Dog Fence Reviews

This section reviews and compares the DIY dog fence systems. We review systems by Innotek, SportDog, PetSafe, Perimeter Technologies and Humane Contain. The comparison chart below summarizes our findings. Click on the model name or use the navigation menu of the left for a more detailed review of each system.

In Ground Dog Fence Reviews Wireless Dog Fence Reviews Dog Fence Recommendations

 

Dog Fence DIY Logo PetSafe
YardMax
PIG00-11115
PetSafe
Ultrasmart
PIG00-13619
Innotek
IUC-5100
PetSafe
Little Dog
PIG00-10773
SportDog
SDF-100A
Rating Excellent" Excellent" Good Good Good
Reliability Excellent Excellent Excellent Good Excellent
Rechargeable Yes Yes Yes No No
Correction Levels 5 3 3 4 5
Battery Backup No Yes Yes No No
Capacity 10 acres 25 acres 25 acres 25 acres 100 acres
Other Notes
  • Anti-run-through
  • Small collar
  • Pod compatibility
  • Slimline collar
  • Collar fit
  • Pod compatibility
  • Remote trainer
  • Collar Fit
  • Pod compatibility
  • Smallest collar
  • Lower correction
  • Collar compatibility
  • Highest capacity
  • 1,000 ft wire
  • Most waterproof
Image
Price $259.95 $299.95 $339.95 $269.95 $239.95
Full Review PetSafe YardMax
full review
PetSafe Ultrasmart
full review
Innotek IUC-5100
full review
PetSafe Little
full review
SportDog SDF-100A
full review

 

Dog Fence DIY Logo PetSafe
Inground PIG00-13661
PetSafe
Stubborn PIG00-10777
Perimeter
Ultra PTPCC200
Dogtra

EF-3000
Dogtek
EF-4000
Rating Good Good Good Good Good
Reliability Good Good Good Good Good
Rechargeable No No No Yes No
Correction Levels 4 5 1/3 5 8
Battery Backup No No No No No
Capacity 5 acres 10 acres 5 acres 40 acres 2.5 acres
Other Notes
  • Cheapest PetSafe
  • Best budget fence
  • Collar compatibility
  • Strong correction
  • Collar vibration
  • Collar compatibility
  • Dual frequency
  • Low interference
  • Soft contacts
  • 18 gauge wire
  • Older system
  • Custom boundary
  • Small collar
  • Cheapest Dogtek
Image
Price $159.95 $204.95 $179.95 to $204.95 $249.95 $149.95
Full Review PetSafe PIG00-13661
full review
PetSafe Stubborn
full review
Perimeter Ultra
full review
Dogtra EF-3000
full review
Dogtek EF-4000
full review

 

Dog Fence DIY Logo Innotek
SD-2100
Innotek
SD-3000
Innotek
SD-2000
Humane
Contain
Smart Dog
HT-023
Rating Good Good Good Good Good
Reliability Good Good Good Poor Poor
Rechargeable Yes No No No No
Correction Levels 3 1 1 3 1
Battery Backup Yes No No Yes No
Capacity 25 acres 5 acres 5 acres 100 acres 1 acre
Other Notes
  • Cheapest rechargeable
  • NiMH battery
  • Cheapest remote trainer
  • Cheapest reliable system
  • Works with auto dog door
  • Cheapest dog fence
Image
Price $209.95 $179.95 $119.95 $99.95 $49.95
Full Review Innotek SD-2100
full review
Innotek SD-3000
full review
Innotek SD-2000
full review
Humane Contain
full review
Smart Dog HT-023
full review

 

In Dog Fence Ground Reviews Wireless Dog Fence Reviews Dog Fence Recommendations

 

In Dog Fence Ground Reviews Wireless Dog Fence Reviews Dog Fence Recommendations

Our Most Popular Pages

dog fence reviews ~ dog fence jumping ~ dog fence wire ~ ef3000 gold ~ wifi dog fence ~ innotek sd 2000 reviews ~ best electric dog fence ~ petsafe wireless fence ~ petsafe prf 304w ~ sport dog sdf 100A ~ dog electric fence underground ~ wireless fence review ~ petsafe pig00 10773 ~ sd 2100 ~ dogtek ~ prf 3004w ~ stapling dog fence wire ~ wire trencher ~ dog fence installation ~ smart dog fence ~ dog training fence ~ perimeter dog fence

{ 713 comments… read them below or add one }

Kathleen Cleland February 5, 2014 at 5:41 pm

I have 3 dogs ranging from 50 to 65 lbs and just bought a house with an acre of property. Two of the dogs can jump a six foot fence and the other one I am afraid will run out into the busy street so I would need 3 collars. With buying a new house I have a limited amount of money to purchase a fencing system but do not want to waste money on a cheap system that will stop working out of the blue. What can you recommend for my situation??

Debi Martin February 5, 2014 at 4:57 pm

we have 2 acres with 2 golden doodles and 1 shitzu. We would like to border just the area near the road and one side of the yard. The other side has a neighbors fence and both acres are bordered by a river that the dogs love to swim in. Which type of fence would be best if we want to have basically an L shape invisible fence?

Jessica February 5, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Hi. I have a 5 yr old 70lb Lab/Poodle who LOVES to run and chase the barn cats. We live on a 5.5 acre farm surrounded by 67 acres that we have full access to. The first year we lived in the home he stayed in our yard but has since become very curious and likes to go visit the dogs down the street approx 1mile down(keep in mind its a 55 mph road and most go 65mph). We have to get in our car to retrieve him. I would like to get an electric fence so that he can still run like crazy but stay on our property. i’m thinking we would want to fence off 2-4 acres for him. What would you suggest?

ADMIN – Hi Jessica, I recommend going with the YardMax fence. The true run through prevention of this fence is a great asset for 100% containment.

Jessica February 2, 2014 at 4:39 pm

I have a Cur/Pit mix (65 lbs) and a Carolina dog/pit mix ( 20 lbs) the cur mix is chasing cats and has turned into and escape artist what would you recommend for the two of them with a 1/2 acre? Thank you for your time.

Candi February 2, 2014 at 11:40 am

We have a 3 month old yellow lab / bouvier mix (she’s gonna be a horse). We have about 3 acres of land to seal off. My husband has heard of these ones that are wireless and you just put it in your house and put the collar on your dog. Which system do you think would best for our new baby Klohie :)

Brian February 1, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Are there any electric dog fences that can be dead ended (don’t need to be a complete loop)? I have a pvc post and rail fence that my dog has figured out she can squeeze through. the fence is hollow so I’d like to run the wire inside the fence rails. From my power source I have about 150 feet of this type of fence on either side and then stockade fence and the house in between (which she cannot get by). So if I could run the wire inside the P & R part only and stop there would be no need of running it where it is not needed. If not, and I do need the “complete loop” how far apart do the wires need to be (example could I run the out or positive side in the lower rail and the return or negitive side either in the same rail or the upper rail which is about 2 feet away) thus making 2 complete loops 1 on each side of the yard.

Greg January 30, 2014 at 12:23 pm

What about the PetSafe Deluxe In-Ground Fence? It has a lot of great reviews on radiofence.com and it is $100 less than YardMax. FYI – we rescued a 4mo shepadoodle and she is an AMAZING dog (similar to golden and lab personality&temperament)! But we are having troubles potty training. We live in a subdivision and can’t just let her run free. Btw, my mother recently paid invisible fence $1800 to install one on her 5 acre yard – I feel terrible I hadn’t researched it for her first.

Susan January 28, 2014 at 10:23 pm

We have a 5 month old GSP who has proven she can learn tricks easily, but house breaking, digging in the carpet, and snatching things off tables and counters continues to be major daily battles. I HOPE once we get an underground fence installed in our almost 1/2 acre backyard, she will be able to release much of her energy and some of these inside problems. At this time she must constantly be on a leash since she does not come when called.
My fear is that she will be too strong willed to be contained with an underground fence. For her safety and because we live in a leash law area, she must stay in our yard or we will be forced to give her up. I have researched underground fences for the last 3 months. The YardMax is definitely my first choice, but I worry that she will have to have the Sport one.
Please share your thoughts on this.

ADMIN – Hi Susan, I would definitely go with SportDog in your situation for your GSP.

Arline W. January 22, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Hi Stewart, I just rescued a 5 yr old Chocolate Lab (65 lbs) & need advice on a fence system. We live in a Charleston patio home with a very very small back yard (not much bigger than a living room). Anyway, we would like to be able to let him out in the mornings without having to actually leash him. What system would you recommend? Thanks so much. Arline

ADMIN – Hi Arline, with such a small yard, I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax because it does not use up any yard space. The collar and correction range is a great fit for your Chocolate Lab.

