Dog Fence Reviews

This section reviews and compares the DIY dog fence systems. We review systems by Innotek, SportDog, PetSafe, Perimeter Technologies and Humane Contain. The comparison chart below summarizes our findings. Click on the model name or use the navigation menu of the left for a more detailed review of each system.

In Ground Dog Fence Reviews Wireless Dog Fence Reviews Dog Fence Recommendations

 

Dog Fence DIY Logo PetSafe
YardMax
PIG00-11115
PetSafe
Ultrasmart
PIG00-13619
Innotek
IUC-5100
PetSafe
Little Dog
PIG00-10773
SportDog
SDF-100A
Rating Excellent" Excellent" Good Good Good
Reliability Excellent Excellent Excellent Good Excellent
Rechargeable Yes Yes Yes No No
Correction Levels 5 3 3 4 5
Battery Backup No Yes Yes No No
Capacity 10 acres 25 acres 25 acres 25 acres 100 acres
Other Notes
  • Anti-run-through
  • Small collar
  • Pod compatibility
  • Slimline collar
  • Collar fit
  • Pod compatibility
  • Remote trainer
  • Collar Fit
  • Pod compatibility
  • Smallest collar
  • Lower correction
  • Collar compatibility
  • Highest capacity
  • 1,000 ft wire
  • Most waterproof
Image
Price $259.95 $299.95 $339.95 $269.95 $239.95
Full Review PetSafe YardMax
full review
PetSafe Ultrasmart
full review
Innotek IUC-5100
full review
PetSafe Little
full review
SportDog SDF-100A
full review

 

Dog Fence DIY Logo PetSafe
Inground PIG00-13661
PetSafe
Stubborn PIG00-10777
Perimeter
Ultra PTPCC200
Dogtra

EF-3000
Dogtek
EF-4000
Rating Good Good Good Good Good
Reliability Good Good Good Good Good
Rechargeable No No No Yes No
Correction Levels 4 5 1/3 5 8
Battery Backup No No No No No
Capacity 5 acres 10 acres 5 acres 40 acres 2.5 acres
Other Notes
  • Cheapest PetSafe
  • Best budget fence
  • Collar compatibility
  • Strong correction
  • Collar vibration
  • Collar compatibility
  • Dual frequency
  • Low interference
  • Soft contacts
  • 18 gauge wire
  • Older system
  • Custom boundary
  • Small collar
  • Cheapest Dogtek
Image
Price $159.95 $204.95 $159.95 to $204.95 $249.95 $149.95
Full Review PetSafe PIG00-13661
full review
PetSafe Stubborn
full review
Perimeter Ultra
full review
Dogtra EF-3000
full review
Dogtek EF-4000
full review

 

Dog Fence DIY Logo Innotek
SD-2100
Innotek
SD-3000
Innotek
SD-2000
Humane
Contain
Smart Dog
HT-023
Rating Good Good Good Good Good
Reliability Good Good Good Poor Poor
Rechargeable Yes No No No No
Correction Levels 3 1 1 3 1
Battery Backup Yes No No Yes No
Capacity 25 acres 5 acres 5 acres 100 acres 1 acre
Other Notes
  • Cheapest rechargeable
  • NiMH battery
  • Cheapest remote trainer
  • Cheapest reliable system
  • Works with auto dog door
  • Cheapest dog fence
Image
Price $209.95 $179.95 $119.95 $99.95 $49.95
Full Review Innotek SD-2100
full review
Innotek SD-3000
full review
Innotek SD-2000
full review
Humane Contain
full review
Smart Dog HT-023
full review

 

In Dog Fence Ground Reviews Wireless Dog Fence Reviews Dog Fence Recommendations

 

In Dog Fence Ground Reviews Wireless Dog Fence Reviews Dog Fence Recommendations

Our Most Popular Pages

dog fence reviews ~ dog fence jumping ~ dog fence wire ~ ef3000 gold ~ wifi dog fence ~ innotek sd 2000 reviews ~ best electric dog fence ~ petsafe wireless fence ~ petsafe prf 304w ~ sport dog sdf 100A ~ dog electric fence underground ~ wireless fence review ~ petsafe pig00 10773 ~ sd 2100 ~ dogtek ~ prf 3004w ~ stapling dog fence wire ~ wire trencher ~ dog fence installation ~ smart dog fence ~ dog training fence ~ perimeter dog fence

{ 637 comments… read them below or add one }

April April 23, 2014 at 10:03 am

Hi, I have an almost 8 month old Cockapoo. She only weighs about 11 lbs right now. She stays with us for the most part but we have to have all our attention on her all the time or she will wonder. I live close to a road so looking for a good fence to keep her in when she doesn’t always have my 100% attention. There are so many fences out there I just don’t know which would work best. I have about 600 feet to cover.

ADMIN – Hi April, with her size, I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax. It is a great fit for dogs 11 lbs and up. If, however, she is timid, I would recommend going with the PetSafe Little Dog fence.

mary April 22, 2014 at 1:40 am

Can I upgrade the wire on an innotek sd-2000 to 16 gauge using the same transmitter and adapter?

ADMIN – Hi Mary, the Innotek 2000 can be upgraded. The upgrade option is located on the product page of the SD-2000.

Brad April 21, 2014 at 1:41 pm

I have a 60lb Pit/Rhodehsian/Boxer Mix. She is a year old and is very energetic and powerful. The yard is around 1/4 of an acre. In the back is a 15 ft hill (not that steep) down to a busy street. Across the street there is a park in view where dogs are walked. I’m looking for a system that is reliable and will contain her from running across the street to try to get to other dogs at the park. What would you recommend? From reading the reviews, it looks like the Yard Max is the way to go. Thanks.

ADMIN – Hi Brad, I would recommend the YardMax. It has the true run through prevention and should be a great fit for your 60 lb dog.

Stacey April 21, 2014 at 7:30 am

I have an old PetSafe inground system (unsure of the model but it is about 8-10 years old). If I go to one of the PetSafe wireless systems, will the collars for the old system work with the new one? I know one collar comes with the system but I have 2 dogs and am hoping to avoid the expense of buying another collar.

ADMIN – Hi Stacey, unfortunately, none of the wireless collars are compatible with any wired system. Now, all of these collars are compatible with your In-ground fence: PetSafe Stubborn, Deluxe, and Little Dog. Also, it compatible with the new rechargeable add on collar from PetSafe too.

Beth Roosa April 19, 2014 at 11:28 am

We have a 45 pound chow/afghan mix — a very well behaved dog except he likes to run down the driveway to go find his friends. Our yard is totally fenced other than the 15′ driveway. What do you recommend?

ADMIN – Hi Beth, I would recommend the Pawz Away Outdoor Rock with the PetSafe YardMax collar. This option is located in our Accessories page. This solution will allow you to create a barrier just at the driveway opening.

mary April 18, 2014 at 5:08 pm

So will the RF – 1010 transmitter work with the sd- 2000 collars

ADMIN – Hi Mary, Unfortunately they are incompatible. The PetSafe rechargeable add on collar is compatible. The Stubborn dog, Deluxe collar, and Little Dog collar are also compatible.

Louise April 16, 2014 at 9:26 am

I have two dogs, one is a 40lb mutt that responds well to voice command. The other is a 5 year old bull mastiff that will run away at any chance he gets, especially if he sees an animal in the distance. I was wondering which fence would be good for these two dogs? I was considering the PetSafe YardMax, would this be a good fit?

ADMIN – Hi Louise, the YardMax is a great fit for your Mastiff and 40 lb dog. You can set different correction levels for each collar and the YardMax run through prevention is great needed to stop your Mastiff’s excursions.

kiley April 13, 2014 at 11:35 am

Great site! What would you recommend for a black lab puppy?

ADMIN – Hi Kiley, the PetSafe YardMax should be a great fit for your Black Lab. The collar is small and lightweight but also contains plenty of correction levels to contain a black lab.

