Havahart Radial Wireless Fence Review

Pros

  • Most consistent wireless fence
  • Boundary challenge alarm
  • Two rechargeable collar batteries

Cons

  • Blocked by slopes and metal obstructions
  • Only circular boundary perimeter
  • Poor battery life on collar

Rating

Retail Price

$409.95

Our Price

299.95

Availability: In Stock

Havahart ships within 48 hours

FREE SHIPPING

More Product Images

Enlarge Video Review

Havahart Radial 2 Overview

Summary: Best of Breed Wireless Fence

The Havahart Radial 2 is the best wireless dog fence. First released in 2010, the Havahart wireless systems dramatically improved the reliability of wireless systems with more accurate boundaries, faster response times, and bigger coverage areas.

Like all conventional wireless systems, there are limitations. You can only have a circular boundary. The boundaries are more variable than wired systems. And the Havahart can’t be used where there are large metal obstructions or steep downhill slopes. But, if those restrictions don’t apply to you, then the Havahart Wireless 2 is an excellent low-fuss alternative to a wired fence.

Class Leading Performance

The Havahart Wireless technology creates more stable boundaries. The boundary wobble is 60% less than the PetSafe Stay+Play, and 85% less than the Perimeter Wifi.

3 Acre Capacity

The Havahart Wireless also has a class leading 3 acre capacity. This is significantly more than any other conventional wireless fence.

Boundary Instability

Like all wireless systems, the Havahart has boundaries that drift from moment-to-moment. While, Havahart has the least boundary instability, it is still not as good as a wire fence.

Two Dog Capacity

The Havahart system only supports two dogs. For owners with more than two dogs, the PetSafe Wireless systems are the only option.

Havahart Radial 2 collar

Collar

The Havahart Wireless 2 collar is big and bulky like all wireless collars. But, it redeems itself with exceptional performance and a rechargeable battery

Rechargeable Battery

The Havahart Wireless 2 collar battery is fully rechargeable, which is a good thing because it eats through the batteries. In typical use, a charge only lasts around 5-7 days which is much shorter than PetSafe’s wireless fence the Stay + Play.

Havahart battery is remove through a hatch on the side of the collar. Havahart thoughtfully includes two batteries with the basic system so that you can charge one battery while the other is in use. The lithium ion batteries take about 2 hours for a full charge.

The battery hatch has been redesigned since the original Havahart Radial, eliminating issues with the battery lid falling off.

Five Correction Levels

The system has five correction levels that can be set at the base station. The correction levels power range extend high enough for virtually all dogs.

Long and Short Prongs

The Havahart includes both long and short collar prongs. The pre-installed prongs can be unscrewed and substituted to suit both long and short hair dogs.

Cloth Strap with Integrated Antenna

The collar band is a cloth strap with a quick-snap closure. This make it easy to find a good fit, and get the collar on and off your dog.

Havahart integrates the antenna into the collar band to improve the reception of the system. While this improves the system performance, it also means that you cannot remove the collar band, nor substitute the band for one of your own.

Best Wireless Collar

The Havahart collars outperform other wireless systems. In particular, the Havahart boundary is more stable than those on other systems. In our testing, the average movement in the boundary was less than two feet, far better than it’s nearest competitor, and closing the gap to wired fences.

Average Boundary Wobble (feet)
(a smaller number is better)

Having a boundary that wobbles as little as possible is very important, because it makes training easier, and allows the dog to use more of the yard.

Large Collar

Like all wireless systems, the Havahart collars are larger and heavier than wired system. The Havahart collar weighs around 4.5 ounces, and is only suitable for dogs over 20lbs.

A small dog version of the collar is available, but it is exactly the same collar receiver box with just a smaller and lighter collar band. As a result the weight difference is less than an ounce and it is only suitable for dogs over 15lbs.

For smaller dogs, the PetSafe Stay+Play has the smallest wireless dog fence collar, and can be used with dogs as small as 12 lbs. Wired systems offer even smaller collars.

↑ Top

Havahart radial Transmitter

Wireless Transmitter

The Havahart transmitter wirelessly projects a circular boundary up to 200 feet. The transmitter is controlled by three buttons, and has an intuitive LCD based menu.

200 Feet Maximum Radius

In our testing, the Havahart has an effective radius of 200 feet, giving it the largest effective coverage of any conventional wireless system. (The four-base station Havahart Custom, and the GPS based Border Patrol TC1 have larger range, but are in a different price and technology bracket, and neither work nearly as well) This gives a coverage area of 2.8 acres.

Note, the manufacturer’s specification claims a maximum radius of 400 feet. In our testing, we found this was a little too ambitious and leads to very unstable boundaries and poor reliability. We would avoid setting the boundary at more than 200 feet in real-world conditions.

Only Circular Boundary

Like most wireless systems, the Havahart Radial the Havahart can only have a circular boundary, with the center of the circle being the transmitter. (The exception is the $800 Havahart Custom, which allows you a completely custom shaped boundary. But, it has significant drawbacks.) This limits your layout flexibility, particularly in small yards where you want the dog to be able to access all of the yard.

The sweet spot for these wireless systems is large open yards, where you want to give the dogs plenty of room to play, but want to keep them from staying too far from the house.

Boundary Challenge Alarm

When the dog approaches the boundary line, the transmitter sounds an alarm. This alerts you that the dog is challenging the boundary and let you to go outside and investigate. This feature is not available on any wired fence.

Easy Installation – No Wire

Wireless systems like the Havahart have one big advantage over wired systems. Installation is fast and easy. You plug in the base station, set the boundary radius, and then take the collar outside to test the boundary and start laying out the training flags. You can literally go from receiving your package from UPS to completing the installation in under 15 minutes.

Since you don’t need to lay any wire, the systems can also be used in places where laying wire is impractical or impossible. They can also be used to quickly create a temporary boundary, for example a vacation home or when visiting family.

Doesn’t Like Obstacles

Wireless systems all have problems with large obstacles. A good rule of thumb is that if you can get a line of sight (excluding normal house walls), then the system will have good reception. If you can’t get a line of sight, then you won’t get good reception.

Issues are often caused by metal roofs, sheet metal fences (in the containment area), metal siding, etc. If you have large metal object that could block the signal, you will need to use a wired fence instead.

Sharp downhill slopes are also a problem. Where there is a slope steep enough to block line of sight, sloping down away from the location of the transmitter, you are likely to get an inconsistent signal. Uphill slopes, where the slope is upward as you go away from the transmitter are not an issue, because the slope does not block line of sight.

↑ Top

Havahart Radial 2 Accessories

Accessories

In addition to the collar and transmitter, the basic system includes a recharger, 75 flags, and a tester tool.

Recharger with 2 Batteries

The Havahart collar battery can be recharged in an external wall charger. Unlike most systems with an integrated battery, the Havahart battery is removed from the collar. This makes changing a failed battery cheap and easy.

What is particularly noteworthy about the Havahart is that the company provides you with 2 batteries, so you can charge one while the other is in use. The batteries are lithium ion and a full charge takes 2 hours.

Collar Tester Tool

The system includes a collar tester. Held against the collar prongs, the tester lights up when the collar correctin is triggered. The tester tool allows you to test the system an the collar are working, and to locate the exact location of the boundary line.

↑ Top

75 Boundary Flags

The basic system includes 75 boundary flags for marking the boundary line during training. The training flags help you dog understand where the boundary line lies, and are gradually removed once your dog gets comfortable with the new boundaries.

The provided 75 flags are approximately enough for just under ½ an acre containment area. Additional boundary flags are inexpensive ($10 per 50), so we like to be generous in the number of flags we use – particularly for these wireless units where the boundary perimeter is curved.

Boundary Radius (feet) Area (acres) Flags Required
50 0.2 50
75 0.4 75
100 0.7 105
125 1.1 125
150 1.6 160
175 2.2 210
200 2.9 235
Havahart One Year Warranty

One Year / Ten Year Warranty

The Collar and other accessories are covered by a comprehensive one year warranty. The Havahart Radial 2 Transmitter is also covered by a ten year parts warranty, although you still need to pay for labor. We find Havahart service can be a bit slow, but they come through in the end.

↑ Top

Conclusion

The Havahart Wireless 2 is by far the best wireless system, and is the most highly recommended wireless system. It is the most reliable system with a boundary integrity that is starting to approach wired fences. It has a rechargeable lithium ion battery. And has a nearly 3 acre containment area.

It does have limitations, like all conventional wireless systems you can only have a circular boundary, it has trouble dealing with large metal obstacles and steep downhills slopes, and you can have a maximum of two dogs on the system.

But, for these drawbacks, you get a lot of convenience. The Havahart Wireless can be setup in 15 minutes, is easily moved, and requires no laying of boundary wire. If you are going to use a wireless system, this is the one to get.