Bruce Baloh January 21, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Hello, a recommendation please is needed. We have a 26lb. 3 year old Cavalier King Charles who loves being outside but is very aggressive on his leash and harness. He constantly pulls away even while on walks. Extremely interested in an invisible fence system, to go with our 1/4 acre lot with home in the middle. Please advise, thanking you in advance….Bruce

ADMIN – Hi Bruce, for your Cavalier King Charles I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax. The collar is small and light weight but will deliver enough correction strength to contain your distracted dog. The wire that comes with the fence will be plenty to cover a 1/4 acre.

Traci Cornell January 14, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Great site!!! We are searching for a unit that can attach to a chain link fence. We do not need underground because we have 12 acres all fenced. But, we have one area in the fence that has been lowered because we have a lame elk that has decided to make our property his home. He has repeated broken down the fence to get in and we have spent a fortune getting the fence repaired so finally we just lowered one portion of the fence, now he lives at our house. However, now there is a section that we must keep the dogs from jumping over. We have installed 14 gauge wire around the lowered portion. I have an old Innotek system 2100 that is not adequate. We have 3 very large (over 100 lbs) Anatolian Shepherds and when they get out, they can be gone for days. What system would you recommend that can be attached to our fence and is strong enough to deter these dogs. Thank you any help will be appreciated.

ADMIN – Hi Traci, I would recommend the SportDog fence for your Anatolian Shepherds. It is built for large breed dogs.

Dano January 14, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Hi. I have 2 dogs and about half an acre. 1 pitbull and 1 dachshund. My pitbull keeps getting out of the yard and fighting. I’m worn out from patching the fence, making it taller, putting bricks around the bottom to keep him from digging out etc. and I’m finally ready to try an electric fence. I’ve been reading tons of reviews but I’m not sure which system would be best. I want 2 collars and a system for under $300 if possible. I would like small collars that are rechargeable and can dissuade a 70lb pitbull from escaping while not frying a little 25lb dachshund. Thanks for the advice.

Stef January 14, 2014 at 2:12 pm

We have 3 dogs and 3 acres of land that we would like to explore the option of inground fence, 6 year old 60 lbs Golden, 1 year old German Shepard mix (rescue), 1 year old Aussie mix (rescue). The Golden and Aussie are good to stay close, but the German likes to run to the neighbors house (2 big dogs) when given the opportuinty. Golden & Aussie would be fine with the regular collar, but I’m not sure about the German. The German also gets the team up from the other two and her collar gets grabbed by one of the other dogs. Would this harm her or the other dogs if they grab her? She is a rescue and will roll on her back if scolded, so I’m not sure what type of collar would be best for her…she can be my stubborn girl ;)

What type of system would you recommend?

What type of collar would you recommend for the German?

Jo-Ann January 13, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Hi…I have a 4 1/2 month old boxer pup. I’m thinking of the fence plus training collar system (Innoteck 5100) but the review seems to not recommend it as it may confuse the dog. She’s about 20 pounds now but will be 60 or 70 pounds full grown so I want something that will contain her when she’s full grown. I will be containing 1 acre with a small stream and some wet areas at certain times of the year. What would you recommend if I don’t go with the combined unit?

Stassi January 13, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Hi, I live on a farm and have a Australia blue heeler, Bear. We live on a very busy highway. Blue heeler’s are very strong willed. Bear loves to chase cars and cattle. I also have a Golden Retriever. We probably have around 3 acres that needs to be fenced. What would you suggest for my two pooches? Also, someone told me not to actually bury the fence. They said to just lay it on top of the ground and by summer it will bury itself. I thought that was kinda dumb, but what do you think? Thanks for your suggestions!

ADMIN – Hi Stassi, yes, Blue Heeler’s are very strong willed. I would recommend the PetSafe Stubborn fence for your heeler and Retriever. I recommend upgrading your order to the 16 gauge wire for strength and durability. You can lay the wire on the ground, but we recommend pinning it down with lawn staples and raking ground cover over it. Otherwise, you can bury it shallow around 2-3 inches in the ground.

Beth January 13, 2014 at 12:34 am

We have a purebred Dachshund and a Dachshund mix, weighing 22 and 33 pounds. we have a half acre which includes our house. we are on a corner lot. which fence would you recommend. doxies are pretty stubborn dogs. Thanks in advance

ADMIN – Hi Beth, I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax for your two Dachshund dogs. They are a perfect size and the correction strength on the YardMax is adequate for containing them.

Lori January 12, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Hi, I am searching for a wired fence that would be compatible for two 70 lb labs that like to roam and a 10 lb yorkie poo. I need to fence about 3 acres. The labs previously were in an “Invisible Fence” system and did well on 1/2 acre. Was looking for something we could do ourselves much cheaper. Also one of our labs runs to the road full speed barking at people and dogs she is not aggressive only in her bark, but scares people. I was considering the Yard Max or Sport Dog. Suggestions please.

ADMIN – Hi Lori, yes the YardMax will be the best fence for your mix of dogs. The 3 oz collar will fit all 3. This is the best fit because you can set separate correction levels on each collar. The collar is also waterproof and rechargeable.

Ashley January 9, 2014 at 9:18 am

Hi! I am looking at purchasing the PetSafe Yard Max PIG00-11115 underground fence. We have a low area in our yard that is prone to flooding. The standing water can last from a few hours to several weeks depending on ground saturation. Will the standing water interfere with the effectiveness of the system if the wire is buried underground?

ADMIN – Hi Ashley, No, standing wire will not have a significant affect on the dog fence unless the standing water is deep, say 3 plus feet.

Gajan Retnasaba January 7, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Glad to have come across your site. It has been very helpful reading other advice you’ve given. So based on other scenarios given, I can see that we are definitely going to need a wired system. We have 5.65 acres in the country, with approximately 2.5 of it cleared (1 for our home and the rest is the yard surrounding it). The other acreage is wooded and will not be considered for containment. We have two 5 1/2 month old Walker Hounds that will leave the “yard” and head for the woods to do what is natural to them (hunt our resident wildlife on our property). We have new neighbors on adjacent property and another family building down the road on the other side of them, so we’ve got to contain them now. They always stay together but one is definitely more hyper than the other (they’re brothers), so when walking with them, we can normally control the hyper one by keeping him leashed because the other one will not run off from him. We understand that this breed HAS to be allowed a lot of exercise, so we’re trying to accomplish that while keeping them safe and on our property. Which brand of wired system would you suggest? We were considering stapling the wire to trees surrounding the preferred containment area and burying it at the areas that we enter/exit frequently on dirtbikes/4 wheelers around the perimeter of the yard & also at the front gate. Also the front gate is a cattle type remote gate and I just wanted to make sure the system wouldn’t interfere with that either. Thanks for your help!

ADMIN – Hi Regina, with hounds, the best fence is the SportDog SDF-100A. It will have enough correction strength to contain your young, scent dogs. I recommend upgrading to 16 gauge for a strong, professional wire. Stapling to the trees will work well. Burying in other areas is great. The cattle guard should not interfere.

Sherry January 6, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Hi. I’m wondering which fence would be best for us. We live on 100+ acres but want to contain our beagle closer to home due to the fact that she has had a run in with a coyote. She’s used to running free and, being a scent dog, I’m afraid that she will push through any correction signal since she is driven by scent. We only need about 1.5-2 acres of area. She sleeps inside so we would like a collar that is easy to remove and attach. Which product do you recommend?

ADMIN – Hi Sherry, for beagles, we highly recommend the SportDog SDF100A. It will have the correction strength needed to contain your scent dog. The key is consistent training until your beagle responds the way you are asking them. If you train properly, you should expect 100% containment. The collar comes with a belt buckle style collar strap, but we sell easier to buckle collar straps on our site that you can interchange it with.

Leslie January 6, 2014 at 12:39 am

We are interested in installing an in-ground dog fence and are leaning towards the PetSafe YardMax. We have multiple dogs of varying sizes (10 – 80 lbs). Would this system fit the correction needs of all our dogs? Are there any complications to running the wire near our neighbor’s in-ground dog fence? Is the PetSafe Stubborn collar compatible with the YardMax? And how much wire would you recommend for 6 acres?

ADMIN – Hi Leslie, the YardMax is a great fit for any dog 10 lbs and up. You can set different correction levels for each collar to customize the correction for your different dogs. There will be interference by running the wire within 15 of your neighbor’s dog fence. There are no other collars compatible with the YardMax. For 6 acres, you will need a total of 2,500 feet of wire. We highly recommend upgrading to 16 gauge.

Adora December 4, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Hi, I would appreciate your suggestion for a fence system. We have a 1 y/o 60 lb. Shepherd/Chow mix and a 2 y/o 80 lb. German Shepherd.

