier on the dog. There is no point shocking the dog on the first day before he has learned what he is supposed to do.

Michael August 21, 2011 at 8:14 pm

How hard is it to bury the wired fenced ones and how deep do you bury them and do you recommend the clips you can use to hold down the wire instead of bury it? Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Michael,

The wire only needs to be buried deep enough to avoid being cut by the lawnmower – two inches is plenty. If you want, you can bury the wire as deep as one foot.

The lawn staples are good for holding down the wire in areas that are not mowed. (e.g. landscaped areas that are mulched) You don’t want to use them on lawn, because when the lawnmower comes in it will cut up the wire.

Dennis July 4, 2011 at 8:35 pm

I’d like to get this system for my “rata-pap” (half rat terrier/ half papillion), but she weighs 17 pounds. Would this really be pushing it?

ADMIN – Hi Dennis,

With a dog that small, we would prefer to see you get something with an adjustable correction level. The standard setting on the Innotek SD-2000 may be too high for her.

Sal April 10, 2011 at 10:03 pm

Having trouble with my transmitter (SD-2000) the light and unit itself will not turn on, i have done all the procedures correctly straight from the manual and still won’t work. Any suggestions of what i should do?

ADMIN – Hi Sal,

If the base station will not even power on, it sounds like it is broken. I would reach out to Innotek to have the system repaired or replace the base station.

Jay Howard December 20, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Having trouble with above ground sd2000, seems it works most of the time,but every once in a while, dog is out and collar is not working, battery is not dead. Any ideas.

ADMIN – Hi Jay,

The first thing you want to do is to run a test loop. This test is great for determining issues on the transmitter, wire, and collar. Simply unplug your boundary wires from the transmitter and plug in a 10 foot section of boundary wire. The first thing to note is, does the beeping alarm stop with the test loop? If the transmitter goes to green and the alarm stops, it’s the first sign you probably have a break in the line. But let’s rule out other possible issues first.

Before switching the boundary width dial, take note where it’s currently set so you remember where you had it set at before this test. The first thing is to adjust the boundary width down to around 9 ‘o clock and walk into the test loop with the collar and take note of the distance at which the collar responds. Then move the boundary
width dial to 12 ‘o clock and take note the distance. So, if the collar responds, we know the collar is fine and if the distance at which the collar responded increased when the boundary width was turned up to 12 ‘o clock, we know the transmitter is working fine as well.

Proceed to checking all the splices and key locations on the wire where you’d expect a break to happen (sides of driveways and pathways, anywhere there has been recent digging, etc). Then move on to perform a RF choke test using the RF choke we sent you in your Wire Break Kit.

For more information take a look at our page on finding a break in the electronic dog fence wire.

Miguel September 4, 2010 at 7:24 pm

We have three wemariners 4 months old and want to have them in the backyard but the fence we have is too low and they can get out if not monitored. Would this system work for them?

ADMIN – Hi Miguel,

I’d recommend the SD 2100. The SD 2000 only has one correction level. We don’t believe that’s enough options for a dog fence. You’d be okay to attach the boundary wire to the fence as well or bury it at the base of the fence.

Josh August 20, 2010 at 11:13 am

I have a pug. He’s about 30 lbs. I was wondering if this system is the right one for him or would a small dog system be better. I really don’t want to spend a huge amount, so which is the best for both of us? Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Josh,

If you’re looking for a great reliable fence that won’t break the bank, I’d recommend the Innotek SD 2100. It’s the older generation to the Innotek IUC 4100 and even though it’s an older model, it’s very reliable and will definitely get the job done. Plus, it’ll work great with your pug.

Brandon June 26, 2010 at 5:40 pm

Hello. I am a student on a very tight budget and I own an escape artist Lab. I am dedicated to training him and I think that this system will work well for me. I plan on purchasing it next week. If it works out I’d be happy to leave a positive review.

What I am concerned about is whether or not the system is upgradable if need be? If the one correction level is ineffective, will I be able to upgrade the system without buying a new one?

Thank you for your help.

ADMIN – Hi Brandon,

Unfortunately the SD-2000 system is not upgradeable. If the set correction level is ineffective you need to replace the whole unit (i.e. you cannot replace just the collar)

Holly C May 26, 2010 at 7:53 pm

I have an existing physical fence which my four large dogs climb over, dig under or tear down. I purchased the Innotek SD-2000 in February to work with the physical fence.

At first the dogs continued their evil ways, but after I replaced the batteries in the collars the escape attempts dwindled. As of May I can let the dogs outside even without their collars and they stay about two feet away from the fence. Not even restaurant scraps will entice the most stubborn of the four dogs to approach the fence to jump it.

I was worried when I bought this model since it was the cheapest and had the lowest rating, but it has worked out in the long run. I don’t know if it would be as good if the physical fence wasn’t there, but the combination of wire and electric contains the dogs where one barrier wouldn’t. Also, I attached the wire to the fence using plastic ties rather than trenching it in.

Finally, buying from Dog Fence DIY was a very easy experience. The prices were competitive and the shipping was super fast. I didn’t go wrong and neither will you.

ADMIN – Hi Holly,

Thanks for your feedback and congrats on the dog fence!

Amanda Gassett May 7, 2010 at 11:35 am

It sounds like she understands the boundary, but is deliberately going through to be with the kids. That can be a tough habit to break once established. I would try increasing the boundary width a bit to see if that helps, before you replace anything. You can also try a bit more training, where the kids come back every few minutes and praise the dog and give him a treat for staying on the right side of the boundary, and you use a long leash to stop her being able to run through – but still letting her get the correction if she tries running through.
But, if that doesn’t help I think you are going to need to upgrade to a system with multiple correction levels, so you can set it a bit stronger (or add a second collar to your existing system). Note that when you do increase the correction level, you are going to want to redo the final step of the training so she gets the new correction while you have her on a long leash and can control her movement to make sure she retreats rather than runs through.

Leave a Comment