Havahart Wireless Radial Select Review

Pros

  • Most consistent wireless fence
  • Boundary challenge alarm
  • Two rechargeable collar batteries

Cons

  • Blocked by slopes and metal obstructions
  • Only circular boundary perimeter
  • Poor battery life on collar

Rating

Retail Price

$409.95

Our Price

299.95

Availability: In Stock

Havahart ships within 48 hours

FREE SHIPPING

More Product Images

Enlarge Video Review

Havahart Radial 2 Overview

Summary: Best of Breed Wireless Fence

The Havahart Wireless Radial Select is the best wireless dog fence. First released in 2010, the Havahart wireless systems dramatically improved the reliability of wireless systems with more accurate boundaries, faster response times, and bigger coverage areas.

Like all conventional wireless systems, there are limitations. You can only have a circular boundary. The boundaries are more variable than wired systems. And the Havahart can’t be used where there are large metal obstructions or steep downhill slopes. But, if those restrictions don’t apply to you, then the Havahart Wireless 2 is an excellent low-fuss alternative to a wired fence.

Class Leading Performance

The Havahart Wireless technology creates more stable boundaries. The boundary wobble is 60% less than the PetSafe Stay+Play, and 85% less than the Perimeter Wifi.

3 Acre Capacity

The Havahart Wireless also has a class leading 3 acre capacity. This is significantly more than any other conventional wireless fence.

Boundary Instability

Like all wireless systems, the Havahart has boundaries that drift from moment-to-moment. While, Havahart has the least boundary instability, it is still not as good as a wire fence.

Two Dog Capacity

The Havahart system only supports two dogs. For owners with more than two dogs, the PetSafe Wireless systems are the only option.

Havahart Radial 2 collar

Collar

The Havahart Wireless 2 collar is big and bulky like all wireless collars. But, it redeems itself with exceptional performance and a rechargeable battery

Rechargeable Battery

The Havahart Wireless 2 collar battery is fully rechargeable, which is a good thing because it eats through the batteries. In typical use, a charge only lasts around 5-7 days which is much shorter than PetSafe’s wireless fence the Stay + Play.

Havahart battery is remove through a hatch on the side of the collar. Havahart thoughtfully includes two batteries with the basic system so that you can charge one battery while the other is in use. The lithium ion batteries take about 2 hours for a full charge.

The battery hatch has been redesigned since the original Havahart Radial, eliminating issues with the battery lid falling off.

Five Correction Levels

The system has five correction levels that can be set at the base station. The correction levels power range extend high enough for virtually all dogs.

Long and Short Prongs

The Havahart includes both long and short collar prongs. The pre-installed prongs can be unscrewed and substituted to suit both long and short hair dogs.

Cloth Strap with Integrated Antenna

The collar band is a cloth strap with a quick-snap closure. This make it easy to find a good fit, and get the collar on and off your dog.

Havahart integrates the antenna into the collar band to improve the reception of the system. While this improves the system performance, it also means that you cannot remove the collar band, nor substitute the band for one of your own.

Best Wireless Collar

The Havahart collars outperform other wireless systems. In particular, the Havahart boundary is more stable than those on other systems. In our testing, the average movement in the boundary was less than two feet, far better than it’s nearest competitor, and closing the gap to wired fences.

Average Boundary Wobble (feet)
(a smaller number is better)

Having a boundary that wobbles as little as possible is very important, because it makes training easier, and allows the dog to use more of the yard.

Large Collar

Like all wireless systems, the Havahart collars are larger and heavier than wired system. The Havahart collar weighs around 4.5 ounces, and is only suitable for dogs over 20lbs.

A small dog version of the collar is available, but it is exactly the same collar receiver box with just a smaller and lighter collar band. As a result the weight difference is less than an ounce and it is only suitable for dogs over 15lbs.

For smaller dogs, the PetSafe Stay+Play has the smallest wireless dog fence collar, and can be used with dogs as small as 12 lbs. Wired systems offer even smaller collars.

↑ Top

Havahart radial Transmitter

Wireless Transmitter

The Havahart transmitter wirelessly projects a circular boundary up to 200 feet. The transmitter is controlled by three buttons, and has an intuitive LCD based menu.

200 Feet Maximum Radius

In our testing, the Havahart has an effective radius of 200 feet, giving it the largest effective coverage of any conventional wireless system. (The four-base station Havahart Custom, and the GPS based Border Patrol TC1 have larger range, but are in a different price and technology bracket, and neither work nearly as well) This gives a coverage area of 2.8 acres.

Note, the manufacturer’s specification claims a maximum radius of 400 feet. In our testing, we found this was a little too ambitious and leads to very unstable boundaries and poor reliability. We would avoid setting the boundary at more than 200 feet in real-world conditions.

Only Circular Boundary

Like most wireless systems, the Havahart Radial the Havahart can only have a circular boundary, with the center of the circle being the transmitter. (The exception is the $800 Havahart Custom, which allows you a completely custom shaped boundary. But, it has significant drawbacks.) This limits your layout flexibility, particularly in small yards where you want the dog to be able to access all of the yard.

The sweet spot for these wireless systems is large open yards, where you want to give the dogs plenty of room to play, but want to keep them from staying too far from the house.

Boundary Challenge Alarm

When the dog approaches the boundary line, the transmitter sounds an alarm. This alerts you that the dog is challenging the boundary and let you to go outside and investigate. This feature is not available on any wired fence.

Easy Installation – No Wire

Wireless systems like the Havahart have one big advantage over wired systems. Installation is fast and easy. You plug in the base station, set the boundary radius, and then take the collar outside to test the boundary and start laying out the training flags. You can literally go from receiving your package from UPS to completing the installation in under 15 minutes.

Since you don’t need to lay any wire, the systems can also be used in places where laying wire is impractical or impossible. They can also be used to quickly create a temporary boundary, for example a vacation home or when visiting family.

Doesn’t Like Obstacles

Wireless systems all have problems with large obstacles. A good rule of thumb is that if you can get a line of sight (excluding normal house walls), then the system will have good reception. If you can’t get a line of sight, then you won’t get good reception.

Issues are often caused by metal roofs, sheet metal fences (in the containment area), metal siding, etc. If you have large metal object that could block the signal, you will need to use a wired fence instead.

Sharp downhill slopes are also a problem. Where there is a slope steep enough to block line of sight, sloping down away from the location of the transmitter, you are likely to get an inconsistent signal. Uphill slopes, where the slope is upward as you go away from the transmitter are not an issue, because the slope does not block line of sight.

↑ Top

Havahart Radial 2 Accessories

Accessories

In addition to the collar and transmitter, the basic system includes a recharger, 75 flags, and a tester tool.

Recharger with 2 Batteries

The Havahart collar battery can be recharged in an external wall charger. Unlike most systems with an integrated battery, the Havahart battery is removed from the collar. This makes changing a failed battery cheap and easy.

What is particularly noteworthy about the Havahart is that the company provides you with 2 batteries, so you can charge one while the other is in use. The batteries are lithium ion and a full charge takes 2 hours.

Collar Tester Tool

The system includes a collar tester. Held against the collar prongs, the tester lights up when the collar correctin is triggered. The tester tool allows you to test the system an the collar are working, and to locate the exact location of the boundary line.

↑ Top

75 Boundary Flags

The basic system includes 75 boundary flags for marking the boundary line during training. The training flags help you dog understand where the boundary line lies, and are gradually removed once your dog gets comfortable with the new boundaries.

The provided 75 flags are approximately enough for just under ½ an acre containment area. Additional boundary flags are inexpensive ($10 per 50), so we like to be generous in the number of flags we use – particularly for these wireless units where the boundary perimeter is curved.

Boundary Radius (feet) Area (acres) Flags Required
50 0.2 50
75 0.4 75
100 0.7 105
125 1.1 125
150 1.6 160
175 2.2 210
200 2.9 235
Havahart One Year Warranty

One Year / Ten Year Warranty

The Collar and other accessories are covered by a comprehensive one year warranty. The Havahart Radial 2 Transmitter is also covered by a ten year parts warranty, although you still need to pay for labor. We find Havahart service can be a bit slow, but they come through in the end.

↑ Top

Conclusion

The Havahart Wireless 2 is by far the best wireless system, and is the most highly recommended wireless system. It is the most reliable system with a boundary integrity that is starting to approach wired fences. It has a rechargeable lithium ion battery. And has a nearly 3 acre containment area.

It does have limitations, like all conventional wireless systems you can only have a circular boundary, it has trouble dealing with large metal obstacles and steep downhills slopes, and you can have a maximum of two dogs on the system.

But, for these drawbacks, you get a lot of convenience. The Havahart Wireless can be setup in 15 minutes, is easily moved, and requires no laying of boundary wire. If you are going to use a wireless system, this is the one to get.

↑ Top

Havahart Radial 2 Video Review

Video: Havahart Radial 2 Review

↑ Top

Havahart Radial 2 Manual

Havahart Radial Manual

Click for the Havahart Wireless Instruction Manual (PDF). Click here for the Havahart Wireless QuickStart Guide (PDF)

↑ Top

Specifications

Model Havahart Radial 2
Type Wireless
Collar Battery Rechargeabe (Lithium Ion)
Correction Levels 5 Levels
Beep Only Training Mode Yes
Collar Warning beep Yes
Collar Vibration No
Independent Correction Levels Yes
Collar Dimensions 3.3” (L) x 1.3” (W) x 1.3″ (D)
Collar Weight (with band) 4.4 ounces
Collar Weight (without band) N/A – Integrated Band
Collar Neck Size 14″ – 26″
Collar Water Resistance Water resistant
Collar Fit Test No
Maximum Number of Dogs Two
Minimum Dog Size 20 lbs
Minimum Age 6 months
Maximum Containment Area 2.8 acres
Boundary Radius 40 – 200 feet (adjustable)
Control Box Dimensions 12″ (L) x 6.5″ (W) x 1.2″ (D)
Control Box Power Source Wall Outlet (110V)
Control Box Battery Backup No
Indoor Pod Compatibility No
Outdoor Pod Compatibility No
Included Boundary Flags 75
Training Materials Manual and Quickstart Guide
Other Collar tester tool
Package Dimensions 12″ (L) x 10″ (W) x 6″ (D)
Package Weight 4 lbs
Warranty One Year

FREE Expert Advice

When you call us, you will talk to an experienced expert.