Our 2 y/o Sammi-girl has wanderlust and a need to greet anyone on the other side of our fence. Our home is a corner property with a lot of foot traffic, kids on bikes, dog walkers, along with a fairly busy street. We re-fenced our sides and backyard with redwood, 6ft solid + 1ft lattice, the highest allowed here. We have made sure nothing is close enough for her to use as a step up, with no success. She continues to jump right over it. She is primarily indoors, but does need some outdoor time. If we stay outside with her, she will not attempt to jump, but will still run the length of it and get very excited if someone is walking by. We are working with her to calm her down as far as foot traffic goes, but feel it is time to install a system.

Prior to our owning this home, there was an RV cement pad poured which concerns me for a system requiring a wire. The pad is along a good portion of the fence that is on the streetside. If the “best solution” were a wire fence, how would it install? Can it be run directly on the wooden fence? If so, would it signal her soon enough to prevent her from going over or pretty much just as she cleared the top? I like the idea of a wireless system, but honestly do not know what would be our best solution. I don’t like the idea of a “shock” collar, but absolutely do not want her hit by a car or getting lost (she is chipped, but that only works if someone checks it)

We do not have an over-sized yard or acreage, just a typical residential city yard. We don’t want to leave her with no room to run and romp with our Brody-boy, but would like to have something that would discourage her from constantly running the street side of the fence. She gets so frenzied wanting to be apart of all the excitement on the other side, if she didn’t get so close in the first place it might help that problem as well. It seems most of these are for wide open spaces where there is no other fencing.

I appreciate your time and thank you for any suggestion/recommendation!

ADMIN – Hi Adora, yes you can definitely attach the wire on the fence with great success. You can set the collar to activate as far back as you would like from the fence up to 10 feet away actually. I would install the wire about the height of the dogs. We find great success when combining a dog fence with a physical fence. This should solve your containment issues immediately.

Terri December 3, 2013 at 12:15 pm

We have a 4 year old yorkie/maltese mix, a 13 year old westie (now deaf and has vision issues as well) and a 3 month old german shepherd. The 2 older dogs aren’t very well trained however the shepherd is showing great promise! Until recently we had our patio area fenced off from the rest of our yard however the addition of a patio cover is creating the need to move a section of that small fence. We were considering an electric fence instead as my husband prefers the open feel without the aluminum fence. Our issues are these….dogs pooping on the patio and dogs jumping on furniture (including the table and stealing dinner if it is unattended). Other issues that our old fence did not address are dogs destroying our flower beds. We also have a pool that has never been a problem however our older dog has now found his way into the pool on 2 separate occasions.

From reading your answers to other folks questions I would think you might recommend either the Yard Max or the Stubborn Dog system but I’m not sure which to choose. I also worry that either might be too strong of a correction for the morkie as she is only about 10 pounds. The shepherd is probably about 15 at the moment but vet says will probably be around 70 pounds full grown…just a guess though. The westie is a very obese 27 pounds…doesn’t move much! What do you think? Should we go with the conventional aluminum fencing we’ve always had or would an electric fence system work? Thanks so much! Your info is the most informative I’ve found! Terri

Catherine Lambert November 30, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Hi – thanks for very helpful website. I live on a 10 acre plot of land. I have a dog – a mix between a NewFoundland and a Labrador and we recently lost a Jack Russell. Since the death of the Jack Russell my big dog has been going up to hang out with my tenant’s dogs and since these dogs are inclined to roam and such I want to contain my dog so he stays around our house. There are trees – I would not call it wooded and there is a gently sloping hill. At the same time the ground is rock hard so burying a wire sounds like penal servitude. What is your recommendation?

ADMIN – Hi Catherine, a wired fence is always preferred over wireless, but if running wire is difficult, you can always first try a wireless fence. The Havahart wireless fence is the best option as it is a rechargeable battery collar and offers up to a 200 foot radius. It is also the most responsive of the wireless fences.

Denny Durgan November 25, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Hello, my wife and I are looking into buying an invisible fence and would like to know what would be the best buy, I have a cocker spaniel and she has a cavachon, both are just over a year old and loves the outdoors, we live in a new subdivision with maybe a 1/4 to 1/2 acre of land, my cocker is around 32 pounds and the cavachon is about 15 pounds. What do you think would be the best buy for these little guys to have so they can enjoy the outdoors without having to be kennel up. Thanks for listening.

ADMIN – Hi Denny, the PetSafe YardMax would be a great fit for the Cocker Spaniel and Cavachon. The collar is small enough to fit dogs 10 lbs and up and only weighs a mere 3 ounces. You can set separate correction levels for each dog which further gives you the ability to customize the fence experience to your specific group of doggies. To cover up to one-third of an acre, 500 feet of wire which comes with the fence will be plenty. If you need up to half an acre then you’ll need to bundle in one additional roll of wire. I highly recommend upgrading to at least the 16 gauge for a durable, long term wire solution.

Amy November 24, 2013 at 6:00 pm

I have 2 Aussies and 1 acre. They are great of we are outside with them they do not leave the yard or run. They will however run up to a person or chase a deer. I have to keep them distracted at night with the light of a flashlight. My older one is not find if strangers. Which do you suggest? We really don’t want to spend an arm and a leg but I’d hate to buy an outside kennel when we have this much yard for them

Kim November 21, 2013 at 9:47 am

I think I’ve figured out which system is right for me, but let me check. I have 3 large ‘rescue’ dogs. One is clearly a German Shepard and the other 2 appear to be a lab mix. The lightest of the 3 is about 55lbs. The lab mixes are very protective of our children and also enjoy running full force towards strangers to bark at them and scare them. I have reservations about whether an underground fence will be enough to keep them in our yard. I’m afraid that nothing will keep them in if they happen to be outside and someone walks down the road (If they’re doing that full force run will it actually stop them before they get through?) We have an acre and a half to fence.

ADMIN – Hi Kim, I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax because they will not be able to run through. Also, with thorough training, you should expect 100% containment. The YardMax collar is sleek, rechargeable and waterproof. You can set separate corrections for each dog. You will need to bundle in an extra 1,000 feet of wire to cover 1.5 acres. We also recommend upgrading to at least 16 gauge wire.

Derrick November 20, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Hello. My wife and I recently built a new home on 1.5 acres of farmland. We have 2 dogs, one is a 4 year old Beagle/Terrier mix (female) that is hyper, but will follow voice commands and not stray off the property. Our other dog is a 6 year old male Beagle. He is stubborn, follows his nose and not our commands. This is new construction, so very few trees or natural barriers, just wide open fields. We would like to fence off approximately one acre of our backyard to allow them to run. Our old home had a 6 foot privacy fence around a small backyard in a subdivision. Currently the dogs are in a 6×10 kennel and we feel horrible, walking them as often as we can, but Winter is here and the early morning walks before work is a struggle! Both dogs weigh between 25-30lbs. What would you recommend for an underground system?

Steve November 19, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Hi Steward

Would you mind giving me your opinion on E fences? I have a britt pup on the way.. and need to prepare for a hyper hunting dog.. No e fence is 100% but which way would you go with these guys. Britts are stubborn and want to hunt 24/7.. I’d hate to have to cut through the driveway for wired fence version so I was thinking Wireless with a stubborn collar.. If you think the wireless 1/2a version is a not strong enough then what way would you suggest.. the stubborn or the auto correction version. FYI I have an acre of land to work with.

Thank you Steve.

Kayla November 17, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Hi, I have never used any of these fencing systems. I reviewed the chart above but I really don’t know much about these. I have a 3 yr pit bull and a 2 yr old lab. Both probably weigh 50 lbs. We live in the country, lots of wooded area, livestock, and back roads around. The pitt used to be a very obedient pet until they started roaming the woods. The lab has never been a good listner. For the past few months they have been disappearing for the entire night. Now they act as if they don’t know they’re being called for when they are in the yard. My question is, what type of fence would be best?

April November 16, 2013 at 1:49 am

Hi, I have a 60 lb. rescue dog that digs out of every fence she has ever come across. She can also climb/jump out of 6 ft. wooden fences. We would like to put up a dog fence that will keep her safe in our back yard. We also have a 10 lb. dog that has learned her bad habit of digging out. What system do you recommend?

Caleb November 15, 2013 at 3:55 pm

Hello, I’m looking to enclose a yard that is about 50 yds x 30yds. I have a 3 yr old rottweiler/pitbull mix that weighs about 60 lbs and a 1 yr old American Staffordshire terrier mix that is about 50 lbs. The yard does have a chain link fence around it but both dogs are athletic enough that they jump the fence and go explore. What system would you recommend?