Justin April 6, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Hi I have two full grown German Shepherds who are bad about getting in my neighbors yard what would me the best underground system for them I’m only fencing in 2 acres but I’m on a budget. Thanks

ADMIN – Hi Justin, I would recommend the PetSafe Stubborn for two German Shepherds. I highly recommend upgrading to the wire to 16 gauge. You will need to order an additional 1,000 feet of wire to cover up to 2 acres.

Randy March 27, 2014 at 11:26 am

Hi, We have been using an old Innotek buried wire system for about 6-7 years. It works well as long as the wire remains intact but wire breakage has become a persistent problem. We have a large yard requiring over a 1000 feet of wire to adequately contain the desired boundary for our dogs. Locating and repairing breaks has become frustrating–the last time I simply gave up, left the old wire in place and buried a new wire. Now the new wire has gone bad. Innotek uses a 20 gauge wire for the system and I suspect it is simply too fragile to last for very long. Can I use a professional grade wire (14 gauge) with the Innotek transmitter, or will I need a new transmitter/system in order to utilize a heavier-gauged wire? Randy

ADMIN – Hi Randy, yes sir, I would highly recommend a switch to the 14 gauge. It is much more durable and is a great long term solution.

molly March 27, 2014 at 8:31 am

I couldn’t locate my original question/answer posted earlier, so this may be a duplicate. What specific collar will work with the RF-1010 transmitter? I’ve been told any PetSafe collar will work with this unit, so will a Guardian collar work? Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Molly, Yes, the Guardian collar will work with the PetSafe RF1010.

molly downy March 26, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Love this site! What collar do you recommend using with the older RF-1010 transmitter? Does the current PIG00-13661 update/replace this RF-1010? Also, can a “bark” collar be retrofitted some way to work with this system? We only have the transmitter and are going to attempt to piece the system together (collar,wire). Keeping our fingers crossed as well as eyes with all this information! Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Molly, No, the PIG00-13661 replaced the PetSafe Deluxe package. The PIG00-13661 still uses the Deluxe collar but they changed the wall transmitter to a lower range, 5 acre capacity unit. Unfortunately, no bark collar can work with any dog fence.

maureen g March 26, 2014 at 11:43 am

Does anyone know where I can purchase wiring for inground fencing? Do they sell it at Home Depot or Lowes?

ADMIN – Hi Maureen, we sell it on our site. For local brick and mortar stores, try an electrical supply house.

Terry V March 19, 2014 at 12:46 am

Sorry, but I have another question :) You have recommended the “PetSafe In-ground fence PIG00-13661, with extra PetSafe Deluxe collars for your mix of dogs. This will allow you to be able to add the PetSafe Cat Containment collar at a later date.” If I take the cats out of the equation and say that I would like the convenience of rechargeable batteries, what would the recommendation be? I am not great at changing the batteries on my smoke detectors annually, I’m certain I would fail at replacing dog collar batteries in a timely fashion. Thanks! Terry

ADMIN – Hi Terry, If you are not containing your cat, I would highly recommend the PetSafe YardMax which has rechargeable collars. It only requires a 2 hour charge once a month.

Terry V March 18, 2014 at 2:24 am

Great site! I’ve learned a lot from reading your info. I’ve got 3 friendly, well behaved, large dogs – collie/lab mix @ 86 lbs, hinz57 @ 110 lbs, and chocolate lab @ 125 lbs. All are trained to voice command and usually remain in our back yard, even without 100% supervision. They do their business and return to the deck waiting to be let back inside. However, one of the dogs seems to have a misunderstanding about an area off our property and will infrequently go 2 foot into the neighbors yard for his business. The neighbor isn’t too pleased with me, and I don’t blame him – his children are scared of dogs. I’m looking for something that would be a good fit for my 3 dogs and maybe give me an option to add cat collars in the future. I’ve got a 3/4 acre yard in town, but looking to fence only about 875 foot of it. Really appreciate any recommendation that you could make. Terry

ADMIN – Hi Terry, the best options that allow for a cat containment collar to be added is by going with are the PetSafe In-ground fence PIG00-13661, the PetSafe Stubborn, and the PetSafe Little Dog. I would recommend going with the PetSafe In-ground fence PIG00-13661, with extra PetSafe Deluxe collars for your mix of dogs. This will allow you to be able to add the PetSafe Cat Containment collar at a later date.

Annie March 17, 2014 at 10:14 pm

We have a 1 year old Great Pyrenees. Our 3/4 acre yard is fenced but ” Houdini ” still finds ways to dig under or climb over. We live in Utah and get plenty of snow. Pet safe stubborn or Sportdog?

ADMIN – Hi Annie, they are the same fence. The difference is in the range of the transmitters capacity. I would recommend going with the PetSafe Stubborn for your size of property. This will immediately solve the climbing and digging problem.

Diane March 17, 2014 at 11:57 am

We have a vinyl white picket fence around our yard. Our dog Bud, a 56 lb pit mix, has discovered he can jump the fence and does so whenever he sees stray cats in the neighborhood. I was convinced that I needed the Stubborn fence until I read the complete description. How do I know if he has a low pain sensitivity? I would not want to overwhelm him with the collar if it is too strong. Thanks very much for your help. I was really pleased to read that we could attach the wires to our existing fence.

Lance March 17, 2014 at 10:45 am

What a great website! Love the breakdown and truly appreciate your feedback!

My question: we have two ~50 lbs. Lab mixes. Our needs are relatively modest: we have a sixty foot section at the back of the house (it’s fenced, but they keep tunneling under). I’m not certain how these systems work ~ i.e. potentially we could have discontinuous areas in places like the side gates (6 feet) and or the garage door? Which system would best suit our needs?

Thank you!

Kevin W March 16, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Great site! We’ve got a very active and mischievous 45lb Lab Mix, Millie. We are trying to contain her to about 1/2 acre of our 2 acres so she will stop destroying our landscaping. What is our best bet? Thx.

ADMIN – Hi Kevin, I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax for Millie. It is going to be a good fit and provide the appropriate correction levels she will need.

megan March 16, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Hi. We have 14 acres 7 wooded so what would you recommend for our yard it would be for a 60 lb rott and two 12 pound Chihuahuas? thanks we also have two shitzues but they listen well on command.

ADMIN – Hi Megan, because of the size of the property, I would recommend the SportDog SDF-100A so that you can cover your 14 acres. The SportDog collar will work well with your rott. Also, you can bundle in the new add on PetSafe Rechargeable collar for the Chihuahuas.

Ralph March 16, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Hello, You have a very informative web site, but a little overwhelming. We have just adopted a great 1.5 year old miniature Schnauzer. We have property that lays along a busy highway. I really just want to put up a “fence” along the highway, that is in front of our house, for about 600 feet. Suggestions/recommendations? Thanks in advance, Ralph

ADMIN – Hi Ralph, to run the loop along the road front, you can achieve this by running a long narrow loop at along the road. Keep the narrow loop 4 feet separated. Then connect the loop to the wall transmitter with a length of twisted wire.

Kathy March 16, 2014 at 4:34 am

Hi, we have a very active Australian Kelpie, named Jedi about 15kgs. We are on 160 acres, which is bordered on one side by a road, she loves to sneak through the fence and say hello to anybody and everybody and following them home. The wire would have to go across our driveway and along way down the length of the fence to be most effective. Can you please advise which product would be best. Thx Kathy

John C March 15, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Hi wanting a underground fence for my two dogs which are one is pit bull mix over one year old and German shorthair mixed lab over two years old. The yard is a little under a third of an acre So which fence would be best for us? Thanks

Deborah M March 5, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Hi,
I’m currently on the hunt for a healthy giant breed puppy. I know he or she will eventually weigh as much as 150 lbs and my husband and I differ over the type of fencing to get to keep this huge dog contained. We tried several brands of underground fences in the past with our Rottie and beagle, finally having an 85% success rate with our Rottie ( caused us problems with County Animal Control and fearful neighbors), and 0% success rate with our Beagle– this was Invisible Fence/supposedly commercial strength…

Hubby is totally opposed to any type of physical fence, feeling like it detracts from the beauty of the property. Out of our 5 acres, we’d like to contain about 1.5 acres, hopefully with a much higher success rate. Someone has suggested to us electri cattle fencing???