↑ Top

Havahart Radial 2 Video Review

Video: Havahart Radial 2 Review

↑ Top

Havahart Radial 2 Manual

Havahart Radial Manual

Click for the Havahart Wireless Instruction Manual (PDF). Click here for the Havahart Wireless QuickStart Guide (PDF)

↑ Top

Specifications

Model Havahart Radial 2
Type Wireless
Collar Battery Rechargeabe (Lithium Ion)
Correction Levels 5 Levels
Beep Only Training Mode Yes
Collar Warning beep Yes
Collar Vibration No
Independent Correction Levels Yes
Collar Dimensions 3.3” (L) x 1.3” (W) x 1.3″ (D)
Collar Weight (with band) 4.4 ounces
Collar Weight (without band) N/A – Integrated Band
Collar Neck Size 14″ – 26″
Collar Water Resistance Water resistant
Collar Fit Test No
Maximum Number of Dogs Two
Minimum Dog Size 20 lbs
Minimum Age 6 months
Maximum Containment Area 2.8 acres
Boundary Radius 40 – 200 feet (adjustable)
Control Box Dimensions 12″ (L) x 6.5″ (W) x 1.2″ (D)
Control Box Power Source Wall Outlet (110V)
Control Box Battery Backup No
Indoor Pod Compatibility No
Outdoor Pod Compatibility No
Included Boundary Flags 75
Training Materials Manual and Quickstart Guide
Other Collar tester tool
Package Dimensions 12″ (L) x 10″ (W) x 6″ (D)
Package Weight 4 lbs
Warranty One Year

FREE Expert Advice

When you call us, you will talk to an experienced expert.

Containment Guarantee

Your dog will be completely contained to your satisfaction within 30 days, or we will give you a full refund. That is a better deal than you would get from a $2,000 invisible fence. You have nothing to lose.

FREE Dog Fence Guide

experts guide

The Havahart Wireless come with a FREE copy of our Dog Fence Experts Book on installing a dog fence and training your dog (instantly downloadable in PDF form). The book has 90 pages of great information and tons of illustrations to make installation easy, and training effective. It will save you hours and get you complete containment faster.

You get the book immediately with your purchase. Your order confirmation email will include an instantly downloadable copy of our book. Value $24.95.

30 Day Easy Refunds

easy returns

If you are unhappy with your purchase for any reason you can return your system within 30 days for a full refund of your purchase price. Getting a refund is easy, just email us at returns@dogfencediy.com or call on (888) 936 – 4349.

Our returns are easy and hassle free:

  • It is no problem if you used the system, that was the point! We will still take it back even if there is some wear-and-tear
  • Did you use the system and get it a little scuffed. No problem.
  • The 30 day period starts from the time you receive the package so you have plenty of time to do the installation and training. If you need a little extra time, let us know.
  • The only time we don’t take returns is if it is well after the 30 days, or the unit is seriously damaged.

Free Shipping

Shipping within the continental US is free.

12,000 Happy Customers

We had more than 10,000 happy customers last year, and are hoping to have even more in 2012. We understand how important it is to keep your dog safely contained, and understand the trust you place in us when you make an order. We want to make containment as easy as possible. We value your business, and we want you to refer your friends.

Low Price Guarantee

low price guarantee

We strive to have the lowest prices of any Havahart authorized retailer. If you find any of our products at a lower price from an authorized retailer, please let us know and we will be happy to match the price. For a price match, call us on (888) 936 – 4349 or email pricematch@dogfencediy.com.

Family Owned

Family Owned

We are family owned and operated. We know the only way a small business like ours can prosper is by providing exceptional service at an exceptional price.

We know you can give your business to Wal-mart, Amazon, or anyone on the internet. So we will work harder to get your business. And we work harder after the sale to make sure you have a great experience and tell your friends.

Confused? Have Questions?

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns don’t hesitate to call or email us.

We will treat you like our neighbor. No sales pitch. No spam. No obligation. Just honest to goodness advice from the experts.

Our Most Popular Pages

dog containment reviews ~ sdf 100 ~ innotek sd 3000 ~ dog fence driveway ~ dig dog fence wire ~ ht-023 ~ innotek 2000 ~ innotek sd 2225 ~ best dog fence ~ perimeter dog fence ~ petsafe pig00 10777 ~ pif 300 ~ ef 3000 gold ~ wifi fence ~ prf 304w ~ electric fence small dog ~ electric dog fence training ~ above ground dog fence ~ wireless electronic pet fence ~ innotek iuc 5100 review ~ dog fence installation ~ petsafe electric fence ~ dog fence trencher ~ high tech pet ~ havahart ef 4000 ~ twist wire ~ wireless fence reviews ~ small dog containment system ~ PetSafe Ultrasmart

{ 196 comments… read them below or add one }

Dwight December 17, 2011 at 11:55 pm

I love my Havahart wireless dog fence. I live in a wood area and the wireless signal isn’t affecting the capability at all. The dogs got use to it in a matter of days. I have adjusted the perimeter to get them as much space as possible. The batteries last about 3 days if you take them off your pets at night. The only problem I have found is if you have a power failure you may not know the collars will not reconnect and you need to delete them and add them again but it just takes a few minutes. This system has been great and I recommend it to anyone that wants to keep you dogs contained. We have 7 dogs in our 6 home neighborhood and they just all come visit our dogs now because they also know our dogs boundary. The system has worked out great and living in the woods the trees haven’t caused the wobble effect I was concerned about. It was the perfect solution especially after I helped my friend digs his wired fence that he doesn’t like. Hopefully he will be a Havahart customer soon. The collars are also very durable. Great product!

Bill December 17, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Will the Havahart Radial Wireless work for my 12 pound Havanese Dog and is the perimeter just a radius from the transmitter and can you adjust the perimeter so it is only 150 feet? Thanks Bill

ADMIN – Hi Bill,

The Havahart collar is going to be too big for a Havanese. I would not use it on a dog under 20lbs. Afraid with a dog of that size, you need to use a wired fence with a smaller collar. The PetSafe Little Dog would be a good choice.

The boundary perimeter is indeed a circle with the transmitter being the center. You can adjust the perimeter to less than the maximum, so 150 feet would be fine.

Cindy December 9, 2011 at 10:06 pm

I really want your WiFi, the reviews look great. However, My little dog is 7.5 lbs. I don’t think 4 oz would matter. Your product seems like the best one. I would like to try it. Unless, you don’t think it is a very good idea?

Mostly, I need it to keep her from getting outside the front yard. The back is a block wall, can’t get out. The front is rather small. Like maybe 30′ by 40′. Is this a possibility to use this? Or should I use PetSafe Wireless? Are there any other manufacturers if I cannot use one of these 2? Thank You for any information!

ADMIN – Hi Cindy,

The collars on all the wireless fences (PetSafe, Havahart, and Perimeter) are too big for a dog under 20 lbs. The only collar that would fit well on a dog of 7 lbs is the PetSafe Little Dog wired fence.

Cindy December 6, 2011 at 3:56 pm

Buyer Beware!!!! Ordered a wireless fence with the “promise” that it could be returned with-in 30-days. This product did not work for my 8lb dog. The are charging a 15% fee (53.00) that was supposed to be waived… This is what there web-site states: “In some cases, a small re-stocking fee may be charged”. This was not supposed to be charge to me, as per customer representative!

ADMIN – Hi Cindy,

Sorry to hear about your experience. I presume you did not purchase the system from us. We absolutely never charge a restocking fee.

Rosalee Rupp November 23, 2011 at 9:13 pm

We have a 92# rough collie. We also have 3 acres. We live next door to my parents and they have 3 acres. We basically “dog-share”. Can another transmitter be added to the system added to extend our range? We are looking at getting another dog (med. to large size) and want to be able to contain both the dogs but yet let them be able to run in our very ample yard.

ADMIN – Hi Rosalee,
According to the manufacture, you cannot overlap the Havahart transmitters the way you can with the PetSafe Wireless fence. My recommendation is to go with a wired fence. This will allow to plan your layout exactly like you need it to be. Plus, a wired fence is very low maintenance, so once it’s installed and set up, you do not have to fiddle with it at all.

Cristina Boyd November 22, 2011 at 8:11 pm

What happens if the power goes out??? Will the collar be deactivated or will it continue to correct the pet?

ADMIN – Hi Christina,

Actually, you’re pet will not be contained. The collar will essentially be off. The other downside to the Havahart is that the wall transmitter is digital with no power backup, so when the power goes out you will need to reset your fence for each outage.

Nancy November 14, 2011 at 8:43 pm

first of all, KEN: my husband and I love to hike and camp, and we have found the DT H20 1850 Dog Training System to work perfectly! it is also waterproof, so our dog can jump in streams and ponds to his hearts content while still under our control. they battery life has been great so far- almost a years’ daily use.
secondly, what would you suggest for families with the possibility of three dogs? would this system be able to handle three collars at a time or can two systems be run at the same time? we have a second floor attic, as we were wondering if we placed the transmitters on the floor level up there, could that assist with transmitting power with the 20 foot drop out front ? it would place the collar within eyeshot at this level.