Kelli Berry November 14, 2013 at 5:51 pm

We have a Blue Heeler puppy who is very smart & very hyper. We have 58 acres for him to run wild. However, I have thought about getting a system so he cant run in the fields to chase deer, as he has started to show signs of. I was curious as to what system is best for this breed of dog?

Amanda November 12, 2013 at 2:32 pm

I have an English Setter who is the world’s friendliest dog…but also a bird hunting dog with his nose in the air or on the ground. We currently have the SD2200 system. The collars only seem to work for about 3 months, then they no longer charge or shock (I can hold them in my hand and not get much of a shock). Our setter runs thru our fence daily…doesn’t hardly stop anymore. We have contacted PetSafe and gotten three new collars (for $40 each) in the last year and a half. Prior to that I purchased a new one…same issues on all of them. He NEEDS to stay in our yard and I am getting desperate! My husband thinks we should look for a new home for him, but we have three young boys who would be heartbroken. Do you have any advice? We have put up the flags, redid the training, etc. But he checks it and as soon as the collars stop correcting him, he is gone. We live in a rural area and have about 3 or 4 acres for him. We have neighbors with horses and cattle and don’t want problems.
HELP!! I need a system that gives him one heck of a shock and then continues to work. We had the underground professionally installed and he used a heavier gauged wire. He came and checked it for us this summer…the wire is fine. Thank you for any help!

ADMIN – Hi Amanda, the SD2200 is a mismatch for an English Setter. That breed of dog should be on the PetSafe Stubborn fence. You can utilize the wire you have already have installed. The Stubborn is suited for guardian dogs and hunting dogs that typically try to ignore the lower correction collars like the SD2200.

Randall Strange November 11, 2013 at 6:11 am

I have adopted a stubborn, aggressive (towards dogs) 6 year old Shar Pei/ Boxer cross. We have a 4ft fence which she can and has jumped. Partitions fence is wood and part is chain. Which system would you recommend and can we attach it to the chain fence?

ADMIN – Hi Randall, I would recommend the PetSafe Stubborn fence. This is a fence you can attach the wire to the physical fence. The fence will keep your dog back around 2 to 3 feet off the fence.

J.D. Schulte November 10, 2013 at 9:02 am

We moved to a home with one of your systems and we are excited to use it for our dogs. The system is the Innotek SD-2000. I am going to get some grass calves and run them in an area that has the wire for the dog fence attached to it along two sides about 300′ in each direction. Will the electric fence I install for the calves on the opposite side of the wood boards interfere with the dog fence signal?

ADMIN – Hi J.D. The electric fence may diminish the dog fence signal some. How much is determined to the proximity of the wire to the electric fence and the overall transmission of the dog fence. The best option is to test and see. You can simply move the dog fence wire further away to avoid this possible issue.

Eliza November 9, 2013 at 2:09 pm

I have a existing electric shock fence to keep deer out of my yard and was planning to put invisible dog fence wire on the same plastic posts. Will the electric fence interfere with my invisible dog fence. If so How far should it be from electric shock fence.

ADMIN – Hi Eliza, the electric fence may diminish the signal some. The best bet is to separate the dog fence wire from the electric around 5 yo 7 feet.

Andrea November 7, 2013 at 4:25 pm

What happens when a dog chooses to run through the barrier? Does it happen often? Is he shocked continuously until he returns to within the boundary? We have 5 acres and a pretty determined border collie mix. Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Andrea, the dog can get stuck on the outside of a traditional dog fence if they run through. On the PetSafe YardMax, they cannot run through. The collar will continue to correct up to 15 seconds no matter how far out they run. Run throughs only happen for two major reasons: 1) the dog has experienced little to no training and 2) the dog’s collar is too loose and therefore is not sending a static correction to the dog. For your Border Collie and acrage, I would recommend the YardMax, upgrade the wire to 16 gauge and order an extra 1,500 feet of 16 gauge to cover your total property. The YardMax collar is a medium to medium strong dog fence collar and should be plenty strong for your Border Collie.

Tami November 5, 2013 at 2:32 pm

We have two stubborn Great Dane’s that have learned that they can bust through weak panels of our old wooden privacy fence. They are obviously quite big dogs and love to bark at anyone and everything that they can see and can be aggressive (excessive barking) until they get to know someone. We are spending a fortune on our new privacy fence, but would like to install an invisible fence also to keep them away from the new fence. I do not want them to even try breaking the new fence. Can the invisible fence be installed directly on our new wooden fence? Also, what system should I use for these big stubborn dogs? Thank you!

ADMIN – Hi Tami, yes, you can absolutely attach the boundary wire to the fence. Dog fences and physical fences work great together. I would recommend the PetSafe Stubborn fence. This fence was designed for your Great Danes.

Jacob November 3, 2013 at 10:49 pm

I have been thinking of getting one of these systems recently. I have a 3 year old Cocker-spanel and a 10 year old golden retriever. Both dogs are runners and I am in need of a system that will keep them in the yard that I have fenced already but they seem to find ways around occasionally. Do you have any suggestions for which system?

Mahala November 3, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Hi,
I have a an 85lb pitbull that I want to be able to let outside, but the house I moved to has a yard (about .2 acres) that is going to be difficult to put an actual fence on, plus I don’t want to obstruct the scenery too much. He’s done really well with the petsafe indoor barriers and won’t attempt to go in to the kitchen even when he’s not wearing the collar, but outside he sometimes likes to chase squirrels and can be reactive to cyclists so I’m not sure the same correction level would work. I was looking at the reviews for the Petsafe YardMax and it appears to be a good system and I saw that it has 5 levels of correction, but do you think I need the Stubborn system for him? I don’t want to get a collar that’s going to be too powerful but at the same time I want it to work and contain him. Also there’s a shepard/akita mix that I’m looking in to adopting and if I don’t get him I plan on adopting another large breed dog sometime in the future. I want a good all around fence system for any dog that I may own.

Garret Weyand November 2, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Is there an electronic fence that can be used just on a front door. I need a fence just stretching 5 feet

Catherine October 31, 2013 at 1:52 pm

Are there any fences that would be suitable for a cat? I live on a busy street and don’t want to risk letting the cat out.

Johnny October 30, 2013 at 11:16 am

Recently adopted a very determined Alaskan malamute. He is a bigger dog, maybe 150 pounds. I have about a 1/4 acre 6′ chain link fenced area and was given the stubborn dog kit for my birthday to attempt to contain our Houdini. Is this unit sufficient? He digs out under the fence. Will this zap him only once while he is in the danger zone or continue to zap until he exits the zone? Any suggestions on installation appreciated to. Should I double up, like one wire a foot or so above the ground and loop it so it runs higher on the fence as well? Thanks in advance

ADMIN – Hi Johnny, yes the Stubborn fence will be perfect for your Malamute and yes, attaching the wire a foot or so up on the fence will work great. This should solve your containment issue immediately.

Doug October 30, 2013 at 12:03 am

I am between an underground invisible fence and the wireless system. I have less than a quarter of an acre and a narrow lot. My problem with the underground system is my cable and phone wires run right along the edge of my property and my neighbors runs on the other side of my yard along his property. If I keep the wires 10 feet from the lines I am going to reduce the width of usable yard for the dog. My lawn is fairly flat. The only obstruction I have in the backyard is a small place set. I’m not sure if I should go with one of the wireless systems due to my cable problem? I wasn’t sure how reliable the wireless system would be? I do not want to do one of the circumferential wireless systems because I have a narrow lot, so I would definitely want to go with the customizable Wireless product. The big question is how big of a deal is it running the the under ground fence parallel to my cable and phone line proximately 5 feet away? How reliable are the wireless systems? Thanks! Doug

ADMIN – Hi Doug, the custom wireless is not being sold by Havahart at this time. The best bet is to go with a wired fence, lay the wire out on the ground and test it. This way you can locate trouble if any and adjust it. You may not receive any interference issues at all.

Tracy October 28, 2013 at 3:09 pm

I have a lab that is 4 months old. We are going to buy Thursday. So I need to make a decision in the next day or so. I’m totally foreign to these things. Our Bo is very smart. He learns commands on the third attempt…but he also had a little stubborn streak. Another concern, is our neighbor’s dog. It is allowed to run free most of the time and I’m worried that bo will follow her into the street. Which system do you suggest?

ADMIN – Hi Tracy, I recommend the PetSafe YardMax. With it’s true run through technology, your lab will not be able to continue pursuit and will turn and retreat. With the YardMax, the signal is continuous on the outside of the loop so there is no boundary to run through.

Samantha October 24, 2013 at 5:40 am

Hi- I have a puppy pit bull who is extremely hyper. His training is going well (he comes when called, understands the word no etc.) however the older he gets the more hyper he gets. He LOVES to run, is getting curious about the road and cars. I have an acre lot and am looking at which fence would be ideal.