Containment Guarantee

Your dog will be completely contained to your satisfaction within 30 days, or we will give you a full refund. That is a better deal than you would get from a $2,000 invisible fence. You have nothing to lose.

FREE Dog Fence Guide

experts guide

The Havahart Wireless come with a FREE copy of our Dog Fence Experts Book on installing a dog fence and training your dog (instantly downloadable in PDF form). The book has 90 pages of great information and tons of illustrations to make installation easy, and training effective. It will save you hours and get you complete containment faster.

You get the book immediately with your purchase. Your order confirmation email will include an instantly downloadable copy of our book. Value $24.95.

30 Day Easy Refunds

easy returns

If you are unhappy with your purchase for any reason you can return your system within 30 days for a full refund of your purchase price. Getting a refund is easy, just email us at returns@dogfencediy.com or call on (888) 936 – 4349.

Our returns are easy and hassle free:

  • It is no problem if you used the system, that was the point! We will still take it back even if there is some wear-and-tear
  • Did you use the system and get it a little scuffed. No problem.
  • The 30 day period starts from the time you receive the package so you have plenty of time to do the installation and training. If you need a little extra time, let us know.
  • The only time we don’t take returns is if it is well after the 30 days, or the unit is seriously damaged.

Free Shipping

Shipping within the continental US is free.

12,000 Happy Customers

We had more than 10,000 happy customers last year, and are hoping to have even more in 2012. We understand how important it is to keep your dog safely contained, and understand the trust you place in us when you make an order. We want to make containment as easy as possible. We value your business, and we want you to refer your friends.

Low Price Guarantee

low price guarantee

We strive to have the lowest prices of any Havahart authorized retailer. If you find any of our products at a lower price from an authorized retailer, please let us know and we will be happy to match the price. For a price match, call us on (888) 936 – 4349 or email pricematch@dogfencediy.com.

Family Owned

Family Owned

We are family owned and operated. We know the only way a small business like ours can prosper is by providing exceptional service at an exceptional price.

We know you can give your business to Wal-mart, Amazon, or anyone on the internet. So we will work harder to get your business. And we work harder after the sale to make sure you have a great experience and tell your friends.

Confused? Have Questions?

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns don’t hesitate to call or email us.

We will treat you like our neighbor. No sales pitch. No spam. No obligation. Just honest to goodness advice from the experts.

Our Most Popular Pages

dog containment reviews ~ sdf 100 ~ innotek sd 3000 ~ dog fence driveway ~ dig dog fence wire ~ ht-023 ~ innotek 2000 ~ innotek sd 2225 ~ best dog fence ~ perimeter dog fence ~ petsafe pig00 10777 ~ pif 300 ~ ef 3000 gold ~ wifi fence ~ prf 304w ~ electric fence small dog ~ electric dog fence training ~ above ground dog fence ~ wireless electronic pet fence ~ innotek iuc 5100 review ~ dog fence installation ~ petsafe electric fence ~ dog fence trencher ~ high tech pet ~ havahart ef 4000 ~ twist wire ~ wireless fence reviews ~ small dog containment system ~ PetSafe Ultrasmart

{ 200 comments… read them below or add one }

Ella Helstedt November 11, 2014 at 12:21 am

How does the installation with a driveway work? U obviously can’t dig into the drive way?

ADMIN – Hi Ella. You can place the Boundary Wire in a convenient expansion joint or create a groove using a circular saw and masonry blade. Place the Boundary Wire in the groove and cover with an appropriate waterproofing compound. For best results, brush away dirt or other debris before patching.

MIKE STAHL October 18, 2014 at 12:17 pm

I WAS WONDERING ABOUT A WIRELESS DO IT Y SYSTEM…

My 65 lb Golden Retriver needs confinement either around our home or where we normally keep her to go potty…

The are is about 50 ft by 50 ft with a walk way leading ____ENTRANCE DOOR….which is right in the middle, bisecting the yard.

How do I protect the area with the dog beig able to enter the house, since a cicle outlay would not work …unless we can “BLOCK” THE 3 FT AREA BY DOORWAY.
Thanks!

Mike

ADMIN – Hi Mike. We are currently out of stock on Wireless Dog Fences. However, you could use the PetSafe YardMax (PIG00-11115) to protect the area with the dog being able to enter the house. Simply suspend the wire along the back of the home up into the gutters or the eaves of the roof. This will allow your dogs to travel underneath out of range. The second back yard layout option is to bring the wire around the front of the home, essentially placing the entire home inside the boundary loop. Here are both of the backyard layouts.

Gene Jole October 15, 2014 at 11:12 am

My front yard is 200 ft from a road and the slope is approximately 10%. I would like to use the Havahart wireless system but would like to know if the slope makes its use a problem. Can you help? Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Gene, we do not have a specific grade recommendation with wireless fences. If, at the bottom of the slope you can still see the location of the wall transmitter, from the collar’s height, then it will most likely have no problem.

Dan Hagy September 23, 2014 at 11:03 am

I live on a sloping hill. Will the system function properly?

ADMIN – Hi Dan, generally speaking the answer is no, the Havahart Wireless dog fence will not work on your sloping hill. However, it really depends on your degree of slope and other factors like where the unit will be installed and what other possible barriers exist.

Jacob Hough July 20, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Hello I would like to know what a step grade would look like? What kind of slope is too much for the system? We live on a hill front is flat, back is on a 10 degree slope and up to maybe 19 degree’s is some sections? would that work? Can you define steep slope for me, Thanks Jacob

ADMIN – Hi Jacob, we do not have a set definition for steep slope. Each property is different. The best way to look at it is that if your home is on a subtle hill, it will most likely be okay. However, if your home is on a hill with a significant incline, it may pose problems.

Michael June 29, 2014 at 9:38 pm

this has probably been asked before, however, I am looking to get radial shape 2 but my question is I have a normal house but right by my house I have a two story barn with a metal roof can this work around that?

ADMIN – Hi Michael, the barn’s roof will create a broadcast issue for the Havahart wireless fence and wireless dog fences in general.

Debbie June 7, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Hi, I’m wondering about the total capacity that the Havahart Radial-Shape 2 system can cover. On your website you list the capacity as 2.8 acres but on the Havahart website they list this wireless fence as being able to cover up to 11 acres. Can you please explain the big difference?

ADMIN – Hi Debbie, in our testing we were not able to get the Havahart Radial to establish a consistent, reliable radius greater than 200 feet. A 200 foot radius is around 2.8 acres.

Brad April 28, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Thank you

Brad April 27, 2014 at 1:41 pm

I’m Considering the Havahart due to the custom area and the ranges but concerned with reviews of collar issues and the battery life. Are the collar issues with the band or with the receiver/shock unit? I have mounted shock units onto standard dog collars before so if it’s the collar breaking not a big concern to me. The receiver is a big concern. These are rechargeable batteries but are they a style, size, etc that can be replaced with a different better brand (or even a standard lithium rather than rechargeable)? I’m really wanting a wireless system as we want to provide coverage for about 1 acre. We have tried a wired system but our dog plows thru it and once outside the wire no longer receives correction where a wireless should continue to provide correction until they come back in the zone. I can put up a chain link fence to cover 1/2 acre for $4300. Easy math to go with wireless if I can make it reliable – I’m willing to invest in some of my own upgrades if necessary and still come out saving money. Thank you!

ADMIN – Hi Brad, because the Havahart collar is so proprietary you it really cannot be customized without destroying it. First, the antenna is installed inside the collar band so you will not be able to use any other type of collar band. Second, there are no other battery options either. For a better wireless collar, I would recommend the PetSafe Stay + Play. It can contain up to 3/4 of an acre. The Stay + Play collar is lightweight, rechargeable lithium ion technology, and waterproof. For a better wired fence, I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax with the true run through prevention technology.

Erin April 23, 2014 at 6:24 pm

We have had this system for 4 years and have gone through 4 collars. When the collars work, it is wonderful. We only had this color on our dog if he was outside, we would take it off as soon as he came in, and the collars still fell apart. The buckles would break ( before the collar redesign) and then the unit on the color would stop responding to the base unit in short spurts. Replaced batteries and collars several times and they just do not last. I’m very disappointed in the quality of this product.

Eric McDonald March 8, 2014 at 2:18 pm

I have had a have a “heart” wireless dog containment system for under two years for two dogs. In that time I have had one collar break two times and the other is falling apart. The product is very poorly made and the customer service at Woodstream coorporation (the big coorporation that owns this company) has the worst customer service that I have ever experienced. They will not replace a collar that I have had for less than one year (it was the replacement but they base the warenty on the purchase of the first one that already broke). You get they picture. They do not stand behind their products and now knowing how poorly they are made, I don’t blame them. I would never recommend this product and will not buy their products in the future.

