Dogtra EF-3000 Gold System

Pros

  • Independent correction levels
  • Rechargeable collar
  • 18 gauge wire included with system

Cons

  • Older, clunkier system
  • No collar check
  • Lacks progressive correction

Rating

Retail Price

$299.95

Our Price

$249.95

Availability: In Stock

Orders before 1pm ship same day

More Product Images

Enlarge Video Review

Dogtra has an older but fully featured system that is a great choice for people that have dogs of different sizes where having independent correction levels is a necessity.

The Dogtra EF-3000 Gold is an updated version of the older dogtra basic in ground fence model. Updated in 2007, the EF-3000 Gold model upgraded the rechargeable battery from NiMH to a superior lithium polymer battery that has a longer life and faster recharging cycle.

The best feature of the system is that the rechargeable collar allows you to set the correction level for each collar separately. This means that you can set the correction level for say a small dog on the low level, and the correction level for a larger dog on the medium level. The Dogtra collars have five correction levels including a vibration setting.

Stemming from it’s roots as a fairly old system, the control box and the collar are both pretty clunky. It also doesn’t have the neat collar fit feature or the progressive correction that we like on the Innotek 4100. But, if you have two or more dogs of very different sizes, this is the one we would recommend.

Summary: An older system, but the one to get if you have two or more dogs of different sizes.

If you found this site useful, please consider purchasing your system through our online store. Our price on the Dogtra is the lowest price available and includes free shipping.

Collar

The Dogtra collar is bigger and chunkier than you would expect from a collar at this pricepoint.

Dogtra EF-3000 Gold Collar

It won’t be a big deal on a big dog, but is not a great choice on dogs under 20 lbs. It is a well built, solid, waterproof collar as you would expect from Dogtra, a company that focuses on making training collars for hunting dogs.


Independent Correction Levels

The strength of this system is that you can adjust the correction level right on the collar. Each collar can be set at a different level so you can contain a big dog and a small dog on the same system. The correction level is controlled using a dial on the collar and has five correction levels. Each correction level is progressive, so increases the longer the dog stays in the correction field. The collar vibrates as well as beeps to alert the dog that they are entering an out of bounds area.


Dogtra Collar and Charger

Rechargeable

The collars contain a rechargeable lithium ion battery. It lasts about 3 weeks between charges. You recharge the collar by plugging an adaptor into a port on the collar. The collar includes a long life lithium polymer battery.

Long, Short, & No Shock Prongs
The system includes interchangeable long probes for long hairs dogs, short probes for short hair dogs, and training probes that deliver no correction. To change the probes you just unscrew the old set and screw in the new set.

Control Box

The control unit on the Dogtra is capable of doing 40 acres, 15 more than it’s main competitor the Innotek IUC-4100. On the control box you will see the following controls:

  • Selector Switch The selector toggle switch on the Dogtra lets you switch the unit off, and switch the warning beep and vibration off. We can think of no reason why you would ever want to turn the warnings off, so you will want to keep it in the up position.
  • Field Width The field width adjustment know lets you increase the width of the correction field on either side of the wire.
  • Wire Connectors Two wire connection terminals on the bottom of the unit are used to connect the boundary loop to the system. A third terminal is for directly grounding the unit to a nearby grounding stake to protect the unit if lightning strike the boundary wire. If none is present nearby, you can the optional lightning protection module.
  • The Dogtra EF-3000 control box is wall mountable, using two screws that attach to the top and bottom of the unit.

    Dogtra EF-3000 Gold Transmitter Box

Boundary Kit

The system comes standard with:

  • 500 feet of boundary wire – about 1/3 of an acre’s worth (18 gauge)
  • 50 boundary flags – used to mark the boundary line during the initial training phase
  • 2 Waterproof wire splice – used to join sections of the boundary wire

If you need additional boundary kits to create a larger boundary you can purchase it in our online store ($40 per 500 feet). Because the EF-3000 comes standard with 18 gauge boundary wire we suggest using 18 gauge wire when adding boundary wire to the system (but this is not required).

Training DVD and Instruction Manual

The system comes with an instruction manual and a separate training manual. Their method is a pretty similar to ours, and a good system for training the dogs.

Warranty

The Dogtra EF-3000 comes with a two years full warranty.

Model Dogtra EF-3000 Gold
Type In Ground
Collar Battery Rechargeable - Lithium Polymer
Correction Levels 5 Levels + Progressive Correction
Beep Only Training Mode Yes
Collar Warning beep Yes
Collar Vibration Yes
Independent Correction Levels Yes
Collar Dimensions ?.?” (L) x ?.?” (W) x ?.?" (D)
Collar Neck Size ??" - ??"
Collar Water Resistance Waterproof
Collar Fit Test No
Maximum Number of Dogs Unlimited
Minimum Dog Size 15 lbs
Minimum Age 6 months
Maximum Containment Area 40 acres (6,000 feet)
Boundary Width 0-10 feet (adjustable)
Control Box Dimensions ?.?” (L) x ?.?” (W) x ?.?" (D)
Control Box Power Source Wall Outlet (110V)
Control Box Battery Backup No
Indoor Pod Compatibility No
Outdoor Pod Compatibility No
Included Boundary Wire 500 feet + 2 wire Splices
Included Boundary Flags 50
Training Materials Manual
Other Boundary tester
Package Dimensions ??” (L) x ??” (W) x ?" (D)
Package Weight ?? lbs
Warranty Two year warranty

For a copy of the Dogtra EF-3000 Gold Manual click here. (PDF)
The Dogtra EF-3000 Training Manual is available here. (PDF)
You will need adobe acrobat to view these documents.