ADMIN – Hi Samantha, hyper does not always equate to stubborn. If he exhibits a normal pain reaction from things like accidentally stepping on a paw, then the PetSafe YardMax is ideal. If he has a high pain tolerance like a guardian or hunting dog, you will most definitely need to go with the PetSafe Stubborn. You will need and additional 500 feet of wire and I highly recommend upgrading to at least 16 gauge wire to avoid wire breaks.

John McAdams October 23, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Have a 65 lb. pit bull terrier and a 50 lb. half lab / blue healer. The Pit is a real lover boy, but the blue healer is very aggressive and defensive of our property. However, the Pit doesn’t much care for other dogs from outside his area. And they are no match for him whatsoever. I need a fence strong enough for his strong-willed determination that he won’t run through. The blue healer should respond well to correction. I need a fence that can handle both of them w/o hurting one or the other. We have about 2 acres of area that they play/live in. Recommendations?

ADMIN – Hi John, go with the PetSafe YardMax. It has a medium strong correction strength collar that is not only rechargeable but also allows you set separate correction levels for each collar. I recommend upgrading to at least 16 gauge and you’ll need to add in an additional 1,000 feet of wire to cover your 2 acres.

Tammie Robinson October 23, 2013 at 8:03 pm

I have a red bone coonhound and black lab and they are digging out of their pen. I live on a farm and have a few metal buildings near the house. Will the signal interfere with metal buildings? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Tammie, a wireless fence will experience interference, a wired fence will not if installed properly. For a Red Bone Coonhound, the SportDog SDF100A is highly recommended. You will need the stronger corrections for sure.

Teresa October 23, 2013 at 11:05 am

I recently purchased a house in town, with just under .5 acre I would like to fence, also being able to steer around gardens. I do not currently have a dog but am looking to rescue 2, 1 being a St. Bernard who was already trained on 1 system, maybe petsafe but not certain, and then also an energetic border collie who was found as a stray so quite certain he likes to run (herd, etc). The St. Bernard reportedly likes to bark and has shown some aggression ( growling) at current home which is why they want to re-home. What system would you recommend for that yard and the 2 very different styles of dogs? Is there ever reported interference from other systems if neighbors have one nearby?

ADMIN – Hi Teresa, yes, a neighboring dog fence will create interference issues. If your neighbor has a dog fence, you will need to purchase the Perimeter Tech Ultra which can switch frequencies to avoid interference. For your future St. Bernard and Collie, the PetSafe YardMax is a great match. The collar contains a medium to medium strong correction but is also small and light. You can set separate correction levels for each collar which is perfect in this scenario considering the size and temperament differences of each dog.

Judy Epstein October 21, 2013 at 5:46 pm

I have a 4 year old, 30 pound terrier mix who does want to please me. Up until 2 months ago she lived in a very remote area, 1/2 mile from roads or other houses. We just moved into a small village setting and there are many people and dogs walking by our house. She does not like small dogs and is leash aggressive and protective. She has attacked a small dog when hiking off leash with no damage done to either. She does well tied out, but I would like to fence in about 1/4 acre for her. She is also responding to a shock collar when seeing another dog while walking on leash. What would you recommend?

ADMIN – Hi Judy, with the run through prevention provided by the YardMax, it is really difficult to beat this fence. Your aggressive dog will not be able to run through the fence and will have no choice but to retreat. The collar is small and light as well but offers a medium to medium strong correction. It is an appropriate correction strength and size for your terrier.

Denise October 19, 2013 at 9:38 pm

We have just adopted two pocket beagles. They are a year old. One is seven pounds and one is fifteen. The larger dog is very stubborn and will take off if he see’s a squirrel. We live in the middle of a wooded area so they are going to see a lot of animals. What system would you recommend that would work for both of them? We would like a wireless system if possible.

ADMIN – Hi Denise, I would recommend the PetSafe Inground PIG00-13661 for your two pocket beagles. The collar that comes with that unit will fit the larger beagle nicely. Then I would collar the 7 lb beagle with the PetSafe Little Dog collar. There is not a wireless fence option that will work with dogs under 12 lbs.

Diane October 13, 2013 at 10:37 am

We have rescued 2 puppies that appear to be hound/German shepherd mix. I am primarily interested in keeping them out of my flower garden, which has become their new playground! Our yard has a 5 ft fence which should be adequate to keep them confined. Thanks so much!

Jean October 12, 2013 at 12:07 pm

One year ago we adopted a very gentle 40 lb rescue dog–a 3 year old English Springer Spaniel mix (probably mixed with a little border collie, yet she she doesn’t have any of those instincts). She ran away from her first adopted parents and lived in the woods for 6 weeks. Thus, we keep her on a leash every time we go out. She has been very trainable. One nasty winter of going out with her on a leash for potty breaks was enough! We would now like to be able to let her out on her own, for business or pleasure. (She loves being outdoors.)

Our front yard is a bit smaller than a half acre. The back yard is the same size and on a lake. In addition, there is an in ground pool (now closed for the winter) in the back yard. Despite being a springer, she does not like water and has never showed interest in the pool or lake (or getting baths). I don’t see any need to treat the pool any differently than the yard.

What system do you recommend? I have heard GPS systems might be worth considering. Are they the same as the wireless ones?

Thanks.

Stormie October 11, 2013 at 1:36 am

I have a female long hair German shepherd, she’s about a year in a half old. She is very smart but stubborn at the same time. She continues to get out and runs off. I live on about an acre, what is the best system to get her in.

Linda October 10, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Our son recently purchased 6 acre`s along a busy state road. He has a stubborn female black lab who loves to chase birds and squirrels and is very fast; and a female pit bull mix. We want to keep them off the road and out of the fields surrounding the acreage. We’re thinking underground fence, but with so many choices we don’t want to spend big bucks to get something that isn’t right for these dogs. Combines and tractors in the field will also be attractions to them both. Recommendations?

LB October 10, 2013 at 3:44 pm

I’m looking to move into a home that already has an Invisible Fence brand fence installed, but the owner will be taking everything but the wire with them — the box, collars, etc. when they move. Do you know if I must get an IF brand box and collar (if that’s even possible) or do I have the option to use another transmitter and collar? I have a 22 lb french bulldog, if a certain brand is better for frenchies than others. Thank you for your help!

Mary October 8, 2013 at 9:19 am

We have two beautiful and energetic Llewellin Setters. I have read that female Lewellyn’s don’t do well with invisible fences, however we are renting a house and putting up a full blown fence may not be an option. Our female is extremely fast and loves to run on the road – causing great anxiety for us and danger for her. I’m very confident that an invisible fence will work great for our male, but I’m not sure about our feisty female. Do you have any experience and/or suggestions about keeping our girl safe? Thanks so much!

ADMIN – Hi Mary, two thoughts: one, with good training you should be able to successfully train and contain the feisty female and two, the PetSafe YardMax is highly recommended because your dogs will not be able to run through the signal. With the YardMax, the signal extends indefinitely.

jennifer October 7, 2013 at 11:47 am

Hi, I have a 3 yr old german shepherd about 70 pounds. He has issue with guys and likes to run up to people with dogs walking by. We just bought a house on a 1/3 of a acre, so our neighbors are close. There is so many systems out there and i have no clue what one to use. And i would like a rechargeable collar. He also barks a lot. I was thinking either sportdog or stubborn dog. we do live by a busy road. What is the correction as in if the dog gets through the fence, do it continue to correct or is it when he gets out he is out? please help

ADMIN – Hi Jennifer, the PetSafe YardMax is the perfect solution for your German Shepherd. One, the signal extends indefinitely beyond the wire, so your dog cannot run through the fence and two, the system is rechargeable. Also, the collar is a medium to medium/strong collar which will also be a great fit for your dog.

Sandi October 7, 2013 at 7:55 am

My dad has a 25-30 lbs very strong male Beagle who climbs his fence/hedge and gets out. My dad has tried to add additional fencing on top and various ways to prevent him getting out of the yard but nothing has worked. We have to keep him contained as it is not a safe area for him to be out on the road and the last thing we need is a stolen/dead dog or a deer killed. My parents are older and instillation is a concern if it is too difficult. Can you recommend a system.

ADMIN – Hi Sandi, I would recommend the SportDog fence. This should provide an immediate solution for your parents. Once attached to the physical fencing, it will immediately solve the containment issue.

valerie October 7, 2013 at 6:29 am

Hi, there! I have two Black-and-Tan Coonhounds mixed with Chow maybe and a six-month old Beagle. The Coonhounds are very stubborn and can be aggressive (only in bark) to strangers until they’re familiar, at which point you can’t escape because they demand tons of love and attention. The little Beagle is just a hyper, happy little spaz. They will have an area of about two acres to roam in the back yard. What do you recommend? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Valerie, I would strongly recommend the SportDog SDF100A. It is designed the type of Coonhounds you describe. It has the stronger correction levels that hunting dogs need to get their attention. With the smaller beagle, you can simply set the correction on the lower level. With 2 acres, I recommend upgrading to 14 gauge wire. The system comes with 1,000 feet. You will need to add one additional roll of wire to cover up to 2 acres.