ADMIN – Hi Nancy,

No, the limit for wireless fences is two collars. The manufacture does not recommend two systems, so I’m quite sure if that would even be effective or create interference issues. Placing the transmitter higher does not create a better boundary signal either because boundary signal inconsistencies and weakness are caused by the signal traveling through multiple barriers like the walls of you home. The more barriers the signal must travel through, the weaker the signal will be. Elevating the transmitter does not solve the problem because the signal is transmitted in the shape of a sphere which would place the widest section of the sphere to well above ground level which the signal still passing through the same barriers.

Mary November 13, 2011 at 5:57 pm

I had a totally disappointing experience with the Havaheart Wireless radial dog fence. I could find no location for the controller that did not involve very uneven boundaries. In addition, the batteries at first lasted 3 to 4 days and then ran down after only a few hours. Although the collar was replaced once by the company, the problem was not solved. The battery charger would show the batteries charged fully, but the charge didn’t last. I finally gave up, having wasted $349.00.

Sadi November 5, 2011 at 4:52 pm

On one side of my property I have a ditch about 7 feet deep. On all other sides of the house is not an issue, just the one side. I want to make sure the unit will not allow my pet to go into the ditch and then travel up or down the ditch outside the unit. So with a line of sight from the base unit will it stop the pet from going into the ditch. I know the unit will not project down into the ditch..but I want to make sure the pet stops at the top edge of the ditch? Also what are the flags for?

ADMIN – Hi Sadi,

You can set the boundary radius on the wireless units, and as long as you set the radius so that it was at least ten feet before the ditch then it would stop the dog getting to the ditch and going down.

The flags are a temporary training aid. They are used to mark the boundary and help you teach the dog where the boundary lies. After a few weeks, when the dog has learned the boundary you will take them out.

Denny L November 2, 2011 at 7:10 pm

I live in a home with a basement and there is about a 10′ slope down in the back yard from the ground floor. If I place the transmitter near the floor on the ground floor will this work for both the front and back yards?

ADMIN – Hi Denny,

It’s difficult to say really if that set up will have issues or not. Unfortunately, for wireless fences, the best option is to test it on your property since every property is unique.

gsp_in_vt October 10, 2011 at 2:15 pm

I am considering the havahart radial wireless fence and it looks quite promising. I am curious if this device needs to be mounted inside due to any temperature operating restrictions? In order for it to be most centrally located, and useful for us, it would need to be located in an outbuilding (barn); it would be inside and dry but it would experience winter cold (VT). Is there any detail on the temperature operating range of this device, would this be a problem?

Thanks,
Shawn

Admin- Hi Shawn,

The Havahart transmitter will need to be installed in a dry place that maintains a temperature between between 20°F to 120°F. Make sure the transmitter is also safe from wind. However, if the barn is made of tin or metal, the signal will be completely blocked.

Bea September 22, 2011 at 8:20 pm

Can the Havahart base be installed in the attic of a 3 story house?

ADMIN – Hi Bea,

The third story attic is probably going to be too high for the system to get a good signal at ground level. This is true for both the Havahart and the PetSafe systems.

Ken Quigley September 7, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Recently our two dogs tangled with a porcupine and had to go to the vet. Is there a short range portable wireless system available for outdoor trips like backpacking?

ADMIN – Hi Ken,

Ouch! The PetSafe Wireless would be a good choice for taking camping, because it can run off batteries. It is not a great choice if you are backpacking, because it is rather big and bulky.

Todd September 2, 2011 at 10:38 pm

We live on a 100 x 100 lot. We have a house with aluminum siding but a shingled roof. If we mounted the base unit in the attic would the aluminum siding still interfere with the signal? Can the signal be adjusted to fit the size of such a small lot?

Admin-Hi Todd,

All the wireless systems have quite a bit of trouble with metal buildings and aluminum siding. Technically mounting the transmitter in the attic above the aluminum side should work. However, you may still experience a few issues. You will be able to adjust the fence width on the transmitter down to a lower setting but you will still have a redial shape.

karen August 23, 2011 at 12:57 pm

hi
i have a pug mix about 10 llbs and a doxy mix around 8 lbs. would this system work for them or would the collars b too large. if soo do u have any suggestions???
thanks ,
karen

Admin- Hi Karen,

The best option for your Pug and Doxy will be the PetSafe Little Dog system. The PetSafe Little Dog collar is specially designed for small dogs. Please see our review pages on the Little Dog System

PetSafe Little Dog: http://www.dogfencediy.com/reviews/petsafe-little/

Stu August 7, 2011 at 6:26 pm

I see a lot about interference from steel buildings, what about brick homes?

ADMIN – Hi Stu,

Brick does not cause any particular problems. It is metal that causes most of the interference issues.

Adam August 7, 2011 at 7:43 am

We live in an old style log house on the side of a hill, not steep just hilly, Would either of these affect the signal? Also would the signal be affected if we installed the transmitter on our second or third floor outside walls? Thank you for your help!

ADMIN – Hi Adam,

The hill could affect the signal. A good rule of thumb is that if you could get line of site then you could get a good signal. And if you can’t get a line of site there are likely to be problems. Placing the transmitter on an outside wall can create problems on the opposite side of the house since the signals need to transmit through so many walls, but you can experiment with transmitter placement and see what works best for you.

Jenny August 5, 2011 at 2:30 pm

My house is made of wood. However, I have a trailer on my property with metal sides. It will be included in the circle of containment. How will this affect the system? Will it create a “hole” that my dog will be able to go through??

Admin- Hi Jenny,

It depends on how big the trailer is. There will be a chance that the trailer could cause issues with your transmitter. If you did have issues with the trailer you would see a dead spot in the boundary at that location.

BRIAN August 4, 2011 at 11:52 am

Will an electric live stock fence mess up a dog fence.

ADMIN – Hi Brian,

An electric fence will not affect a dog containment fence, and vice versa. They two will happily coexist.

Lauri August 2, 2011 at 12:32 pm

I have 2 labs – one is old and one is a pup. The old one, after staying on the property for 8 years with no problems started wandering out to the county road a year or 2 ago. (dogheimers?) The pup follows her. They are now constantly out on the road. We have 13 acres with a river. I would like to contain both dogs while we are gone and let them run free when we’re home. We have metal roofs on house & garage and get significant snowfall in the winter. The plow dude will tear up anything in the general vicinity of the driveway. Any advice on the best containment system? What happens if the dog jumps in the water with the collar on? It would be difficult to set a wireless system up to keep them out of the river without keeping them quite aways from the house. Another question – there are about 50 acres around us with a few houses and all is separated from the road by a driveway that runs between 2 beaver ponds. Would running a wired system just across the driveway at the ponds to keep them from crossing it to the county road, leaving them to roam on this side? Any help would be appreciated, I’m at my wits end.

ADMIN – Hi Wanda,

With metal roof’s the wireless systems are going to be out of the question. I would look at one of the wired systems. With areas that are snow plowed, you need to bury the wire an inch or two below ground to protect it from said snow plow dude. To get it across the driveway, most people use an existing expansion joint or cut a slot with a circular saw. You then cover the slot with a caulk to seal the wire in place.

With two Labradors, and 13 acres, the Innotek IUC-4100 or the SportDog SDF-100A are going to be your best options. The former is smaller and rechargeable, the later is bigger and uses a disposable battery but is a little cheaper. Both these collars are waterproof – so the dogs can swim. With the snow, you need to turn up the systems in winter so they can penetrate the accumulated snow, then turn them down as the snow melts in spring.

I am not sure I quite understand the layout your are proposing – if you send a diagram I am happy to look at it. But, generally if you only run the wire along the front of the property, then the dogs will continue to be able to roam along the sides. The wired systems only contain the dogs along the sides where the wire is run.

Valerie August 1, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Need some help. Thinking about the havahart wireless fence. The problem is that I live in a steel frame house. I phoned havahart and they said it shouldn’t be a problem because of the spacing of the beams. After reading the posts on your site I wonder if this is true?

ADMIN – Hi Valerie,

Steel beams don’t tend to be a problem – because there is plenty of space around them for the signal to travel. In our experience it is continuous sheet metal that causes the problem.

Mike July 23, 2011 at 6:16 pm

I think you guys are running a awesome site and the help you give to people. I have one ?, would it be better to mount the unit in the attic?. We live in a single story house with about 1.5 acre and we would like to have the dogs be able to use most of the area. Our home is all wood build ( no metal studs) a small out building and couple of trees but all in all a good line a site all around.
Thanks and keep up the good work

Admin- Hi Mike,

Thanks for the great feedback. You can mount the transmitter in the attic. However, I would recommend mounting the transmitter inside the house on an outside wall. My only concern with mounting the transmitter in the attic is the extreme heat. The heat could short out the electronic transmitter.

Donna July 19, 2011 at 1:51 am

The previous comments have answered most of my questions but one. I live in Iowa and it gets below zero. Can I put the transmitter in an enclosed garage where the temperature does get below zero? or does it need to be placed in the house.

ADMIN – Hi Donna,

The temperature is not important, so an unheated attic or garage would be fine. Protecting the transmitter from moisture is the important thing, so you wouldn’t want it outside or on an unprotected porch.