Sincerely, Eric

barry February 10, 2014 at 12:13 pm

I bought the Radial 2 system in December 2013 Saturday found collar not working and called spoke to customer rep. Explained situation. She said that collar was not working right and it is also falling apart, she would send me a return shipping label, I told her I need another collar now and that I wanted to keep this one on the dog as a placebo type till i received the new one, This is not company policy and there is nothing she could do. I told her I would purchase another collar then sent this one back Then she told me she can’t help me with this I would have to go on line to web site to do this. Well today I am going to buy a new system not Havahart piece of junk. I should of looked at reviews that the collars a junk.

Allison February 8, 2014 at 6:17 pm

This system looks like a good option for us. I was wondering if the company was looking at updating the lack of battery life issue?

ADMIN – Hi Allison, the manufacture recently upgraded the batteries. The charge is the same, but they increased the amount of charges a battery can take.

John B November 2, 2013 at 10:28 pm

I replaced my wired fence 4 times over 20 years due to lightning strikes frying the wire. I want to go wireless this time. I have a house about 350 feet from the road in a clearing within my 10 acre wooded lot. The clearing is about 200 feet by 250 feet with the house’s center at about 75 feet by 125 respectively. A circular boundary area will probably be okay but rectangular would be best. I’d like to make sure the dog can go well into the woods to do his business. The clearing is sloped and terraced. The house is on the lower terrace which is about 8 feet below the upper terrace. The ideal center of a circular containment area would be under an outdoor patio roof, not within the house. Which of the have-a-heart circular or custom system would best allow the boundary to be well within the woods (25 to 100 feet), and deal with the terrace and the slope? Do I need to worry about the water “resistance” of the collar in the rain??
John

Amy October 20, 2013 at 7:26 am

We have just acquired a year old Siberian Husky whose main purpose is exercise for me and deer, rabbit, woodchuck and vole patrol for the property. We need an invisible fence, preferably wireless but looking for your recommendation. The property is 30 acres but I would be satisfied at protecting 3-5 acres immediately around the house. I want to give him the largest area possible without going broke! We have a 3% slope, about 4 acres is mowed, the rest is woods with thick brush under story. There are 10 large pine trees scattered in the mowed area, dense rhododendrons along the whole front of the house and winter can occasionally see 2-3 feet of snow. The dog will have a wooden dog house with thick shingles and vinyl siding over tyvek covered sheathing like house. We have a large garage/outbuilding complex with a total of 10 metal garage doors. We need to keep the dog outside all the time, some seasons can be quite rainy (he seems impervious to rain when I walk him, me not so much). Will the havahart work for us?

ADMIN – Hi Amy, the Havahart is not built to last in this scenario and the terrain, trees, and buildings described will prevent the system from operating properly. I would highly recommend going with the SportDog SDF100A. It is completely rugged and will work great for an outside dog. The wall transmitter is very powerful and will have not problem powering thousands of feet of wire. for 3 to 5 acres, you’ll need an additional 1,000 feet of wire with the SportDog and I highly recommend upgrading to 14 gauge for your environment. You want to avoid all wire break risk.

Christin October 13, 2013 at 5:19 am

I have read some good stuff here. Certainly value bookmariing for revisiting.
I wonder how so much attempt you place to make the sort of fantastic informative web site.

CG October 7, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Does this system allow you to have two different correction levels for two different dogs?

ADMIN – Hi CG, yes it does. You can set separate correction levels for each collar through the system menu on the wall unit.

Audre September 8, 2013 at 5:22 pm

I have 2 English Bulldogs who weigh 58 lbs. and 65 lbs. respectively and who have large necks, as that breed does, coming in at 23 inches each. I mention that because I don’t want to go any further regarding a wireless fence if your collars won’t fit them. We will be moving to a condo which has a very large sun room where I will be keeping their ‘stuff’ such as their beds, food and water bowls, toys, treats, etc. I will be installing a doggie door for them to go outside from that room to potty and play. The area of grass in the yard beyond is only approximately 30 feet by 25 feet. I am considering purchasing a wireless system, but only if you think my situation would be conducive to installing one. What do you recommend?

ADMIN – Hi Audre, with the doggy door, I would recommend the PetSafe Stay + Play over the Havahart. The Stay + Play has a more durable, waterproof collar. The Havahart is only water resistant and may not hold up well being worn for days a time. It is better if you remove the Havahart collar every evening or even more frequently.

Jim August 5, 2013 at 9:48 am

Looking at the radial device for a small dog. I have a chimney in the middle of my home (brick and mortar) will that create an issue? Also we have a 1 floor ranch would the device work better if the transmitter was place on the attic floor (translates to 10-12 feet above ground level)?

ADMIN – Hi Jim, yes all objects will play a factor in the wireless fence signal broadcast. One object alone is usually no problem, but multiple barriers in row will significantly weaken and eventually block a signal. The signal is transmitted from the center of the wall unit in every direction, which creates a sphere shape. Raising the unit higher off the ground will not create a clearer signal. It would simply raise the signal out of range of the collar.

Kevin Meyer July 8, 2013 at 11:45 am

I have a Havahart Custom Fence (5144G). EVERYTHING disturbs (attenuates, in their words) the fence location. Trees, shrubs, retaining walls/fireplaces, downspouts…you name it. I have reset the location of the bases 3-4 times and recorded the fence at least 12 times, sometimes in a simple shape, others more complex. No matter what, the border pinches in randomly which causes inappropriate corrections to your dog. I can’t speak to the radial product, but my guess is that it acts similarly. If you don’t have a flat yard with very little landscaping/hardscaping, don’t bother. The worst part is that they don’t offer any partial credit for returns after 30 days. I even offered to send the product back, if they would pay for the shipping, to avoid throwing it in the garbage. The response was to try to sell it (to a shmuck?) on Ebay. I think that’s quite telling.

Ellie May 22, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Hello, my dad just purchased this product for his Australian Shepherd, and while setting it up we had a lot of problems with the barrier. In some places the “fence” would be about 10feet from the house and other spots it would go to about 130 feet (which we had set the barrier to) We tried placing it in a couple of different spots around the house, but none seemed to work too well. My question is, would it be alright to put the base outside in a place where it wont get rained on? I know it said to avoid moisture, but putting inside didn’t seem to work well.

ADMIN – Hi Ellie,

It is fine to put it outdoors in a place that is sheltered from the elements. Wireless systems are temperamental like that. They will work very will in some homes, very poorly in others … often with neither rhyme no reason.

ralph May 3, 2013 at 8:45 pm

We are getting ready to purchase a wireless electric fence for our doberman. I would really love to have as much room as possible for him, so this is the product we’re looking at. my question is, we have trees in the back yard. Is that going to be a problem ?

ADMIN – Hi Ralph,

The occasional tree is not a problem. But, if the property has a lot of trees, particularly when they are close together, they will block the signal, and you will need to either move the boundary line before the trees or use another solution such as a wired system.

chris April 24, 2013 at 8:28 pm

I have a pond in my backyard. Is this collar waterproof?

ADMIN – Hi Chris,

The Havahart Collars are water-resistant. They can deal with rain, but cannot handle full immersion if the dog were swimming in a pond.

Stutz April 22, 2013 at 1:18 pm

I bought the Havahart Wireless Radial Dog Fence System less than one year ago. When the system is working, it does work pretty well with very few problems (changing batteries everyday gets old quick). Within a months time I had to send the collar back because it had stopped working. We did have a real wet spring that year and from what I could see the batteries compartment is not sealed from the rest of the electronics in the unit and water and dirt had seeped in thru the battery cap and got all over the electronics. Havahart replaced the collar in a timely manner and said they were working on the problem. Great, but this year was different. This spring brought the same problem again so I again called Havahart (only owned it 11 months at this point) and I was rudely asked if I let my dog swim in it. Duh, no! Oregon in the spring time…rain, lots of rain. I then asked if they had fixed the problem with the battery compartment. They said they didn’t know of any problems. So I figure instead of creating a sealed battery compartment that would completely fix the problem, they seam to be trying to blame the customer for any problems. They said I had to send the collar back to the company and it would take up to three months to decide if it is their problem or not. I would NOT recommend this product in any kind of wet or dirty environment unless they get their problems fixed with the collar and the service people change their tone.

Dennis March 30, 2013 at 2:51 pm

We are looking at purchasing the Havahart wireless system.

1. Does the transmitter need to be setup in an are a that does not freeze? It would be in an area that is sheltered in a detached garage.
2. If the transmitter is located in a non climate controlled area will it impact system performance?
3. Just outside the garage the Havahart would be setup in is where a 32 foot 5th wheel camper is stored. Will the camper affect Havahart performance?
4. If the system would work in my case. For a Husky will the hair need to be trimmed for the probes to work properly if he leaves the containment area?

ADMIN – Hi Dennis,

1. The transmitter needs to be kept away from moisture (rain, snow, etc), but does not need to be kept in a heated area. It will be fine in a detached garage that drops below freezing.

2. Locating the transmitter in a non-climate controlled area will not affect system performance.

3. The large metal camper van located so close to the transmitter is likely to block the signal in the area around the camper. You are likely to need to either move the camper or chose another location for the transmitter.

4. For a dog like a husky with that thick undercoat, I would thin out the hair a little with some scissors in the region under the neck, particularly when you are starting out. You don’t need to do this step, but it will help you get a much more consistent fit, and make sure the collar prongs are consistently contacting the dogs skin.

Sandee March 2, 2013 at 3:40 pm

We have an ICF home (meaning it is made of concrete and styrofoam on the exterior walls). We do have a sunroom with lots of windows located on the second level where we could but the transmitter. Will this system work for us.

ADMIN – Hi Sandee,

While the Havahart doesn’t do well with thick solid concrete, ICF as long as it is not more than a foot thick generally works fine.

