Dogtek EF-6000

Pros

  • Rechargeable lithium ion battery
  • 8 Independent correction levels
  • Advanced boundary control

Cons

  • 5 acre maximum capacity
  • Mediocre collar band

Rating

Retail Price

449.95

Our Price

349.95

Availability: In Stock

Orders before 1pm ship same day

More Product Images

Enlarge Video Review

Dogtek EF-6000 Overview

Out of Stock – due to a production glitch the Dogtek EF-6000 is out of stock, until at least June 2013.

Summary: Most Customizable Dog Fence

The new Dogtek EF-6000 feels a generation ahead of it’s competition because of the added control over settings. It gives you a lightweight rechargeable collar, a digital controller, and advanced features not found on other fences.

Adjustable Boundary Warning & Correction

Dogtek gives you control over both the boundary warning distance, and the boundary correction distance. You can independently set these boundary distances which lets you tailor setting to your dog’s temperament and your yard’s configuration.

Independent Correction

Dogtek also lets you set the correction levels on each collar independently, allowing you to accommodate dogs of very different sizes and temperaments. The range of correction lets you

dogtek ef-6000 collar

Rechargeable Collar

The Dogtek features a lightweight rechargeable collar.

Rechargeable Lithium Ion Battery

The collar recharges, by plugging the supplied charging cord into a port on it’s underside. A full charge take around 2 hours and lasts 2-3 weeks.

The collar like the PetSafe Ultrasmart uses the superior lithium ion batteries, and not the cheaper nickel metal hydrid that you find in most collars. This keeps weight low and gives you a shorter charge time and a longer battery life.

No External Buttons

The collar has no external buttons making it more durable. The collar is completely controlled by a magnetic switch. Touch the orange magnetic token against the red spot on the collar and you can switch the collar on and off, as well as change the correction level. Magnetic switches are widely used on training collars for hunting dogs, where collars have to endure harsh working conditions. We are please to see a manufacturer introducing this feature to containment collars.

Long and Short Prongs

The collar includes both long and short prongs options for long and short hair dogs respectively. The prongs can simply be unscrewed and interchanged.

↑ Top

Lightweight & Small

The collar is one of the lighter and smaller full-feature collars. The collar will fit well on any dog over 12 lbs. For small dogs, under 12 lbs instead use a PetSafe Little Dog system with it’s micro-collar.

8 Independent Correction Levels

The Dogtek EF-6000 has eight correction levels ranging from mild to very strong. There is enough variation in the correction levels that you can find a correction level to suit almost any dog. We think this collar is versatile to be used with small dogs all the way up to large and stubborn dogs.

The Correction levels can be adjusted independently for each dog. So the system can support multiple dogs of different sizes and temperaments.

Buckle Style Strap

The only thing we don’t love about this collar is the buckle style clasp. The clasp fastens using a vinyly–plasticy collar band strap with a belt buckle style fastener. We prefer cloth bands with quick-snap closures because they are easier to use and stay on better.

The redeeming feature is that the strap can be easily removed and replaced with a strap of your own choice.

Dogtek EF-6000 Transmitter

Transmitter with Configurable Boundary

The new Dogtek EF-6000 transmitter is fully digital, allowing more precise control over the boundary warning and correction distance.

Adjustable Boundary Warning & Correction

The Dogtek gives you control over both the boundary warning distance, and the boundary correction distance. You can independently set the distance from the boundary wire that triggers the collar warning beep and the distance from the boundary wire that triggers the static shock correction. This unique feature lets you tailor setting to your dog’s temperament and your yard’s configuration.

For example for a timid dog, you can create a deep warning zone and a shallow correction zone. For a more hard-headed dog, you can have a smaller warning zone and go quickly to correction.

5 Acre Capacity

The Dogtek packaging proclaims that it can do up to 35 acres. In our testing that was wildly inaccurate, even by the loose standards of marketing BS. The system is comfortable up to 5 acres, but beyond this range the boundary line becomes weak. For properties over 5 acres, our top choice would first be the Petsafe Ultrasmart (up to 25 acres) and then SportDog SDF-100A (up to 100 acres).

↑ Top

Dogtek EF-6000 Wire

Dogtek EF-6000 Wire

Boundary Wire

The Dogtek EF-6000 system includes 500 feet of 20 gauge boundary wire, 50 training flags, and 3 wire splices.