{ 37 comments… read them below or add one }

Nat quintin April 1, 2013 at 1:25 am

Do you ship this to Australia?

ADMIN – Hi Nat,

Yes, we can ship a 220V version of the system to Australia.

Rebecca January 30, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Hi! I love all the useful information on this site! My husband and I recently moved into a home with a large yard in a corner lot. The entire back yard is fenced, but it is only a 4.5 ft tall picket fence. On two sides, the fence is up against neighboring fences both of which are 6ft privacy fences. I have a 60 lb chocolate lab/pit-bull mix (male) and a 45 lb pit-bull (female). My female could easily jump the fence if she chose to do so, and my male recently did jump the fence. We do not allow them outside unsupervised, but when they see squirrels or other things they want to chase, they tend to be unresponsive to everything they ever learned as far as basic obedience. I am located in South Carolina, and I am looking for a reliable, safe and effective way to keep them in. They are both approximately 2 years old, and both are a little bit stubborn. Are there any systems that will allow for just the two shorter sides of the fence to be blocked and that will survive their wrestling/rough housing without being too big and clunky? I am hoping there is something that I can just attach to the existing fence. Thanks so much!

ADMIN – Hi Rebecca, unfortunately, this type of fence technology requires the fence wire to be in a closed loop. This means that you will need to run the wire around your yard in a complete loop. You can fence just the backyard with one of our backyard loop designs or you can loop the whole property. Click “Planning/Layouts” under the “Installation” menu heading to locate illustrations on both types of layouts. As for what type of fence, I would recommend the Dogtek EF-6000. Even though they are a bit stubborn, the fence offers up to 8 corrections levels with will definitely be plenty, the fact that they will encounter this boundary signal before reaching the fence will give them no option but to turnaround. You do not have to bury the wire too. You can simply attach to your existing fencing.

Erin Harris December 3, 2012 at 10:49 pm

I live on a 100 acre farm and can’t feasibly put an underground wire around the whole thing. My 13 month old border collie/great Pyrenees has taken to wondering with a neighbor dog and I don’t know how to stop her, but thought an e fence could work. Is there models where the collar receives a wireless signal that can cover a large area?

ADMIN – Hi Erin, our best recommendation for a large area-wireless fence is the DT Systems Border Patrol TC-1 fence. It is super easy to set up and provides coverage for up to 800 yards in a radius. The collar is on the larger side, but if your dog is over 40 lbs, that should not be a limiting factor.

Ann September 29, 2012 at 7:32 am

We have 2 puppies, each about 4 months. I read through the descriptions of the fences when looking to purchase one and thought that the dogtra ef/3000 gold looked to be the best, however, I did not read anywhere in that system description that the puppies had to be 6 months or older. Now we are ready to install and I just read that bit of information in the training manual. Hmm. What to do now. We were hoping to get the fence in today and start training over the weekend. Suggestions about the age thing? Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Ann, most dogs will be ready between 3 and 6 months old. As long as they can learn basic commands like sit and stay, they will be ready for training assuming the collars fit properly.

Eric Anderson September 16, 2012 at 9:06 pm

I have an 8 year old golden who is very gentle and doesn’t wander and a 16 month old black lab/ border collie mutt who loves to visit my neighbors horses and likes to wander. I have 4 acres and want to enclose it all. There are some wet spots and both dogs love to swim and wrestle so I need a tough, waterproof collar. Any help would be great. Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Eric, for a tough waterproof collar, I would recommend the SportDog SDF100A fence. It is amazingly robust and would fit your Golden and Lab mix very well. You’ll need to add in an extra 1,000 feet of wire to cover your 4 acres. I also highly recommend upgrading your wire to 14 gauge.

Greg Scott August 5, 2012 at 4:28 pm

I have a pup of mix breed that the vet says should end up being a medium size dog. My wife and I are very interested in the in-ground dog fence and planning on purchasing a system very soon. We have around 7 acres. Recommendations? I have thought about where the fence will enter the house and decided the easiest path would be through the basement. I would be coming in close to the electrical box and cable box. Probably use one of the pre-drilled holes. In addition to this there is a overhead garage door. Will these create interference with the dog system? The only other solution would be crossing over a sidewalk. Advice please. We calling to get underlines marked as soon as possible.