Christy July 12, 2011 at 4:44 pm

My question concerns the slope of our yard and the effectiveness of the wireless system. Our yard slopes down from the street, to the house and continues to slope to the backyard and down to the boathouse and lake. Would the Havahart wireless system work for our situation? We could actually move the transmitter depending on whether we used the front door or the back door. Would that work? Or would you suggest a wired system? We have a 12 year old redbone coonhound couch potato who likes to make the rounds of the neighborhood. One more thing, we do use the Innotek Zone in the house to limit access. It works great for our dog. Thanks for your help!

Admin- Hi Christy,

The slope in your yard could possible cause issues with any wireless system transmitting down the slope. For your layout an in-ground fence will be much more effective. A great system for your redbone would be the Innotek IUC-4100. Also, the IUC-4100 collar will be compatible with the indoor pod you currently have.

Abby July 8, 2011 at 10:58 am

How young is too young to put dogs on an electric collar system?

ADMIN – Hi Abby,

Six months old is a good age to start a puppy on a dog containment system. Much younger and most dogs aren’t mature enough, and training becomes too drawn out. The one exception would be where a pup can regularly sit/stay/come with confidence – if they can do that before six months, they are ready.

Ron July 4, 2011 at 11:06 am

I have a aluminum sided home, can I mount the unit tin a plastic weather proof box on the rear of my house ? for a rearward projected area

ADMIN – Hi Ron,

The aluminum siding will block the signal on one side of your home – but you should still be able to get a good signal on the garden side. This however will not allow your dogs to come in-and out of the home with their collars on. In these circumstances, a wired fence would be preferable.

Andrew July 3, 2011 at 10:35 pm

1) From what I read in an earlier question & reply, the main reason wires are buried is to keep them from getting cut by the lawn mower. I live in the mountains and my lawn is rocks and boulders so no lawn mowers (just a heavy-duty weed-eater with metal blade). I can really essentially staple the wire to the ground instead of burying it? Does that void the warranty in any way?
2) Can either the Havahart or PetSafe wireless transmitter be mounted outside where it will definitely be out of rain and such, as well as on a ceiling and therefore facing the ground?

I’m definitely torn between wired and wireless – terrain, breed, portability. ARGGGH!

ADMIN – Hi Andrew,

1) Correct. Placing the wire on the ground is fine. It does not affect your warranty in any way.

2) The wireless systems can be mounted outdoors (as long as they are around of the rain), but they must be correctly orientated. It you bolt them to the ceiling so that they are pointing toward the ground they will not work well – you will get very limited boundaries.

We strongly prefer wired systems. If you are able to do wired, we strongly recommend wired over wireless. The accuracy of the boundary makes training easy and more than makes up for added the short term inconvenience of installation.

Brian July 3, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Am looking at the Havahart. Will it work through hardi-plank(Concrete/fiber board)?

ADMIN – Hi Brian,

The wireless systems can go through HardiPlank. It is metal siding that tends to cause the problems.

Melissa Stoltzfus June 19, 2011 at 3:34 am

I am very, very disappointed. I ordered the Havahart wireless fence, knowing it might not work on my lot, but swayed by the money back guarantee. It didn’t work, which isn’t the problem. I returned it immediately, and a month and a half later I still don’t have my refund. First I was told they lost my paperwork. Then I was told the check was sent to the wrong address. Now I am being told that the check will go out tomorrow (yeah, right). I am so disappointed that I bought the inground fence somewhere else. Sorry, but I won’t be taken twice. If I don’t have my check in 3 days I’m opening a complaint with my credit card company.

Jackie June 14, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Are any of the collars waterproof? Our boxer likes to swim in the pond.

ADMIN – Hi Jackie,

The Havahart collars are water resistant, but not waterproof, so should not be used where the dog will be swimming. If you want a wireless system, the PetSafe Wireless and the Perimeter Wifi are waterproof. Most of the wired systems also have waterproof collars.

Tom June 14, 2011 at 2:17 pm

I have aluminum siding. Will this work through the siding? If not, can I build a small enclosure for outside my house and set it up outside?

ADMIN – Hi Tom,

The wireless systems all will not work reliably if placed inside a house will aluminum siding. You can put the transmitter in an enclosure, but the signals will still get blocked in the vicinity of the house which may create gaps in the fence. I would suggest a wired system whenever there is metal siding.

cat June 13, 2011 at 9:33 pm

I have concrete siding. Have you any experience with this siding type? Very flat acreage and no metal buildings in my perimeter. One 80# dog and very few trees to worry about. Need about 100′ radius.

ADMIN – Hi Cat,

Concrete doesn’t seem to cause any problems with the wireless signal.

Ryan June 8, 2011 at 6:50 pm

Hi. I am interested in a wireless system (probably the Havahart) for our 75lb yellow lab who loves to wander. The exterior walls of our home are 8″ thick poured concrete. Will the concrete affect the strength/reliability of the system? Thanks much.

ADMIN – Hi Ryan,

Concrete doesn’t completely block the signal like metal, but the signals will be weaker than if you had thinner walls. This makes the boundary a little wobblier and less precise. 8 inches is not too bad, that is about what you would have with a double brick house. I would expect performance to be acceptable. But, as always it is very difficult to say anything definitive without plugging it in and testing it in your house.

Eric June 8, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Collar works, but be warned, we visited our farm in Canada for a few weeks, it broke there, (shoddy collar construction of plastic breaks easily) they informed me the once the collar leaves the country for any reason for any period, its no longer under warranty! This after I own 3 of the things (so I always have 2 working while I return 1 for service, they DO break all the time, but they also WORK well)

tim June 7, 2011 at 8:34 pm

i live in brick house in south ga. flat land an few trees, will a bloodhounds erge to chase wild scences be to strong to overpower the wireless fence
thanks

ADMIN – Hi Tim,

For Bloodhounds and hunting dogs with a strong prey drive, I’d recommend the PetSafe Stubborn fence due to the higher correction levels available. Also, with the slow response time and variable boundary fluctuation, I would not recommend this breed of dog for the any wireless fence.

cindy May 28, 2011 at 9:56 am

Really interested in this system and so appreciate the info and Q&A. We have 32 pound Brittany. She’s beta to the max. We have had difficulty training her because she cowers at the slightest harsh tone so even teaching her to sit and stay has proven impossible because she runs. So – this system seems to be a good way to protect her from running out onto the highway. Now the question: Part of our yard is already fenced. so, we only want to use the wireless system in a limited area and only occasionally. We do not wish to mount the transmitter on the wall. Would like the option to take the transmitter outside onto the patio and plug it in only when we are out there with the dog, then bring it back in when we come in. Is it portable? Thanks Cindy

ADMIN – Hi Cindy,

The transmitter for the Havahart Radial is portable, (about half the size of a cereal box) so you can easily take it outside and plug it in on your porch. It does not need to be wall mounted, but works best if elevated about 3 feet above the ground level.

Sefton May 17, 2011 at 5:34 pm

I’m not sure you have answered this question yet but I didn’t see it. Does the Havahart boundary become more consistent when the perimeter is set to a smaller diameter? For example, is a 100 foot perimeter more reliable than a 300 foot perimeter?

ADMIN – Hi Sefton,

The boundary does indeed become more consistent for smaller diameters.

Dottie May 15, 2011 at 12:00 am

I have two bichon frise’s. One is 20 pounds and the other is 5 months old and 6 pounds. After reading various blogs, it doesn’t sound like the Havahart would work for the small one. Yes or no.

Also, to save battery use, can I turn this off when I don’t want to use it?

ADMIN – Hi Dottie,

Correct. The Havahart would not work well on any dog under 20lbs. It is just too big and bulky. At only 6lbs, the dog would be dragging it around like a boat anchor.

The Havahart collar automatically turns itself off when the collar is not in motion. The Havahart collar does not have any controls on the collar itself – but if you just set the collar down, it goes into a low power mode until you start using it again.

Donna May 13, 2011 at 4:52 pm

I really like the concept of the wireless dog fencing and was just about ready to purchase the Havahart system when I read through the comments and saw that the collar is only 17″. Is there ANY system that accommodates the larger dogs? Or is wireless fencing ineffective for BIG dogs? Seems to me like if it is a “training” tool, then it should work no matter the size of the dog, so why not offer bigger collars? My 11 month old “puppy” has a 24″ neck right now. Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Donna,

That is one big puppy! I am afraid the collars just aren’t made big enough. We have had people rig up homebrew collar extenders, but there is nothing we have found that is commercially available that does the trick. The SportDog SDF-100a is about the biggest collar and only goes up to 25 inches.

David George May 9, 2011 at 12:13 pm

We live in a log home made of 6″x8″ logs, no metal roof but metal garage doors at one end of our home. We have a 65lb standard poodle that loves to chase any animal coming through our 200′x600′ lot. The house is just about centered on the lot and we have trees in a radius of approximately 100′ which would be the boundary radius as well. Will the garage doors block the signal completely at that end of the house? On the same side of the house as the garage there is a storage shed with a metal single garage door perpendicular to the garage about 8 feet from the garage. So will this make a complete dead zone (shadow zone) for the signal there?