Brad Beers February 25, 2013 at 8:21 pm

How small can the radius of this product go? We have a very tiny backyard, not worth doing a real or wired fence for, but we don’t want the dog leaving our backyard. We’ve got about 15 feet out the back of our house to the neighbor’s yard, about 10 to the left, and 50 to the right of our backdoor. In that kind of small area, a wired fence would work better.

ADMIN – Hi Brad,

The radius can be adjusted as small as you please, but under 40 feet you don’t get much usable area. About 10 feet on the edge of the radius will be off limits to the dog, because the boundary moves around and the dog will want a little safety buffer. With only 15 feet at the back of the house, the dog will have nearly zero usable area.

nikki February 20, 2013 at 5:24 pm

We have a black lab in the city limits who loves to run. Most of the yard is behind the house and there is a garage in the back where the system can be housed in and would make the radial system work OK I believe. Only problem is a metal garden shed that resides by the garage. there is yard beyond the shed. Can that is a problem be alleviated by placing the unit in the basement of the house – approx 20-30 ft away from metal shed? And what happens if he gets on the other side of the shed? It is a rental property so not very interested in wired system unless absolutely mandatory.

ADMIN – Hi Nikki,

A metal shed is probably going to block the signal around the area of the shed. You options are either to put the transmitter in the basement and reduce the boundary radius so it stops before the shed, or to use a wired system. If you don’t the boundary is likely to not work properly around the shed and the dog will be able to simply escape through a gap in the fence behind the shed.

Joe February 16, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Have the PetSafe Stay +Play system. Works great until neighbor got the same system. Now our fences overlap and we are having trouble cutting them back enough to let both dog go where we need. Had a wired fence, but my German Shepherd just ran through it faster to avoid the shock. Does the Havahart system work off a different frequency than the PetSafe, or are you able to change frequencies in the event another neighbor gets the same system again? Thanks, Joe

ADMIN – Hi Joe,

As you mentioned, where there are two PetSafe Stay + Play systems nearby and the containment areas overlap, they effectively combine to create a single larger containment area.

The Havahart Wireless and the PetSafe Stay + Play work using different technologies so do not have interference issues. The Havahart uses something similar to Wifi and pairs to individual collars, so you will not get interference from a neighboring system.

Carly February 12, 2013 at 6:43 pm

I’m looking a purchasing a house that will not allow fences. I am considering a wireless fence. The backyard has train tracks and power wires. Do you see any issue with these 2 things? Other than that it is a relatively flat .2 acre lot.

ADMIN – Hi Carly,

Neither train tracks nor overhead power lines will have any effect on a wireless system.

Bill Centee February 8, 2013 at 12:22 am

I am looking at the Havahart, and would like to contain our black lab to our back yard. The only metal roof we have is on a covered gazebo approximately 30 feet from where I was planning on placing the transmitter. Would that interfere with appropriate dome coverage? Would it make a difference if I put the transmitter on the second floor of the house? Thanks, and great website.

ADMIN – Hi Bill,

A small metal roof on the Gazebo a distance from the transmitter should not affect the system as long as the boundary is either before the Gazebo or some distance beyond the Gazebo. If you do run into problems, raising the transmitter to the second floor can sometimes help but I would start by trying a standard ground floor installation.

Kristina January 31, 2013 at 4:09 pm

We have a 1 yr old yellow lab and a 3 yr old black lab/setter cross. We have about 1/2 acre of a mostly heavily wooded lot, sandwiched between 2 roads that we want to keep the dogs off of. We are on a budget and I like the idea of a wireless system. It isn’t a high traffic area (quite rural) but they are considered “nuisance” dogs by some neighbors and in the interest of neighborhood cohesion, we want to contain them without restricting them in a pen or on a run. Would this system be effective for our needs?

ADMIN – Hi Kristina, the heavy woods may be a significantly limiting factor. The more obstacles the signals need to travel through the weaker the signal will be. Also, a wired fence will offer the best fence for your budget. The Havahart with an extra collar is $450, while the Dogtek with an extra collar and enough wire to cover 1/2 an acre is $375. A wired fence is much more reliable and provides much more customizing.

Suzanne mcalister January 10, 2013 at 3:41 am

I am considering wireless fencing my house has a metal roof but has wooden siding will this work?

ADMIN – Hi Suzanne, unfortunately no it will not work. The wireless fences create a signal in the shape of a dome. Therefore, it will need to transmit through the roof in order to establish a stable boundary.

Allen January 8, 2013 at 4:31 pm

We have a Brick Home with a Metal Roof that is raised up 7′ above the back yard because of the Flood Plain. Our neighbor has a wired fence that runs down the length of our lot and is not buried. Will this effect the reception of a wireless fence, or can I run another wire down the length of the fence without interfering with my neighbors fence.

ADMIN – Hi Allen, the problem will not be the wire. The problem will be your metal roof. The signal is shaped liked concave dome. The wireless transmission will not be able to penetrate through it.

Steven December 13, 2012 at 7:35 pm

We have a small back yard butting up to a wooded area much larger side and front can the radial be adjusted to accommodate?

ADMIN – Hi Steven, the fence has a basic setting to adjust the radius. You can increase it but not control the shape of the circle created. You can only decide which outside facing wall you can install the transmitter on.

Jerry November 18, 2012 at 9:58 am

We are thinking of a Havahart wireless containment system for our 60lb “excitable” Lab. We live on a sloped 3/4-acre lot in a ranch style home with a walkout basement and a drive under garage. Should I locate the receiver in the lower level or main level? The lot is wider than it is deep.
Thanks
Jerry

Admin- Hi Jerry,

If the sloping part of your yard is not more than 10 percent, you signal should be fine projecting down the hill. We find that the boundary signals work better when the transmitters are installed at the higher levels. The main section of your house would be better.

Corey November 15, 2012 at 6:10 pm

I’m considering buying a used system here locally. It appears to be the older / original model. Can you tell me the differences between it and the newer “Radial 2″ model?

Admin- Hi Corey,

The first Havahart Radial shape system was phased out because the collar had several issues with the plastic battery cap following off. The new Havahart Radial shape 2 system has a redesigned battery cap to avoid the cap following off. We recommend purchasing the Havahart Radial shape 2 system if possible to avoid the battery cap issue.

Courtney November 15, 2012 at 3:31 pm

I live on a farm and we are fairly close to the road. All our land is behind us but my biggest fear is the road. We have 3 metal barns close by and lots of metal equipment and vehicles. Would this effect the fence? Plus, how well does it work with uphill slopes. We have a small hill and I do not want to cut my dogs off from it.

Admin- Hi Courtney,

You do have several obstacles that would affect a wireless dog fence system. First, the metal structures will completely block the wireless signal and secondly, the system would not be able to send the signal up the hill. It seems that the best setup for your house will be to run the boundary wire around the whole yard. A great dog fence system to first look at will be the Dogtek Ef-6000.

Lyndsie November 10, 2012 at 10:03 pm

Hi. I know that you said the Havahart system does not work in manufactured homes is that the same for the petsafe stay and play. Also with the Havahart system about how long does the charge last on the battery?

ADMIN – Hi Lyndsie, Yes, unfortunately, this is true with all wireless systems. The Havahart battery charge last about 2 days before needing to be changed out.

Tiea October 26, 2012 at 12:52 pm

Hi I have been on here before and did purchase a wireless fence and had great success with it. Unfortunately while we were in town our dog ran away or was stolen. Considering his previous history (before we bought the fence) of returning or just being at a neighbors house nearby we are fearing the later as a week long search has yielded no results. But my question involves the collar and unit. If we get another dog is it possible to order a replacement collar and delete the old one? Or is there no way to delete the old collar reducing the unit to a one collar unit? (We are considering getting 2 dogs to keep each other company and to hopefully remedy the running away issue.)

ADMIN – Hi Tiea, I am sorry to hear about your previous dog. You should be able to reset the system and simply order a second collar.

Neil October 26, 2012 at 8:17 am

I will be installing a system in a brick home. Will the brick prohibit proper signal strength? Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Neil, it should not be an issue with a normal brick home. However, we have seen block homes create transmission issues.

Brad October 23, 2012 at 4:02 pm

I have two puppies both around 6 months old, one is a Doberman and the other is a boxer. I hate to leave them in a kennel but every dog I have ever had wants to go check out the highway I live on and I have lost dogs to this highway for my entire life. My house is unusual because it sits on an Indian mound and is probably 20 ft. Higher than the majority of my yard. I have lots of trees but even at the maximum range for the havaheart radial it will keep them from reaching the highway, and a wired system is nearly impossible with all of the concrete sidewalks and stairs on the outside of my house. Would this yard be problematic for this system and is there any guarantee if it doesn’t work? It is rather expensive especially when figuring in another collar. Thanks for the help

ADMIN – Hi Brad, the grade of your yard makes it difficult to recommend a wireless fence. I fear there will be a great loss of signal at the bottom of the hill. That being said, you may just want to give it a try in order to get a definitive answer. You can take advantage of our 30 day no hassle return policy that begins the day you receive your fence.

Tina October 22, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Looking at buying the wireless radial 2 system for our 2 labs. We live in an older mobile home on 3 acres of land. Wondering if the mobile home will interfere with reception. Also have large pecan trees in the yard. We had the PetSafe system before and seemed to work well with our other lab but ranges was not enough. Do you think this system would work?

ADMIN – Hi Tina, Yes, manufactured housing blocks the dome shaped signal the wall transmitter is trying to project outside of the home. A wire fence is recommended in your scenario. I’d look at the PetSafe Ultrasmart PIG00-13619 (formerly Innotek 4100).

jennifer October 11, 2012 at 8:26 pm

Hi, i have newly bought a home and i have about 1/4 of a acre and i was thinking to buy a wireless system for my gsd, i also live in Minnesota with snow? What would u say?