ADMIN – Hi Greg, for a medium sized dog with an average temperament, I’d recommend the PetSafe Ultrasmart PIG00-13619 in ground fence. It’s a great system with a sleek full size collar that is rechargeable. For 7 acres, we recommend adding in 2,000 additional feet of wire. We also recommending upgrading to the professional grade wire in our store, either the 16 or 14 gauge wire. With the upgraded wire, you avoid wire breaks that 20 gauge receives on larger installs. When running the wire back to the transmitter, you can run the wire with the other utilities as long as it is twisted wire. You will want to install the wall transmitter 10 feet away from all electrical boxes and appliances to avoid interference. You can cross a side-walk by locating a gap or groove if it’s made of concrete. Most people fit the wire down into the groove and caulk over it with concrete sealant.

Steve July 2, 2012 at 12:44 am

Hi there…I have an American Pit Bull Terrier. Tonight, he ran off and I followed him around the neighborhood. A dog we met on the little adventure had a collar containment system…what I am not sure. But seeing him made me wonder if I should get one for my dog. When I first adopted him at 2.5years, we went outside periodically and he was fine being off leash. During the 5 years I had him, at least once he realized he could explore—it started when he noticed a rabbit and it ran when he wanted to play and it was made worse when people let him out accidentally never bothering to get him to come back—it has gotten to the point where I cannot play with him off leash. I was wondering if you could recommend a system or it would be a better idea to look into a run/fencing? He weighs about 55-60 lbs and to be honest, I am not sure if he would be stubborn with the training or not. He was trained before I adopted him and listens well…unless we are outside and he is off leash.

ADMIN – Hi Steve, For your Pit Bull, I would recommend the PetSafe Stubborn fence. You’ll start with the lowest correction setting and move up only if he does not respond. How much property would you want to fence in?

Ray Shaffer June 13, 2012 at 8:46 pm

I have a Pekingese that has roamed free on an 8 acre farm for his first year of life. We have recently moved to an acre lot near a buddy road. He is constantly at the neighbors or across the road. I need a fence that will hold him on the property. The lot is sloped but has no other obstructions. Was thinking of a wired fence because of the reliability but how do I handle the paved drive way in the middle of the property and witch fence would you recommend for that dog type and size?

Admin- Hi Ray,
I recommend going with a the PetSafe Little Dog fence or if your Pekingese is over 12-pounds. You can go with the PetSafe Deluxe system. The plus side of these two systems is they offer compatible collars of several sizes and independent correction amounts.

Dana Ybarra April 22, 2012 at 12:09 pm

Hello, I have four dogs. I live in El Paso, TX. My problem is I have young children who try very hard to keep the dogs from running out the door but often cannot. I have a 120lb Great Dane, a tenacious 20lb beagle pup, a chuweenie about 16lbs, an older blue tick/lab mix (but he never runs off). I just need to stop the dogs from running out of my front yard into a busy street so cars will not hit them. The front is mostly concrete. Can you suggest a good system to use? From some of your earlier post I am assuming I may be able to use one system but maybe different collars. Please help; also we have a pool so the dogs sometimes swim.

Admin- Hi Dana,

With multiple dogs, the PetSafe Stubborn will be a great system, because you will have independent correction levels with each collar and the collar are much more durable. Therefore, the collar will be able to hold up to playful fighting better. I would get the PetSafe stubborn system and use the included collar for Great Dane than bundle in three additional PetSafe Deluxe collar for your other dogs.

Chris April 17, 2012 at 1:21 pm

I have 2 pitbulls but both very different sizes. My 4 year old pit is between 70-75 lbs while my younger 2 year old is around 35-40 lbs. our back yard is fully fenced in but unfortunately my pits tend to not look where they are going especially at night. We have an in ground pool that we want them to stay away from both for the winter so they do not fall into the cover and also when we have guests in the pool so we want to put an invisible fence around the pool area. Any suggestions on brand and model to get? We were also thinking about maybe putting indoor barrier around just the really nice furniture in our living but if that really complicates things then it’s not a must. Thanks!

Admin- Hi Chris,

For your two different size Pitbulls, we recommend the Stubborn Dog because it has independent correction levels; therefore, you will be able to set the correction level for each collar.
The Stubborn dog collar operates on a regular 9-volt battery that last about three months. You could purchase a rechargeable 9-volt at CVS to make the collar rechargeable. Once the boundary wire is installed, you are going twisted wire from the boundary to the pool. Then the two twisted wire as branching out and going around the pool to make a single wire loop (Similar to the pool exclusion zone on our install page).

Shawn March 25, 2012 at 12:47 pm

We have two dogs, a 1-year old 80lb lab and a 8-year old 25 lb beagle. We have a 1.5 acre lot that has 100ft of river front. The lab likes to go swimming, and both dogs will wander if allowed to run loose. What system do you suggest?

ADMIN – Hi Shawn,

The PetSafe systems are well suited to that kind of spread in size, because you can mix-and-match collars to suit the dog. I would use a smaller PetSafe Deluxe collar on the beagle. For the lab, I would use a PetSafe stubborn collar – he won’t need a collar that strong so keep it on the lower levels. The cheapest way to do it would be to get a complete PetSafe Stubborn system, and add an extra Deluxe collar.