ADMIN – Hi David,

If the garage doors are on the far end of the house from the transmitter and the shed is relatively small you have a shot of still getting good coverage.

Mike S May 8, 2011 at 8:06 pm

Got the metal roof thing, how about a special box built on the exterior that is wind, rain, snow proof. Will the metal roof still interfere?

ADMIN – Hi Mike,

The metal roof is still going to cause problems even if you move the transmitter outside the house to a waterproof box. The transmitter essentially creates a sphere/dome around itself. Anything large and metal that is going to block the transmission path will be a problem.

Peter May 7, 2011 at 8:52 am

I Have a 7 month old red nose pit who just loves to visit the landscapers in the morning and at evening . she will go right through the wireless boundary she scratches her neck for about 45 seconds then she goes over the line and to play . we have a petsafe wireless with the r 67 batteries . and one old style with the two batteries , witch works better but she will still go through with 3 of these collars on , our lab just goes to the boundary and sit there and watches her . will the Havahart work? in this case . it kills me to have to chain her up.

ADMIN – Hi Peter,

The first thing to do is to check that she is actually getting the correction. I suspect she is, because she is scratching her neck. But, if it sometimes happens that the collar is not on tight enough, so that when she scratches she dislodges the collar and stops getting the correction.

Assuming the correction level is also at maximum, then we can add a second collar. You occasionally get this type of low pain sensitivity with a Pitbull. I would be very reluctant to go to a third.

If the issue is that the correction is simply insufficient, then we are going to have the same problem with any type of system, so I don’t hink you are going to get much benefit from switching to a Havahart.

Joann April 30, 2011 at 11:10 am

I have a Doberman with exactly a 17 inch neck. Will the collar fit? Also have a 25 lb mix, can I cut the collar so it does not have the extra length sticking out?

ADMIN – Hi Joann,

The collar will fit a 17 inch neck, we measure a little conservatively. You can indeed cut down the collar strap for smaller dogs.

Frank April 29, 2011 at 10:54 am

I have a great dane and want to know if Havahart sells a larger collar for large dogs.

ADMIN – Hi Frank,

Unfortunately, they only have one style collar and it can only fit dog’s necks up to 17 inches in circumference.

Dusty April 28, 2011 at 9:01 pm

I’m in the market for a wireless system. I just purchased the system that only has 180 ft radius. I know I’m not going to be happy with it. I live in a log house with a metal roof on 5 acres. I understand you say a metal roof weakens the signal, but will it still go farther than 180 ft radius? With the house being 90ft long, that wouldn’t give our dog a lot of room. Being a Weimerainer she loves to run.
Also, how long does the collar “shock” the dog after they go out of the range?
If I mount the system outside ( I can build a weatherproof cover for it) will it work on the other side of the house?

ADMIN – Hi Dusty,

Unfortunately, with a metal roof, there’s a high chance no wireless fence will work on your property. The issue is that the wireless system is transmitted from the transmitter in the shape of a sphere, not a line of sight circle. This means the signal will try to transmit through your roof and thus create bad interference issues.

Robert April 25, 2011 at 2:01 am

Our 110 pound dog will occasionally break through our ground wire system to play with other dogs or children. Retraining and collar refitting does not end this behavior despite the fact that he is quite afraid of the static shocks. Do you find the 30 second shocking period will motivate a dog to return when he escapes? Especially when he has learned that he only needs to get over the 15 foot correction area to escape shocking.

ADMIN – Hi Robert,

The first step would be to see his reaction when he busts through the fence. If there is no reaction, it is usually an issue of the system not working or the collar being fitted incorrectly. If there is a reaction then, we usually need to increase the correction strength and the boundary width.

Wireless fences do have the advantage that the dog finds it harder to break through, but it is rare that we can’t train a dog on a wired system. So, lets try to trouble shoot what you have now before trying a wireless system.

Michael April 16, 2011 at 3:36 pm

Would you suggest mounting the main unit on a first floor or second floor of our home? Would either floor work more effectively than another?

ADMIN – Hi Michael,

There is no maximum height. However, raising the wall transmitter by installing it on the second floor does not equate to a stronger signal. The reason is that the signal created is in the shape of a sphere with the wall transmitter as the center of the sphere. So, elevating the transmitter may actually decrease the maximum width of your fence radius if you elevate it too high.

Roxanne April 13, 2011 at 8:08 pm

We have a metal roof. If we try it and it doesn’t work what is your return policy

Admin- Hi Roxanne,

We offer a 30 day full refund. You would only be responsible for return shipping.

Susan April 10, 2011 at 8:59 am

I know that the customizable Havahart wireless system is available for sale. When will you complete your review? We have two minature schnauzers and a lot that is narrow but long. If I adjust the radial variety for the width it will significantly limit the use of the available space in the front and back of the house. A cement walkway, driveway, and patio make a buried system problematic and the portability of the wireless system is appealing since we like to travel and camp. The new product sounds like the best option for us. However, it is very costly and before I invest in it I need to know how well it works especially with smaller dogs. I can’t find any reviews of this product.

ADMIN – Hi Susan,

We should have our review fo the Havahart Custom Wireless that lets you have non-circular boundaries up in the next couple of days. The system works well, however the collar is large like the Havahart Radial Wireless and would not fit well on dogs under 20lbs.

katie April 8, 2011 at 3:26 pm

We live on 3 acres. Quite a bit of woods surrounding our house. (Beyond our lawn.) Our lab doesn’t seem to care if he gets zapped if he goes out of bounds. Is this a normal thing? If our neighbors are outside, he sometimes wanders over there. Can I set the setting to shock our dog over and over, or will it eventually stop shocking her? I think she knows it will stop after a while, so she doesn’t care. We feel bad when our neighbors have to deal with her.

ADMIN – Hi Katie,

What kind of system do you currently have and what kind of training protocol did you use? Usually if a dog is going through it means that either the dog is not getting the correction because the probes are not touching skin, or that we need to do a little remedial training. You can also turn up the correction level and make the boundary a little wider, but these are less common issues.

All systems will eventually time-out and stop correcting the dog as a matter of safety. A trained dog should turn at the first hint of the tone or correction – so there should be no need for an extended correction. This is particularly true of labs, who tend to be very compliant and receptive to the correction.

A good way to diagnose the issue is to observe the dog’s reaction when they cross the boundary. If the dog doesn’t seem to react, then it is a collar fitting issue. If the dog does react, then it is a training issue.

Jim April 7, 2011 at 12:11 am

Havahart’s website lists the collar as “waterproof”. I have a very irregular shaped lot with a large pond in back. I don’t want to limit the dogs access to the water so I have a few questions:
Is the collar really waterproof? I’d like to set the boundary about 75′ out into the pond. How well does the system track sharp direction changes in property lines (i.e. the inside corner of an “L” shaped lot)? I have an 8/12 pitch roof with easy access to the attic – would that be a good spot to mount the transmitters? House is 100% brick – only aluminum is the outside soffet.

ADMIN – Hi Jim,

The Havahart collars are water resistant. This means they can deal with casual water like rain, but they are not designed for full immersion. They should not be used with dogs that are going to swim with the collar on. I find the transmitters work better when closer to ground level. But, you can experiment with having it higher if it is more convenient to place them in the attic. An aluminum soffit is unlikely to cause problems since it is such a small area.

Hunter April 4, 2011 at 3:02 pm

I hate to keep beating on the same subject, but my question is with I have a metal roof, but it isnt a heavy gauge metal. Do you still think the roof would cause problems with the system? Also, what about the way the system and how does it work with a slope. I have a bayou next to my house and I am wondering if the system will work with the slope?

Admin- Hi Hunter,

In our experience with the Havahart wireless, metal roofs either block out the signal or significantly weaken the signal. You would also experience a weak signal trying to transmit it over a slope. The issue is that the signal is the shape of a sphere with the transmitter as the center. This means that the signal will be trying to travel through your metal roof which poses the problem.

Trey April 3, 2011 at 9:11 pm

Since the Havahart system uses 2.4 GHz wifi, does it interfere with other 2.4 GHz devices, like your cordless phones or home wifi?

ADMIN – Hi Trey,

According to the manufacture and the experience our customer have had, will not receive interference from other wireless signals or vice versa.

Jenny April 2, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Another insane neighbor attacks; next time my dog is in the neighbor’s yard “he’s dead.” Read enough to know I want wireless but the set up of our lot is “L” shaped. Please tell me the Havahart Custom Wireless review is good!! I think I’m going to need it with my poor stir crazy jack russle.

ADMIN – Hi Jenny,

Sorry to hear. We’ll have the custom shape review shortly. In the meantime, we’ll need to direct you to contact Havahart directly.