ADMIN – Hi Jennifer, For your size lot, the Havahart sounds like a good option. The snow may be a hindrance as the snow accumulates cause the system creates the boundary as a dome shape. The ideal solution is a wired fence, but for wireless, the Havahart Radial is a great choice.

Patrick ryan September 27, 2012 at 12:29 pm

We live on a cleared acre lot surrounded by woods. We have 2 miniature pinschers approx 12 and 8lbs. Large open front yard scattered trees in a mainly open backyard. Would this system work for us? Can the system be made to fit our approx 1 acre lot? 160′ X 262′

ADMIN – Hi Patrick, there’s no reason to think the Havahart Radial series 2 will not work in your scenario. The collars may be a bit bulky, but I think it’s worth trying.

Dee September 24, 2012 at 1:16 pm

We live in a manufactured home community, so think we have metal sides and a roof, although the home has been resided & has a roof over made of shingles We’ve had to install a Microcell to get good cell phone service, but our wi-fi works great with a modem. We just moved to Florida, had a wired Petsafe system in Michigan, but don’t want to install a wired system here due to sprinklers everywhere that are owned and ran by the park. Will the wireless unit work for us? We have two cockers, one is about 35 pounds, other a about 25 pounds, and were trained fairly well with our wire system. Don’t have a large area to cover, just want to keep them on our property and away from all the other dogs. One cocker is a hyper type on Paxil due to anxiety issues.

ADMIN – Hi Dee, We haven’t had much luck with wireless systems in general in manufactured homes. The wired fences will be fine, but the wireless fences create a domed boundary. This requires the unit to transmit in every direction, which it cannot due in a manufactured home. There is just too much interference.

carl September 20, 2012 at 3:57 pm

what is the expected battery life in the collar before recharge is needed.

ADMIN – Hi Carl, the battery life is extremely poor on the Havahart. It will only last about 2 days before needing to be swapped out.

Katelyn September 8, 2012 at 12:45 pm

I live in a small town and with about 30 people in it. my yard isn’t small but isn’t huge. I have a black lab she is 100 pounds and a little jack Russell. My black lab ran through a wire fence we had in the ground and ran away. what would you recommend for her and our jack Russell? we don’t have any metal buildings in our yard, but i want to keep them in our yard so they will have room to run the whole yard. we have a metal flag pole, will that affect the connection. would i have to put the wireless transmitter in the middle of the yard so they can run the whole yard? or where should i put it?

ADMIN – Hi Katelyn, You will need to install the transmitter inside your home on an a wall facing the outside. It creates a dome shaped boundary from the center of the transmitter. You should be able to establish a circular boundary up to 200 feet in radius, which equates to about 2 acres.

Jenna September 7, 2012 at 9:21 pm

I am trying to choose on a fencing, I have a Australian shepherd just now reaching 20lb. I live in Valdez, Alaska which can get five plus feet of snow accumulated in the winter will that effect either the wireless or the in ground systems. Also, how much labor is included in the in ground if you do it yourself. I do also travel which system woks better for moving to different locations I have two places in Valdez and one in Colorado. Thank You

ADMIN – Hi Jenna, 5 feet of snow can be a big issue if you have a small property to fence in. Technically, as the snow accumulates you’ll want to turn the boundary radius signal up so that it transmits through the snow. So, if your fenced in area will not accommodate a wide boundary signal, then you will not be able to contain your dogs when there’s 5 feet of snow. As for a wireless signal, I’m not sure a wireless fence will be able to establish a signal in such snow depth. This is not good news considering that the best type of fence to travel with is a wireless dog fence.

Lindsey July 31, 2012 at 10:57 am

Hello! I have a 35-lb dachshund/beagle and a 12-lb dachshund (he’s a newbie that should gain some weight). Both dogs are very laid-back and stay right with us. However, we want something to ensure that they won’t take off when they see a squirrel charging through the yard. We live on about an acre that has a hill going down in the back. Our house is a ranch, but the backside has a walk-out basement. If I look out the windows upstairs, I can see where the hill levels off in the back, but cannot see down the hill itself. We also travel frequently to our cabin, which is on fairly level ground on the main part, and then has hills going up around that. I have been really excited to buy a wireless system since adding the second dog to our family. However, after reading your answers, I feel that it may not work. The downward hill and the large collar both appear to be issues. Am I correct? Would I be better to go with a wired system?

ADMIN – Hi Lindsey, Yes. Unfortunately, trying the wireless fence on your property is the only sure way to know if that hill is going to be an issue or not. We do offer you the ability to exchange your fence for a wired option or simply return it without penalty within 30 days of receiving your order. The collar size is also something to consider and is only best decided by having your 12 lb dachshund give it a try. We always recommend wired over wireless but do recommend customers try whichever fence they’d like to try.

charlie k July 17, 2012 at 11:16 am

Beach House on 1/3 of an acre. within the dog area of containment there will very often be several cars erratically parked nose to rear and side by side, close to where my two dogs will exit the house. Will wireless be effective?

ADMIN – Hi Charlie, Cars shouldn’t pose a major problem. Flat surface area metals like siding and roofs usually pose major issues.

Adam June 29, 2012 at 12:12 am

I have heard the many benefits of a wired system over the wireless versions but I have an in-ground sprinkler system covering my entire yard. Would that make it impossible for a wired system? I am only covering approximately 1/2 acre but my back yard is at the base of a 30 degree declining hill. There are relatively few trees that are very small and I have no metal walls, roof, etc. What would my best option be? thanks

ADMIN – Hi Adam, We do recommend wired over wireless in the majority of scenarios. However, we like to give our customers the opportunity to try wireless and exchange to a wired fence if they want. A wired fence is buried about 2-3 inches in the ground. Just check the depth of your sprinkler system and I’d advice using a lawn edger to keep the trench shallow. A wireless fence may work well on your property, but it’s difficult to say without giving it a try.

Matt June 28, 2012 at 9:16 am

I’m trying to decide between wireless and wired. We have about 7 acres with 2600′ boundary. 2 acres in the front yard, barn along the edge of the woods, with 5 acres of woods behind the barn. The property line is about a 400′ radius around the barn with a steep drop off along the edge of the woods. If we get a wireless system, it would be housed in the barn. The center would be right next to the woods/hill. How does the signal work? Is the boundary where the signal drops off, or is it set at 250-400′ and just won’t function as a border if there is an obstruction? We really want our Great Pyrenees to have all of the space available to her but I don’t like the idea of wires breaking and would expect it as our woods are very dense. The wireless sounds perfect, but we’re worried she won’t have enough room to patrol and will get bored, if it will even work in our situation. Thanks for your advice.

ADMIN – Hi Matt, It’s difficult to say if a wireless fence will work for your scenario without trying it on your property. In our testing of the Havahart, we could only reach a workable radius of 200 feet from the wall transmitter. The system will not be able to penetrate the dense woods which means there will be an opening into the woods for your Great Pyrenees to ran through. If you have a metal buildings, metal siding, or metal roofs, the system will not be functional. As for wired, we rarely if ever see wire breaks from systems upgraded to 14 gauge. This is what we’d recommend for 7 acres. The 20 and 18 gauges are much smaller which can promote occasional breaks on larger installs.

rob June 21, 2012 at 6:12 pm

If a dog runs through the boundary, does the dog get a correction until it returns to the radio area or do the just gone like in the case now with my wire collar fence. Now that he figured out that if he runs fast, he can out run the correction. I need it to keep up the correctionn

Admin- Hi Rob,

If a dog crosses the boundary wire, he will only receive the signal for the same distance as the inside boundary because the signal projects off of the boundary wire 360 degrees. The wireless system do send the correction for up to 30 seconds after the dog passes the boundary; whereas, the wired in-ground system will only last 15-20 seconds if the dog stops in the signal zone.
However most issue with dogs running through the boundary is not a correction or boundary problem, it’s a training issue. The success of these systems is built on training, as correction alone will not contain any dog.

Kevin May 26, 2012 at 4:59 pm

I want to contain my lab at our cottage but want her to have access to the lake. Is the collar waterproof? Is there a way to have two overlapping transmitters to create an oval containment field?

ADMIN – Hi Kevin, the Havahart collar can not be submerged under water. With the Havahart, you cannot overlap the transmitters like you can with PetSafe Wireless.

lynn May 26, 2012 at 12:47 pm

Who makes a NON circular boundary? I need to keep a lab out of the water directly across from a public park and need a straight line of boundary?? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Lynn, At the moment a radial boundary is your only wireless option. The Havahart Custom is currently off the market and is being re-tooled due to poor performance. No word on it’s return.

Shannon May 21, 2012 at 5:38 pm

I’m sure you have answered this a million time, so I apologize in advance. Do you think the system will work on a stucco home?
Thank you,
Shannon

Admin- HI Shannon,

Unfortunately often times stucco homes are reinforced with wire mesh that will block the wireless signals. Your best option to avoid interference will be an in-ground dog fence. A great system to consider will be the PetSafe IUC4100.

Tom April 30, 2012 at 6:01 pm

Have a few questions. I have a 14 LB Cairn terrier. Will the collar fit her properly? I saw in the reviews it does not fit on a dog’s neck that is less than 20 lbs.? My house is only on a 3/4 acre lot, but we have a walkout basement so my front and back yard are about 15 feet in height difference. Will the system handle that? And both of my neighbors across the street have wired dog fences. Will that interfere with the wireless system? Thanks for the help.

Admin- Hi Tom,

Afraid your Cairn Terrier will be too small. The Havahart collar will be really bulky around her neck. Since you have the small dog and only need 3/4 of an acre to enclose, the PetSafe wireless system will be a better option. Also, the neighboring wired systems would not cause any interference if you install a wireless.