Both those collars are fully waterproof.

Keri March 12, 2012 at 8:39 am

We have two pugs (and a new rottweiler pup), one very willful and the other pretty laid back. We need to keep the willful one from running over and instigating fights with our neighbors young German Shepard who is contained inside his own fenced area. My question/problem is that regular collars don’t stay on the pugs well as their heads are smaller round than their necks. Any suggestions or products that we could use or apply to a harness type collar?

ADMIN – Hi Keri,

Getting a collar to stay on a dogs with a neck that is thicker than the head is difficult. If a regular collar doesn’t stay on, the dog fence collar is not going to stay on either. One idea we have heard from a custom is to put a regular harness on the dog, then use ties to attach the dog fence collar to the harness, so it cannot slip off the neck. We have also heard folks putting the collar around the dog’s midsection. Neither are ideal solutions. If something that works well for you, we would love to know and will pass it on.

Megan February 20, 2012 at 4:56 pm

Hello. We have two pit bulls and a bloodhound/german sheppard mix. The female pit bull (50 lbs) and the bloodhound/german sheppard mix (65 lbs) both respond well to the Guardian Remote Trainer when it is on the level two setting. However, the level five setting doesn’t always stop our male pit bull (110+ lbs). We would like to switch to an in ground dog fence, but we are concerned that it will not contain the male pit bull. Do you have any suggestions for a system that would work well with all three of our dogs? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Megan,

Your training experience tells me that the Male Pit Bull would be a good candidate for a strong system like the PetSafe Stubborn containment system. You could use the included collar with the male pit bull. For the smaller dogs, you can use the same collar, just on one of the low correction levels.

If you wanted some lower powered collars, the PetSafe Deluxe collars are compatible with that system and could be used with the female pit bull and the bloodhound mix. But, the PetSafe Deluxe collars are more expensive and use a proprietary battery, so I think you are better off getting the PetSafe Stubborn collars all round.

Kate February 11, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Hello, my family and I have two dogs; a German and a Golden-Irish Setter-Cocker mix. Their weights respectively are 110 and 40-ish. We have 6 acres but we don’t want to fence all of it in although we do have areas we want to make off limits so we would like something that covers at least 15. We also have a cat, possibly another on the way that we would love to be able to let outdoors and be contained by the fence. Our cat hates being an indoor cat (she isn’t De-clawed) and runs outside at the first possible chance. We worry about her getting hit or lost and would love to let her have controlled roam of the yard. Our German is 4 and is a smart boy but can be very stubborn when he wants to be. He breaks the lines and runs we have him on, not to mention the collars he has gone through. We think that he will respond better with having more space and room to run and I hope that he will respond to the electric. Our other dog is 12 and is already familiar with electric fence and only needs to get shocked once before she will never go near it again. We had goats and she got zapped by their low-shock fence a couple times. So she knows to stay away and will only need very low or only vibrating warnings. We live near a busy road where people think that the speed limit sign says 60 instead of 30 and we have close neighbors so we don’t want them to get hurt or taken into the dog pound.

ADMIN – Hi Kate,

The SportDog system is a good choice where you have a large area, and need to contain dogs with a variety of needs. You can use the SportDog with the 15 acres, and use the included collar with the two dogs. The collars have independent correction levels plus vibration so you can set each dog to a level appropriate for them. For the cat, you can add the compatible PetSafe Cat Fence Collar, the collar is a smaller size and has a safety breakaway in case the cat gets it caught on something.

Wayne Brock December 18, 2011 at 5:59 pm

We have two standard poodles who are one year old. We have trained recall and other commands using the Dogtra 3500NCP Super-X series after basic training and have had excellent results. They do, however, take two different levels of correction. Now we would like to give them freedom to roam about 2 acres of wooded, rocky terrain around our house without us having to be with them at all times. We do not think we can use a wireless system and have been looking at the two innotek systems and the Dogtra system. We certainly would like to be able to use the same collars for both our field roaming and our fence but don’t see that as a possibility unless we go to the Innotek which would not allow the two levels of correction. We are also wondering how the previous collar training in the field will impact the perimeter training we are contemplating. What would you recommend? Wayne & Sharon

ADMIN – Hi Wayne and Sharon,

If you want a dual purpose collar that can do remote training and dog containment, then the Innotek IUC-5100 would be your best bet – you can turn down the correction level on one collar using a resistor with the dog fence collar (see the Innotek IUC-5100 page for details). Although note the Innotek IUC-5100 while a great dog fence collar, is a marginal training collar – the dedicated Dogtra unit you already have is much better.

If you just want a training collar, the Dogtra EF-3000 would be a good bet. As you mentioned it does remote correction right out of the box.

Dogs that have remote training experience usually learn a little faster when doing dog fence training because they have already made the connection that to turn off the heat from the correction they need to take some action. We do advise to not start both forms of training at the same time to avoid confusion … but it sounds like you have been doing remote training for a while so that does not apply to you.