I also need to know if the collars for any of these fences would be incompatible with the electronic doggie doors.

Krista March 4, 2014 at 11:44 pm

I have two dogs. A Minpin/Chihuahua mix, about 10 pounds, and a Blue Tick Coonhound, about 55 pounds. I am interested in what you think would be the best option with the two of them. Area I am interested in fencing off is approx. 3-5 acres. My other concern is that the Blue Tick is epileptic and I’m concerned with it causing her to seize.

Jenny Matthews March 3, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Hello, we have a 13 pound schnauzer mix. We do not have a fenced in yard and would like to be able to let him outside without a leash. We sit on a 10,000 sq ft corner lot. Would love for him to be able to have access to the back and side yard. Recommendations?

Sarah March 2, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Hello,
I have a year old border collie. She’s pretty small, only about 35 lbs. She’s extremely smart but pretty sensitive so I was wondering what the best fence for her would be? We live in the country on 4 acres but we’re on the corner of two fairly busy roads. Thank you!

Pierre February 27, 2014 at 10:41 pm

Hi

I have a 1 year old Rottweiler and a 1 year old Yorkshire, kind of jack and the giant i am having a hard time finding the correct match for a inground fence,

I have a one acre lot and I need help finding a kit the would work for both of my buddies. Any one have an idea ?

randy jackson February 25, 2014 at 3:06 pm

I have a 14 year old black and tan hound and a 35 pound rescue dog. Recently they have been straying to a neighbor’s house about a mile away. I have 14 acres but ham okay with restricting the dogs to bout an acre or two. There are no trees, but the ground is relatively hard. It would be easier to do wireless, but am open to wire. What do you suggest. ? Thank You. Randy jackson

laura February 22, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Hi – We want to renovate the garden and keep the dog way from a large plot of it for the next few months – my dog is a douge de Bordeaux and he is approximately 10 stone – he is very large. What would you recommend?
Thanks

Jack K February 19, 2014 at 3:15 pm

We have a Shitzu Bishon about 10 pounds and about 6 months old. Not exactly obedient likely due to our lack of training so we have to take out on leash every time:) We have a 1 acre lot with the house in the middle. Can you suggest which system would work best for her. I think in-ground is how we want to go and I will likely need more than 500 ft of wire but it will be close. More concerned about comfort and ease of learning for her.

ADMIN – Hi Jack, I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax for your 10 lb Shitzu mix. The collar fits dogs 10 lbs and up and is small and rechargeable. You can definitely order extra wire. We do recommend upgrading the wire to the durable 16 gauge.

Trae February 18, 2014 at 12:20 am

Hello. I have two male black labs, 6 months old. I live on the water with about 5 acres. I want to contain the dogs to with woods surrounding. What type of fence do you recommend and what gauge wire?

ADMIN – Hi Trae, I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax. It has a rechargeable collar that will fit them nicely. I recommend upgrading to 16 gauge wire for a long-lasting wire installation.

Lisa Blackmon February 16, 2014 at 11:43 pm

Hello, I have a 1 year old friendly pit that is used to roaming on our 60 acres. Our neighbor says that she is now coming on their property and has threatened to do something about it. We want to keep her within about 10 acres in order to give her access to swim in the pond. What would you suggest. Most of the area is wooded.

ADMIN – Hi Lisa, I would recommend containing your Pit to 10 acres with the Sportdog SDF100A. It is plenty strong for transmitting the 10 acre range you need. The collar is also durable and good fit for a pit.

Fran February 16, 2014 at 9:36 pm

What a great website! I am new to the invisible fence thing and would like to purchase one for our 3 year old standard yorkie he is 15 lbs and fast as a bullet. We are having problems with our neighbors because he is an escape artist. Our property is 1/2 an acre but the the back in fenced, we just need something for the front lawn which is about 1/3 acre. Do we need in ground or could we just get something else? How much do we need? and which one is the best for our size dog? Is there anything else we need to know about this? all I want is to keep him inside of our property and away from our neighbors. Thank you!

ADMIN – Hi Fran, thank you for the feedback. Here’s some answers to your questions A) With the size of your yorkie, you could try the PetSafe Stay + Play fence. The collar is small enough for him to wear. You will not have the ability to customize the shape, but for a simple solution to fencing just the front yard, the Stay + Play would be a good option. The wireless fence will cover up to 3/4 of an acre, so it has plenty of range. B) With his size, he will also be able to wear the collars for the PetSafe YardMax, PetSafe In-ground Deluxe, and the PetSafe Little Dog. All of these fences are a wired fence options. Out of these 3, I would choose the YardMax with it’s slim and small rechargeable collar. 3) If you go with a wired fence, I recommend reviewing the partial yard installation info on our layouts page. It is a bit different than simply running a perimeter loop encircling the property.

Tracie Fogle February 11, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Hi, we have to dogs. A 2 year old Lab mix and a 1 year old German Shepard/Chow mix. They are both very energetic and have learned they can easily jump our 3 foot fence. If we walk with them in the backyard, unleashed, they will take off over the fence to chase a bird or any other critter they may hear. We have a small back yard, about 1/3 of an acre. The yard is on a steep hill, so that the back fence is about 5 feet lower than the top fence. And where it dips down, they are able to jump with ease over the fence. What system would you recommend? We are also hoping for the most budget friendly option as well. Thanks!

David H February 9, 2014 at 10:54 am

Hello,

We are starting to research an invisible fence system for our two dogs. We have a 6 lb Morkie and a 15 lb Yorkie/Pom mix. The Morkie is 3 yrs old and the Yorkie/Pom is 10 years old. We live on a lot 100 x 150. Which system would you recommend? Both are pretty strong willed dogs but they love to be outside with us and our subdivision does not allow for conventional fences so we thought the invisible fence system might work for our needs. Are these systems something the homeowner can install themselves or do they require professional installation?

Dan February 8, 2014 at 1:47 pm

For the yard max PIG00-11115, if you purchased your own under ground wire from a hardware store, is a dual wire required? Is solid core required? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Dan, Either solid or stranded will work great.

Kathleen Cleland February 5, 2014 at 5:41 pm

I have 3 dogs ranging from 50 to 65 lbs and just bought a house with an acre of property. Two of the dogs can jump a six foot fence and the other one I am afraid will run out into the busy street so I would need 3 collars. With buying a new house I have a limited amount of money to purchase a fencing system but do not want to waste money on a cheap system that will stop working out of the blue. What can you recommend for my situation??

Debi Martin February 5, 2014 at 4:57 pm

we have 2 acres with 2 golden doodles and 1 shitzu. We would like to border just the area near the road and one side of the yard. The other side has a neighbors fence and both acres are bordered by a river that the dogs love to swim in. Which type of fence would be best if we want to have basically an L shape invisible fence?

Jessica February 5, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Hi. I have a 5 yr old 70lb Lab/Poodle who LOVES to run and chase the barn cats. We live on a 5.5 acre farm surrounded by 67 acres that we have full access to. The first year we lived in the home he stayed in our yard but has since become very curious and likes to go visit the dogs down the street approx 1mile down(keep in mind its a 55 mph road and most go 65mph). We have to get in our car to retrieve him. I would like to get an electric fence so that he can still run like crazy but stay on our property. i’m thinking we would want to fence off 2-4 acres for him. What would you suggest?