Mike October 6, 2013 at 5:31 pm

We have a 2 acre waterfront home and a 6 month old Newfoundland pup. He’s very intelligent and sticks close to home. However, we live near a busy road (driveway is about 500 feet long) so want to keep him safe without confining him to a dog run.

We need a collar/fence that can do the following,
- Waterproof
- Suitable for extra large breed dogs (he will be ~175 – 200 lbs)
- Able to handle harsh Canadian winters
- Rechargeable

They Innotek/PetSafe UltraSmart IUC 5100 had great reviews. However, I’m unsure how it would hold up with 4-5 feet of snow and ice piled on top. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Kevin October 6, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Hi,
I have a 10 month old 45 pound hound/lab pup. I have 1 acre I’m looking to fence in for her. I live in the suburbs and have neighbors about 50 feet on both sides of my property. She does get excited when she sees people and wants to go say hi. What type of fence would you recommend? Thank you.

Brenda October 4, 2013 at 7:34 pm

I have a jack russel mix. She can jump high. We were set to put in a regular fence but didn’t want a 6′ fence so we are looking to buy a invisible fence. I am cautious because she loves to chase squirrels and bunnies and we have a lot of them. Will this stop her from chasing animals?
And if so, which fence would you suggest. We have a double city lot.

Tom Runyon October 4, 2013 at 1:41 pm

I have two dogs, (daschund/lab mix) small – med – 20-30 lbs and I am looking for your best recommendation on fence and wire. I want good quality wire to enclose 3/4 of a 1.2 acre lot. Lot has few trees and we are up on a hill. These dogs are pretty laid back so I am looking for best value/ performance as possible. Would appreciate couple of recommendations to include wire guage.

Thanks,
Tom

tim October 3, 2013 at 9:15 pm

i’m thinking of the ultra smart system but don’t llike the rubberize collar can i replace it with a cloth collar for my two dogs i also read that the ultra smart system has different frequencies because i live near an air force base.

ADMIN – Hi Tim,

You can replace the collar on the Ultrasmart, the old rubber collar is held in place by two pins that can simply be unscrewed. But, to replace is with a cloth collar requires you to get a custom made collar that has loops that will accommodate those two pins (i.e. you can’t use a regular collar from a pet store).

The ultrasmart does not have multiple frequencies. If you need that, feature, the Perimeter Ultra system is the one to get. (I haven’t heard of anyone having issues with fences getting interference from aviation equipment)

Barb October 2, 2013 at 12:43 pm

I’m looking at the top two Yard Safe wired fences for our 8 month old white Lab. She is used to a training collar and “wants to please her people”. We have 30 acres of rocky land with steep ravines and hills, but we would only give her a 10 acre range. I plan on using the existing fence, plus stapling the wire on top of the ground as trenching is not an option. First question is how does the wire hold up under the intense Southern New Mexico sun? We also have a paved driveway, so how do you wire across a driveway? Thank you for this great site.

ADMIN – Hi Barb, For wire that will hold up to the sun in New Mexico, we highly recommend upgrading to 14 gauge wire. It is professional grade and will last. I would recommend the SportDog for a collar to fit your lab and also get a strong transmitter to cover ten acres of 14 gauge wire. You can upgrade the wire in the box to 14 gauge and add an additional 2,000 feet of wire to cover 10 acres total. With driveways, we push the wire into a seam. If you have asphalt, your best option is to cut across it.

Jessie October 2, 2013 at 5:23 am

Can I put up an invisible electric fence if I live in a trailer. I heard that they won’t work around metal. I have an 80 pound Malamute and a 60 pound Catahoula Leopard dog. Both have gentle nature’s but the Malamute likes to travel and has a drive to hunt. The Catahoula will follow him. For ten years they have roamed free at my 6 acre cabin place

ADMIN – Hi Jessie, if you use twisted wire to come out of the wall transmitter that travels at least 15 feet from your trailer, you should okay. The PetSafe Stubborn would be a good fit for your Malamute and Catahoula.

Chuck October 1, 2013 at 1:00 am

My wife and I have 2 very high energy german shorthaired pointers. Lately we’ve been having a problem with them getting out of the yard. We have been thinking about installing a system and would love a recommendation. Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Chuck, for hunting breeds like the German Shorthairs we recommend the SportDog SDF-100A. Also, combining this fence with a physical fence is highly effective and should stop the escaping instantly.

mike September 27, 2013 at 1:02 pm

Hi, so I currently have a problem with my 35lb beagle mix. Our back yard is fenced but one side needs to be repaired. However it had been over a yr and the neighbours and we will put up a fence once they take it down but for the time being our 1 yr old dog had been getting loose. She’s super quick and once she’s out she doesn’t listen to anyone. I’m considering getting some type of electric fence but for obvious reasons I don’t want to spend too much. What do you suggest we should get in terms of an electric fence to keep her contained until the fence gets fixed. is in ground better or wireless?

Briana September 27, 2013 at 11:35 am

I am adopting a Great Dane puppy. I need a fencing system that will fit (collar) as she grows and best suit the needs of this breed. I live in a neighborhood off main roads. I need a deterrent for squirrels, cats and other smaller dogs so I can keep my puppy within my property lines. This dog has never experienced electric fences before. I do have about 1/2 acre (max) of backyard with a partial fence on the back and neighbors fences on either side. However, my property allows for good size gaps and open areas between my land and where my neighbors fences start. I would like to be able to let my dog outside to play while I am home or in the mornings while I get ready. Which brand would you recommend?

Abigail September 22, 2013 at 9:01 pm

Hi, I’m really hoping you can help me. I have 3 dogs, 2 of them are in a fence. The dog that roams free is about 12 years old give or take, he goes crazy if put in a fence or tied up. He is a laid back dog but likes to go to the neighbors during storms. The 2 in the lot are around 3 and 2 years old. One of them like to chase cars and will follow all the way to the end of the road. The other one likes to kill chickens for fun. Our chicken coop can not withstand her determination. Two of my neighbors have chickens and some goats and cows and I worry that my dogs might go to their house and not return. All three dogs like to go across the road to a cow pasture. I want them to be able to have more room to run but I’m worried they would take the shock to get out anyway. None of them have had any training what so ever. I would roughly guess that they weigh around 30 – 50lbs. They would have less than an ace. Your recommendation and advise will be greatly appreciated.

vicki September 22, 2013 at 8:05 am

My dog trainer recommended the Dogtra system, but I see you have given it an average review. He uses the Dogtra system for hand held correction and says it is professional grade.
I am looking at fencing 6 acres and crossing a shallow creek twice. I have two dogs, a Pit and Lab.
Suggestions?
Thanks Vicki

jon September 21, 2013 at 6:31 pm

we have a 15 month old border terrier and am looking at installing a petsafe ultra smart, am comparing it to a PAC electric fence kit, which fence would you recommend, the dog has quite a thick coat.

Karen September 20, 2013 at 11:41 am

We adopted an Australian Queensland mix with an age of apprpximately 2 years. That is the description on his paperwork and the veternarian said he had some blue heeler in him.His markings are somewhat like a heeler’s and he definitely has the energy of one – very HIGH. We have worked with him on a shock collar with no in-ground fencing and he does quite well (very smart and trains easily), as long as I’m outside keeping an eye on him. When I have left him outside alone with the older dog, he gets away through the wooded area (which surrounds three sides of our house) and goes down the street to explore, which makes me having to retrieve him. I immediately go and retrieve him, as I check on him every 10 minutes, but one neighbor rudely reprimanded me for my dog being out. We live where the neighbors DO NOT like other dogs in their yard (can’t blame them) and I need to go ahead and put an in-ground system in so I can be assured that he won’t leave the yard. We have a large pen for him and our older dog to stay while I am not outside, but I feel guilty when I’m inside or shopping, etc. leaving him in the pen when he has so much energy. I probably should have given it more thought before we adopted him. He really needs to be on a ranch with cattle or sheep to herd and run off all that energy. We need approximately 1,000 feet of in-ground wire to encompass the area. Can you recommend the best system, pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeze. Thank you.