Joan December 8, 2011 at 2:59 pm

We have three Australian Shepherds we are trying to keep from crossing the creek behind our house. We have 40 acres, but our home sits right on the creek so most of the property out front and to either side is open for them but they are traveling across the creek to the neighbors. How can we keep them from crossing the river, which has about a 1000 feet of frontage? Does the wire need to be layed so all ends touch or can it just run along the creek? Thanks

Admin- Hi Joan,

For your property, you could install the dog fence in what we call a single sided boundary. The systems setup does have to make a complete loop to operate and you would be able to create the loop along side the creek to form the boundary. The boundary wires would need to be separated by 6 feet to avoid interference issues. Please see our installation page for the diagram on a single sided boundary.

Jaylin November 24, 2011 at 12:35 pm

Hello great site! Thank you! We have a German Shepard/chow mix at about 60 lbs who generally will stay on our property without a fence or anything. We also have an Italian greyhound mix at about 20 lbs who will dart at the first chance at 100 mph. We need the fence to cover about an acre and a half. What fence and collars would you suggest for them? Thank you. Jaylin

ADMIN – Hi Jaylin,

With that much difference in size between the two dogs – a PetSafe system that will let you use two different types of collar on the same system would be a good choice.

I would get a PetSafe Stubborn system and use the included collar for a the German/Chow – those breeds can often need a little more correction so having the more powerful collar may prove useful. For the Greyhound mix, a smaller collar like the PetSafe Deluxe collar would be a good choice.

Shawn Dolan July 12, 2011 at 4:12 am

I have a German Shepard and have had a Dogtra fence in the past then moved to petsafe fences because they were available at petco. The failure rate of these electronic fences seems way high to me I have gone through 1 Dogtra reciever in 18mos, then 4 petco controlers in the last 18mo. I have a large yard 2300 feet of wire to cover front and back. Does anybody make an electronic fence that will stay working over this distance?. Zoe loves to jump the gates and run when the fence is down and this is getting very costly.

ADMIN – Hi Shawn,

What is going wrong with your fences? – That should not happen irrespective of the distance.

The SportDog-SDF-100A is a good durable fence that would work well with a German. It can do up to 10,000 feet and is one of the most durable system.

Kanani July 9, 2011 at 7:19 pm

Hello, I have a Beagle x King Charles and a Toy x Mini Poodle who both love to dig. I am looking for a fence that will not only keep them from digging out but also keep them from going at our screen doors. Would this fence be able to do that?

ADMIN – Hi Kanani,

You could use a wired fence, and run the wire so along the perimeter. Then use a couple of wireless pods to protect the screen doors. Happy to make a specific fence recommendation. What are the weight, age, and temperament of the dogs?

Juliet June 24, 2011 at 4:00 pm

I love your site! Very informative!

We have a shih-tzu mix and are considering adopting a Husky mix. We have been using a very old Petsafe wireless system with our small dog. It has worked well, but have a large yard now and would like him to be able to have more space outside. Even without adopting the large dog, we have been planning to go to a wired system. From the reading I’ve been doing on your site, this Dogtra system seems the best option for two dogs of such differing sizes, should we decide to adopt the Husky mix. Would you agree? My small dog is very well trained and at any warning beep he immediately runs back toward the house.

The other question I have is whether we can put the wire through the drainage pipe under our driveway. We were thinking of putting the wire through pvc piping and attaching it to the top of the drainage pipe.

Thanks so much for your help! We will definitely be purchasing our system from your site once we decide which one to get. Juliet

ADMIN – Hi Juliet,

While the Dogtra is a good fence, I believe the collar may be big and bulky on your Shih-Tzu. If your Shih-Tzu is at least 12 lbs, have you thought about going with the Innotek 4100 and using resistors to reduce the correction level for the Shih-Tzu’s collar?

Michael June 6, 2011 at 9:09 am

Hello, I just moved into a new home with a 1\2 acre yard. My dog is a 26lb Basengi mix and is well behaved 95% of the time. However, he does have a habit of losing control when he sees a rabbit or squirrel and takes off. This is now an issue as there is a busy street just 1 block away. I have a training collar I used on him several years ago and was very affective, it had a beep feature and after a few of the correction zaps all i needed was the beep. This is great at parks or other places when I close to him and I guess I could return to that process for teaching him the parameters of the yard, but that requires I watch him like a hawk everytime he is in the yard. I would like to be able to let him out to play and do his business without having to watch him so carefully and constantly.
I have read countless reviews and I am still not sure which system would be best for my needs. I do NOT need a system for discipline challenged dog, but I do need one that is effective, low maintenance, and allow for both beep only and vibrate with correction levels. What would you suggest? Thank you, Michael

ADMIN – Hi Michael,

If he was responsive to a training collar that is good news, and it tells me that he training on the dog fence should be straight forward. We find that if you just use a training collar for containment, you don’t get enough consistency. Most of the time, you just end up teaching the dog that they must obey the boundary while you are watching, but when you are not around they are free to roam.