ADMIN – Hi Jessica, I recommend going with the YardMax fence. The true run through prevention of this fence is a great asset for 100% containment.

Jessica February 2, 2014 at 4:39 pm

I have a Cur/Pit mix (65 lbs) and a Carolina dog/pit mix ( 20 lbs) the cur mix is chasing cats and has turned into and escape artist what would you recommend for the two of them with a 1/2 acre? Thank you for your time.

Candi February 2, 2014 at 11:40 am

We have a 3 month old yellow lab / bouvier mix (she’s gonna be a horse). We have about 3 acres of land to seal off. My husband has heard of these ones that are wireless and you just put it in your house and put the collar on your dog. Which system do you think would best for our new baby Klohie :)

Brian February 1, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Are there any electric dog fences that can be dead ended (don’t need to be a complete loop)? I have a pvc post and rail fence that my dog has figured out she can squeeze through. the fence is hollow so I’d like to run the wire inside the fence rails. From my power source I have about 150 feet of this type of fence on either side and then stockade fence and the house in between (which she cannot get by). So if I could run the wire inside the P & R part only and stop there would be no need of running it where it is not needed. If not, and I do need the “complete loop” how far apart do the wires need to be (example could I run the out or positive side in the lower rail and the return or negitive side either in the same rail or the upper rail which is about 2 feet away) thus making 2 complete loops 1 on each side of the yard.

Greg January 30, 2014 at 12:23 pm

What about the PetSafe Deluxe In-Ground Fence? It has a lot of great reviews on radiofence.com and it is $100 less than YardMax. FYI – we rescued a 4mo shepadoodle and she is an AMAZING dog (similar to golden and lab personality&temperament)! But we are having troubles potty training. We live in a subdivision and can’t just let her run free. Btw, my mother recently paid invisible fence $1800 to install one on her 5 acre yard – I feel terrible I hadn’t researched it for her first.

Susan January 28, 2014 at 10:23 pm

We have a 5 month old GSP who has proven she can learn tricks easily, but house breaking, digging in the carpet, and snatching things off tables and counters continues to be major daily battles. I HOPE once we get an underground fence installed in our almost 1/2 acre backyard, she will be able to release much of her energy and some of these inside problems. At this time she must constantly be on a leash since she does not come when called.
My fear is that she will be too strong willed to be contained with an underground fence. For her safety and because we live in a leash law area, she must stay in our yard or we will be forced to give her up. I have researched underground fences for the last 3 months. The YardMax is definitely my first choice, but I worry that she will have to have the Sport one.
Please share your thoughts on this.

ADMIN – Hi Susan, I would definitely go with SportDog in your situation for your GSP.

Arline W. January 22, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Hi Stewart, I just rescued a 5 yr old Chocolate Lab (65 lbs) & need advice on a fence system. We live in a Charleston patio home with a very very small back yard (not much bigger than a living room). Anyway, we would like to be able to let him out in the mornings without having to actually leash him. What system would you recommend? Thanks so much. Arline

ADMIN – Hi Arline, with such a small yard, I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax because it does not use up any yard space. The collar and correction range is a great fit for your Chocolate Lab.

Bruce Baloh January 21, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Hello, a recommendation please is needed. We have a 26lb. 3 year old Cavalier King Charles who loves being outside but is very aggressive on his leash and harness. He constantly pulls away even while on walks. Extremely interested in an invisible fence system, to go with our 1/4 acre lot with home in the middle. Please advise, thanking you in advance….Bruce

ADMIN – Hi Bruce, for your Cavalier King Charles I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax. The collar is small and light weight but will deliver enough correction strength to contain your distracted dog. The wire that comes with the fence will be plenty to cover a 1/4 acre.

Traci Cornell January 14, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Great site!!! We are searching for a unit that can attach to a chain link fence. We do not need underground because we have 12 acres all fenced. But, we have one area in the fence that has been lowered because we have a lame elk that has decided to make our property his home. He has repeated broken down the fence to get in and we have spent a fortune getting the fence repaired so finally we just lowered one portion of the fence, now he lives at our house. However, now there is a section that we must keep the dogs from jumping over. We have installed 14 gauge wire around the lowered portion. I have an old Innotek system 2100 that is not adequate. We have 3 very large (over 100 lbs) Anatolian Shepherds and when they get out, they can be gone for days. What system would you recommend that can be attached to our fence and is strong enough to deter these dogs. Thank you any help will be appreciated.

ADMIN – Hi Traci, I would recommend the SportDog fence for your Anatolian Shepherds. It is built for large breed dogs.

Stassi January 13, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Hi, I live on a farm and have a Australia blue heeler, Bear. We live on a very busy highway. Blue heeler’s are very strong willed. Bear loves to chase cars and cattle. I also have a Golden Retriever. We probably have around 3 acres that needs to be fenced. What would you suggest for my two pooches? Also, someone told me not to actually bury the fence. They said to just lay it on top of the ground and by summer it will bury itself. I thought that was kinda dumb, but what do you think? Thanks for your suggestions!

ADMIN – Hi Stassi, yes, Blue Heeler’s are very strong willed. I would recommend the PetSafe Stubborn fence for your heeler and Retriever. I recommend upgrading your order to the 16 gauge wire for strength and durability. You can lay the wire on the ground, but we recommend pinning it down with lawn staples and raking ground cover over it. Otherwise, you can bury it shallow around 2-3 inches in the ground.

Beth January 13, 2014 at 12:34 am

We have a purebred Dachshund and a Dachshund mix, weighing 22 and 33 pounds. we have a half acre which includes our house. we are on a corner lot. which fence would you recommend. doxies are pretty stubborn dogs. Thanks in advance

ADMIN – Hi Beth, I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax for your two Dachshund dogs. They are a perfect size and the correction strength on the YardMax is adequate for containing them.

Lori January 12, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Hi, I am searching for a wired fence that would be compatible for two 70 lb labs that like to roam and a 10 lb yorkie poo. I need to fence about 3 acres. The labs previously were in an “Invisible Fence” system and did well on 1/2 acre. Was looking for something we could do ourselves much cheaper. Also one of our labs runs to the road full speed barking at people and dogs she is not aggressive only in her bark, but scares people. I was considering the Yard Max or Sport Dog. Suggestions please.

ADMIN – Hi Lori, yes the YardMax will be the best fence for your mix of dogs. The 3 oz collar will fit all 3. This is the best fit because you can set separate correction levels on each collar. The collar is also waterproof and rechargeable.

Ashley January 9, 2014 at 9:18 am

Hi! I am looking at purchasing the PetSafe Yard Max PIG00-11115 underground fence. We have a low area in our yard that is prone to flooding. The standing water can last from a few hours to several weeks depending on ground saturation. Will the standing water interfere with the effectiveness of the system if the wire is buried underground?

ADMIN – Hi Ashley, No, standing wire will not have a significant affect on the dog fence unless the standing water is deep, say 3 plus feet.

Gajan Retnasaba January 7, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Glad to have come across your site. It has been very helpful reading other advice you’ve given. So based on other scenarios given, I can see that we are definitely going to need a wired system. We have 5.65 acres in the country, with approximately 2.5 of it cleared (1 for our home and the rest is the yard surrounding it). The other acreage is wooded and will not be considered for containment. We have two 5 1/2 month old Walker Hounds that will leave the “yard” and head for the woods to do what is natural to them (hunt our resident wildlife on our property). We have new neighbors on adjacent property and another family building down the road on the other side of them, so we’ve got to contain them now. They always stay together but one is definitely more hyper than the other (they’re brothers), so when walking with them, we can normally control the hyper one by keeping him leashed because the other one will not run off from him. We understand that this breed HAS to be allowed a lot of exercise, so we’re trying to accomplish that while keeping them safe and on our property. Which brand of wired system would you suggest? We were considering stapling the wire to trees surrounding the preferred containment area and burying it at the areas that we enter/exit frequently on dirtbikes/4 wheelers around the perimeter of the yard & also at the front gate. Also the front gate is a cattle type remote gate and I just wanted to make sure the system wouldn’t interfere with that either. Thanks for your help!