Direct Burial Rated Wire

The Dogtek Wire is direct burial rated, and is coated in a 20-mil PET jacket. This is superior to PVC wire that degrades in the ground and with exposure to sunlight.

Optional Professional Gauge Wire

The standard 20 gauge wire can be upgraded to 18, 16, and 14 gauge wire. 14 gauge wire is considered professional grade and is what you would see on an Invisible Fence installation. With professional grade, the copper wire and protective insulation are both four times thicker and stronger than the standard wire. This makes the wire stronger and more durable and therefore less likely to break.

For small installations, upgrading the wire is a no-brainer. A modest additional cost reduces the likelihood of you needing to hunt for wire breaks. For very large installations, the thicker gauges of wire are useful because of their superior transmission characteristics.

500 Feet of 20 Gauge Wire

The Dogtek basic system includes 500 feet of 20 gauge boundary wire. It also includes 50 flags for you to mark the system boundary while teaching your dog. This is sufficient wire and flags to cover one-third of an acre. Extra wire can be purchased to expand the system to 5 acres.

Area (acres) Wire Required (feet)
1/3 500
1/2 1,000
1 1,000
2 1,500
3 2,000
4 2,000
5 2,000

↑ Top

Dogtek One Year Warranty

One Year Warranty

The Dogtek EF-6000 is covered by a one-year warranty. The warranty covers both parts and labor. We find the system to be well made and where warranty claims are needed they are promptly honored.

↑ Top

Conclusion

The Dogtek EF-6000 is our highest rated containment system. As well as doing all the basics, it adds a rechargeable lightweight collar with 8 independent correction levels. And the digital transmitter gives you complete control over both the boundary and correction distance. The system is a generation ahead of it’s competition. And surprisingly, the fence is cheaper than it’s full featured competitors at a price well under $300.

↑ Top

Dogtek EF-6000 Video Review

Video: Dogtek EF-6000

↑ Top

Dogtek EF-6000 Manual

Dogtek EF-6000 Manual

Download the Dogtek EF-6000 Manual (PDF).

↑ Top

Specifications

Model Dogtek EF-6000
Type In Ground
Collar Battery Rechargeable – Lithium Ion
Correction Levels 8 Levels
Beep Only Training Mode Yes
Collar Warning beep Yes
Collar Vibration No
Independent Correction Levels Yes
Collar Dimensions 2.7” (L) x 1.7” (W) x 1.3″ (D)
Collar Weight (with band) ??
Collar Weight (without band) ??
Collar Neck Size 7″ – 24″
Collar Water Resistance Waterproof
Collar Fit Test No
Maximum Number of Dogs Unlimited
Minimum Dog Size 12 lbs
Minimum Age 6 months
Maximum Containment Area 5 acres (2,000 feet)
Boundary Width 0-10 feet (adjustable)
Control Box Dimensions 5.3″ (L) x 3.3″ (W) x 1.0″ (D)
Control Box Power Source Wall Outlet (110V)
Control Box Battery Backup No
Indoor Pod Compatibility No
Outdoor Pod Compatibility No
Included Boundary Wire 500 feet + 3 wire Splices
Included Boundary Flags 50
Training Materials Manual
Other Collar recharger, Tester tool
Package Dimensions 16″ (L) x 10″ (W) x 2.5″ (D)
Package Weight 4.9 lbs
Warranty One Year

↑ Top

FREE Expert Advice

When you call us, you will talk to an experienced expert.

Containment Guarantee

Your dog will be completely contained to your satisfaction within 30 days, or we will give you a full refund. That is a better deal than you would get from a $2,000 invisible fence. You have nothing to lose.

FREE Dog Fence Guide

experts guide

The PetSafe Ultrasmart come with a FREE copy of our Dog Fence Experts Book on installing a dog fence and training your dog (instantly downloadable in PDF form). The book has 90 pages of great information and tons of illustrations to make installation easy, and training effective. It will save you hours and get you complete containment faster.

You get the book immediately with your purchase. Your order confirmation email will include an instantly downloadable copy of our book. Value $24.95.

30 Day Easy Refunds

easy returns

If you are unhappy with your purchase for any reason you can return your system within 30 days for a full refund of your purchase price. Getting a refund is easy, just email us at returns@dogfencediy.com or call on (888) 936 – 4349.