A good system for the Basengi would be the Innotek IUC-4100, it has a small rechargeable collar. The Dogtra would also be a good choice, the collar is a little bigger, but it is a little cheaper.

Kelley June 2, 2011 at 1:51 am

Hi, I just moved to a one-acre property where my landlords (who also live on the property with their 75 lb. German Shorthair) already have an Innotek SD-2100 fence installed. I bought a collar for my 55 lb. border collie mix before I realized you can only have one correction setting for the fence. My dog is super sensitive and does not require much correction. I’m regretting getting this collar and would like to know if there’s anyway the Dogtra EF-3000 collar could be used with the Innotek fence? I prefer the Dogtra collar because of the vibration warning. I think my dog would be really responsive to the vibration warning. Thank you, Kelley

ADMIN – Hi Kelley,

You can’t use a Dogtra collar with an Innotek system. You can however reduce the correction on your Innotek collar (or indeed any collar), using a resistor wrapped around the collar.

Jim groff May 16, 2011 at 10:28 pm

Hi, I have 3 dogs, 2 springer spaniels and an English setter. I am moving to a new house in a month that borders a highway and wondered if you could help me choose a fence. My parents have a wireless one from petsafe that works great with my dogs when we visit my problem is that there is a hill about 10 feet tall right behind my house that I need the dogs to be able to go up. Is there a wireless fence that I can use? I really liked the looks of the havahart fence but am not sure if I can use it with the hill. Thank you very much, Jim.

ADMIN – Hi Jim,

The wireless systems don’t generally like hills, although up-hill works better than down-hill. You will probably get a good signal up to the crest of the hill, but you will not be able to have a boundary on the other side of the hill. A good rule of thumb is that if you could be a line of sight, you will be fine. If you can’t get a line of sight, then you will not be able to get a stable boundary.

If you are going to go wireless, the Havahrt would be a better choice than either of the PetSafe units.

Nicole May 16, 2011 at 9:47 pm

We have 2 boxers (one at 60 lbs and the other at 90 lbs). We have been using training collars on them for years and they both usually respond well on the rare occasion that we need to correct them. But we have decided that a fence is something we would like to use so the dogs can have more time outside without constant supervision. We will need to install about 1,000 feet of wire. We think the rechargeable would be a nice feature. We have also thought about the possibility of the wire being chewed by gophers/moles or other critters and wondering if maybe we should get a fence that lets you know when there is a line break. Which system would you recommend?

ADMIN – Hi Nicole,

You have a lot of choices with your dogs. Boxers are generally easily trained and training collar experience will serve them well. The Innotek IUC-4100 would be a good choice. It is rechargeable and has a smaller collar. The Dogtra EF-3000 is also a good choice, it has a bigger collar (but fine for a boxer), and is a little cheaper.

All the wired systems will alert you if there is a boundary wire break. If there are particular sections that need protection, it is worth running the wire through some irrigation pipe or hose pipe.

Mark May 10, 2011 at 10:36 am

I am pretty well decided on the Dogtra EF-3000 Gold for my two dogs. I just have a couple of questions before I purchase.

One dog is pretty timid and will not need much correction. The other dog will more than likely need a higher correction while she is learning. I really like the ability to have the different correction levels and the beeping feature as I feel that it will help them learn the fence.

I have a five acre lot and would like them to have access to the majority of it. I have a layout in mind and I was planning on using the barbed wire fence that runs around the majority of the property as a perimeter by wire tying the signal wire to one of the strands of the wire. Will this work or will the metal in the fencing cause a problem with the signal wire?

I have one dog that likes to pull and chew on the collar of the other dog. Is there a replaceable collar for the dogtra unit or will I be buying a new collar each time she destroys a collar? The product pictures make it look like this is a replaceable collar even if I have to have one made.

Based on this information is there another system that you would recommend other than the Dogtra EF-3000 Gold.

ADMIN – Hi Keith,

Mounting the boundary wire on the barbed wire fence will work great.

The collar bands on the Dogtra can indeed be removed and replaced. To break dogs of the habit of chewing on the collar, we usually spray the collar in bitter apple for a few days. This is an unpleasant tasting, but otherwise unharmful spray that you can get in the pet section of most larger supermarkets or pet stores. Once the dogs have tasted the bitter apple on the collar, they usually leave it alone even after you stop spraying the collar.

Hi Keith,

Mounting the boundary wire on the barbed wire fence will work great.

The collar bands on the Dogtra can indeed be removed and replaced. To break dogs of the habit of chewing on the collar, we usually spray the collar in bitter apple for a few days. This is an unpleasant tasting, but otherwise unharmful spray that you can get in the pet section of most larger supermarkets or pet stores. Once the dogs have tasted the bitter apple on the collar, they usually leave it alone even after you stop spraying the collar.