ADMIN – Hi Regina, with hounds, the best fence is the SportDog SDF-100A. It will have enough correction strength to contain your young, scent dogs. I recommend upgrading to 16 gauge for a strong, professional wire. Stapling to the trees will work well. Burying in other areas is great. The cattle guard should not interfere.

Sherry January 6, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Hi. I’m wondering which fence would be best for us. We live on 100+ acres but want to contain our beagle closer to home due to the fact that she has had a run in with a coyote. She’s used to running free and, being a scent dog, I’m afraid that she will push through any correction signal since she is driven by scent. We only need about 1.5-2 acres of area. She sleeps inside so we would like a collar that is easy to remove and attach. Which product do you recommend?

ADMIN – Hi Sherry, for beagles, we highly recommend the SportDog SDF100A. It will have the correction strength needed to contain your scent dog. The key is consistent training until your beagle responds the way you are asking them. If you train properly, you should expect 100% containment. The collar comes with a belt buckle style collar strap, but we sell easier to buckle collar straps on our site that you can interchange it with.

Leslie January 6, 2014 at 12:39 am

We are interested in installing an in-ground dog fence and are leaning towards the PetSafe YardMax. We have multiple dogs of varying sizes (10 – 80 lbs). Would this system fit the correction needs of all our dogs? Are there any complications to running the wire near our neighbor’s in-ground dog fence? Is the PetSafe Stubborn collar compatible with the YardMax? And how much wire would you recommend for 6 acres?

ADMIN – Hi Leslie, the YardMax is a great fit for any dog 10 lbs and up. You can set different correction levels for each collar to customize the correction for your different dogs. There will be interference by running the wire within 15 of your neighbor’s dog fence. There are no other collars compatible with the YardMax. For 6 acres, you will need a total of 2,500 feet of wire. We highly recommend upgrading to 16 gauge.

Adora December 4, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Hi, I would appreciate your suggestion for a fence system. We have a 1 y/o 60 lb. Shepherd/Chow mix and a 2 y/o 80 lb. German Shepherd.

Our 2 y/o Sammi-girl has wanderlust and a need to greet anyone on the other side of our fence. Our home is a corner property with a lot of foot traffic, kids on bikes, dog walkers, along with a fairly busy street. We re-fenced our sides and backyard with redwood, 6ft solid + 1ft lattice, the highest allowed here. We have made sure nothing is close enough for her to use as a step up, with no success. She continues to jump right over it. She is primarily indoors, but does need some outdoor time. If we stay outside with her, she will not attempt to jump, but will still run the length of it and get very excited if someone is walking by. We are working with her to calm her down as far as foot traffic goes, but feel it is time to install a system.

Prior to our owning this home, there was an RV cement pad poured which concerns me for a system requiring a wire. The pad is along a good portion of the fence that is on the streetside. If the “best solution” were a wire fence, how would it install? Can it be run directly on the wooden fence? If so, would it signal her soon enough to prevent her from going over or pretty much just as she cleared the top? I like the idea of a wireless system, but honestly do not know what would be our best solution. I don’t like the idea of a “shock” collar, but absolutely do not want her hit by a car or getting lost (she is chipped, but that only works if someone checks it)

We do not have an over-sized yard or acreage, just a typical residential city yard. We don’t want to leave her with no room to run and romp with our Brody-boy, but would like to have something that would discourage her from constantly running the street side of the fence. She gets so frenzied wanting to be apart of all the excitement on the other side, if she didn’t get so close in the first place it might help that problem as well. It seems most of these are for wide open spaces where there is no other fencing.

I appreciate your time and thank you for any suggestion/recommendation!

ADMIN – Hi Adora, yes you can definitely attach the wire on the fence with great success. You can set the collar to activate as far back as you would like from the fence up to 10 feet away actually. I would install the wire about the height of the dogs. We find great success when combining a dog fence with a physical fence. This should solve your containment issues immediately.

Terri December 3, 2013 at 12:15 pm

We have a 4 year old yorkie/maltese mix, a 13 year old westie (now deaf and has vision issues as well) and a 3 month old german shepherd. The 2 older dogs aren’t very well trained however the shepherd is showing great promise! Until recently we had our patio area fenced off from the rest of our yard however the addition of a patio cover is creating the need to move a section of that small fence. We were considering an electric fence instead as my husband prefers the open feel without the aluminum fence. Our issues are these….dogs pooping on the patio and dogs jumping on furniture (including the table and stealing dinner if it is unattended). Other issues that our old fence did not address are dogs destroying our flower beds. We also have a pool that has never been a problem however our older dog has now found his way into the pool on 2 separate occasions.

From reading your answers to other folks questions I would think you might recommend either the Yard Max or the Stubborn Dog system but I’m not sure which to choose. I also worry that either might be too strong of a correction for the morkie as she is only about 10 pounds. The shepherd is probably about 15 at the moment but vet says will probably be around 70 pounds full grown…just a guess though. The westie is a very obese 27 pounds…doesn’t move much! What do you think? Should we go with the conventional aluminum fencing we’ve always had or would an electric fence system work? Thanks so much! Your info is the most informative I’ve found! Terri

Catherine Lambert November 30, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Hi – thanks for very helpful website. I live on a 10 acre plot of land. I have a dog – a mix between a NewFoundland and a Labrador and we recently lost a Jack Russell. Since the death of the Jack Russell my big dog has been going up to hang out with my tenant’s dogs and since these dogs are inclined to roam and such I want to contain my dog so he stays around our house. There are trees – I would not call it wooded and there is a gently sloping hill. At the same time the ground is rock hard so burying a wire sounds like penal servitude. What is your recommendation?

ADMIN – Hi Catherine, a wired fence is always preferred over wireless, but if running wire is difficult, you can always first try a wireless fence. The Havahart wireless fence is the best option as it is a rechargeable battery collar and offers up to a 200 foot radius. It is also the most responsive of the wireless fences.

Denny Durgan November 25, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Hello, my wife and I are looking into buying an invisible fence and would like to know what would be the best buy, I have a cocker spaniel and she has a cavachon, both are just over a year old and loves the outdoors, we live in a new subdivision with maybe a 1/4 to 1/2 acre of land, my cocker is around 32 pounds and the cavachon is about 15 pounds. What do you think would be the best buy for these little guys to have so they can enjoy the outdoors without having to be kennel up. Thanks for listening.

ADMIN – Hi Denny, the PetSafe YardMax would be a great fit for the Cocker Spaniel and Cavachon. The collar is small enough to fit dogs 10 lbs and up and only weighs a mere 3 ounces. You can set separate correction levels for each dog which further gives you the ability to customize the fence experience to your specific group of doggies. To cover up to one-third of an acre, 500 feet of wire which comes with the fence will be plenty. If you need up to half an acre then you’ll need to bundle in one additional roll of wire. I highly recommend upgrading to at least the 16 gauge for a durable, long term wire solution.

Amy November 24, 2013 at 6:00 pm

I have 2 Aussies and 1 acre. They are great of we are outside with them they do not leave the yard or run. They will however run up to a person or chase a deer. I have to keep them distracted at night with the light of a flashlight. My older one is not find if strangers. Which do you suggest? We really don’t want to spend an arm and a leg but I’d hate to buy an outside kennel when we have this much yard for them

Kim November 21, 2013 at 9:47 am

I think I’ve figured out which system is right for me, but let me check. I have 3 large ‘rescue’ dogs. One is clearly a German Shepard and the other 2 appear to be a lab mix. The lightest of the 3 is about 55lbs. The lab mixes are very protective of our children and also enjoy running full force towards strangers to bark at them and scare them. I have reservations about whether an underground fence will be enough to keep them in our yard. I’m afraid that nothing will keep them in if they happen to be outside and someone walks down the road (If they’re doing that full force run will it actually stop them before they get through?) We have an acre and a half to fence.