Lindi April 30, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Can the Small Dog Collar be used with the Radial System? I have a 14 lb Bichon Frise and a 35 lb Aussie mix.

Admin- Hi Lindi,

Unfortunately the PetSafe little dog collar will not work with the wireless system. We do not recommend the wireless systems for dogs under 20-pounds because the collar can be really bulky for smaller dogs. The best option for a Bichon Frise will be the PetSafe Little dog in-ground system.

Mark April 26, 2012 at 8:06 am

I have a 6 month shih tzu puppy that wieghs 14 punds. Her parents are both 20 pound dogs. I believe she will grow to be about 20 pounds. Her lease size right now is 12 inches. Will this system work for her?

Next question is I have a small hill in the front yard that slopes down to the road. It drops about 10 feet in elevation over about 60 feet. Will I loose signal if the sensor is in my house on first floor?

Admin- Hi Mark,

In our experience, all the wireless systems on the market will have issues with the sloping terrain.

With your sloping terrain, a wired in ground system will be your best option. Plus, the wired in-ground system is much more durable and reliable. For a 20-pound dog, the PetSafe IUC4100 system will be your best option.

Chip April 25, 2012 at 1:48 am

I have a viszla who loves to run (good) and chase game animals (bad). Does the perimeter of the wireless system represent where correction will start, meaning it will continue anywhere beyond the perimeter? I worry he will run through the correction zone of a wired fence and be discouraged from returning. But if he continues to be corrected outside of the wireless perimeter, I could train him to return to the safe zone. I’m on 5 acres of sloped, oak-studded land with a fair amount of concrete patio that blocks line of sight to some of the downhill portions. Thanks for whatever help you can offer.

ADMIN – Hi Chip, the dog will not be able to reach the wire. There is a radio signal that transmits in a 360 degree radius around the wire. You can increase and decrease this radius at the control box. The correction begins at the edge of the radius. So, your terrain will not affect the fence.

Daneen Hillyer April 23, 2012 at 10:41 am

My husband purchased a Havahart wireless system. We put it up for about an acre. I tested it on my hand. I could touch 4 of the setting with no problem. We put it on our dog on the highest setting and all she did was scratch at it and kept going. We are sending it back for obvious reasons after less than a week of purchasing it, but are still being charged a restocking fee of $54.00. For some reason we are being penalized for a product that does not work for us. I am pretty sure I will not be considering this company’s products again.

lynn jones April 18, 2012 at 10:33 pm

I have a very small 5 lb Maltese. Which is the best wireless system for him?

Admin- Hi Lynn,

We do not recommend the wireless option for dog less than 20 pounds. The collar will be too bulky. Plus the wire is in-ground system in much more reliable and effective. You are really going to be limited with a 5 pound dog for which collar will fit. We recommend the PetSafe Little dog system. The collar is designed for small dogs.

Mike April 17, 2012 at 9:10 pm

I am considering the havaheart wireless radial fence for my 2 labs. I have a sloped backyard and have read your comments on line of sight. My question is can the unit be mounted on the second floor of my house? I do have a line of sight from the second floor but want to confirm that this will work. Thanks for your reply.

Admin- Hi Mike,

Installing the transmitter on the second floor will help improve the overall effectiveness of the system. However depending on the slope amount, you could still have connection issues at the bottom of the slope.
For you two labs, the most reliable and durable system will be the SportDog SDF100a system. The collars are very durable and will hold up to play fighting much better than most other collars. Plus, you will have a consistent signal at the boundary.

Sharon Bryan April 12, 2012 at 9:29 pm

Will this system work well with an all brick home?

Admin-Hi Sharon,

Brick walls will not effect the signal on the Havahart system.

Derrick Robinson April 7, 2012 at 9:17 pm

I have a yorkshire terrier that is give or take 20lbs. In your opinion, would he be able to handle the Havahart Wirelesss collar if he is a pound or two under that?

ADMIN – Hi Derrick,

My best guess is that the collar is going to be too big if he is under 20lbs. It is hit-and-miss around this 20 lb borderline The way to get a definitive answer is to put the collar on the dog without switchingit on, and letting them run around for a couple of days, and see if they get comfortable with it. If they don’t get comfortable, you can send it back within 30 days for a full refund.

Jessie March 28, 2012 at 11:29 am

I have an English Mastiff. I am definitely considering purchasing this system as I think it would work well at our home. I have .75 acre lawn with a brick home and no obstructions. Our side yards are smaller, the bulk of our yard is in the back. I’m imagining I can simply position the base towards the back of the house to extend the circle into the backyard.
My main question is, our Mastiff has the potential to reach 200 lbs. (His father was 224) Can this system handle his size? I worry the correction may not affect him enough to stop him…. Any input?

ADMIN – Hi Jessie,

I think you will be fine on the correction level even with an XXXL mastiff. The top correction level on the Havahart is strong, and generally I worry less about correction levels on wireless systems. The correction levels on these wireless systems don’t need to be as strong, because unlike the wired systems the dog cannot run through the boundary – it extends indefinitely beyond the boundary.

Rachel Rutherford March 25, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Will the wireless system work good for a mastiff and shepherd? they are quite large dogs I’m just worried about it not working on them!

ADMIN – Hi Rachel,

The correction levels on the wireless systems are sufficient for larger dogs. The only issue you are going to face is that the wireless systems don’t work with every property and every home. They work best where there are no metal structures and tree cover is light. The Havahart Radial wireless system is the best wireless system and if you were going to try a wireless system that would be the one that is the most likely to work.

I would generally pick a wired over a wireless. The boundaries are less stable and can move several feet minute to minute. This makes training of the dogs harder plus we have found with larger stronger breed of dogs like your Mastiff and shepherd, that the wireless systems will not be consistent or strong enough. If you can do wired, it is worth the extra effort.

Ron Devieux March 22, 2012 at 1:28 am

Hi. I’m considering getting a system for my two dogs so that they can’t escape the office. Do the collars shock the dogs heavily or just a little bit? Can I adjust how much it shocks them so that it isn’t fatal? I want them to know to stop escaping out the front door but I’d rather them not get killed from being shocked too hard because they are just small chihuahuas.

ADMIN – Hi Ron,

With smaller dogs, you want to use a smaller collar like the PetSafe Little Dog. These collars have 5 toned down correction levels that are going to be more appropriate for smaller dogs. Generally, we start on the lowest correction level, then work our way up only if correction isn’t enough to refocus the dog’s attention.

If you are just trying to stop the dogs busting out the front door, one of the PetSafe Wireless pods would let you block the front door without needing to run any wire. It will work with the PetSafe Little Dog collar.

Mike March 21, 2012 at 2:13 am

We have 2-1/2 acres of property we would like to let our german shepard run, but we also have a few 10’x14′ metal sheds and a 32’x40′ pole barn with metal siding and metal roof in the area, are these going to cause problems with the unit not working correctly or causing blind spots where the dog can walk out of the containment area. We were thinking of mounting the unit in one of the metal sheds as it’s in the middle of the containment area, but now thinking that this idea won’t work.

ADMIN – Hi Mike,

Afraid those metal shed are going to cause problems. You will either need to modify the containment zone, so that it does not includes those metal structures. Or use a inground system that does not have the issues with metal.

Lewis March 20, 2012 at 12:43 pm

I was looking at this system but was questioning if it is portable? I would like something I can throw into my tractor, truck, wheeler etc and use the 12 volt system ( or a battery operated transmitter) so the dog can run while I am out but yet not go to far. Maybe a training collar would be of more use I was just wanting to give us both more freedom and its hard to fix fence and hold a remote…lol. Is this system set up for battery or 12 volt systems?

ADMIN – Hi Lewis,

The Havahart transmitter can operate on a power inverter that will convert the DC current of the battery to AC current for the transmitter plug. The converters are pretty common and range from $40 up.

Bob March 15, 2012 at 3:04 pm

We live on a lake. Are there waterproof collars available so the dogs can swim as well as roam the property?

ADMIN – Hi Bob,

The Havahart collars are water resistant, but won’t stand up to full immersion. Among wireless systems, the PetSafe Wireless collars, and the Perimeter Wifi collars are waterpoof, although we would avoid the later. Among wired systems, most are waterproof.

Darrel March 14, 2012 at 2:57 pm

I read in the manual for the Wireless Dog Fence that it operates in the 2.4 GHz band. What sort of modulation and bandwidth is used, and what power? In my area, the 2.4 GHz is heavily populated with WiFi transmitters, blue tooth, microwave ovens and I don’t know what else. How reliable is the Wireless Dog Fence in the presence of all the other transmitters in the band? Is the fence itself likely to cause interference to some of the other services in the band? Thanks.

Admin- Hi Darrel,

According to the manufacture and the experience our customer have had, will not receive interference from other wireless signals or vice versa.

Stephanie March 11, 2012 at 12:02 pm

We have a 6 month old puppy. He is right at 20 lbs, but his neck only measures about 11 inches around. He probably won’t get a whole lot bigger than he is now. Will this collar work for him? If not, do you have a suggestion on which wireless system we should go with?

ADMIN – Hi Stephanie,

20 lbs is right on the border line, for the larger wireless collars. The PetSafe wireless fence collars are going to be a little smaller, but we would still prefer to see you try the Havahart Radial first because it is so much better.

Bill March 9, 2012 at 2:48 pm

We have owned the Havahart wireless for close to a year.Our shepherd mix has a 181 foot radius which buries into a barn and granary, After I moved the transmitter downstairs it performed better and it is traveling through 7inch oak walls with mesh between the logs.It also works behind a small steel sided garage. I was skeptical but am now a believer. My question is since the power supply is 12v can I operate this direct off a car battery without damaging the unit? I would love to take this camping.