Happy to provide some other options. What kind of dogs do you have? (breed, weight, temperament, age)

Hal May 2, 2011 at 4:29 pm

I am looking for a system that will work for all four of my dogs.
Rottweiler – 110 lbs
Lab – 75 lbs
terrier mix – 11 lbs
chihuahua mix – 9 lbs

None are aggressive but I would like ot have them all on one system with independent correction systems. I need to cover about 5 acres. Do you need a larger gauge wire for greater distances?

ADMIN – Hi Hal,

With that kind of spread in weights, the PetSafe systems where we can mix and match collars would be useful. I would opt for a PetSafe Stubborn Dog Fence system, and use the Stubborn collar for both the Lab and the Rottweiler. (Note the lab is unlikely to require a strong correction, so keep it set low. The Rottweiler may require a little more, but again start on med-low and work your way u only if it proves necessary).

For the two smaller dogs, the PetSafe Little Dog Fence collars would work well.

Larger gauge wire is helpful if you are pushing a system to the limits of the manufacturer’s specifications because it extends the range a little bit. With only 5 acres, it would not be necessary, the system I suggested would be good with standard wire up to 10 acres.

Lesley April 27, 2011 at 9:24 am

Hi. Just browsing your site and very interested, but a little confused on what system to purchase.
We have a 13 yr old Boston terrier (weighs about 40 lbs), a 3 yr old Chocolate lab (weighs about 110 lbs) and a 2 yr old dachshund (weighs about 23 lbs) They all like to take off across the street and one of these days there’s going to be a problem with cars AND neighbors!
We have a corner piece of property and would need to run the fence across a driveway.
Can you help?

Admin-Hi Lesley,

A good containment fence for your Terrier, Lab, and Dachshund will be the PetSafe Stubborn/Large dog. With such a big differences in weight between your dogs, you will need a system that has independent correction levels. Independent correction levels will allow you to set the correction level for each dog. You should use the included Stubborn/Large dog collar on the Lab and bundle in 2 additional PetSafe Deluxe collars for the Terrier and Dachshund.

Lee Hollenshead April 26, 2011 at 5:00 pm

I have 3 dogs: an 11 year old lab mix, a 5 year old miniature schnauzer, and a 10 month old great dane. (YIKES!!!) We live in a very rural area and own about 16 acres of ground. The oldest dog is good about staying on our property. The schnauzer is fair, but if he sees our neighbor (she pet sits for us) he will try to run across the road. The dane is just a mess, she likes to roam and will meander right down the road if we don’t see her, also, she doesn’t come when called YET. So, can you give me advice on fencing PLEASE! ;-)

ADMIN – Hi Lee,

With 16 acres, the SportDog SDF-100A would be a good choice. You could use the SportDog collars with the Great Dane and the Lab. And get a smaller PetSafe Deluxe collar for the mini-schnauzer (I presume she is over 12lbs).

Mike April 7, 2011 at 6:24 pm

Hi, I will be getting a Golden Retreiver / Collie mix male (about a yr old) who we think was either a runaway or abandoned. He is a very good dog, however I want to make sure he does not run off again. I have over an acre to cover. What do you think you be the best solution. I was looking at Wireless just because my ground is not the softest to dig up. Thanks, Mike

ADMIN – Hi Mike,

With those breeds, there are lots of good options. Goldens and Collies tend to be fast learners and are very receptive to the training. We would prefer you to take a wired option, they have a much more reliable boundary and are more consistent making training your dog easier. The Innotek IUC-4100 would be a good option, particularly since you have a long-hair dog. The Innotek collar fit mode, lets you know when the collar is properly situated on the dogs neck with the probes touching the dog’s skin, something that is challenging on long hair dogs.

If you wanted to try a wireless option, the Havahart Wireless is by far the best of breed.

Tina March 25, 2011 at 12:09 pm

We have 2 dogs. One is a poddle/Shiztu mix and weighs about 24 lbs, the other is a American Bulldog ,he is a puppy right now, but will probably weigh between 80 and 100 lbs full grown. We have 2 acres and plan on fencing almost all of it ( will be getting 1000 feet of wire). I would like to be able to adjust the correction levels on the collar, but I think the larger collar would bother our smaller dog. I was looking at the SportDog system, Can the smaller collar be used with the this system?? What system would you suggest??

ADMIN – Hi Tina,

The SportDog or the PetSafe Stubborn system would be a good choice for the Bulldog, they both have a stronger correction that is useful with a Bulldog. You can add a PetSafe Deluxe collar for the Poodle mix which is compatible with the SportDog.

Sue February 15, 2011 at 3:03 pm

I have a male lab 80 lbs and a 18 lb jack russell. I have two ranches one on the desert and one in the rockies. The lab has gotten bad about sneaking away. I need something I can move to both places. The desert place is full of gnawing rodents and the mountain place is very rocky. I would like to fence in a really big area 40 acres or so. I think the lab may need a wide correction area, he is 8 yrs old and male. Could we put the wires in some kind of pipe on the desert? I know the other place would be a different installment.