ADMIN – Hi Kim, I would recommend the PetSafe YardMax because they will not be able to run through. Also, with thorough training, you should expect 100% containment. The YardMax collar is sleek, rechargeable and waterproof. You can set separate corrections for each dog. You will need to bundle in an extra 1,000 feet of wire to cover 1.5 acres. We also recommend upgrading to at least 16 gauge wire.

Derrick November 20, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Hello. My wife and I recently built a new home on 1.5 acres of farmland. We have 2 dogs, one is a 4 year old Beagle/Terrier mix (female) that is hyper, but will follow voice commands and not stray off the property. Our other dog is a 6 year old male Beagle. He is stubborn, follows his nose and not our commands. This is new construction, so very few trees or natural barriers, just wide open fields. We would like to fence off approximately one acre of our backyard to allow them to run. Our old home had a 6 foot privacy fence around a small backyard in a subdivision. Currently the dogs are in a 6×10 kennel and we feel horrible, walking them as often as we can, but Winter is here and the early morning walks before work is a struggle! Both dogs weigh between 25-30lbs. What would you recommend for an underground system?

Steve November 19, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Hi Steward

Would you mind giving me your opinion on E fences? I have a britt pup on the way.. and need to prepare for a hyper hunting dog.. No e fence is 100% but which way would you go with these guys. Britts are stubborn and want to hunt 24/7.. I’d hate to have to cut through the driveway for wired fence version so I was thinking Wireless with a stubborn collar.. If you think the wireless 1/2a version is a not strong enough then what way would you suggest.. the stubborn or the auto correction version. FYI I have an acre of land to work with.

Thank you Steve.

Kayla November 17, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Hi, I have never used any of these fencing systems. I reviewed the chart above but I really don’t know much about these. I have a 3 yr pit bull and a 2 yr old lab. Both probably weigh 50 lbs. We live in the country, lots of wooded area, livestock, and back roads around. The pitt used to be a very obedient pet until they started roaming the woods. The lab has never been a good listner. For the past few months they have been disappearing for the entire night. Now they act as if they don’t know they’re being called for when they are in the yard. My question is, what type of fence would be best?

April November 16, 2013 at 1:49 am

Hi, I have a 60 lb. rescue dog that digs out of every fence she has ever come across. She can also climb/jump out of 6 ft. wooden fences. We would like to put up a dog fence that will keep her safe in our back yard. We also have a 10 lb. dog that has learned her bad habit of digging out. What system do you recommend?

Caleb November 15, 2013 at 3:55 pm

Hello, I’m looking to enclose a yard that is about 50 yds x 30yds. I have a 3 yr old rottweiler/pitbull mix that weighs about 60 lbs and a 1 yr old American Staffordshire terrier mix that is about 50 lbs. The yard does have a chain link fence around it but both dogs are athletic enough that they jump the fence and go explore. What system would you recommend?

Kelli Berry November 14, 2013 at 5:51 pm

We have a Blue Heeler puppy who is very smart & very hyper. We have 58 acres for him to run wild. However, I have thought about getting a system so he cant run in the fields to chase deer, as he has started to show signs of. I was curious as to what system is best for this breed of dog?

Amanda November 12, 2013 at 2:32 pm

I have an English Setter who is the world’s friendliest dog…but also a bird hunting dog with his nose in the air or on the ground. We currently have the SD2200 system. The collars only seem to work for about 3 months, then they no longer charge or shock (I can hold them in my hand and not get much of a shock). Our setter runs thru our fence daily…doesn’t hardly stop anymore. We have contacted PetSafe and gotten three new collars (for $40 each) in the last year and a half. Prior to that I purchased a new one…same issues on all of them. He NEEDS to stay in our yard and I am getting desperate! My husband thinks we should look for a new home for him, but we have three young boys who would be heartbroken. Do you have any advice? We have put up the flags, redid the training, etc. But he checks it and as soon as the collars stop correcting him, he is gone. We live in a rural area and have about 3 or 4 acres for him. We have neighbors with horses and cattle and don’t want problems.
HELP!! I need a system that gives him one heck of a shock and then continues to work. We had the underground professionally installed and he used a heavier gauged wire. He came and checked it for us this summer…the wire is fine. Thank you for any help!

ADMIN – Hi Amanda, the SD2200 is a mismatch for an English Setter. That breed of dog should be on the PetSafe Stubborn fence. You can utilize the wire you have already have installed. The Stubborn is suited for guardian dogs and hunting dogs that typically try to ignore the lower correction collars like the SD2200.

Randall Strange November 11, 2013 at 6:11 am

I have adopted a stubborn, aggressive (towards dogs) 6 year old Shar Pei/ Boxer cross. We have a 4ft fence which she can and has jumped. Partitions fence is wood and part is chain. Which system would you recommend and can we attach it to the chain fence?

ADMIN – Hi Randall, I would recommend the PetSafe Stubborn fence. This is a fence you can attach the wire to the physical fence. The fence will keep your dog back around 2 to 3 feet off the fence.

J.D. Schulte November 10, 2013 at 9:02 am

We moved to a home with one of your systems and we are excited to use it for our dogs. The system is the Innotek SD-2000. I am going to get some grass calves and run them in an area that has the wire for the dog fence attached to it along two sides about 300′ in each direction. Will the electric fence I install for the calves on the opposite side of the wood boards interfere with the dog fence signal?

ADMIN – Hi J.D. The electric fence may diminish the dog fence signal some. How much is determined to the proximity of the wire to the electric fence and the overall transmission of the dog fence. The best option is to test and see. You can simply move the dog fence wire further away to avoid this possible issue.

Eliza November 9, 2013 at 2:09 pm

I have a existing electric shock fence to keep deer out of my yard and was planning to put invisible dog fence wire on the same plastic posts. Will the electric fence interfere with my invisible dog fence. If so How far should it be from electric shock fence.

ADMIN – Hi Eliza, the electric fence may diminish the signal some. The best bet is to separate the dog fence wire from the electric around 5 yo 7 feet.

Andrea November 7, 2013 at 4:25 pm

What happens when a dog chooses to run through the barrier? Does it happen often? Is he shocked continuously until he returns to within the boundary? We have 5 acres and a pretty determined border collie mix. Thank you.

ADMIN – Hi Andrea, the dog can get stuck on the outside of a traditional dog fence if they run through. On the PetSafe YardMax, they cannot run through. The collar will continue to correct up to 15 seconds no matter how far out they run. Run throughs only happen for two major reasons: 1) the dog has experienced little to no training and 2) the dog’s collar is too loose and therefore is not sending a static correction to the dog. For your Border Collie and acrage, I would recommend the YardMax, upgrade the wire to 16 gauge and order an extra 1,500 feet of 16 gauge to cover your total property. The YardMax collar is a medium to medium strong dog fence collar and should be plenty strong for your Border Collie.

Tami November 5, 2013 at 2:32 pm

We have two stubborn Great Dane’s that have learned that they can bust through weak panels of our old wooden privacy fence. They are obviously quite big dogs and love to bark at anyone and everything that they can see and can be aggressive (excessive barking) until they get to know someone. We are spending a fortune on our new privacy fence, but would like to install an invisible fence also to keep them away from the new fence. I do not want them to even try breaking the new fence. Can the invisible fence be installed directly on our new wooden fence? Also, what system should I use for these big stubborn dogs? Thank you!

ADMIN – Hi Tami, yes, you can absolutely attach the boundary wire to the fence. Dog fences and physical fences work great together. I would recommend the PetSafe Stubborn fence. This fence was designed for your Great Danes.