Janet September 19, 2013 at 10:07 pm

Hello, we have had new neighbors move into the property adjacent to ours and our three dogs are going onto their property bothering them. Previously we did not have neighbors so the dogs were accustomed to running freely over 100+ acres. The largest dog is 8 years old, she is a Malamute mix and weighs 120 pounds. The smallest is a 3-year-old, medium sized, female lab/rottweiler mix. Our 1-year-old, uncut male, is large, and also a lab/rottweiler mix. We have 5 acres that is heavily wooded but would probably try to only fence 2 acres. We have a long daily commute and are away from home for about 11 hours each day. This crisis is happening at a particularly difficult time for us financially, so we would appreciate any advice regarding the most affordable system for our circumstances. Thank you very much for your time!!

Jim September 19, 2013 at 1:04 pm

I recently installed the Pet-Smart system recommended above.
The training went very quickly with my two new golden retriever pups.
They learned in three days instead of three weeks and only got correct two or three times. By the third day they stayed about 5 feet from the flags at all times , no matter what . Of course we still have the flags up after the first week. We plan on removing every other flag next week and continue that pace until they are all gone.
(note: our system is on a privacy fence in order to keep them out of the flower beds that surround the yard against the fence. We don’t have the fear of them getting out.

This is a great system !

Karen September 18, 2013 at 11:05 am

Good Morning. We have a Deutsch-Drahthaar, similar to a German Wirehaired Pointer. He about 70lbs and a determined hunter. We live on an acre plus lot outside of town and he will usually stick close to home. Our difficulty comes in the form of another Draht living across the street from us. On occasion he will disregard our commands and run over to play. This is not a problem unless the occasional car passes, for which he has no fear. He has also not had a true test yet of following command with a rabbit or a cat, which are his absolute favorite to chase. Which fencing system would you recommend? We currently use a sportdog collar for training / hunting.
Thank you

MELANIE September 17, 2013 at 12:45 pm

I am looking to find either a wireless or inground fence for my 2 dogs. We are moving in town and have a very small yard that is landscaped. The dogs are a 100 lb Doberman and a 70 lb German Shepherd/Greyhound mix rescue. She likes to escape and she is super fast and we will be living off a heavily traveled street through town (35 mph zone). The Dobie is very stubborn, he currently has a shock collar for correction at times. i am curious if we should stick with inground and not the wireless. Also, we are surrounded by drives. Meaning there are basically 4 front yards with an alley on one side, the main road on another, a parking area in the rear with a drive and a rental and barber drive on the last side. We could keep the dogs in the small grassed area but I was looking at the wireless one due to all the concrete surrounding us.

Beckey September 15, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Hello there!
We have a 3/4 acre lot with a black lab/maybe dachsund (??) mix dog. She is only 4 months old, but so far seems very easily corrected. Our neighbors currently have 3 dogs on the Petsafe Inground system, one of the dogs with the stubborn dog collar. I am interested in buying the Petsafe Ultrasmart system for our yard but I am worried that there will be problems with the two systems interfering with each other. I would estimate that our houses are 150 – 160 feet apart but we would want to bury the wire for our fence about 10 feet from where their wire is buried. Do you think that there would be any problems with this?

I saw the Perimeter Ultra fence that had a dual frequency transmitter but I really wanted a rechargeable dog collar if possible.
Thank you so much in advance for your advice!

Lisa September 14, 2013 at 1:08 pm

I really appreciate this site and all the comments. I tried to compare my situation & questions with others on the site, but wasn’t 100% comfortable, so thought I would ask. I am moving to a new location in which the yard is 1/2-3/4 of an acre. I have three dogs 2 labs (8 years old) and a golden retriever (10 years old). They are all three between 60-70 pounds, and none are particularly aggressive. None have ever experienced a correction collar of any kind as I have always had a fenced yard. I can not have a physical fence at this new location and was looking for an alternative, and the wired fence seems like a good choice. From the reviews, I think the PetSafe Stubborn because of their size? or maybe the Ultrasmart? They are quite different. Also, will either support 3 collars at once – which is a must. Would either be your recommendation, or something different. I appreciate your time.

JEN September 13, 2013 at 2:19 pm

We have a yorkie mix (6.5lbs) and a new puppy that will be much larger (parents were 60-100lbs) supposed to be primarily lab/american bulldog mix. We live in a rural area on 7 acres but would fence a much smaller area as I don’t want the dogs going into the areas fenced for livestock. Probably less than 1 acre. The yorkie is good most of the time but occasionally likes to run off and explore. Too soon to tell about the puppy.

ADMIN – Hi Jen, for this mix, you will need to purchase the PetSafe Little Dog and add in either the PetSafe Rechargeable collar PIG00-13737 or the PetSafe Stubborn Collar PRF27519. You will need to add in one additional roll of wire to cover up to 1 acre. We do recommend to also upgrade the wire to at least 16 gauge to avoid the wire breaks caused by roots and adverse weather.

Gary September 13, 2013 at 10:43 am

HI! I have a 70lb 6 month old black lab . I currently have a 1/2 acre lot. I am needing a recommendation on which fence to get. Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Gary, with black labs, it’s best to go with the PetSafe Stubborn. Black Labs can be known to have high tolerance against corrections. For a 1/2 acre, add an additional roll of wire and I recommend upgrading to 16 gauge for a strong wire.

John September 11, 2013 at 10:43 pm

We just adopted a medium size dog that looks to be a Russell Terrier. He is 1.5 years old, weighs about 45 lbs. and stands about 24 inches to the top of his shoulders. He has a very high energy level. He runs and jumps a lot! We plan on getting him into an obedience school soon. We have a normal sized city lot 140 x 80 and am looking for a recommendation for a wired fence system. I would like to get one in the next few days and install it this weekend.

ADMIN – Hi John, I would recommend the PetSafe Stubborn for your Terrier. The collar may be slightly bulky, but at 45 lbs, he is going to need the higher corrections available on this fence. The fence comes with 500 feet of wire which will plenty for your property. You may want to buy a roll of twisted wire since you’ll need almost the whole 500 feet for your boundary loop.

Rae September 11, 2013 at 3:41 am

Hi there, figured I’d toss out my own question to the friendly admins! My family has a very friendly, very fluffy 38 pound Aussie Shepherd. He’s fairly timid and listens well when we tell him to stop chasing the bunnies or ducks that come visit us, and usually any corrections we need to make can be achieved with a strong voice and little else, but everything goes out the window when a dog is around. Four times now he has darted out of our yard, and even across the street to go greet someone else’s pet on their walk. No amount of calling or scolding seems to stick with him, it’s like he forgets why he is in trouble as soon as I grab his collar and start moving back to the house! The last dog was not so kind about being ran up and surprise sniffed (I don’t blame him at all, I’d be upset too!). So, now we’re looking into invisible fencing to keep him (and others) safe from unfriendly encounters or cars. My question is what kind of fence would you recommend? He’s usually so timid I would think we don’t need much since a strong scolding leaves him giving us the side eye for hours, but considering he zeroes in on making a new friend and ignores us completely, I’m at a bit of a loss.

ADMIN – Hi Rae, I would recommend the PetSafe Ultrasmart PIG00-13619 for it’s middle of the road correction strength. Start with the lowest correction setting and only increase it if he continues to challenges the boundary. Otherwise, this slim, rechargeable collar should be the correct fit for your Aussie.

Susan J. September 9, 2013 at 11:51 am

We have a 4 year old rescue dog that turned out to be mostly Chow. She has long fur around her neck area. She is 55 lbs., very protective and dominant. Unfortunately, she will run beyond our property and bark pretty aggressively at people walking by. She is not good with other dogs. We have about two acres we would like to contain her in (along with addressing her dominance). What is your suggestion for e-fencing?

ADMIN – Hi Susan, for aggressive breeds, we recommend the PetSafe Stubborn dog. You will need the higher levels of correction this fence offers.

John September 8, 2013 at 4:38 pm

I have a 140 lb ‘plush’ coated Shiloh Shepherd who is friendly yet, naturally, scares strangers because of his appearance. We are moving into a house that is on a little over 2 acres of land with another house on one side and a wooded park on the other. The land is sloped with many hills, very heavily wooded and has various creeks running through it. We are looking for a fence that will keep him from wandering into the park and onto the neighbors land. Can a wireless fence be used on such terrain? Thank you for your help.

ADMIN – Hi John, the terrain and your Shiloh make a wireless fence not a good option. I would recommend going with the PetSafe Stubborn, which is designed for dogs over 100 pounds.

melissa September 6, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Hi, Thanks for such useful information. I have an 80 pound Porty. He’s a bit stubborn but with his social butterfly and curious side, he wants to meet everyone and everything. I currently use a correction collar and he responds well. I just bought the house. My lot size is 27326 sq feet (about 1/2 an acre) but i don’t plan to fence off the entire area, just the backyard. My street is just off the highway and people drive up the street quite fast. I don’t want to block off my entire yard with a fence. What type of in-ground fencing would you recommend?