Admin – Hi Sue

Yes, gnawing rats and sand could be an issue. I would suggest using a thin wall PVC to run your wire through for the dessert property, just a standard burial should be fine on the other.
You will need around 6500ft of wire to contain your 40 acres.
Your correction area will be adjustable with the system.
I would recommend the SportDog 100A for your property size as well as your Lab and Jack Russell. Take a look at it… http://dogfencediy.com/store/sportdog/sportdog-sdf-100a.html
I hope I have been of some help.

Amy January 23, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Hi. My lab/border collie mix who spent the first 3 years of her life unbound in the country, free to roam as she wished, has now been in a city fenced yard for 1 1/2 years. Up until the last month, she has respected the fence and been happy. Now she has been digging and going under the fence in several spots and I had the unfortunate sighting of her jumping in one of the shorter areas. If I install one of these by clipping on the fence itself, will that prevent both the digging and the jumping? Or is it better to bury underground a few feet in front of the fence? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Amy,

In terms of effectiveness, it won’t make a big difference whether you bury the wire of attach it to the fence. I find fence installation much easier, and they are also make it easy to locate a wire break and repair it should that ever be needed. If you clip the wire to the fence, then you will set the boundary width dial so that the collar gets triggered 2-3 feet from the fence – the idea is to stop the dog getting near enough to the fence to start jumping. You should have no trouble with the training, collies in particular tend to learn the fence very quickly.

Chris January 11, 2011 at 1:49 pm

I have a rottweiler mix that enjoys pursuing other creatures. Our back yard is fenced in on the sides and along the front. The rear of the back yard is open to a creek and not fenced in at all. I’d prefer a wired system but i don’t want to bury anything along the current fence and near the house as he does relieve himself on the fence post which seems fine to me. What do you suggest to place along the back of the back yard to prevent him from chasing the squirrels, raccoons, armadillos and cats?

ADMIN – Hi Chris,

Two suggestions:

  1. If the fence is high enough (6+ feet), you can run the boundary wire along the top of the fence, then set the boundary width so the signal does not reach the dog down at ground level.
  2. Alternatively, you can run a long thin loop along the back boundary where you want to stop the dog escaping. You would run the wire along the back boundary, then double back on yourself with six feet of separation to complete the loop. You would connect this loop to the transmitter using the twisted wire.
Jon January 8, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Hi Stu, I am a new owner of a standard poodle. I intend on installing an electric fence a few questions.

1) how old, in general, should a puppy be before doing this? (the frozen ground may force me to wait a few months, anyways)

2) how do I deal with a cascading series of cement retaining walls between my property and my neighbor’s house?

ADMIN – Hi Jon,

1. I think six months is a good age. The dogs are much more receptive to the training at that age, much younger and they don’t have the attention span. (You can start a dog younger if they can sit/stay/come confidently … I know lots of poodles are precocious)

2. I would decide what level you want the dog to be able to go to. Then go to the next retaining wall down and attach the wire to the next cement wall down, near the top. (you can get staples that nail into concrete at the Home Depot)

Gwen Liebman November 13, 2010 at 2:50 pm

We need a fence for two dogs of different sizes. One 30 lbs. one 45 lbs. The little one has short hair the larger one thick hair. We need about 1/2 acre of wire. and would like a rechargable system. We don’t need indoor pod but it would be nice. What would you recommend.

ADMIN – Hi Gwen,

What are the temperaments of the two dogs like?

The Innotek IUC-4100 and the Dogtra EF-3000 are both good rechargeable systems. The Innotek has a smaller collar, and a great collar fit feature that will be useful with your long-hair dogs. But the Innotek does not have independant correction which would be useful if your dogs need very different correction levels.

The Dogtra EF-3000 is a bigger, bulkier collar but does let you adjust the correction level of each dog on the system separately. The price of both is similar, and they are both excellent systems.

I would steer you toward the Innotek if the two dogs has similar temperamant or the smaller dog is the more willful. If the bigger dog is the more stubborn, we will probably need the ability to give him a diffferent correction level and the Dogtra Dog Fence would be the bettter choice.

would be a good choice if they are similar in temperament or if the little one was the more strong willed of the two. Otherwise, I am probably going to steer you toward the Dogtra.

Kelly July 25, 2010 at 11:34 am

I purchased this collar 3 years ago and have had nothing but problems. Dogtra is a great company and has excellent customer service. With that being said, we have had nothing but problems with this fence. Dogtra has replaced the collar 4 times and the reciever at least twice. For whatever reason, unknown to us and Dogtra it will nit work for more than a week!!!! Our dog us all over the neighborhood all the time. She was just caught behind the house across the street tearing at the sideing to get to a critter (she is a German-short haired pointer) which is going to cost us!!!! Please take this advice into consideration when purchasing this system. Sorry Dogtra.

David June 12, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Can i use 14 gauge wire with the Dogtra EF3000

ADMIN – Hi David,

You can indeed use 14 gauge wire (or indeed any gauge of wire with the Dogtra).

Leave a Comment