Jacob November 3, 2013 at 10:49 pm

I have been thinking of getting one of these systems recently. I have a 3 year old Cocker-spanel and a 10 year old golden retriever. Both dogs are runners and I am in need of a system that will keep them in the yard that I have fenced already but they seem to find ways around occasionally. Do you have any suggestions for which system?

Mahala November 3, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Hi,
I have a an 85lb pitbull that I want to be able to let outside, but the house I moved to has a yard (about .2 acres) that is going to be difficult to put an actual fence on, plus I don’t want to obstruct the scenery too much. He’s done really well with the petsafe indoor barriers and won’t attempt to go in to the kitchen even when he’s not wearing the collar, but outside he sometimes likes to chase squirrels and can be reactive to cyclists so I’m not sure the same correction level would work. I was looking at the reviews for the Petsafe YardMax and it appears to be a good system and I saw that it has 5 levels of correction, but do you think I need the Stubborn system for him? I don’t want to get a collar that’s going to be too powerful but at the same time I want it to work and contain him. Also there’s a shepard/akita mix that I’m looking in to adopting and if I don’t get him I plan on adopting another large breed dog sometime in the future. I want a good all around fence system for any dog that I may own.

Garret Weyand November 2, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Is there an electronic fence that can be used just on a front door. I need a fence just stretching 5 feet

Catherine October 31, 2013 at 1:52 pm

Are there any fences that would be suitable for a cat? I live on a busy street and don’t want to risk letting the cat out.

Johnny October 30, 2013 at 11:16 am

Recently adopted a very determined Alaskan malamute. He is a bigger dog, maybe 150 pounds. I have about a 1/4 acre 6′ chain link fenced area and was given the stubborn dog kit for my birthday to attempt to contain our Houdini. Is this unit sufficient? He digs out under the fence. Will this zap him only once while he is in the danger zone or continue to zap until he exits the zone? Any suggestions on installation appreciated to. Should I double up, like one wire a foot or so above the ground and loop it so it runs higher on the fence as well? Thanks in advance

ADMIN – Hi Johnny, yes the Stubborn fence will be perfect for your Malamute and yes, attaching the wire a foot or so up on the fence will work great. This should solve your containment issue immediately.

Doug October 30, 2013 at 12:03 am

I am between an underground invisible fence and the wireless system. I have less than a quarter of an acre and a narrow lot. My problem with the underground system is my cable and phone wires run right along the edge of my property and my neighbors runs on the other side of my yard along his property. If I keep the wires 10 feet from the lines I am going to reduce the width of usable yard for the dog. My lawn is fairly flat. The only obstruction I have in the backyard is a small place set. I’m not sure if I should go with one of the wireless systems due to my cable problem? I wasn’t sure how reliable the wireless system would be? I do not want to do one of the circumferential wireless systems because I have a narrow lot, so I would definitely want to go with the customizable Wireless product. The big question is how big of a deal is it running the the under ground fence parallel to my cable and phone line proximately 5 feet away? How reliable are the wireless systems? Thanks! Doug

ADMIN – Hi Doug, the custom wireless is not being sold by Havahart at this time. The best bet is to go with a wired fence, lay the wire out on the ground and test it. This way you can locate trouble if any and adjust it. You may not receive any interference issues at all.

Tracy October 28, 2013 at 3:09 pm

I have a lab that is 4 months old. We are going to buy Thursday. So I need to make a decision in the next day or so. I’m totally foreign to these things. Our Bo is very smart. He learns commands on the third attempt…but he also had a little stubborn streak. Another concern, is our neighbor’s dog. It is allowed to run free most of the time and I’m worried that bo will follow her into the street. Which system do you suggest?

ADMIN – Hi Tracy, I recommend the PetSafe YardMax. With it’s true run through technology, your lab will not be able to continue pursuit and will turn and retreat. With the YardMax, the signal is continuous on the outside of the loop so there is no boundary to run through.

Samantha October 24, 2013 at 5:40 am

Hi- I have a puppy pit bull who is extremely hyper. His training is going well (he comes when called, understands the word no etc.) however the older he gets the more hyper he gets. He LOVES to run, is getting curious about the road and cars. I have an acre lot and am looking at which fence would be ideal.

ADMIN – Hi Samantha, hyper does not always equate to stubborn. If he exhibits a normal pain reaction from things like accidentally stepping on a paw, then the PetSafe YardMax is ideal. If he has a high pain tolerance like a guardian or hunting dog, you will most definitely need to go with the PetSafe Stubborn. You will need and additional 500 feet of wire and I highly recommend upgrading to at least 16 gauge wire to avoid wire breaks.

John McAdams October 23, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Have a 65 lb. pit bull terrier and a 50 lb. half lab / blue healer. The Pit is a real lover boy, but the blue healer is very aggressive and defensive of our property. However, the Pit doesn’t much care for other dogs from outside his area. And they are no match for him whatsoever. I need a fence strong enough for his strong-willed determination that he won’t run through. The blue healer should respond well to correction. I need a fence that can handle both of them w/o hurting one or the other. We have about 2 acres of area that they play/live in. Recommendations?

ADMIN – Hi John, go with the PetSafe YardMax. It has a medium strong correction strength collar that is not only rechargeable but also allows you set separate correction levels for each collar. I recommend upgrading to at least 16 gauge and you’ll need to add in an additional 1,000 feet of wire to cover your 2 acres.

Tammie Robinson October 23, 2013 at 8:03 pm

I have a red bone coonhound and black lab and they are digging out of their pen. I live on a farm and have a few metal buildings near the house. Will the signal interfere with metal buildings? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Tammie, a wireless fence will experience interference, a wired fence will not if installed properly. For a Red Bone Coonhound, the SportDog SDF100A is highly recommended. You will need the stronger corrections for sure.

Teresa October 23, 2013 at 11:05 am

I recently purchased a house in town, with just under .5 acre I would like to fence, also being able to steer around gardens. I do not currently have a dog but am looking to rescue 2, 1 being a St. Bernard who was already trained on 1 system, maybe petsafe but not certain, and then also an energetic border collie who was found as a stray so quite certain he likes to run (herd, etc). The St. Bernard reportedly likes to bark and has shown some aggression ( growling) at current home which is why they want to re-home. What system would you recommend for that yard and the 2 very different styles of dogs? Is there ever reported interference from other systems if neighbors have one nearby?

ADMIN – Hi Teresa, yes, a neighboring dog fence will create interference issues. If your neighbor has a dog fence, you will need to purchase the Perimeter Tech Ultra which can switch frequencies to avoid interference. For your future St. Bernard and Collie, the PetSafe YardMax is a great match. The collar contains a medium to medium strong correction but is also small and light. You can set separate correction levels for each collar which is perfect in this scenario considering the size and temperament differences of each dog.

Judy Epstein October 21, 2013 at 5:46 pm

I have a 4 year old, 30 pound terrier mix who does want to please me. Up until 2 months ago she lived in a very remote area, 1/2 mile from roads or other houses. We just moved into a small village setting and there are many people and dogs walking by our house. She does not like small dogs and is leash aggressive and protective. She has attacked a small dog when hiking off leash with no damage done to either. She does well tied out, but I would like to fence in about 1/4 acre for her. She is also responding to a shock collar when seeing another dog while walking on leash. What would you recommend?

ADMIN – Hi Judy, with the run through prevention provided by the YardMax, it is really difficult to beat this fence. Your aggressive dog will not be able to run through the fence and will have no choice but to retreat. The collar is small and light as well but offers a medium to medium strong correction. It is an appropriate correction strength and size for your terrier.

Denise October 19, 2013 at 9:38 pm

We have just adopted two pocket beagles. They are a year old. One is seven pounds and one is fifteen. The larger dog is very stubborn and will take off if he see’s a squirrel. We live in the middle of a wooded area so they are going to see a lot of animals. What system would you recommend that would work for both of them? We would like a wireless system if possible.