Bruce April 2, 2011 at 9:27 am

What an excellent site, thank you. I have a 2yr old 40lb American Dingo who is very curious and extremely friendly to others so he is always on the move. I live in a fairly large city and am lucky to have a large double lot yard. I would like for him to be able to go into the front yard when I am out front rather than just being confined to the back yard. My two questions for you are first I have a 6′ high wood stockade fence that runs around the back yard that cuts across the side yard from the house dividing the front and back yards, will this fence interfere with the signal or will the signal go through and/or over; secondly my neighbor has a PetSafe wireless system for their dog, would my having the Havahart system cause a problem with either or both systems performance or are the systems on different frequencies? Thank you again for providing a site with extremely useful information.

ADMIN – Hi Bruce,

Appreciate your kind works. The wireless fences will usually go straight through a regular wood fence. The wood is usually not thick enough to create any real interference.

The PetSafe Wireless and Havahart systems will not interfere with each other. They are on different frequencies.

Jennifer Fenton April 2, 2011 at 8:36 am

I have been looking at the Havahart system(s) so that my dogs could fully enjoy their county home but was very surprised to see the collars only go to 17 inches! I have a 70 lb Lab and a 110 lb Lab/Great Dane mix and that collar wouldn’t fit either of them! The customer service line at Havahart was NOT helpful and offered no suggestions at all. Do you have any? Could I replace the plastic strap with a nylon one that actually fits my dogs?

ADMIN – Hi Jennifer,

Unfortunately no, the collar cannot be modified. The reason is that the antenna for the collar is inside the collar band itself.

Chris April 1, 2011 at 12:32 pm

I too am considering the custom shape fence and look forward to your review before purchasing as it come at a very hefty price. I’m also a little concerned with the 6 – 13 ft trigger zone and my dog being corrected unnecessarily. Are you still planning to have your review out next week? Thanks for a great site!!

ADMIN – Hi Chris,

We are working to release it shortly. I can go ahead and tell you that you can expect the same boundary variance and width with the custom shape as with the radial fence. The main difference between the two fences is it’s ability to create custom boundaries.

Tracie March 30, 2011 at 6:20 pm

We recently moved and are living in a rental home until we find one we want to purchase. Something we didn’t think of when we moved was how metal siding may affect our Petsafe wireless fence. We are not looking to fence in more than 1/2 an acre and we are not able to use a wired unit since it’s a rental … so my question is … would the Havahart Wireless be able to contain the dogs if we had the radius turned down to just include a 1/2 acre?

Admin-Hi Tracie,

Most wireless fences including the Havahart Wireless fence will not work well with houses that have either a metal roof or metal siding. The metal tends to completely block the signal. I would not expect the fence to work if all the siding around the house is metal.

Keith March 28, 2011 at 3:00 pm

First question could I place the unit in my attic or would the temperatures affect its operation. Second I have a steel pole building in the back yard. I understand that the building would block the signal. If the dog was to escape beyond that building would the system correct the action as the dog moves back within line of sight from behind building but outside the perimeter? Therefore keeping the dog outside the perimeter. Or does the system let the dog reenter with no circumstances?

ADMIN – Hi Keith,

(1) Placing the dog fence transmitter in the attic would be fine, even if it unheated. The important thing is that the transmitter is kept dry which should happen in the attic. The temperature requirement is much less important.

(2) The metal building would block the signal and the dog could likely get past without getting the correction consistently. They may however get the correction further out. The would mostly be able to return without getting the correction, but again this will not be consistent. This would be something you want to avoid.

mary March 27, 2011 at 10:11 pm

Several post you indicated that the wood would interfere with the strenght of the fence. our house is in the middle of an orange grove, would we have the same problem with the trees interfering with the signal?

Admin-Hi Mary,

You should expect a tremendous amount of interference with a heavy wooded area around you house.

Jennifer March 27, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Is the custom shape system available yet? Have you tested it?

ADMIN – Hi Jennifer,

The Havahart Custom Wireless is currently available. We have been testing it for the last couple of weeks and are just finishing off our review. It should be online in the next week.

Joe March 27, 2011 at 4:27 pm

I have read that wooded areas is an issue. If I wanted to only go 10-20′ into the wooded area is that still a show stopper?

ADMIN – Hi Joe,

None of the wireless fences are likely to work even a couple of feet into a wooded area. It is best to adjust the boundary so that they stop a few feet before the wooded area.

Leneda Maki March 26, 2011 at 11:39 am

If wooded areas block the signals, why don’t houses and garages? Is it the size (density)of the tree? My house is old and made or large oak beams, some are 10×12 inches. We have large and small trees, most of the large ones however, are now dead because of that nasty emerald ash beetle. But we do still have many very large poplars. These trees are just out back of our garage. I thought I would put the base unit in the upstairs of the garage so it would have clear vision of the slopes and cover as much of the yard as it can. The house is a two story also, next to the garage, We also have a hedge of cedar (bushlike) 25 ft trees sectioning off an entertainment area, but I would like the dogs to have a bigger boundary past those trees. will the signal be blocked by the house and this hedge and our large poplars? If metal is an issue, will then newer houses made of aluminum or steel studs have an issue? If density is the issue what about the density of the bricks around my chimney and the large oak beams? and is it conceivable that the dog will learn that she can walk behind the tree and sneak past the radio boundary? Am I giving my dog too much credit? What is your experience with these issues?

ADMIN – Hi Lenda,

It seems to be related to the density of the trees and also once the signal is out at the tree line, the signal is already significantly weakened. Most houses don’t have walls that are as thick as a tree, and there are plenty of gaps like windows for the signals to get out even if they are blocked in one particular spot by some local obstruction. We do find that that some older log cabins made out of thicker logs have the same blocking effect.

Sheet metal is an issue, so where there is aluminum siding we have problems. But metal beams or studs cause an issue. Similarly, if set up the base station away from the chimeny or some other local obstruction, the signals find other paths around.

I find that you rarely get good results where you have anything above light tree or bush cover. The signal does not get through consistently and many dogs learn that there is no effective boundary in that area. In those situation, a wired fence is a much better choice.

WIllie Solomon March 23, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Can you mount the antennas outside with cable extensions? Also, with the Havahart system, what is the battery life on the collars?

Admin-Hi Willie,

Unfortunately you cannot mount antennas with cable extensions.
The battery life on the Havahart collar will last three days before you have to switch the battery out.

Kay March 21, 2011 at 11:02 am

We are considering the Havahart custom wireless system for our 70 lb doberman. Our home has vinyl siding and a shingle roof; but our barn has a metal roof. Our barn is located perpendicular to our home and is about 60 feet away from our home. We are intending to have the boundary end at the mid-section of one side of the barn and resume at the mid-section of the other side of the barn. Will the metal roof of the barn interfere with the signal? And, if that isn’t going to be a problem, do you know whether the signal continues through the barn? Or, does it end on the one side and then begin again on the other?

ADMIN – Hi Kay,

If the signal is traveling through metal siding or metal roofs, then the possibility of interference is very likely. Also, the more barriers the signal must travel through more difficulty it will have in establishing a boundary on the far side of that area.

Deb March 20, 2011 at 8:34 pm

So once you train the dog, do they have to keep wearing the collar permanently or can you put it on sporadically or ???? My concern is the bulky collar, although I have a 70 pound labrador. If so, how long do they have to wear it before they can go without? She is a quick learner. She walks out the paved driveway to cross the road, so I am thinking wireless might be better?

ADMIN – Hi Deb,

Most dogs will need to wear the collar in order to remain contained. Most dogs understand that when they are not wearing the collar that they can exit the boundary without receiving a correction. For your 70 lb lab, bulkiness will not be much of a concern. We recommend removing the collar each evening when your dog comes in for the night. The manufacture recommends removing after 12 hours of wearing it.

The wireless fences do not operate as well as the wired fences, but the havahart may work well for you. Note that the two issues you’ll deal with concerning wireless is that the boundary will fluctuate in and out 1 to 2 feet from one moment to the next. This makes it difficult for your dog to know where the boundary is. Also, the collar response is much slower than compared to a wired system. It will begin correcting late and will stop correcting late as well.

Tommie Lynn March 18, 2011 at 7:42 pm

I have read all of the comments and appreciate all the responses. I am currently looking at purchasing a wireless fence system. All your reviews mention smaller dogs. I currently have a 125 pound, Great Pyrenees. Does your system work with larger dogs?

Hi Tommie,

The system works great with large breeds. The Havahart has ten correction levels, and we have found the higher levels to be more than adequate for large dogs.

John Holt March 16, 2011 at 5:46 pm

We live on a lake and our dog (Britanny Spaniel) love the water. Can this collar get wet or will it ruin it. Thanks

ADMIN – Hi John,

The Havahart Radial collars are water resistant. The dog should not swim with the collar on, or the collar could get damaged.

SDS March 15, 2011 at 3:34 pm

We have a 5 month old black lab. She goes to work (at our farm) everyday with my husband. There is alot of land, buildings and bins. I have researched alot of wireless dog fences and really like your brand, but I hesitate to order it because I want to make sure this product will still work thru buildings, bins and etc. The acreage your fence covers, is great- I just want to make sure it works if I’m spending the money. Your webpage is VERY informative, but this is my only question. THANK YOU!