ADMIN – Hi Bill,

We spoke with the manufacture and they did conform that with the Havahart transmitter can operate on a power inverter that will convert the DC current of the battery to AC current for the transmitter plug. The converters are pretty common and range from $40 up.

Buck March 7, 2012 at 2:18 am

I have a 5 acre tract of land. The entire tract is fenced except for the the four hundred feet of frontage. I have a metal roofed barn in the middle of the property. Can I spread the wireless signal out far enough to cover most of the open frontage even with the barn roof . Will the roof distort my signal also in the front of the property? Does the signal area have to be unbroken to work properly in all areas of the radius? I am wanting to purchase the Havahart Radial Wireless Fence in this application.

ADMIN – Hi Buck,

A wireless system is going to create a circular area (with the base station in the center of the circle) that the dogs must stay inside. So, it is not well suited to blocking a long thin strip along the front of the property. To get good coverage, you would need to place the base station in the middle of the frontage, but that would allow the dogs to go beyond front entrance.

A better option would be to use a wired containment system and make a long thin loop along the frontage.

Michelle March 6, 2012 at 5:48 pm

I have a bull terrier/staffordshire pit bull terrier who weighs about 45lbs. We need a wireless system for our 1 acre yard. She is strong and fast, so will your collar with training work in time before she bolts over the perimeter? She is just under a year old. We used to have an underground system for our old dogs that was not successful due to collar defects. I am just a little weary after a bad experience. Please let me know your thoughts. Thanks, Michelle

ADMIN – Hi Michelle,

The wireless systems are getting better, in particular the Havahart Radial is the best of breed, but still they only get 80% containment. (Meaning they don’t work for about 20% of folks) They don’t work perfectly in all situations and it is hard for us to predict if they will work in your home without actually trying it.

The good wired systems are much more predictable, and with training I would be comfortable telling you that you should be close to 100% containment rates.

If you want to try wired, we are happy to take it back within 30 days. It should be very obvious by that time if it is going to work for you or not.

Tracey March 5, 2012 at 11:29 pm

I have a husky who is a year old. He does great till he sees a deer. Will you fence help keep in the yard so he don’t run away?

ADMIN – Hi Tracey,

The fence when accompanied with the training will stop even high prey drive dogs like Huskies. It is rare, when we can’t get a dog contained. It is great if you can identify likely triggers, like deer. We want to incorporate these triggers them into the final step of the training. With the training, I would not expect any problems with the dog chasing deer (or any other critters) through the fence.

Mike March 2, 2012 at 1:20 am

If I make a circle through the corners of our property line, then part of the circle will be in our neighbor’s property. This is not a big problem — this is the neighbor that we “inherited” the dog from, and our thick hedge (too thick for the dog to get through) will keep the part of the circle that goes into the street from being an issue.

While it’s not a problem for the dog to wander into our neighbor’s property, I’m not sure how thrilled she would be about having the flags running through the middle of her yard. :) How would you go about setting up the flags and doing the training in a situation like this?

ADMIN – Hi Mike,

If the neighbor is going to be unhappy with your temporarily posting the flags, then I would place the flags on your side of the boundary even if they don’t mark the true system boundary. When you are doing the training, just train the dog on sections of flag that do represent a true boundary.

The dog will quickly learn the pattern and learn to avoid anywhere with flags even if they have not been specifically trained on that section, so putting the flags on that ‘false boundary’ should teach them learn not to go near that area. If the dog does ever test that ‘false boundary’ they will simply learn that the boundary is a few feet further out than the flags would imply.

Gina February 25, 2012 at 10:30 am

FYI. If anyone is needing to extend ths length of the collar, if can be done with what is called a “conway buckle”. Google it. They can be picked up at any farm supply store. Use it to attach another section of collar of the same width.

Mark February 21, 2012 at 1:12 am

I have a Bouvier, we live on two acres. 3/4 of the an acre is cleared and our house sits in the middle of the cleared portion. The rest is wooded. It is not dense woods. We live in Alaska and the trees are tall and skinny, we can see for the most part through the woods to neighboring lots and houses. Would your system work for me? Or is a wired system better?

ADMIN – Hi Mark,

If you keep the boundary a few feet before the start of the woods, a wireless fence would work. If you wanted the boundary to include part of th ewodded, area, the wired systems would be a better bet. Once you get any significant tree cover the signal tends to get spotty very quickly even if the woods are light.

Daniel February 18, 2012 at 9:20 pm

I live off the power grid(no AC power) on 40 acre’s. My place is solar powered running a DC 12v system but can connect to 6 or 24 if needed. I’m looking for a solar system wireless or invisible fence for 10 acre’s. I have 4 dog’s 60-100lbs. There’s no hill slope and no forest or other obstructions. Do you know of any system for my need’s. My dog’s clear 6′ chain link fence and my neighbors are not happy with them chasing their cattle.

Admin Hi Daniel,

The Havahart transmitter can operate on a power inverter that will convert the DC current of the battery to AC current for the transmitter plug. The converters are pretty common and range from $40 up.

Jackie February 18, 2012 at 6:49 am

I need to restate my questions. After further research, my husband and I decided to go with the wired system because I really want to customize the fence, but don’t want to spend 800 on the Custom Havahart fence. With that being said, it would greatly be appreciated if you would suggest a wired system based on some important facts. We live on 10 acres, but only are fencing in aprox. 4 acres. Our boxer/mastiff mix is a high energetic dog that doesn’t listen well to commands to stay in the yard & then our white boxer follows suite.

1. Our 2 dogs play in the stream quite frequently, so I need collars that can be submersed in water.

2. I hate replacing batteries, so I prefer to have rechargeable ones.

ADMIN – Hi Jackie,

For a tough collar with great waterproofing, the SportDog SDF-100A would be a good bet. The collars hold up well to full immersion and are the most durable dog fence collar. The batteries on the system are not rechargeable, but they do use a regular 9V battery, and you could purchase a rechargeable 9V battery from Radio Shack or Walmart to effectively make the collar rechargeable.

To do 4 acres, your will need 2,000 feet of wire. We offer wire from the standard 20 gauge up to 14 gauge if you need something thicker.

You can indeed run the wire through PVC that is going to run through (or under) the stream.

FYI – even with the SportDog you are going to want to break the dog of the habit of grabbing each other’s collar. Even the toughest collars will eventually give way. We find that spraying the collars with something like bitter apple (in the pet section of any large supermarket or any pet store), will get them to stop grabbing each other by the collar. After a week or two they will be broken of the habit and you can discontinue the spray.
3. Our 2 dogs (full blooded white boxer male 40lbs) & (part boxer, part mastiff female 50lbs) love to play very rough & sometime collars come off or get damaged. I need very durable collars!

4. Based on measurements from our county auditors website, we would need enough wire to cover roughly 4 acres.

5. We have a ton of moles & a few ground hogs that go through our yard regularly. I’m thinking we need a heavier gauge wire.

6. Can we run this wire in pvc pipe under our stream so that the dogs can play in the water?

I think that about covers everything. Thanks again for your thorough responses to all of the comments on here. The questions & answers have really helped me on deciding which fence to use. Thank you in advance for your suggestion on what wired system would best suit my families needs!
Thanks

Stephanie February 17, 2012 at 5:24 pm

I have two Boxers, both over 60#’s. I see the collar size fits up to 17 inches. My dogs’ necks are larger than that, do the collars come with an extender? Thank you, Stephanie

ADMIN – Hi Stephanie,

The new collars can go up to 26 inches, so should fit your boxers comfortably.

Darlene February 17, 2012 at 2:36 pm

I have two dogs; a bluetick boxer and an Anatolian shepherd. I would really like to purchase the wireless fence. Our property is somewhat wooded and has two small sheds. Will the wireless system work in a wooded area?

If I were to install a wired system, how far underground can it go, i.e., in a culvert under the driveway?

ADMIN – Hi Darlene,

The wireless fences will not work if the boundary is beyond the start of the wooded area. The occasional tree is fine, but once you can’t consistently get a line of site to the dog, then the fence is going to be very inconsistent. If the boundary is before the start of the woods, then it will be a non-issue. Also note if the sheds are metal, they are going to block the signal as well.

With a wired system, the you want the wire to be within 1 foot of the surface. Running the wire through a culvert under the driveway will work as long as the top of the culvert is within a foot of the top of the driveway. If there is more than a foot of ground between the top of the culvert and the surface, the signal will struggle to get through.

Angela February 16, 2012 at 7:44 pm

How well does the havaheart collar standup to water? We have a lake that the dogs like to swim in do you think the collar can with stand being in the water?

ADMIN – Hi Angela,

The Havahart collars are water resistant, not waterproof. I would not let the dog swim with the collars. They will hold up fine in the rain, but not total immersion in the water.

Cassie February 15, 2012 at 12:30 am

I have a 90lb German Shepherd and a 8lb Papillion. I live in the Portland, OR area on a extreme slope. I also have a 4 car garage driveway I would like to include. Recommendations?

ADMIN – Hi Cassie,

With that Papillion, a small size collar is a must, and that means we need to use a wired. I would use one of the PetSafe Stubborn systems and use the included collar for the German Shepherd. For the Papillion, we can use the compatible PetSafe Little Dog collar.

Using a wired system, the slope will be a non-issue – it is only wireless systems that react poorly to slopes.

allen February 13, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Love your website, best on the web. I have a beagle (16-18lbs) that stays outside (currently on a runner). I’ve read that the wireless systems are not recommended for dogs under 20lbs, but I’m not worried about the bulkyness of the collar. However I do need a system with a battery that will last a long time since she will be wearing it 24/7. What do you recommend?