Our returns are easy and hassle free:

  • It is no problem if you used the system, that was the point! We will still take it back even if there is some wear-and-tear
  • Did you bury the wire? No problem, we will still take it back. (If you can’t or don’t want to dig the wire back up, we will just charge you the regular price for the wire you kept)
  • The 30 day period starts from the time you receive the package so you have plenty of time to do the installation and training. If you need a little extra time, let us know.
  • The only time we don’t take returns is if it is well after the 30 days, or the unit is seriously damaged.

FREE Wire Break Kit

wire break kit

extra wire, and two wire nuts, and two waterproof capsules to keep your splice watertight. Value $9.95.

Free Fast Shipping

Shipping within the continental US is free.

Orders placed before 1pm EST ship out the same day.

12,000 Happy Customers

We had more than 12,000 happy customers last year, and are hoping to have even more in 2013. We understand how important it is to keep your dog safely contained, and understand the trust you place in us when you make an order. We want to make containment as easy as possible. We value your business, and we want you to refer your friends.

Low Price Guarantee

low price guarantee

We strive to have the lowest prices of any Dogtek authorized retailer. If you find any of our products at a lower price from an authorized retailer, please let us know and we will be happy to match the price. For a price match, call us on (888) 936 – 4349 or email pricematch@dogfencediy.com.

Dogtek Authorized

We are a Dogtek authorized retailer. This means you are guaranteed the full manufacturer’s warranty, and a brand new system. Beware of unauthorized retailers that sell grey-market systems. Systems coming from unauthorized retailers do not receive a warranty.

Family Owned

Family Owned

We are family owned and operated. We know the only way a small business like ours can prosper is by providing exceptional service at an exceptional price.

We know you can give your business to Wal-mart, Amazon, or anyone on the internet. So we will work harder to get your business. And we work harder after the sale to make sure you have a great experience and tell your friends.

Confused? Have Questions?

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns don’t hesitate to call or email us.

We will treat you like our neighbor. No sales pitch. No spam. No obligation. Just honest to goodness advice from the experts.

Our Most Popular Pages

best dog fence ~ electronic dog fence reviews ~ petsafe deluxe ~ bury dog fence wire ~ dog training fence ~ ef 3000 gold ~ innotek sd ~ sport dog sdf 100 ~ dog fence twisted wire ~ dog fence trencher ~ wireless fence review ~ smart dog ht-023 ~ above ground dog fence ~ innotek sd 3000 ~ petsafe wireless containment ~ petsafe prf 3004w ~ innotek pet fence ~ ef 4000 ~ petsafe stubborn dog fence ~ perimeter technologies dog fence ~ innotek wireless fence

{ 31 comments… read them below or add one }

Russ Rainbolt May 21, 2013 at 4:09 pm

I have the Dogtek EF-6000, and I am wondering if I can install the wire using the three sided method, with the fourth side being lakefront.I have seen an install using copper grounding rods. I want to keep him in my yard and beach, but I want him to be able to access the water, dock and boat.

ADMIN – Hi Russ,

You can use two copper grounding rods on each end of the fourth side to complete the loop. But, note this solution can be temperamental and is not something we recommend. To work, it needs the ground to be at least damp, but that may not be a huge issue given that you are lakefront.

Ricky March 27, 2013 at 10:41 am

Hi do you still have dogtek EF 6000 in stock. Also do you ship to Canada.

ADMIN – Hi Ricky,

We do not still have the EF-6000 in stock, they are having production issues at the factory. We do ship to Canada.

corrinne March 23, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Hi, we just got a rescue lab at the end of December. She is about a year and half. We are looking into getting an electric fence and have been researching yours. Can you pick any size wire for each system? We would prefer the better wire but how much more will that run? She is pretty smart do you think she will catch on quickly since we have not had here since a puppy? Or course we will work with.

Pete March 20, 2013 at 7:22 pm

I’ve ordered two systems. One for my son’s house and his dog and one for my house and my dog. Will both collars work on both systems or are the collars system specific.

ADMIN – Hi Pete,

Two collars from the same model will work together perfectly. (This is true of all systems)

brent March 20, 2013 at 12:46 pm

I have researched your system and believe it will be effective I just had a few questions. I have a rottweiler about 110 lbs, a lab that is about 110 lbs and also a husky mix at about 45 lbs. The lab is about 95% blind but gets around very well we just need to ensure he doesn’t make his way to the road. Do you think this system will effectively keep him contained with minimal discomfort to him? He is very responsive to sounds. Thanks for your time.

ADMIN – Hi Brent,

If he still has good hearing, you can train him, but you will need to be a lot more patient and take your time with the training. I also like to lay down a scent line during the first few weeks of training to give the dog another cue that they are getting near the boundary.