Admin- Hi SDS,

I agree with that out of all the wireless dog fences on the market the best one to date is the Havahart Wireless. With that said, we typically never recommend a wireless system. A wireless fence has several disapproving quality’s like inconsistencies in the boundary and slow reaction time. Wireless fences cannot be used if the transmitter is installed in a building that has a metal roof or siding. Also, if the wireless fence signal has to traveling through a metal barn it will experience interference; therefore, you might have a lot of trouble with the system.

I always recommend a wired system. I think the Innotek 4100 would work great. It is a good mix of value and features. The IUC-4100 dog fence system has proven to be extremely reliable and durable. We particularly like the long-lasting rechargeable collar battery. The 4100 is best for dogs over 12lbs, and for containment areas under 25 acres. Please see link for more information: (http://www.dogfencediy.com/reviews/innotek-ultrasmart-iuc-4100/)

Please note that if you do decide to order the Havahart or another system; If for any reason you are not 100% happy with the system we would happily give you refund within the first 30 days of you receiving the product.

Patricia March 15, 2011 at 1:10 pm

Hi we have a lot of land and I was looking at the wireless systems. We have a metal roof but no metal siding would that be ok? Also, we have a pond where the dog likes to go during the summer, are the collars waterproof? Also, my dog is a siberian husky, they love to run and explore..do you think that would work well?
Thanks

Admin-Hi Patricia,

We typically never recommend a wireless system. A wireless fence has several disapproving quality’s like inconsistencies in the boundary and slow reaction time. Wireless fences cannot be used if the transmitter is installed in a building that has a metal roof or siding. Also, if the wireless fence signal has to traveling through a metal barn it will experience interference. For me to better help with recommendation, what is the amount of land you wish to cover? How much does your dog weigh?
(Emailed waiting on reply)

Cliff February 24, 2011 at 11:43 pm

We have aluminum siding on our house, therefore it appears we could not use a wireless system like HavaHart with the base station located in the house. However, we also have a cedar barn about 90 feet in back of the house. I assume we could locate the base station in the barn, correct? How would the system signal be impacted by the house? i.e. if our dog went from the barn and started to go around to the front of the house would the alarm activate on the dog’s collar?

We have a lot of acreage so I’m not sure a wired system would be feasible. Thanks.

ADMIN – Hi Cliff,

You are right that metal siding tends to block the signal. Locating the transmitter inside your home with metal siding would not work. If you put the transmitter inside another building, the signals would be blocked by the metal building. So, if your dog went on the other side of the metal siding house, the Havahart would be ineffective and the dog could escape. The transmitter would indicate that it had lost it’s connection to the collar but the collar would be unlikely to correct the dog.

LAURA PATTERSON February 16, 2011 at 7:17 am

Have you tested the new Havahart Custom Wireless fence yet?

In regards to wired fences … if I have a steep slope down a second section of the yard, will a wired fence still transmit in the area where there is not a line-of-sight?

Thanks

Admin – Hi Laura

No we have not yet had the opportunity to test the new Havahart system. We do plan to do that in the next month when they become available.

The line of sight really doesn’t apply to the wired systems, it is only an issue with wireless systems. In a wired system, the signal will transmit outward from whereever the wire is positioned. Down a slope, up a hill, etc. I hope this helps you.

JRome February 16, 2011 at 12:02 am

Do you have any experience with using a Havahart wireless with a stucco exterior wall? Stucco is concrete spread over chicken wire – does the chicken wire act like aluminum siding and block or refract the wireless signal?

Thanks! – JRo

Admin – Hi JRome

One of the reasons we rarely recommend a wireless system is this. Any metal obstruction could affect the signal.
I would encourage you to consider a wired system. If you haven’t looked at them, I would recommend the Innotek IUC 4100… http://dogfencediy.com/store/innotek/ultrasmart.html
I hope I have been of some help.

Stacey February 13, 2011 at 10:43 pm

We have a 9 pound dog 6 month old dog. We live on a 1/4 acre flat lot in town. We really want to go the wireless route. Will the Havahart collar be too big for a dachound mix?
Are the batteries with the Havahart wireless system rechargable? Thank you. Stacey

Admin – Hi Stacey

The Havahart Wireless system is recommended for dogs 20lbs and larger, so it would not be a good fit for your 9lb Dachound mix. Yes, the battery for the collar is rechargeable.
The best system we have for a smaller dog would be a wired system, the PetSafe Little Dog. Take a look… http://www.dogfencediy.com/reviews/petsafe-little/
I hope I have been of some help.

Kiel February 10, 2011 at 8:33 pm

i greatly appreciate your respose. this site has been so helpful but i do have one more question. i bought the pet safe wired fence system and am planning to install it in the early spring because of snow and frozen ground now plus my lab puppy is currently only 13wks old. i have read alot of reviews on these products were ppl say the wires break easy and are a pain to track and fix. i have alot of constrution going on around my house that will be continuing on from last summer this summer. (new drive way, landscaping, and garage addition) hence the reason i was considering a wireless system. my question is can i bury the wire in conduit around these construction areas to help mark the wire underground and help protect it from breakage with out it disrupting the frequency or weakening it?

Admin – Hi Kiel

Yes you can run the wire through a thin wall PVC. Many people do it this way to have extra protection for the wire.
No, it should not have any adverse affect on the performance of the wire.
I hope this helps you.

Kiel February 9, 2011 at 6:37 pm

I am thinking of buying the havahart system for my lab. However I am curious to find out if you can set the boundries to different lengths. I live in town. my front yard is approx. 75′ in length and my back yard is approx. 175′ in length with my side yards approx. 25′ in length. and i able to set the boundries to those dimensions with this system? when you state that this system is completely customizable what exactly do you mean?

Admin – Hi Kiel

We rarely recommend a wireless system for various reasons and from what I can tell about your needs, a wired system would be a much better fit. The wireless systems are adjustable in that you can adjust the strength of the signal which will adjust the size of the boundary and this will always be a sphere or circle out from the transmitter. The wired systems would be fully customizable to the layout of your property. Take a look at examples of layouts that we have… http://www.dogfencediy.com/installation/plan/#perimeter
I hope I have been of some help to you.

dori February 8, 2011 at 10:46 pm

I am thinking of installing one of these. Would it be ok to put the main unit outside in the wooden shed, or would the hot/cold affect the unit?

Admin – Hi Dori

The Havahart transmitter will need to be installed in a dry place out of the rain and wind. You also need to be near a power source. There would be no problem putting it in an unheated shed.

Wanda February 3, 2011 at 8:58 pm

You mentioned wireless systems do not work well with metal roofs and metal siding. Does that also include homes with aluminum siding?

Admin – Wanda

Yes it’s near impossible for a wireless system to be used with homes with aluminum siding. Any metal in the path of the signal has the potential of simply bouncing the signal back and in different directions causing the zone to be limited or erratic.
I would strongly reccomend a wired system over wireless in an environment with metal siding. The Innotek 4100 is our most popular system and would work much better in this situation.

Tiea January 30, 2011 at 10:48 pm

We travel alot to families homes especially during the holidays and we take our dog with us. We were considering a wireless system so we could take it with us so having our dog with us wouldn’t impose on our relatives (i.e. they love our dog but don’t know where to put him). Would this unit be good in this situation? Also there is a small grove of pines in our yard that would be inside the perimeter but they are 8 to 10 feet apart and the branches have been trimmed high enough for us to walk under. How if at all would these interfere with the system?

ADMIN – Hi Tiea,

The wireless fences do work well with travelling. Once a dog has been trained in your yard, it is easy to teach them a new layout. Just, layout out a few flags to give the dog an idea of the new boundary and they should pick it up with a couple of days.

The Havahart can work with a light sprinkling of trees. A good rule of thumb is that if you can clearly see the dog then the system is likely to work. If the trees are thick enough to obstruct your view, then the system will not work.

John January 24, 2011 at 2:24 pm

I have a question regarding the boundary line? I am thinking of using this system for a 70lb lab. Does the correction continue once the boundary is broken and for how long and far? I have seen dogs take off running, get shocked for 2 or 3 feet and keep going. Does your system fail like the underground fence?

ADMIN – Hi John,

With the wireless systems the correction keeps going out indefinitely beyond the boundary line. It will time-out after about 30 seconds as a safety measure to stop a dog getting over-corrected.

Note,however, a trained dog even on a wired fence where it is possible to run through will never learn that running through is a possibility. With training the dog will learn to turn and retreat when the first hear the warning tone. There is no system, wired or wireless that will work well without the training.

Virgil Niess January 22, 2011 at 3:37 pm

“Jesse November 30, 2010 at 2:40 pm ” we have a Petsafe wireless… you can add extra transmitters to your system to increase your area… we use two

ADMIN – Hi Virgil,

Overlapping transmitters does indeed work with the PetSafe Wireless units. It does not however work with either the Havahart wireless, nor the Perimeter Technologies wireless fences.