ADMIN – Hi Janee,

The PetSafe Wireless has the best battery life, they last around a month. But, note the batteries are disposable not rechargeable.

The other good wireless option is the Havahart Radial. With that system the battery lasts only 2-3 days. But, it includes two rechargeable batteries, so you can charge one while the other is in use.

Nicole February 11, 2012 at 12:46 pm

This system does not work well. I only have an acre with a few trees and slight slant in the yard and the fence cannot read the fence right due to the slant so I have to shorten the distance my dog has. Unless you have very flat land with few trees this system sucks. At times it has shocked my dog when we were outside and my dog was in boundaries for no reason. My dog has been inside and it has beeped. This system sucks

bud February 9, 2012 at 7:23 pm

Can you use a regular battery to get a longer lasting life on the collar?

ADMIN – Hi Bud,

Afraid you cannot use a regular, by which I presume you mean disposable, battery in the Havahart wireless. You can only use the included rechargeable batteries.

Ken Antonovich February 9, 2012 at 11:36 am

My house has a layer of foil faced foam insulation just under the sheetrock. Would this prevent a Havaheart Wireless Radial from working?

Admin- Hi Ken,

Unfortunately often times foil faced homes will block the wireless signals. Your best option to avoid interference will be an in-ground dog fence. A great system to consider will be the PetSafe IUC4100.

Laura February 8, 2012 at 10:59 pm

My husband and I are about to move into our first house (vinyl siding and shingled roof) next month. The backyard is fenced, but the back part (furthest from the house) is not in good condition and I am concerned our dogs could easily jump over. We are considering the Havahart wireless fence to reinforce the existing fence (specifically the far end of our property- lot is .4 acres) until we are able to put in a new fence. My preference is that the system be set up before our dogs ever step into the yard. I know the wired fence would be ideal, but I don’t know if we’ll have time to instal it before we move. Do you think the wireless fence would work for our needs?

ADMIN – Hi Laura,

With an open back yard, and no sheet metal you sound like good candidates for the wireless.

You could also consider wired, and just attach the wire to the existing fence instead of burying it – that would reduce your installation time to a couple of hours.

Jennifer M. February 5, 2012 at 11:41 am

I want to get a wireless system (I live in the Granite State of NH & don’t want to dig in my rocky yard). I have a small pug, about 12 pounds with a 12-inch neck size. Could I somehow shorten the Havaheart collar to fit her?

ADMIN – Hi Jennifer,

Afraid all the wireless collars are going to be too big. They don’t work well with dogs under 20lbs because they are just too big and heavy. If you want to use an electronic fence, I am afraid that you either need to use a wireless fence of put your pug on growth hormone.

Joan Roberts February 2, 2012 at 3:47 pm

I have a 75 lb chocolate lab. My house is a contemporary post and beam and all of the exterior walls have metal studs. The siding is wood and the interior walls are sheetrock, but the studs are metal. Will that effect the functioning of the system?

ADMIN – Hi Joan,

Metal studs don’t tend to be a problem. It is long sheets of metal that seem to cause the problems.

leonie addison January 27, 2012 at 5:36 pm

I live in Australia will it work over here with our 240 volts AC? Are the plugs the same?

ADMIN – Hi Leonie,

The Havahart systems are all US voltage (110V) and also use different plugs to Australia. Additionally, for the moment the Havahart systems are not available outside the United States.

Sandy January 21, 2012 at 4:23 pm

I live in a townhome. I have an end unit. But there is a nice common area behind and on the side of my home. Would this be a good option for me? I would love to let my dogs out when it’s cold and not have to walk them all the time. Or if I’m sick, it’s really hard. Can you help answer my question?

ADMIN – Hi Sandy,

Doing the sideyard of a town house is are really tough. Running the wire is difficult when there is no spacing between homes. The only good way to run the wire is to go up and over the house.

Wireless systems are also a challenge, because most townhouses have small yards and with the large buffer zone you need with a wireless system, they are impractical. Wireless systems really thrive in large open areas.

dennis January 20, 2012 at 7:28 pm

OK my boss is looking to get one of the wireless dog fences he has a 150 pound Rottweiler what would be the best way to go on collar and wireless system has a wide open yard and have read some bad reviews of these setups not working with big dogs. She has been on a dog fence almost her whole life but still she can break through a fence. What is the most convenient dog fence that is wireless he can get for her that will correct her enough to not let her go into the road or chase tires? thanks

ADMIN – Hi Dennis,

If the dog is breaking through their existing fence, it is likely an issue with either the collar not being fitted correctly (the probes need to touch the skin for it to work), the dog not being properly trained, or the correction strength being too low. Switching to a wireless system will not solve any of these problems.

If it is the collar being improperly fitted, then the dog will exhibit no reaction when crossing. To fix this you just need to get the collar on correctly and tight enough, then do a bit of remedial training.

If you do see the dog visibly react when they cross the boundary, then you want to turn up the collar correction level, make the boundary wider (using the dial on the control box), and do some remedial training. If the collar is already at max strength, you can switch to something stronger like a PetSafe Stubborn, or use a second collar.

If you want to switch to wireless, the Havahart Wireless Radial is the best choice.

Moving with lots of challenges! January 20, 2012 at 12:23 pm

I am moving to my Dad’s house after the loss of my Mom…but only until the house sells and we move again out of state. I have a backyard now that my 2 dogs are used to having, and living in a very strict “leash law” city, they are not accustomed to having free roaming capabilities…except that we have spent so much time there in the past 6 months due to my Mom’s passing. I have an almost 10 year old Boston Terrier and an almost 10 month old Golden Retriever, who is also my Service Dog (in training still at this point of course!)

My Golden LOVES being outside…but I can’t allow him to wander. He spends a good portion of the day outside now – and whines at the door when we are at my Dad’s house to just go outside! Not because he has to “go”, but just wants to be out!! Their neighbors don’t “love” dogs (putting it mildly, I don’t THINK they would ever try to hurt them!?!)…and I can’t take the chance of losing them (wandering/stolen). They are my WORLD! But I am also disabled, and having to take them out on a leash everytime they “need to go” is somewhat of an issue (when I hurt, taking them out isa major obstacle!!)…and not allowing them to enjoy the outdoors until we move again and have a true backyard seems cruel!

So I am looking into an invisible fence. There is a driveway that wouldn’t allow for a buried wire – haven’t done all that much research, there might be an option for this – but know that Dad would be MUCH happier with a wireless. ESPECIALLY since we are in the process of selling the house – makes much more sense of course. With the housing market like it is, who knows how long we might be there until we move again. At the same time, we may sell the house next month – so really, a wired system is just not a good option.

However, it’s also a very “tree’d” lot. It used to be solid trees…but they cleared the property to build the house. There is a large front and back lawn…they live on .6 acres. It has trees still dotted throughout, but I can clearly see the dogs wherever they are. Same with the back area, until it gets further back into the woods, and that’s one of the main areas I want to prevent because they could end up in another neighborhood – that would then take me 2 miles to drive around to get back there!! It would be a major obstacle for a person to walk back there…but a dog following another creature (deer, squirrel, armadillo, etc, etc, etc!) would be much too easy, so if they ended up back there I would then have to drive around to go get them – and in that amount of time, WAY too much can happen!!

One other issue that is one that I am just going to have to accept and deal with is that their little Cheweenie is a wanderer…and is allowed to do so until he comes back! I can’t live like that…not knowing where my dogs are at all times! But he does get to, and it will take some time to train my dogs that they can’t go wherever he goes! And training him to stay within boundaries is not an option – due to his age and size, and the fact that my Aunt, Uncle and Grandma live next door, and he often goes to visit them.

I have some challenges as you can see, but trying to come up with the best option to deal with all of them. Can you tell me if you think this would be a good choice for me?

ADMIN – Hi Moving,

The challenge you will have with the Boston is that the wireless collars may be too big and heavy. They are bulky, and don’t fit well on dogs under 20 pounds.

As far as the system working in your area, these wireless systems are not very predictable. If you are getting a line of site to the dogs, and the trees aren’t blocking that, you have a fair shot of it working. With these wireless systems, the best way to tell if it will work is to give one a try … plug it in and go out with the collar and tester and see if you are getting nice consistent signals all around the yard. If it doesn’t work, you can send it back (within 30 days) and get a refund or a wired system.

don lawrence January 16, 2012 at 12:29 pm

I rent, thus cannot install in ground unit. I have a Westie weight 18lbs, so what system should I buy? Thanks,

ADMIN – Hi Don,

For a wireless system for a 18 lb Westie, the Havahart Radial would be your best bet. Although the collar is going to be on the big side for your dog, this is going to be true of all the wireless systems.

Chad January 14, 2012 at 2:15 pm

I am considering a wireless system at our house. We have about an acre yard and I have determined if I put a Havahart on a back wall and set it to about 100 feet it would keep our two Labs contained and mainly out of the road in front. However as I read your site I see the situation about metal roofs. We have a metal roof. But if the entire containment area if below the height of the metal roof at it’s lowest point will we still run into an issue? Also on the woods deal. Does the signal just get weak and not work, or will the signal just not extend the full 100 feet into the woods? I guess what I mean is will their be “holes” in the system because parts of the 100 foot radius extend into the woods area? Or will it just not totally reach 100 feet into the woods, which would be fine? I really don’t want to deal with the hassle of a wired system, especially the burying the wire underneath a concrete drive. Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi John,

If there is a metal roof, the system will not work well, even if the area you want enclosed is lower than the roof height.

When the boundary is extended into the woods the signal becomes inconsistent. This means sometimes the dog can escape through the wooded section, and sometimes the dog will get the correction prematurely when they start wandering into the woods. In either case it is a situation you want to avoid.

Leave a Comment