If you use the Dogtek, I would make the warning zone bigger and the correction zone smaller to give the lab more room to maneuver back away from the correction zone after they hear the warning.

Diana March 17, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Has the Dogtek ef-6000 been discontinued? Every place else I look it says out of stock or discontinued. Will this mean that parts wont be available?

ADMIN – Hi Diana,

The EF-6000 is a relatively new fence and the factory in France is having trouble keeping it in stock. There are no plans to discontinue the line.

Danielle P March 17, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Hello, our 8 year old beagle/jack russell mix learned how to jump/climb over our chain link fence this past year. We’ve decided to install an electronic dog fence. Based on the details and comparisons presented in the reviews, I am leaning towards the Dogtek EF-6000. I have some additional questions and appreciate your expert advice.

I downloaded and reviewed the user guide from the Dogtek website. I understand from your review that their 35 acre claim in the guide is inaccurate so I want to verify these other items as well.

The guide recommends using 20 AWG for less than 3000 ft of antenna wire or 18 AWG for more than 3000 ft of antenna wire. In your review, and others I have read during my research, 14 AWG is recommended to increase durability. Would the transmitter and wire connectors work correctly with 14 AWG for Dogtek EF-6000?

The guide also states “The wire can be placed on the ground, buried…or fixed to a non-metallic existing fence or wall…” and “Separate the wire by at least 6 feet from a metallic gate or 3 feet from a metallic fence.” We had considered running the wire through the fence around the yard based on a recommendation from a coworker. I also saw it suggested in an earlier post and other reviews have mentioned installing it that way. The statement from the guide leads me to believe their system won’t support running the wire through a metallic fence. Will you confirm if that is the case?
We’re also concerned about this method because the neighbor’s dogs share a fence with our yard and jump on the fence. They might be able to break the wire or tear it loose from the fence.

Thank you,
Danielle P

ADMIN – Hi Danielle,

The Dogtek system and connectors will work fine with 14 gauge wire. (With wired fences, using a thicker wire is not a problem with the transmitter, it is like driving done wider lanes on a highway. Wire thinner than 20 gauge is however a problem.

You can run the wire along or through a metal wire, chainlink, or a metal post fence with no ill effects. But, sheet metal fences can cause problems. If you run the wire along sheet metal, the metal can act like an amplifier and make the boundary wider in that local area.

Josh March 16, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Does the Dogtek EF-6000 have a surge/lighting protection included?

ADMIN – Hi Josh,

The Dogtek EF-6000 does not include a lighting protection module in the basic package. It is a $40 optional extra.

Diane March 16, 2013 at 10:38 am

Hi, could we run the wire over driveway top to include our driveway in the area we want our dog to have access to?

ADMIN – Hi Diane,

You can run the wire over the driveway to provide the dog access to the driveway area. However, if you just run the bare wire on top of the driveway it will get worn down over time as you repeatedly drive over the wire. In the long-term you will want to cut a slot across the driveway with a circular saw, place the wire in the slot, and then caulk over. Or place the wire in a protective conduit such as a hose pipe and leave it on the surface.

Pete March 16, 2013 at 10:11 am

Two questions:

1. Can I use off the shelf, insulated copper wire (underground service) from my local supplier or is there something special about the wire that comes in the kit?

2. There is an existing fence line consisting of metal agricultural fence posts with an electric fence wire strung on it on part of my property. can I string the fence wire on the same posts or will the electric fence cause interference or damage to the system when energized?

ADMIN – Hi Pete,

1. Ordinary insulated housing wire that you would get from a local hardware store will work perfectly, but will not last as long. Regular wire will rot out in the ground in a few years because the PVC insulation does not do well with soil acid. A better option if it is available locally is direct burial PET wire (which will not rot out).

2. You can indeed string the wire alongside an agricultural electric fence.

megan March 13, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Bought the Dogtek EF-6000 for our dog a week ago. The collar randomly started beeping and won’t stop or turn off, not sure what to do?! I have it hidden because the dog is freaking out.

Jennifer Ranegan March 13, 2013 at 4:29 pm

I have the EF-6000 and had it for about 2 1/2 weeks. I took the collar off the dog and the collar has been beeping ever since. The green light stays on. I read the manual and it doesn’t give any troubleshooting suggestions for this problem. I have a call into you and waiting for a response.
Thanks,
Jennifer

David Vender March 12, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Kudos to Dog Fence DIY. Within a few hours of placing my comment below, I received a call from one of their reps. He let me know that if I had anymore issues with my Dogtek 6000 they would take care of it for me. I appreciate the prompt follow up.