Larry Schaffer January 19, 2011 at 12:30 am

We are considering a wireless fence for our two dogs – a 10 year old Jack Russell terrier and a 3 month old Rottweiler puppy. You mentioned above that you would not recommend the collar for dogs under 20 lbs – would this be the case for all of the systems that you use?

We don’t live in an area where we’d be able to bury the wires so we’ll need to go wireless . . . Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Larry,

The wireless fence collars are all bigger and heavier, and for that reason aren’t a good fit with dogs under 20lbs. The wired dog containment systems have smaller collars. With the smallest collar, the PetSafe Little Dog you can go down much further to the 3-4 lb mark without much difficulty.

Fred January 18, 2011 at 10:48 pm

I have a pretty small lot but a wired fence is problematic because of driveways, etc. I don’t need the full range of the havahart; maybe 125 ft. Problem is that all of the outside walls are too close to the perimeter. What happens if you try to install the unit on an inside wall or in the ceiling?

ADMIN – Hi Fred,

You can install the wireless systems like the Havahart wireless along interior walls on in the ceiling. The disadvantage is that the signal may need to penetrate more walls before it gets out and that can lead to a weaker and less consistent signal. The Havahart is quite capable of going through a few walls without problems, so should not pose a problem, but you will want to go and test the boundaries after you have installed the unit to make sure that everything is operating as it should out on the perimeter. Pay particular attention to the perimeter that requires the signal to penetrate the most obstacles as that will likely be the weakest and least consistent boundary.

Brad January 18, 2011 at 8:58 pm

From my research I think I like your system. We live in a double wide manufactured home on 8 plus acres, but only want to include about 180 feet in each direction. House has vinyl siding, skirting, and a singled roof. the enclosed garage is wood with vinyl siding but has a thin metal door. Thought we would plug in there, but can plug into the inside of the house. The land has a slight slope but can see the dogs anywhere in the 180′ radius. However on the east and south side of the house there are woods but not real thick as you can see thru most of the trees. We have 2 collies (Lassie Collies) 70lb male and 55lb female. they are well trained but like to go on unauthorized visits sometime ie herding the neighbors livestock or running deer. Would this system work well here. Would it be better to put the unit in the house or in the garage? I can plug it into the outside of the house but it would be unprotected from the weather. What would you suggest and what is your suggestions? A in ground system is not good because of blacktop driveway and roots in the wooded area.

ADMIN – Hi Brad,

The Havahart works nicely on Vinyl manufactured homes (but not with homes that have aluminum or steel siding). If possible locate the system away from the metal door, it will tend to block the signal and cause a blind spot in the system, the further you can get away from that door the better. The system does however need to be kept out of the weather so you want to keep it either in the house or the garage.

Once you get the boundary out into the woods, the signal will start to get spotty, so if possible make the boundary a little before the woods.

ann January 11, 2011 at 2:57 pm

I live on a sloping lot with a walk out basement—-I understand that if the box is installed in my basement then my front yard might not be covered—–is it also true that if the box is installed on the main floor—-that the sloping (not wooded) back yard won’t be covered?

ADMIN – Hi Ann,

The wireless systems can only handle a gentle slow but nothing too severe. A good rule of thumb is to imagine if your house was made out of glass, if you could see the dog from the location of the base station you would probably get a signal – if you could not get a line of sight because of the slope then the fence will not work.

Mike January 9, 2011 at 10:43 am

Is it possible to reduce the size of the perimeter of this Havahart unit. I want the reliability, etc., but I do not need that size of a boundary. Thank you. WMS

ADMIN – Hi Mike,

You can indeed set the size of the perimeter, it is completely customizable anywhere from a radius of a few feet up to the full 400 feet.

Janice December 7, 2010 at 8:45 pm

I have an Australian Shepherd and a Maltise/Poodle mix. Would the unit work for both size dogs?

ADMIN – Hi Janice,

The Havahart collar will work great with the Aussie. How big is the Poodle cross? The collar on the Havahart is big, I would avoid using it on any dog under 20lbs.

Melissa December 6, 2010 at 6:51 pm

We also have a sloping lot that is wooded at the outskirts of the property. We have a pretty good line of sight for most of the section that is cleared for lawn. If we were to purchase the Havaheart Wireless system, could we return it if the system won’t work on our property?

ADMIN – Hi Melissa,

I would expect the Havahart to work up until the wooded section, once the woods start the system will work very poorly. So if you set the boundary

As always, we offer a full refund on any purchase within 30 days of your receiving the package.

Phil December 5, 2010 at 2:00 pm

I like your site a lot – very informative.
I live in the foothills outside of Denver – our property is heavily wooded and on a sloping face. A wired system will be difficult to bury because of the terrain so I’m considering a wireless system. Given the description of my land, would a wireless system be a viable option?
I have two dog – 50 and 30 lbs. Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Phil,

Appreciate the compliment.

On a wooded lot you have absolutely no chance that it would work. once you are in the wooded section. For gradients my rule of thumb is that if you can get a line of sight down the slope it will work.

You may consider a wired system and just stapling the wire to the ground instead of burying it. In wooded areas, where you aren’t going to mow there is no need to bury wire – it generally will bury itself over the years as the foliage falls and the leaves covers over the wire.

Jesse November 30, 2010 at 2:40 pm

My question is I have 3 dogs. Do you offer any unit that will work with 3 different collars? Or will I need 2 different units? And do you offer one with a radial boundary of more that 400 ft.?

ADMIN – Hi Jesse,

The two longer range wireless fences, the Havahart Radial and Perimeter Wifi can both only support two dogs. You cannot add a second base station to increase that capacity. The PetSafe Wireless can support an unlimited number of dogs, but has a maximum of only 90 feet so does not sound like it will be big enough. The new Havahart Custom shape dog fence is touted to be able to do 1,000 feet in radius – but we have not seen a production unit yet to verify this – also it will only be able to do two dogs..

Afraid if you want to be able to do an area bigger than 90 ft radius and support more than 3 dogs, then a wired system is presently the only option. The wired systems can do up to 100 acres depending on model, and can support an unlimited number of collars.

Richard November 28, 2010 at 4:03 pm

Do any of the WiFi fence systems include a graphical user interface such as a web page or mobile app that can be controlled via computer or smart phone?

ADMIN – Hi Richard,

Afraid all the dog fence systems can only be controlled from the base station. None of them yet have the functionality that would allow control over the internet or from a computer/smartphone. Some kind of alert in the event a dog broke through the fence or challenged the fence would be nice.

Helen Almond November 11, 2010 at 7:07 pm

We live on a farm as well and need to cover about 2 acres for 2 dogs. I read in one of the descriptions that there is often a problem with the wireless technology if you have a metal roof. Can you please address this concern?

ADMIN – Hi Helen,

All the wireless fences, including the Havahart Wireless do not work well with large metal obstructions. If you have a metal roof, or metal siding, it completely blocks the signal and I would not expect the fence to work very well if at all. In those circumstance you are better off with a wired fence.

Melissa November 10, 2010 at 5:46 am

Hi, I have 2 labradors and a house in the middle of 3.5 acres of pasture. Firstly can you ship this to Australia?? Is this product able to be interchanged at different properties if moving the dogs ie to beach house? Is this product compatible with Australian power adaptors? Thanks melissa

ADMIN – Hi Melissa,

For the moment, the Havahart is only available in the United States. You can take the base station with you to different properties. Just remember to train the dogs at least once or twice in the new location before letting them loose. And write down your settings so that when you go back and forth you remember the exact settings for each so that the boundary remains consistent.

Jo Funk November 7, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Havahart can be configure for two dogs, right? Do you sell a special package with 2 collars?
Are you going to test their Custom-Shape product? Are you going to have it available for sale in November?

ADMIN – Hi Jo,

1. You can set the Havahart up for two dogs. The extra collar for the second Dog is $149.95 (afraid we don’t have any special packages)

2. We are going to test the Havahart Custom shaped fence as soon as we can get our paws on a working unit and we will offer it for sale if we think it is good. Last we heard, it is going to come out at the end of the year.

Lori S November 6, 2010 at 2:49 pm

Hi – we are considering your product but would like to know how long does a battery last before it needs to be recharged? Thank you,

ADMIN – Hi Lori,

You only get about 3 days before the battery needs charging. Havahart does include two batteries with the system so can recharge one while the other is in use.

Ann SB November 4, 2010 at 9:06 pm

A couple of questions on this wireless technology -
When you say it gives a radial boundary, I assume the base station is then at the center. Can I mount it indoors so it covers the front and back yards?
Also, does a computer wifi system interfere with it?

We have about 2.5 acres are are trying to fence in about 1.5 of those acres… for the one of our four dogs that climbs the farm-style fence!

ADMIN – Hi Ann,

Yes, the wall transmitter is the center of the radial boundary. The unit is not waterproof. You’ll need to mount it indoors on an outside wall. You’ll need to increase the boundary to cover the front and back, but this may not be an option depending on how large your property is.

No, your computer wifi will not cause any interference or vice versa.

Leave a Comment