ADMIN – Hi Denise, I would recommend the PetSafe Inground PIG00-13661 for your two pocket beagles. The collar that comes with that unit will fit the larger beagle nicely. Then I would collar the 7 lb beagle with the PetSafe Little Dog collar. There is not a wireless fence option that will work with dogs under 12 lbs.

Diane October 13, 2013 at 10:37 am

We have rescued 2 puppies that appear to be hound/German shepherd mix. I am primarily interested in keeping them out of my flower garden, which has become their new playground! Our yard has a 5 ft fence which should be adequate to keep them confined. Thanks so much!

Jean October 12, 2013 at 12:07 pm

One year ago we adopted a very gentle 40 lb rescue dog–a 3 year old English Springer Spaniel mix (probably mixed with a little border collie, yet she she doesn’t have any of those instincts). She ran away from her first adopted parents and lived in the woods for 6 weeks. Thus, we keep her on a leash every time we go out. She has been very trainable. One nasty winter of going out with her on a leash for potty breaks was enough! We would now like to be able to let her out on her own, for business or pleasure. (She loves being outdoors.)

Our front yard is a bit smaller than a half acre. The back yard is the same size and on a lake. In addition, there is an in ground pool (now closed for the winter) in the back yard. Despite being a springer, she does not like water and has never showed interest in the pool or lake (or getting baths). I don’t see any need to treat the pool any differently than the yard.

What system do you recommend? I have heard GPS systems might be worth considering. Are they the same as the wireless ones?

Thanks.

Stormie October 11, 2013 at 1:36 am

I have a female long hair German shepherd, she’s about a year in a half old. She is very smart but stubborn at the same time. She continues to get out and runs off. I live on about an acre, what is the best system to get her in.

Linda October 10, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Our son recently purchased 6 acre`s along a busy state road. He has a stubborn female black lab who loves to chase birds and squirrels and is very fast; and a female pit bull mix. We want to keep them off the road and out of the fields surrounding the acreage. We’re thinking underground fence, but with so many choices we don’t want to spend big bucks to get something that isn’t right for these dogs. Combines and tractors in the field will also be attractions to them both. Recommendations?

LB October 10, 2013 at 3:44 pm

I’m looking to move into a home that already has an Invisible Fence brand fence installed, but the owner will be taking everything but the wire with them — the box, collars, etc. when they move. Do you know if I must get an IF brand box and collar (if that’s even possible) or do I have the option to use another transmitter and collar? I have a 22 lb french bulldog, if a certain brand is better for frenchies than others. Thank you for your help!

Mary October 8, 2013 at 9:19 am

We have two beautiful and energetic Llewellin Setters. I have read that female Lewellyn’s don’t do well with invisible fences, however we are renting a house and putting up a full blown fence may not be an option. Our female is extremely fast and loves to run on the road – causing great anxiety for us and danger for her. I’m very confident that an invisible fence will work great for our male, but I’m not sure about our feisty female. Do you have any experience and/or suggestions about keeping our girl safe? Thanks so much!

ADMIN – Hi Mary, two thoughts: one, with good training you should be able to successfully train and contain the feisty female and two, the PetSafe YardMax is highly recommended because your dogs will not be able to run through the signal. With the YardMax, the signal extends indefinitely.

jennifer October 7, 2013 at 11:47 am

Hi, I have a 3 yr old german shepherd about 70 pounds. He has issue with guys and likes to run up to people with dogs walking by. We just bought a house on a 1/3 of a acre, so our neighbors are close. There is so many systems out there and i have no clue what one to use. And i would like a rechargeable collar. He also barks a lot. I was thinking either sportdog or stubborn dog. we do live by a busy road. What is the correction as in if the dog gets through the fence, do it continue to correct or is it when he gets out he is out? please help

ADMIN – Hi Jennifer, the PetSafe YardMax is the perfect solution for your German Shepherd. One, the signal extends indefinitely beyond the wire, so your dog cannot run through the fence and two, the system is rechargeable. Also, the collar is a medium to medium/strong collar which will also be a great fit for your dog.

Sandi October 7, 2013 at 7:55 am

My dad has a 25-30 lbs very strong male Beagle who climbs his fence/hedge and gets out. My dad has tried to add additional fencing on top and various ways to prevent him getting out of the yard but nothing has worked. We have to keep him contained as it is not a safe area for him to be out on the road and the last thing we need is a stolen/dead dog or a deer killed. My parents are older and instillation is a concern if it is too difficult. Can you recommend a system.

ADMIN – Hi Sandi, I would recommend the SportDog fence. This should provide an immediate solution for your parents. Once attached to the physical fencing, it will immediately solve the containment issue.

valerie October 7, 2013 at 6:29 am

Hi, there! I have two Black-and-Tan Coonhounds mixed with Chow maybe and a six-month old Beagle. The Coonhounds are very stubborn and can be aggressive (only in bark) to strangers until they’re familiar, at which point you can’t escape because they demand tons of love and attention. The little Beagle is just a hyper, happy little spaz. They will have an area of about two acres to roam in the back yard. What do you recommend? Thanks!

ADMIN – Hi Valerie, I would strongly recommend the SportDog SDF100A. It is designed the type of Coonhounds you describe. It has the stronger correction levels that hunting dogs need to get their attention. With the smaller beagle, you can simply set the correction on the lower level. With 2 acres, I recommend upgrading to 14 gauge wire. The system comes with 1,000 feet. You will need to add one additional roll of wire to cover up to 2 acres.

Mike October 6, 2013 at 5:31 pm

We have a 2 acre waterfront home and a 6 month old Newfoundland pup. He’s very intelligent and sticks close to home. However, we live near a busy road (driveway is about 500 feet long) so want to keep him safe without confining him to a dog run.

We need a collar/fence that can do the following,
- Waterproof
- Suitable for extra large breed dogs (he will be ~175 – 200 lbs)
- Able to handle harsh Canadian winters
- Rechargeable

They Innotek/PetSafe UltraSmart IUC 5100 had great reviews. However, I’m unsure how it would hold up with 4-5 feet of snow and ice piled on top. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Kevin October 6, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Hi,
I have a 10 month old 45 pound hound/lab pup. I have 1 acre I’m looking to fence in for her. I live in the suburbs and have neighbors about 50 feet on both sides of my property. She does get excited when she sees people and wants to go say hi. What type of fence would you recommend? Thank you.

Brenda October 4, 2013 at 7:34 pm

I have a jack russel mix. She can jump high. We were set to put in a regular fence but didn’t want a 6′ fence so we are looking to buy a invisible fence. I am cautious because she loves to chase squirrels and bunnies and we have a lot of them. Will this stop her from chasing animals?
And if so, which fence would you suggest. We have a double city lot.

Tom Runyon October 4, 2013 at 1:41 pm

I have two dogs, (daschund/lab mix) small – med – 20-30 lbs and I am looking for your best recommendation on fence and wire. I want good quality wire to enclose 3/4 of a 1.2 acre lot. Lot has few trees and we are up on a hill. These dogs are pretty laid back so I am looking for best value/ performance as possible. Would appreciate couple of recommendations to include wire guage.

Thanks,
Tom

tim October 3, 2013 at 9:15 pm

i’m thinking of the ultra smart system but don’t llike the rubberize collar can i replace it with a cloth collar for my two dogs i also read that the ultra smart system has different frequencies because i live near an air force base.

ADMIN – Hi Tim,

You can replace the collar on the Ultrasmart, the old rubber collar is held in place by two pins that can simply be unscrewed. But, to replace is with a cloth collar requires you to get a custom made collar that has loops that will accommodate those two pins (i.e. you can’t use a regular collar from a pet store).

The ultrasmart does not have multiple frequencies. If you need that, feature, the Perimeter Ultra system is the one to get. (I haven’t heard of anyone having issues with fences getting interference from aviation equipment)

Leave a Comment