David Vender March 12, 2013 at 10:08 am

I purchased a Dogtek 6000 in January and have had constant problems with the collar. The first collar worked fine for about 18 hours and then the warning beep went off inside the house and would not stop even with the control box shut off. I sent it back to Dogtek and they took two weeks to get a new one to us. The second collar lasted about a week and then would not recharge. Dogtek had me send them both the collar and the charger. Again they had a very slow response time. When they finally sent us the second replacement collar they forgot to replace the charger. Their customer service has been nice but here we are in the middle of March and we still do not have a working system.

Steve Johnston March 9, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Hi love your site. I’m selling my house and have 3 dogs with a EF-4025 installed. We need to keep the system installed per the terms of our sale. My question is if I install the newer EF-6000 or some other system at our new house would my old collars (from the EF4025) work on it? Thanks Steve

ADMIN – Hi Steve,

The EF-4000 collar are unfortunately not compatible with the EF-6000 transmitter (and vice-versa) or any other transmitter. If you want to keep your existing collars, you will need to get another EF-4000 transmitter.

Benny Antognoli March 7, 2013 at 2:07 pm

Looking at getting the Dogtek EF-6000 for our dogs. We’ve got about 3.5 acres to cover. Is the enclosed wire going to be large enough gauge to properly carry the signal or will I need a larger gauge? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Benny,

You can use the standard 20 gauge wire to easily cover the 3.5 acres. The thicker wire will help you from a durability and resilience perspective, the improved transmission characteristics will not be noticeable when you are well within the limits of the system. (i.e. it would help if you were trying to push a system beyond it’s maximum range, but you are not doing that)

Larry Beer February 26, 2013 at 1:29 pm

Can exclusion zones like around flower beds in the middle of the yard be created with this system?

ADMIN – Hi Larry,

You can create exclusion zones using wire with the EF-6000 (and indeed any in-ground fence). You run a loop of wire around the flower beds in the middle of the yard, then run the twisted wire to connect the flower bed loop to the main loop.

(See Installation –> Planning –> Exclusion Zones)

The wireless exclusion pods that do not require any wire to be run do not work with the EF-6000, you can only use them with the PetSafe Ultrasmart and Innotek IUC-5100.

Lane February 25, 2013 at 10:50 pm

Can the Dogtek EF-6000 handle 12 gauge wire?

ADMIN – Hi Lane,

The system can handle 12 gauge wire, and indeed any gauge thicker than 20 gauge (smaller number). Thicker wire is easier for transmitters, because it has lower resistance. (An analogy would be that it is easier to pump water through thick pipes than it is to pump water through thin pipes.

Bob February 25, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Please let me know if I am understanding my system correctly. I will be able to set the correction level for all 3 of my dogs separately, but as far a warning boundary it will remain the same distance for each dog. Is this correct?

ADMIN – Hi Bob,

There is no remote control that can be used in conjunction with the Dogtek system. The only system with that capability is the Innotek IUC-5100.

You are correct. Each dog could be on a different correction level (say Dog 1 on high, Dog 2 on low, Dog 3 on medium). But, the warning boundary for each dog needs to be the same (say starting 5 feet from the boundary wire)

Bob February 25, 2013 at 9:39 pm

I bought the dogtek ef-6000 is there a remote control that I can use for indoor training that is compatible with this system? Thanks Bob

ADMIN – Hi Bob,

There is no remote control that can be used in conjunction with the Dogtek system. The only system with that capability is the Innotek IUC-5100.

Steve February 24, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Is the collar receiver 100% waterproof or water resistant?

ADMIN – Hi Steve,

The EF-6000 collar is waterproof and can handle full immersion.

stacy February 24, 2013 at 11:23 am

I have had a similar system in the past and my Doberman learned how to run through the range of warning and shock, which was about 3-5 feet. What is the range it will shock when they have passed the boundary?

ADMIN – Hi Stacy,

On the Dogtek system you can set the range of the correction and warning as you please. The maximum range is around 10 feet depending on the size of the installation. The minimum range is a few inches.