ADMIN – Hi Melissa, if your Porty responds to medium level corrections, then the PetSafe Ultrasmart is the fence. If you need stronger corrections, then go with the PetSafe Stubborn. You can create a partial yard boundary by running the wire along the back fence and run the wire up into the gutters. Or, you can simply wrap the wire around the house. The fence comes with 500 feet of wire which should cover the roughly 1/4 acre you plan to contain.

AARON KRULIK September 5, 2013 at 9:56 am

HI, WE HAVE A VERY ACTIVE 1 1/2 YEAR OLD, 23 POUND PUG WHO LIKES NOTHING BETTER THEN RUNNING TOWARDS THE STREET. WE HAVE A HALF ACRE OF PROPERTY AND I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT OUR BEST DOG FENCE OPTION WOULD BE? THANK YOU

ADMIN – Hi Aaron, for a 23 lb pug, he’ll do great on the PetSafe Ultrasmart PIG00-13619 fence. For a half acre, add one additional roll of wire.

Charlie September 5, 2013 at 8:24 am

Remember folks, this list is all about do-it-yourself basic residential grade product! You can spend $100 or $1000- and the quality level doesnt go up very much. I learned the hard way. Right out of my wallet. Finally my wife said why didnt i do it right the first time and have a PROFESSIONAL install it. So i called my vet, checked with the BBB, and Angie’s List- all were consistent with one company -Invisible Fence BRAND. I paid about $1400 to cover just over an acre and got their smallest collar for our bichon. It has been fantastic. You get what you pay for.

Theresa September 3, 2013 at 8:16 am

We have a 1-year-old Pomeranian. He is about 13 pounds and full of energy most of the time. Our yard is about 3/4 acre. What system would work best?

ADMIN – Hi Theresa, I would recommend the PetSafe Ultrasmart PIG00-13619. Your Pom is big enough to wear the slim, rechargeable collar. You will need one additional roll of wire to cover 3/4 of an acre. 16 gauge upgrade is recommended.

Stephanie September 1, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Help, please??? I am looking to get my son a German shepherd puppy, and the Pet Safe Stubborn seems to be the recommendation for such breed, but if I’m starting with a puppy and training at this young age, do I need such a strong system? He will have about 1/4 acre to have as his own and I will add the indoor system as I hope to make his “home” the kitchen and living room only. I wish to purchase and install this before we get the new family member. Input??

ADMIN – Hi Stephanie, yes I would recommend the Stubborn fence for your German Shepherd pup. You can start with the warning only training and move to the lowest correction setting. The Indoor radio fence is what you need for this fence.

Benny September 1, 2013 at 6:33 pm

We bought a new house on 1.4 acres and have two little yorkie’s. The 7 year old is 80% blind and doesn’t like to be outside anyways. So when he does his business, he wants back in. The 5 year old is a runner and likes to run our (current) fenced in yard to scare the birds or rabbits. But she comes right back in when you call her. More concerned with the 5 year old female, we currently let her out for 20-40 min at a time and don’t worry about her. We would like to put in a wireless or underground fence to use with them. I would like to do it only on 3 sides of the dwelling so I don’t have to go through the gravel driveway. But would do it all sides if better. Just need so advice, seems like 50 different options. Thanks Benny

Debbie August 29, 2013 at 6:49 am

I have a 4 yr old, 51 lb Siberian Husky, who has had a large privacy fenced yard to play in. The house we are moving to the yard is much smaller and drops to a small pond. I would like to allow her to have more roaming front to back. A wired unit may interfere with mowing here in the south and become damage prone. Though that may not be the case in front of the pond… what would you recommend? Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Debbie, all you need to avoid damaging the wire is a create a small 2-3 slit in the ground to place the wire into and cover up. You can accomplish this with a quality lawn edger. If you do not have the option to bury, you can alternatively weed eat the planned boundary down to the dirt. Then use lawn staples to pin the wire tight to the ground. The grass will grow over and it your lawnmower will not be able to damage it. A Husky has a low correction tolerance, so the PetSafe Ultrasmart is a great choice.

Robert August 25, 2013 at 10:50 pm

Hello, I have an 8 year old female beagle, very sweet and friendly, but wonders off if not fenced like all beagles tend to do. Right now my yard is fenced and we have been living here for about 7 years. Moving to a new house without a fence on the front and back of the house only since neighbors on left and right have fences. Shes about 25lbs. What system do you recommend considering that shes 8 and always was in a fenced in yard…thank you

ADMIN – Hi Robert, for a 25 lb Beagle, the PetSafe Ultrasmart is a great fit for collar and dog. It’s slim and rechargeable. I would recommend simply enclosing the property with a perimeter loop. This is the most simple solution that will achieve creating boundaries on two opposite ends from each other.

Karen August 24, 2013 at 10:29 pm

We are getting an 18 month old spayed yellow lab. Very sweet girl, but very friendly and social and loves to follow the car down the road. We live on 2 acres. Which fence would you recommend?

ADMIN – Hi Karen, for a sweet but friendly lab, the PetSafe Ultrasmart will offer the appropriate correction strength and not overwhelm her. The collar is sleek and rechargeable as well. It’s recommended to upgrade to at least 16 gauge wire and then bundle in an additional 1,000 feet to cover up to 2 acres.

Shane Gibson August 22, 2013 at 4:11 pm

I have two golden doodles (1 yr 3 months old) with about 3/4 acre yard in a subdivision and need to determine the appropriate system to install.

ADMIN – Hi Shane, Golden Doodles do well on a number of dog fences. The slim, rechargeable PetSafe Ultrasmart is our favorite system to pair with Golden Doodles. We recommend upgrading to at least 16 gauge for break-proof wire and add in an extra 500 feet to cover up to 1 acre.

Lindsey August 22, 2013 at 11:58 am

Hi, I have a Boston terrier that is about 25 lbs and a bloodhound that is about 65 lbs. We would like to get a wireless gps fence for them to cover approx. 3-4 acres. Or is the in-ground our only option? We really don’t want any wires. Any suggestions?

ADMIN – Hi Lindsey, the GPS has the largest collar we sell. It is a whopping 10 oz while the next collar down is 4 oz. It will not fit your Terrier for sure. The best wireless solution for range is the Havahart Radial wireless fence that will cover up to 2 acres.

Lorene August 21, 2013 at 11:35 am

We have a 5-month old gordon setter and live on 4 acres – woods + meadows. What would be best for us? Are the wires underground? How difficult to install ourselves? Are there services to help us install? Just talked with the Invisible Fence representative who said that most of the copper wiring would be just laid on top of the ground. Their price is terribly expensive for just laying wiring on the ground.

ADMIN – Hi Lorene, a Gordon Setter would do well on the several systems. We recommend the PetSafe Ultrasmart PIG00-13619 (slim, rechargeable), but you could also go with the SportDog SDF100A (bigger collar) or the PetSafe Inground PIG00-13661 (much cheaper, but with proprietary collar battery). You can locate local dog fence installers and/or local handymen to get quotes for installation. The latter will be much cheaper. You can pin it to the ground with lawn staples or bury it. And yes, Invisible Fence is exorbitant. The high cost does not end with the install either. Any changes, repairs go through them and they charge plenty for every instance cause there is no service warranty.

Susan F. August 21, 2013 at 10:46 am

We have a 1 yr old Corgi who is full of energy and has 40 acres to run around on. Our property is a rectangle, with the road being on the East, and the neighbors house on the South. Recently she has discovered the road ( we live up on a hill and the road is at the bottom of the drive way). She will frequently run down there to greet cars and passers by, and then often run to the neighbors if anybody is out. She is very friendly, so she goes where there are people. If you call her and she’s on her ‘mission’ she will not come back, but keep on running, because she knows once she comes back, all fun is over. We are going to get a fencing unit, part of it will be buried (where it crosses the driveway) and the other will probably be attached to the barbed wire fence that is there for cattle. She only gets out of the yard on those 2 sides, because that is where you can see other people if they are outside. On the rest of the property, she minds you when she is called and stays close by. We also have a few ponds that she loves to swim in. What type of system do you recommend for a 20- 25 pound dog? We would like to have about 500-800 ft of fence. Is it able to be submerged in water? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Susan, Yes, it can be submerged in water. In order to accomplish your layout you will want to utilize what we call the single-sided layout. Now you can shape it to be an “L” so that you can contain your Corgi from leaving to the East and South. You can see the Singled-sided layout by visiting the Planning/Layouts page located on the Installation tabs drop down menu. For your Corgi, I would recommend the slim and rechargeable PetSafe Ultrasmart PIG00-13619.

Leave a Comment