Mandy February 19, 2013 at 11:50 am

We have two dogs. One is a Pit/Lab Mix, 80 pounds, very stubborn. The other is a Boxer Mix, timid, 50 pounds. We are moving to a new home with 5 acres. I think the Dogtek may be our best bet, but am not sure about the collars. Our dogs play constantly and I am afraid they might be able to pull/break/bite the collars off of one another. Can you please advise?

ADMIN – Hi Mandy,

Dogs that pulling on each other’s collars is an issue. Even the most sturdy collars bands can’t stand up to the jaws of a Pitbull. To break the dogs of the collar biting habit, we usually spray the collars with something unpleasant like “Bitter Apple” spray ($4 and available at more large grocery stores in the pet section). You usually only need to do this for a few days to get the dogs out of the habit.

Bunker February 18, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Is the EF-6000 still available?

ADMIN – Hi Bunker,

The EF-6000 will be back in stock on 2/25. There was apparently an issue at the factory that shut down production for a couple of weeks.

nattie February 16, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Does the dogtek fence come with twisted wire? If not, how do you suggest we manage that aspect? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Nattie,

The Dogtek EF-6000 does not include twisted wire in the basic package. You can add twisted wire ($30 per 100 feet).

If you only require a small amount of twisted wire (less than 10 feet), it is easy to make – you just get two regular wires and twist them together with an electric drill. Aim to get around one twist per inch of wire.

Ben February 15, 2013 at 9:01 am

Is the rechargeable battery in the Dogtek EF-6000 collar replaceable? What is the lifespan of the battery?

ADMIN – Hi Ben,

The rechargeable battery is not user replaceable, you need to send it back to Dogtek to get it changed. The system is only a few years old, so we don’t know what the battery lifespan is likely to be. Based on other lithium ion batteries, I would expect you would want to start replacing the battery between year 7 and year 10.

To get the best use out of lithium ion batteries, you want to make sure that if you ever need to store the collar without it being used, that it is charged every couple of months.

Andy February 13, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Does the wire have to be buried? Or can it be placed on an existing fence above ground? We live in a very rocky area so would prefer to put on existing fence if possible. Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Andy,

The boundary wire does not need to be buried. Burial is just a way to keep the wire safe from harm and out of the way. Stapling the wire to the ground, or attaching it to an existing fence is fine and will not affect the fence’s funcitoning.

Josh February 13, 2013 at 12:56 am

I had a question, I have a 140 pound Rottweiler and a 50 pound Blue Heeler and there containment would be a 1/2 an acre what systems would you recommend that work and are dependable. Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Josh,

For the Rottweiler we are going to want one of the stronger systems, but we also want something with enough flexibility to have different correction levels for each dog because the Blue Heeler is likely to require a much lower correction to pay attention to the fence. The Dogtek EF-6000 would fit the bill, as would the PetSafe Stubborn. Both are reliable, let you have independent correction levels for each dog, and have high maximum correction strengths. The Dogtek is a little more expensive but rechargeable. The PetSafe is a little cheaper but uses disposable batteries that you will need to keep purchasing.

Kristin February 11, 2013 at 12:05 pm

I have a 70 lb lab and a 40 lb mixed breed. The mixed breed is the runner and the main reason we are buying a fence system. The lab will stay in the yard for the most part. I read in the review that you can customize the fence for stubborn or timid dogs. Can I do this for each dog? ie: the lab has a wider warning zone and a smaller correction zone and for the mixed breed the reverse?

ADMIN – Hi Kristin,

You cannot set the correction and warning zones differently for each dog. We would set the correction and warning zones for the more stubborn dog. The more timid dog will quickly learn to keep clear of the boundary. For the more stubborn dog, getting them contained is a matter of safety and should take precedence.

evan February 10, 2013 at 10:41 pm

Does your testing of up to 5 acres functionality include use of 14ga wire or was that testing performed with the lighter 20ga wire that comes with the system? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Evan,

We always test with the standard (thinner) 20 gauge wire because this is the most conservative scenario. Thicker wire (like 14 gauge) will actually get you a longer range than thinner wire, because thicker wire has lower electrical resistance. (It is like having more and wider lane on a highway)

Ilyas Azmi February 7, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Can the Dogtek EF-6000 support 14″ gauge wire and is it strong enough for stubborn or large breed dog such as a st.bernard.

ADMIN – Hi Ilyas,

The Dogtek can use 14 gauge wire (thicker wire is easier for a system to handle, so going thicker than standard is never a problem – going thinner does require a more powerful system). The system collars have enough range to handle large breed and stubborn dogs.

Leave a Comment